DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of followings: Rectangular or square empty boxes (Figures 1-2) must be labeled or have a graphical representation. Please, explain the labeled rectangular or square boxes in the drawing. For examples: Fig. 1, rectangular box 120: Please, insert "Level Measuring Unit" in the box OR have a graphical representation of electronic device instead of empty rectangular box, Fig. 1, rectangular box 130: Please, insert " impedance estimation unit" in the box OR have a graphical representation of display device instead of empty rectangular box, Fig. 1, rectangular box 110: Please, insert "Processor" in the box OR have a graphical representation of server instead of empty rectangular box. Same applies to other unlabeled rectangular or square boxes of Figs 1-2.
See MPEP (608.02(d)). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a level measuring unit (120) which is configured to detect a level of an incoming signal (LS, RS) to be amplified”. It is not clear what kind of signal is being detected and amplified. Claims 2-3 depend on claim 1. Therefore, they have been rejected for the same reason.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the current measuring unit" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites “a level measuring unit (120) which is configured to detect a level of an incoming left or right signal (LS, RS) to be amplified”. It is not clear what kind of signal is being detected and amplified.
Claim 4 recites “a first amplifier for a left signal portion of the signal to be reproduced and a second amplifier for a right signal portion of the signal to be reproduced”. It is not clear (from the specification and drawing) how the first and second amplifier are implemented. Fig. 1 of the instant application only shows one amplifier [Fig. 1: 160 AMP] and specification [paragraphs 0007-0009 of published application] seems like a copy paste of claim 4. There are no further explanation or details about how the first and second amplifier are implemented.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the signal" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the output" in lines 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the supply voltage" in lines 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the energy supply" in lines 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “carrying out a level measurement by a level measuring unit (120)”. It is not clear what kind of level is being carrying and measured by the level measuring unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130058494 to KIm et al. (“KIm”).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses mobile device [paragraph 0046], comprising a headphone jack which is suitable to connect a headphone [paragraph 0051-52, 0099-102, also see Figs. 1-2, 7-8], and a headphone amplifier [Fig. 7: 720, paragraph 0099] which is configured to a enable sufficient amplification for an audio signal to be reproduced [paragraphs 0046-50, 0054-60, 0099], wherein the headphone amplifier comprises a level measuring unit [Fig. 1-2, 7-8: Sensing unit, paragraphs 0046-47, 0049, 0054-60, 0099, 110-112] which is configured to detect a level of an incoming signal to be amplified [paragraph 0061-65, 0068], an impedance estimation unit which is configured to detect an impedance of a connected headphone on the basis of the level measurement by the level measuring unit and on the basis of a current measurement at the output of a power supply unit [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057],wherein the impedance estimation unit is configured to estimate an impedance of a connected headphone and to initiate a change in the supply voltage [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057, 0059-72] if the currently applied supply voltage leads to a reduction in an efficiency of the power supply for the headphone [paragraphs 0011(“minimizing power consumption), 0071 “reducing power consumption”].
As to claim 5, Kim discloses a method for controlling a mobile device [paragraph 0046] comprising a headphone amplifier [Fig. 7: 720, paragraph 0099] and a headphone jack [paragraph 0051-52, 0099-102, also see Figs. 1-2, 7-8], comprising the steps: carrying out a level measurement by a level measuring unit [Fig. 1-2, 7-8: Sensing unit, paragraphs 0046-47, 0049, 0054-60, 0099, 110-112], carrying out a current measurement by a current measuring unit [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057],performing an impedance estimation based on the level measurement and the current measurement [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057], and reducing or increasing the supply voltage for the headphone according to the estimated impedance [0047, 0053, 0057, 0059-72].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130058494 to KIm et al. (“KIm”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200213793 to Goto (“Goto”).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses mobile device according to Claim 1 [See rejection of Claim 1].
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein a comparison of a detected audio peak with a threshold value is performed and if the audio peak is greater than the threshold value, then the level measurement is initiated by the level measuring unit and the current measurement is initiated by the current measuring unit.
In the same or similar field of invention, Goto discloses features of wherein a comparison of a detected audio peak with a threshold value is performed and if the audio peak is greater than the threshold value, then the level measurement is initiated by the level measuring unit and the current measurement is initiated by the current measuring unit [Goto Abstract, paragraphs 0008, 0030, also see Figs. 2-3].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include features of wherein a comparison of a detected audio peak with a threshold value is performed and if the audio peak is greater than the threshold value, then the level measurement is initiated by the level measuring unit and the current measurement is initiated by the current measuring unit as taught by Goto. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide an audio signal control circuit and a method of controlling an audio signal that are able to suppress an audio signal appropriately according to impedance of a speaker [Goto paragraph 0007].
As to claim 3, Goto discloses wherein the level measurement is checked to determine whether it is above a threshold value, wherein if the level measurement is above a threshold value, the impedance estimation is initiated by the impedance estimation unit [Goto Abstract, paragraphs 0008, 0030, 0034-0035, also see Fig. 3]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130058494 to KIm et al. (“KIm”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230247362 to Lesso (“Lesso”).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses mobile device [paragraph 0046], comprising a headphone jack which is suitable to connect a headphone [paragraph 0051-52, 0099-102, also see Figs. 1-2, 7-8], and a headphone amplifier [Fig. 7:720, paragraph 0099] which is configured to enable sufficient amplification for an audio signal to be reproduced [paragraphs 0046-50, 0054-60, 0099], where the headphone amplifier comprises a first amplifier for a left signal portion of the signal to be reproduced and a second amplifier for a right signal portion of the signal to be reproduced [paragraphs 0052, 0107, 0108] and an impedance estimation unit (130) which is configured to detect an impedance of a left or right transducer of a connected headphone on the basis of the level measurement by the level measuring unit and on the basis of a current measurement at the output of a power supply unit [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057], wherein the impedance estimation unit is configured to estimate an impedance of a left or right transducer of the connected headphones and to initiate a change in the supply voltage [paragraphs 0047, 0053, 0057, 0059-72] if the currently applied supply voltage leads to a reduction in an efficiency of the energy supply for the left or right transducer of the headphones [paragraphs 0011(“minimizing power consumption), 0071 “reducing power consumption].
Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the first and second amplifiers each comprise a level measuring unit which is configured to detect a level of an incoming left or right signal component to be amplified.
In the same or similar field of invention, Lesso discloses features of wherein the first and second amplifiers each comprise a level measuring unit which is configured to detect a level of an incoming left or right signal component to be amplified [Lesso Fig. 1: 103, 111, Fig. 3: 308, paragraphs 0047-49, 0106-111].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim to include features of wherein the first and second amplifiers each comprise a level measuring unit which is configured to detect a level of an incoming left or right signal component to be amplified as taught by Lesso. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide methods, apparatus and systems for determining properties of a load that can operate dynamically in use [Lesso paragraph 0007-35].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20110170713 to Sugihara et al. (Abstract, Figs. 1-5 and corresponding paragraphs), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070098190 to Song et al. (Abstract, Figs. 3-6 and corresponding paragraphs).
/ANTIM G SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693