DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of “Species I, Figures 3A and 4, claims 1-10, 20, 21, and 23-26,” in the reply filed on 07 May 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) “that at least claims 20 and 23-26 are generic to both Species I and Species II. Moreover, claims 8, 9, 24, and 25, which depend from independent claims 1 and 20, are generic to both Species I and Species III, and claims 10 and 26, which depend from independent claims 1 and 20, are generic to each of Species I, Species IV, and Species V. As such, searching for at least Species I, Species II, Species III, Species IV, and Species V would not require a different field of search, would not necessitate search queries tailored to different structures, and thus, would not be a burden for the Examiner.”
This argument, however, is not found to be persuasive because each of the various disclosed species details a mutually exclusive characteristic of a head as evidenced by the representation of each various species with a different figure or set of figures. A search for one of these mutually exclusive characteristics is not coextensive with a search for the other mutually exclusive characteristics and therefore searching for all mutually exclusive characteristics could not be done without serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Accordingly, claims 11-19 and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to one or more non-elected inventions/ species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 August 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. In FIG. 2, reference character 212 should be drawn to the “media facing surface (MFS)” in order to be consistent with the remainder of the disclosure.
b. In FIG. 2, left-most reference character 254 should be removed as it is not drawn to the gap “between the main pole 220 and the trailing shield 240” as detailed in lines 7-8 of paragraph [0029].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 4-5 of claim 1, “wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising” should be changed to --wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprises-- for better clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-10, 20, 21 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le et al. (US 2021/0336127).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 5 and 7-10, Le et al. (US 2021/0336127) teach a spin-orbit torque device (10) comprising a first migration barrier layer (includes 40, for instance); a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (50) disposed on the first migration barrier layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance); a second migration barrier layer (includes 71, for instance) disposed on the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance), wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising one or more materials selected from a first group, a second group, or a third group, wherein the first group comprises RuHf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; stoichiometric B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; and alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag; the second group comprises oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; and X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and the third group comprises tetragonal oxides with a-axis lattice parameters in a range of 4.35 Å to 4.75 Å and c-axis in the range of 2.85 Å to 3.19 Å; MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir; and CrNb, CrV, and WV alloys (see paragraphs [0028] and [0040], for instance, i.e., “the surface control layer 40 comprises NiFe” and “surface control layer 71 comprises… NiFe,” where NiFe is a material selected from the first group that includes alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag, emphasis added); an interlayer (includes 76A, for instance) disposed on the second migration barrier layer (as shown in FIG. 1C, for instance); and a ferromagnetic layer (includes 60 in FIG. 1C, or 80 in FIG. 1D, for instance) disposed on the interlayer (see paragraphs [0042] and [0044], for instance, i.e., “spin torque layer (STL) 60 is formed over the interlayer… The STL 60 comprises a ferromagnetic material” and “free perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) ferromagnetic layer 80 is formed over the interlayer”) [as per claim 1]; wherein the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (50) comprises YPtBi having a (100) orientation or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraph [0042], for instance, i.e., “BiSb layer 50 with (012) orientation”), and wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprise one or more materials selected from the first group or the third group (see paragraphs [0028] and [0040], for instance, i.e., “the surface control layer 40 comprises NiFe” and “surface control layer 71 comprises… NiFe,” where NiFe is a material selected from the first group that includes alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag, emphasis added) [as per claim 3]; wherein the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (50) comprises YPtBi (100), or YPtBi (110), or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraph [0042], for instance, i.e., “BiSb layer 50 with (012) orientation”) [as per claim 5]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device further comprises a buffer layer (includes 36B, for instance), wherein the first migration barrier layer is disposed on the buffer layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance) [as per claim 7]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magnetic recording head (200, see FIG. 4, for instance) [as per claim 8]; wherein the magnetic recording head is a component of a magnetic recording device (100, see FIG. 3, for instance) [as per claim 9]; and wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magneto-resistive memory (see paragraph [0044], for instance, i.e., “the SOT MTJ device 10 having a BiSb layer 50 with (012) orientation of FIG. 1C forming a SOT-based magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device”) [as per claim 10].
