DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US ENDO et al. (20220166962 A1) (ENDO).
Regarding claim 1, ENDO discloses A medical visualization system (1), comprising:
Fig. 2 for The image pickup system 100
at least one camera control unit (3),
Fig. 2 for The video signal processing apparatus 20
which is configured to read image signals or image data (20) from at least one associated image recording device (2) (Fig. 2 image pick up apparatus 10) and to generate respective processed image data (12) from the respective image signals/image data (20); and
[0050] The video signal processing apparatus 20 includes a transmission unit 21 which receives an input video signal transmitted by the image pickup apparatus 10 and performs processing such as decompression and decoding.
a central control module (4) (Fig. 2 for The user operation terminal 50), adapted to allow a user to access the at least one camera control unit (3) (Fig. 2 for control unit 25) in a controlling manner in order to have the processed image data (12) displayed on at least one monitor (10),
[0055] The user operation terminal 50 may include, for example, operation keys, a mouse, a trackball, a dial, a lever, a touch sensor panel, a remote controller
wherein the central control module (4) being configured to provide a central control function with which, via a respective control connection (11), the at least one camera control unit (3) is adapted to be instructed to transmit the processed image data (12) to a monitor (10).
[0056] the user operation terminal 50 with respect to the UI for setting associated with the blend processing of the tone curve characteristics that is superimposed on the SDR video signal and displayed on the SDR monitor 40, the control unit 25 calculates, on the basis of the parameter, two tone curve characteristics to be blended out of the selected two or three tone curve characteristics and a blend ratio of these two tone curve characteristics and generates tone curve characteristics obtained by blending these two tone curve characteristics at the blend ratio. See also Fig. 15 and [0122]
Regarding claim 2, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one camera control unit (3) is adapted to be instructed to transmit the processed image data (12) to the monitor (10) without the processed image data (12) arriving at the central control module (4).
As indicated by Fig. 2 user operation terminal 50 (considered as “the central control module”) is not receiving image data and The video signal processing apparatus 20 50 (considered as “one camera control unit”) is only the part of the system that receives image data.
Regarding claim 3, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the central control module (4) is configured to access in a controlling and regulating manner, via a local network (16), the at least one camera control unit (3) and at least one peripheral device (6).
[0056] the user operation terminal 50 with respect to the UI for setting associated with the blend processing of the tone curve characteristics that is superimposed on the SDR video signal and displayed on the SDR monitor 40, the control unit 25 calculates, on the basis of the parameter, two tone curve characteristics to be blended out of the selected two or three tone curve characteristics and a blend ratio of these two tone curve characteristics and generates tone curve characteristics obtained by blending these two tone curve characteristics at the blend ratio. See also Fig. 15 and [0122]
Regarding claim 4, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 3, wherein the at least one peripheral device (6) includes at least one of a light source, an anesthesia device, an insufflator, a pump, or an OP instrument, and for this purpose multiple respective bidirectional control connections (11) are formed in the network (16) between the central control module (4) and further devices (2,3,5,6,7) of the visualization system (1).
Fig. 19 [0149] The lens barrel 5117 has, at a distal end thereof, an opening in which an objective lens is fitted. A light source apparatus 5157 is connected to the endoscope 5115 such that light generated by the light source apparatus 5157 is introduced to a distal end of the lens barrel 5117 by a light guide extending in the inside of the lens barrel 5117 and is applied toward an observation target in a body cavity of the patient 5185 through the objective lens. It is to be noted that the endoscope 5115 may be a forward-viewing endoscope or may be an oblique-viewing endoscope or a side-viewing endoscope. See also Fig. 17 and [0131] Further, though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like. Where such an external apparatus is located outside the hospital, also it is possible for the audiovisual controller 5107 to cause display information to be displayed on a display apparatus of a different hospital through a teleconferencing system or the like to perform telemedicine.
Regarding claim 5, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 4, wherein at least one of a) the central control module (4) is not configured to receive image data, and only to regulate in a controlling manner a flow of image data between individual components of the visualization system (1), or b) the central control module (4) is configured to request parameters from at least one of the at least one camera control unit (3) or from the at least one peripheral device (6) via respective direct control connections (11).
As indicated by Fig. 2 user operation terminal 50 (considered as “the central control module”) is not receiving image data and The video signal processing apparatus 20 50 (considered as “one camera control unit”) is only the part of the system that receives image data.
Regarding claim 6, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed claim 1, wherein the central control module (4) is configured, as a gateway function, to provide at least one of: an internet access, an access to a local database, or an access to a cloud service, for at least one of the at least one camera control unit (3) or at least one peripheral device (6).
[0131] though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like. Where such an external apparatus is located outside the hospital, also it is possible for the audiovisual controller 5107 to cause display information to be displayed on a display apparatus of a different hospital through a teleconferencing system or the like to perform telemedicine.
Regarding claim 7, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the central control module (4) is configured to offer at least one of:
network-based functions such as DICOM (digital imaging and communications in medicine), a central control function for the visualization system (1), or at least one auxiliary function, to a user of the visualization system (1).
[0131] though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like.
