DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 19/041,240 filed on January 30, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on February 7, 2025 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the lens mount is movable relative to the image sensor, the lens mount, or both”. It is unclear how the lens mount can be movable relative to the lens mount. As such claim 12 is deemed indefinite by the Examiner. For prior art purposes, the Examiner will instead recite “the lens barrel is movable relative to the image sensor, the lens mount, or both”, and claim 12 may be amended in this manner in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim 13 is indefinite as depending from claim 12 and not remedying the deficiencies of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12-14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2008/0151387).
Consider claim 1, Lin teaches:
An image capture apparatus (figure 4), comprising:
an image sensor and lens assembly (ISLA) (see figure 4) comprising:
an image sensor (sensor, 80, paragraph 0018);
a lens mount (holder, 60) connecting the ISLA within the image capture apparatus (see figure 4, paragraph 0018), the lens mount (60) extending away from the image sensor (80, see figure 4);
a lens barrel (lens barrel, 20) in communication with the lens mount (60, see figure 4, paragraph 0018);
barrel lenses (second lens, 52) located within the lens barrel (20, see figure 4, paragraph 0017);
a lens sub-barrel (inner lens barrel, 44) that is movably connected to the lens barrel (20, see figure 4), the lens mount (60, see figure 4), or both (i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015); and
a sub-barrel lens (first lens, 42) located within the lens sub-barrel (44, see figure 4, paragraphs 0023 and 0016).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lin further teaches that the lens sub-barrel (44) is movable along an optical axis of the ISLA to adjust light directed to the image sensor (i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Lin further teaches that the lens sub-barrel (44) is rotatable about the optical axis to move the lens sub-barrel (44) along the optical axis (The lens sub-barrel (44) is coupled to the sliding member (32, paragraph 0023), which rotates about the optical axis via a screw thread, paragraph 0015, figure 4.).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lin further teaches that an airgap is located between a rear side of the sub-barrel lens (42) within the lens sub-barrel (44) and a forward side of a first of the barrel lenses (52) located within the lens barrel (20, see figure 4), and wherein moving the lens sub-barrel (44) along an optical axis of the ISLA changes a length of the airgap (i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lin further teaches that the sub-barrel lens (42) within the lens sub-barrel (44) is two or more sub-barrel lenses (see figure 4, paragraph 0016).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Lin further teaches that the lens barrel (20) is movably connected to the lens mount (60, i.e. via a screw thread, see paragraph 0018, figure 4).
Consider claim 8, Lin teaches:
An image capture apparatus (figure 4), comprising:
an image sensor and lens assembly (ISLA) (see figure 4) comprising:
an image sensor (sensor, 80, paragraph 0018);
an optical axis that extends through the ISLA to the image sensor (“The central axis of the lens barrel 20, the piezoelectric ceramic component 31, and the sliding member 32 is essentially the same as the optical axis of the zoom lens module 100.” paragraph 0015);
a lens sub-barrel (inner lens barrel, 44) extending away from the image sensor (80, see figure 4) along the optical axis (i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015);
a lens barrel (lens barrel, 20) located between the image sensor (80) and the lens sub-barrel (44, see figure 4), the lens barrel (20) extending away from the image sensor (80) along the optical axis (see figure 4, paragraph 0018);
barrel lenses (second lens, 52) located within the lens barrel (20, see figure 4, paragraph 0017);
one or more sub-barrel lenses (first lens, 42) located within the lens sub-barrel (44, see figure 4, paragraphs 0023 and 0016); and
an air gap located between the barrel lenses (52) and the one or more sub-barrel lenses (42, see figure 4);
wherein the air gap is adjustable by moving the lens sub-barrel (44) along the optical axis relative to the lens barrel (i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Lin further teaches moving the lens sub-barrel (44) along the optical axis moves light extending through the optical axis laterally relative to the optical axis (i.e. to perform zooming/widening, paragraphs 0019, 0020 and 0024).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 8 above, Lin further teaches a lens mount (holder, 60) located between and connecting the image sensor (80) to the lens barrel (20, paragraph 0018),and wherein the lens barrel (20) is movable relative to the image sensor (80, see figure 4), the lens mount (60, see figure 4), or both (i.e. via a screw thread, see paragraph 0018, figure 4).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 12 above, Lin further teaches the one or more sub-barrel lenses (42) are a single lens that forms a forward surface of the ISLA (see figure 4).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 8 above, Lin further teaches lens barrel outer fasteners located on the lens barrel (20) and sub-barrel fasteners located on the lens sub-barrel (44), wherein the lens barrel outer fasteners connect the lens barrel to the sub-barrel fasteners of the lens sub-barrel (The lens sub-barrel (44) is coupled to the sliding member (32) which includes threads coupled to corresponding threads on the lens barrel (20), paragraphs 0015 and 0023.).