With respect to claims 20, 21 and 24-26, Le et al. (US 2021/0336127) teach a spin-orbit torque device (10) comprising a first migration barrier layer (includes 40, for instance); a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (50) disposed in contact with the first migration barrier layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance), the topological insulator layer (50) comprising YPtBi having a (100) orientation, YPtBi having a (110) orientation, or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraph [0042], for instance, i.e., “BiSb layer 50 with (012) orientation”); a second migration barrier layer (includes 71, for instance) disposed in contact with the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance), the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising one or more materials selected from a first group, a second group, or a third group, wherein the first group comprises RuHf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; stoichiometric B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; and alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag; the second group comprises oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; and X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and the third group comprises tetragonal oxides with a-axis lattice parameters in a range of 4.35 Å to 4.75 Å and c-axis in the range of 2.85 Å to 3.19 Å; MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir; and CrNb, CrV, and WV alloys (see paragraphs [0028] and [0040], for instance, i.e., “the surface control layer 40 comprises NiFe” and “surface control layer 71 comprises… NiFe,” where NiFe is a material selected from the first group that includes alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag, emphasis added); and a ferromagnetic layer (includes 60 in FIG. 1C, or 80 in FIG. 1D, for instance, see paragraphs [0042] and [0044], for instance, i.e., “spin torque layer (STL) 60 is formed over the interlayer… The STL 60 comprises a ferromagnetic material” and “free perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) ferromagnetic layer 80 is formed over the interlayer”) [as per claim 20]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device further comprises a buffer layer (includes 36B, for instance) and an interlayer (includes 76A, for instance), wherein the first migration barrier layer is disposed on the buffer layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance), the interlayer is disposed on the second migration barrier layer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance), and the ferromagnetic layer is disposed on the interlayer (as shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, for instance, see paragraphs [0042] and [0044], for instance, i.e., “spin torque layer (STL) 60 is formed over the interlayer… The STL 60 comprises a ferromagnetic material” and “free perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) ferromagnetic layer 80 is formed over the interlayer”) [as per claim 21]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magnetic recording head (200, see FIG. 4, for instance) [as per claim 24]; wherein the magnetic recording head is a component of a magnetic recording device (100, see FIG. 3, for instance) [as per claim 25]; and wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magneto-resistive memory (see paragraph [0044], for instance, i.e., “the SOT MTJ device 10 having a BiSb layer 50 with (012) orientation of FIG. 1C forming a SOT-based magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device”) [as per claim 26].
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 20 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Le et al. (US 2023/0197132).