Regarding claim 8, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 7, wherein the central control module (4) is configured such that a user can operate at least one of the network-based functions, the central control function or the at least one auxiliary function via a user interface (22) of the central control module (4).
[0131] though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like.
Regarding claim 9, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the central control module (4) has at least one of a separate input unit (8) or separate display device (9) in order to enable the central control function, so that a user can access the at least one camera control unit (3) in a controlling manner via the input unit.
[0131] though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like.
Regarding claim 10, ENDO discloses The visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 9, wherein at least one piece of external information, which is acquired from at least one of the camera control unit (3) or a peripheral device (6) connected to the control module (4), is displayable on the display device (9).
[0125] In the operating room, various apparatus may be installed. In FIG. 17, as an example, various apparatus group 5101 for endoscopic surgery, a ceiling camera 5187, a surgery field camera 5189, a plurality of display apparatus 5103A to 5103D, a recorder 5105, a patient bed 5183 and an illumination 5191 are depicted. The ceiling camera 5187 is provided on the ceiling of an operating room and images the hands of a surgeon. The surgery field camera 5189 is provided on the ceiling of the operating room and images a state of the entire operating room.
Regarding claim 15, ENDO discloses A medical operating system (7) for carrying out a medical intervention or a medical examination, the medical operating system (7) comprising the medical visualization system (1) as claimed in claim 1; and
at least one peripheral device (6), which is at least one of readable, controllable, or operable mediated via the central control module (4);
Fig. 19 [0149] The lens barrel 5117 has, at a distal end thereof, an opening in which an objective lens is fitted. A light source apparatus 5157 is connected to the endoscope 5115 such that light generated by the light source apparatus 5157 is introduced to a distal end of the lens barrel 5117 by a light guide extending in the inside of the lens barrel 5117 and is applied toward an observation target in a body cavity of the patient 5185 through the objective lens. It is to be noted that the endoscope 5115 may be a forward-viewing endoscope or may be an oblique-viewing endoscope or a side-viewing endoscope.
in particular with the aid of an input unit (8) and/or a display device (9) of the central control module (4).
[0125] In the operating room, various apparatus may be installed. In FIG. 17, as an example, various apparatus group 5101 for endoscopic surgery, a ceiling camera 5187, a surgery field camera 5189, a plurality of display apparatus 5103A to 5103D, a recorder 5105, a patient bed 5183 and an illumination 5191 are depicted. The ceiling camera 5187 is provided on the ceiling of an operating room and images the hands of a surgeon. The surgery field camera 5189 is provided on the ceiling of the operating room and images a state of the entire operating room.
Regarding claim 16, ENDO discloses The medical operating system (7) of claim 15, wherein the at least one peripheral device (6) is at least one of readable, controllable, or operable via at least one of an input unit (8) or a display device (9) of the central control module (4).
[0125] In the operating room, various apparatus may be installed. In FIG. 17, as an example, various apparatus group 5101 for endoscopic surgery, a ceiling camera 5187, a surgery field camera 5189, a plurality of display apparatus 5103A to 5103D, a recorder 5105, a patient bed 5183 and an illumination 5191 are depicted. The ceiling camera 5187 is provided on the ceiling of an operating room and images the hands of a surgeon. The surgery field camera 5189 is provided on the ceiling of the operating room and images a state of the entire operating room.
Regarding claim 17, ENDO discloses A method for visualizing at least one video image data stream, which is recorded using at least one image recording device (2), the method comprising:
with the aid of at least one camera control unit (3), generating processed image data (12) from image signals or image data (20) of the at least one image recording device (2) as preprocessing;
[0055] The user operation terminal 50 may include, for example, operation keys, a mouse, a trackball, a dial, a lever, a touch sensor panel, a remote controller
displaying the processed image data (12) or advanced image data (27) generated therefrom on a monitor (10) as a video image data stream, using a central control function of a central control module (4) via a respective control connection (11), instructing the at least one camera control unit (3) to transmit the processed image data (12) to the monitor (10).
[0050]-[0056] the user operation terminal 50 with respect to the UI for setting associated with the blend processing of the tone curve characteristics that is superimposed on the SDR video signal and displayed on the SDR monitor 40, the control unit 25 calculates, on the basis of the parameter, two tone curve characteristics to be blended out of the selected two or three tone curve characteristics and a blend ratio of these two tone curve characteristics and generates tone curve characteristics obtained by blending these two tone curve characteristics at the blend ratio. See also Fig. 15 and [0122]
Regarding claim 19, ENDO discloses The method as claimed in claim 17, further comprising, for the visualization of the processed image data (12) or the advanced image data (27), via the central control module (4), at least one of:
accessing, in a controlling manner, the at least one camera control unit (3) and/or the advanced video processing module (5) based on a piece of external information of a peripheral device (6), which is displayed on a display device (9) of the central control module (4), or accessing in a controlling manner a peripheral device (6) connected to the central control module (4) in order to thus influence imaging of the at least one image recording device (2).
[0131] though not depicted in FIG. 17, the operating room system 5100 may include an apparatus outside the operating room. The apparatus outside the operating room may be, for example, a server connected to a network constructed inside and outside the hospital, a PC used by medical staff, a projector installed in a meeting room of the hospital or the like.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422