Consider claim 17, Lin teaches:
A method comprising:
installing barrel lenses (second lens, 52) within a lens barrel (20, see figure 4, paragraph 0017);
installing one or more sub-barrel lenses (first lens, 42) within a lens sub-barrel (inner lens barrel, 44, see figure 4, paragraphs 0023 and 0016);
connecting the lens sub-barrel (44) to the lens barrel (20, see figure 4, paragraph 0023);
connecting an image sensor (sensor, 80, paragraph 0018) to the lens barrel (20) and the lens sub-barrel (80, see figure 4), wherein the image sensor (80), the lens barrel (20), and the lens sub-barrel (44) are aligned along an optical axis (see figure 4, paragraphs 0015, 0019 and 0024);and
moving the lens sub-barrel (44) relative to the lens barrel (20) with respect to the optical axis to change a dimension of an air gap between the barrel lenses (52) and the one or more sub-barrel lenses (42, i.e. such that the inner lens barrel (44) is movable with a sliding member (32) along the optical axis, see paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0015).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 17 above, Lin further teaches determining a focus of light relative to the image sensor (i.e. determining a focus function, paragraphs 0019, 0020, 0022 and 0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2008/0151387) in view of Wei (US 2018/0164531).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Lin teaches at least one barrel lens (52, paragraph 0017), but does not explicitly teach that the barrel lenses are five or more barrel lenses.
Wei similarly teaches a lens barrel (1, figure 1) including a lens group having at least one lens (first lens group, 2, paragraph 0023), and further teaches that the barrel lenses are five or more barrel lenses (i.e. the five lenses (21, 22, 23, 24, 25) detailed in paragraph 0025 and shown in figures 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the barrel lenses taught by Lin be five or more barrel lenses as taught by Wei for the benefit of providing a convenient, simple, and stable lens barrel structure (Wei, paragraph 0032).
Claims 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2008/0151387) in view of Byrne et al. (US 2020/0137275).
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 14 above Lin does not explicitly teach a connecting agent located between and locking the sub-barrel fasteners to the lens barrel outer fasteners so that the lens sub-barrel is prevented from moving relative to the lens barrel.
Byrne et al. similarly teaches a lens barrel (lens member, 32) attached to a housing (front housing member, 36) via complementary fasteners (threaded portions, 76, 78, see figure 1b, paragraph 0037).
However, Byrne et al. additionally teaches a connecting agent (suitable bonding agent, 80) located between and locking the sub-barrel fasteners (threaded portion, 76) to the lens barrel outer fasteners (internally threaded portion, 78) so that the lens sub-barrel (32) is prevented from moving relative to the lens barrel (“In addition to the engagement of the threaded portions 76 and 78, a suitable bonding agent, shown at 80, such as an epoxy that is cured using ultra-violet (UV) light, may be applied between the lens member 32 and the front housing member 36 to retain the lens member 32 in a selected position relative to the imaging element 33.” paragraph 0037, see figure 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sub-barrel fastener and lens barrel outer fasteners taught by Lin be locked together via a connecting agent as taught by Byrne et al. for the benefit of enabling the sub-barrel to be retained at a selected position (Byrne et al., paragraph 0037).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Lin does not explicitly teach the connecting agent.
Byrne et al. further teaches that the connecting agent (80) is a UV cure adhesive (“In addition to the engagement of the threaded portions 76 and 78, a suitable bonding agent, shown at 80, such as an epoxy that is cured using ultra-violet (UV) light, may be applied between the lens member 32 and the front housing member 36 to retain the lens member 32 in a selected position relative to the imaging element 33.” paragraph 0037, see figure 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connecting agent taught by the combination of Lin and Byrne et al. be a UV cure adhesive as taught by Byrne et al. for the benefit of enabling the sub-barrel to be retained at a selected position (Byrne et al., paragraph 0037).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 17 above, Lin teaches connecting the lens barrel (20) to the lens barrel (44) via threads (The lens sub-barrel (44) is coupled to the sliding member (32) which includes threads coupled to corresponding threads on the lens barrel (20), paragraphs 0015 and 0023.). However, Lin does not explicitly teach applying a connecting agent to the lens sub-barrel, the lens barrel, or both before, during, or after the lens sub-barrel and the lens barrel are connected together.
Byrne et al. similarly teaches a lens barrel (lens member, 32) attached to a housing (front housing member, 36) via complementary fasteners (threaded portions, 76, 78, see figure 1b, paragraph 0037).
However, Byrne et al. additionally teaches a connecting agent (suitable bonding agent, 80) located between and locking the sub-barrel fasteners (threaded portion, 76) to the lens barrel outer fasteners (internally threaded portion, 78) so that the lens sub-barrel (32) is prevented from moving relative to the lens barrel (“In addition to the engagement of the threaded portions 76 and 78, a suitable bonding agent, shown at 80, such as an epoxy that is cured using ultra-violet (UV) light, may be applied between the lens member 32 and the front housing member 36 to retain the lens member 32 in a selected position relative to the imaging element 33.” paragraph 0037, see figure 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a connecting agent as taught by Byrne et al. to the lens sub-barrel, the lens barrel, or both before, during, or after the lens sub-barrel and the lens barrel are connected together as taught by Lin for the benefit of enabling the sub-barrel to be retained at a selected position (Byrne et al., paragraph 0037).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 18 above, Lin does not explicitly teach the connecting agent.
Byrne et al. further teaches activating the connecting agent (80) to lock the lens sub-barrel to the lens barrel (i.e. using UV light, paragraph 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connecting agent taught by the combination of Lin and Byrne et al. be activated via UV light as taught by Byrne et al. for the benefit of enabling the sub-barrel to be retained at a selected position (Byrne et al., paragraph 0037).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that a sensitivity to z tolerance of the one or more sub-barrel lenses is about 2x or more and about 10x or less, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claims 8 and 9.
Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter as depending from claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2019/0079261) teaches assembling an imaging device having two lens barrels (see figures 1 and 2), wherein a sub lens barrel (1000) is adjusted in six degrees of freedom with respect to a main lens barrel (2000), paragraphs 0078-0081.
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637