With respect to claims 1, 3 and 5-10, Le et al. (US 2023/0197132) teach a spin-orbit torque device (300 in FIG. 3A, or 302 in FIG. 3B) comprising a first migration barrier layer (includes 310, for instance); a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (304) disposed on the first migration barrier layer (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, for instance); a second migration barrier layer (includes 320, for instance) disposed on the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, for instance), wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising one or more materials selected from a first group, a second group, or a third group, wherein the first group comprises RuHf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; stoichiometric B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; and alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag; the second group comprises oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; and X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and the third group comprises tetragonal oxides with a-axis lattice parameters in a range of 4.35 Å to 4.75 Å and c-axis in the range of 2.85 Å to 3.19 Å; MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir; and CrNb, CrV, and WV alloys (see paragraph [0072], for instance, “The tetragonal (001) or (110) material of the fourth intermediate layer 336 of FIG. 3F may have an a-axis in the range of about 4.2 Å to about 4.7 Å and a c-axis in the range of about 2.88 Å to about 3.15 Å. The tetragonal (001) or (110) material may be selected from the group consisting of: SbO2, TiO2, IrO2, RuO2, CrO2,… RhO2,… SnO2,… and alloys thereof,” which corresponds to MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir of the third group, and FIG. 3F, for instance, where layer 336 is shown to be part of 310 and 320); an interlayer (includes 338, for instance) disposed on the second migration barrier layer (as shown in FIG. 3F, for instance); and a ferromagnetic layer (includes 324 in FIG. 3A, for instance, see paragraph [0056], for instance, i.e., “layer 324 may comprise… CoFeB,” which is ferromagnetic) disposed on the interlayer (as shown in FIG. 3A, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer comprises YPtBi having a (100) orientation or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraphs [0075] and [0077], for instance, i.e., “undoped BiSb layer 340 comprising sublayers, which may replace the doped BiSbE layer 304” and “undoped BiSb layer 340 of FIG. 3G has a (012) orientation”), and wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprise one or more materials selected from the first group or the third group (see paragraph [0072], for instance, “The tetragonal (001) or (110) material of the fourth intermediate layer 336 of FIG. 3F may have an a-axis in the range of about 4.2 Å to about 4.7 Å and a c-axis in the range of about 2.88 Å to about 3.15 Å. The tetragonal (001) or (110) material may be selected from the group consisting of: SbO2, TiO2, IrO2, RuO2, CrO2,… RhO2,… SnO2,… and alloys thereof,” which corresponds to MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir of the third group, and FIG. 3F, for instance, where layer 336 is shown to be part of 310 and 320) [as per claim 3]; wherein the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer comprises YPtBi (100), or YPtBi (110), or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraphs [0075] and [0077], for instance, i.e., “undoped BiSb layer 340 comprising sublayers, which may replace the doped BiSbE layer 304” and “undoped BiSb layer 340 of FIG. 3G has a (012) orientation”) [as per claim 5]; wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprise one or more materials selected from the third group (see paragraph [0072], for instance, “The tetragonal (001) or (110) material of the fourth intermediate layer 336 of FIG. 3F may have an a-axis in the range of about 4.2 Å to about 4.7 Å and a c-axis in the range of about 2.88 Å to about 3.15 Å. The tetragonal (001) or (110) material may be selected from the group consisting of: SbO2, TiO2, IrO2, RuO2, CrO2,… RhO2,… SnO2,… and alloys thereof,” which corresponds to MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir of the third group, and FIG. 3F, for instance, where layer 336 is shown to be part of 310 and 320) [as per claim 6]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device further comprises a buffer layer (includes 334, for instance), wherein the first migration barrier layer is disposed on the buffer layer (as shown in FIG. 3F, for instance) [as per claim 7]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magnetic recording head (200, see FIG. 2, for instance) [as per claim 8]; wherein the magnetic recording head is a component of a magnetic recording device (100, see FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 9]; and wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magneto-resistive memory (see paragraph [0117], for instance, i.e., “The SOT device is a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device”) [as per claim 10].
With respect to claims 20 and 24-26, Le et al. (US 2023/0197132) teach a spin-orbit torque device (300 in FIG. 3A, or 302 in FIG. 3B) comprising a first migration barrier layer (includes 310, for instance); a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (304) disposed in contact with the first migration barrier layer (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, for instance), the topological insulator layer comprising YPtBi having a (100) orientation, YPtBi having a (110) orientation, or BiSb having a (012) orientation (see paragraphs [0075] and [0077], for instance, i.e., “undoped BiSb layer 340 comprising sublayers, which may replace the doped BiSbE layer 304” and “undoped BiSb layer 340 of FIG. 3G has a (012) orientation”); a second migration barrier layer (includes 320, for instance) disposed in contact with the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, for instance), the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising one or more materials selected from a first group, a second group, or a third group, wherein the first group comprises RuHf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; stoichiometric B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; and alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag; the second group comprises oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; and X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and the third group comprises tetragonal oxides with a-axis lattice parameters in a range of 4.35 Å to 4.75 Å and c-axis in the range of 2.85 Å to 3.19 Å; MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir; and CrNb, CrV, and WV alloys (see paragraph [0072], for instance, “The tetragonal (001) or (110) material of the fourth intermediate layer 336 of FIG. 3F may have an a-axis in the range of about 4.2 Å to about 4.7 Å and a c-axis in the range of about 2.88 Å to about 3.15 Å. The tetragonal (001) or (110) material may be selected from the group consisting of: SbO2, TiO2, IrO2, RuO2, CrO2,… RhO2,… SnO2,… and alloys thereof,” which corresponds to MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir of the third group, and FIG. 3F, for instance, where layer 336 is shown to be part of 310 and 320); and a ferromagnetic layer (includes 324 in FIG. 3A, for instance, see paragraph [0056], for instance, i.e., “layer 324 may comprise… CoFeB,” which is ferromagnetic) [as per claim 20]; wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magnetic recording head (200, see FIG. 2, for instance) [as per claim 24]; wherein the magnetic recording head is a component of a magnetic recording device (100, see FIG. 1, for instance) [as per claim 25]; and wherein the spin-orbit torque device is a component of a magneto-resistive memory (see paragraph [0117], for instance, i.e., “The SOT device is a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device”) [as per claim 26].
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Le et al. (US 2024/0420733).
Le et al. (US 2024/0420733) teach a spin-orbit torque device (300c, see FIG. 3C, for instance) comprising a first migration barrier layer (302b-2); a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (304) disposed on the first migration barrier layer (as shown in FIG. 3C, for instance); a second migration barrier layer (306a) disposed on the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer (as shown in FIG. 3C, for instance), wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprising one or more materials selected from a first group, a second group, or a third group, wherein the first group comprises RuHf; Zr-X alloys, where X is one or more of Co, Cu, Ru, and Rh; Ti-Y alloys, where Y is one or more of Au, Ru, and Rh; stoichiometric B2 ternary A(BxC1-x) alloys; and alloys comprising multiple elements selected from the group consisting of Ta, Hf, W, Ir, Pt, Y, Zr, Nb, Mo, Mg, Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, and Ag; the second group comprises oxides of Ti, Mg, Ni, Zn, or Zr; and X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W; and the third group comprises tetragonal oxides with a-axis lattice parameters in a range of 4.35 Å to 4.75 Å and c-axis in the range of 2.85 Å to 3.19 Å; MO2, where M is Ti, Cr, Ru, Rh, Sn, Sb, or Ir; and CrNb, CrV, and WV alloys (see paragraphs [0043] and [0045], for instance, i.e., “layer 302b-2 comprises HfN” and “interlayer 306a may comprise HfN”); an interlayer (306b) disposed on the second migration barrier layer (as shown in FIG. 3C, for instance); and a ferromagnetic layer (308, see paragraph [0036], for instance, i.e., “ferromagnetic (FM) layer 308”) disposed on the interlayer (as shown in FIG. 3C, for instance) [as per claim 1]; wherein the topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer comprises YPtBi having a (110) orientation (see paragraph [0053], for instance, i.e., “layer 304 may comprise YPtBi having a (110) orientation”), and wherein the first and second migration barrier layers each individually comprise one or more materials selected from the second group or the third group (see paragraphs [0043] and [0045], for instance, i.e., “layer 302b-2 comprises HfN” and “interlayer 306a may comprise HfN” and HfN corresponds to “X-N or X-C composites where X is one or more of Sc, Ti, V, Cr, Zr, Nb, Ta, Hf, and W” in the second group) [as per claim 4].
Claim Considerations - 35 USC § 103
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes Le et al. (US 2023/0047223), Le et al. (US 2024/0412759), and Le et al. (US 2025/0246353), which each individually teaches a spin-orbit torque device with a topological insulator or topological semi-metal layer configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CRAIG A. RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688