DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “”an orthogonal-direct, OD, chassis”, which should have been “an orthogonal-direct (OD) chassis” instead.
Claim 19 recites “An orthogonal-direct, OD, chassis”, which should have been “The OD chassis” instead, since claim 19 depends on claim 1, and that it’s the same OD chassis introduced in claim 1.
Claim 19 recites “an OD connection”, which should have been “the OD connection” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“wherein the first part of each segment is lockable in the advanced position” in claim 14.
“wherein the first part of each segment is lockable in the retracted position” in claim 15.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “guiding elements” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fricker et al. (US 9,781,858; hereinafter “Fricker”) in view of Bechtolsheim et al. (US 10,841,246; hereinafter “Bechtolsheim”).
Regarding claim 1, Fricker teaches a sled (105, Figs. 1, 6A, 6B) for an orthogonal-direct (OD) chassis (102, Fig. 1), wherein the sled comprises:
- a frame (114, Fig. 1);
- a connection elements (510, Figs. 6A, 6B) for establishing an OD connection (512, Figs. 6A, 6B); and
- one or more segments (104, 121, and/or 124, Fig. 1), each segment comprising a first part (104, Fig. 1),
wherein each segment is arranged within the frame (104, 102 and/or 124 inside 114 in Fig. 1), wherein one or more of the connection elements are mounted to the first part of each segment (as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B), and wherein the first part of each segment is movable relative to the frame (104 movable relative to 114 as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Fricker does not teach establishing the OD connection with one or more other sleds of the OD chassis. However, Bechtolsheim teaches a plurality of connection elements (202, 204, 206, Figs. 2-3, 5) for establishing an OD connection with one or more other sleds of an OD chassis (inside chassis 410 with sled 102 and 106 in Figs. 4, 5); one or more horizontal sleds (106, Figs. 4-5); and one or more vertical sleds (102, Figs. 4, 5); wherein each horizontal sled is connectable to each vertical sled using the OD connection (202, 204, 206, Figs. 2-3, 5); wherein each horizontal sled comprises a plurality of first connection elements (206, Fig. 3), wherein each vertical sled comprises a plurality of second connection elements (204, Fig. 3), and wherein the first connection elements and the second connection elements are connectable to each other to establish the OD connection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to establish the OD connection with one or more other sleds of the OD chassis in Fricker, as taught by Bechtolsheim, in order to couple line cards to a switch/fabric card through orthogonal direction connectors without a midplane and improve packaging density.
Regarding claim 2, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 1, and Fricker further teaches wherein each segment or the first part (104) of each segment is movably mounted to the frame (104 movable relative to 114 as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 3, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 1, and Fricker further teaches wherein each segment further comprises a second part (121 and/or 124, Fig. 1), wherein the second part of each segment is mounted to the frame, wherein the first part of each segment is movably mounted to the second part of the corresponding segment (104 is movably mounted to 121 through 124, can refer to Figs. 1, 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 3. Fricker does not teach wherein the second part is fixedly mounted to the frame. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second part is fixedly mounted to the frame in Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, fixing the second part at the connected position can prevent accidental disconnection of the sled.
Regarding claim 5, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 1, and Fricker further teaches wherein each segment or the first part of each segment is mounted in a floating manner within the frame (104 in floating manner in 114 as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 6, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 5, and Fricker further teaches wherein each segment or the frame comprise one or more floating bearings (same as 116, 120, 121 and/or 126, Figs. 1-6B) for mounting each segment or the first part of each segment in a floating manner (floating manner as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 7, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 1, and Fricker further teaches wherein the first part of each segment is movable parallel to a movement direction between an advanced position (position in Fig. 6B) and a retracted position (position in Fig. 6A), wherein the OD connection is establishable when the first part of each segment is arranged in the advanced position (OD connection established in Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 8, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 7, and Fricker further teaches wherein the frame comprises a first side (left side in Figs. 6A, 6B) and a second side (right side in Figs. 6A, 6B) opposite to the first side, wherein the connection elements are arranged at the first side (510 on left side), wherein the movement direction is parallel to a direction extending from the first side to the second side (x-direction as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 9, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 7, and Fricker further teaches wherein the frame comprises guiding elements (118, Figs. 1, 6A, 6B) extending in the movement direction, wherein the guiding elements guide the movement of each segment or the movement of the first part of each segment in the movement direction (118 guides 104 in x-direction as shown in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 10, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 7, and Fricker further teaches wherein the frame is configured to restrict the movement of each segment or the movement of the first part of each segment between the advanced position and the retracted position (114 restrict movement of 104/121, and/or 124 to be within positions in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 9. Fricker does not teach mechanical stops for restricting the movement of each segment or the movement of the first part of each segment between the advanced position and the retracted position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mechanical stops for restricting the movement of each segment or the movement of the first part of each segment between the advanced position and the retracted position in Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, adding mechanical stops can prevent accidental scratch of segment during movement, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 12-13, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 9, and Fricker further teaches wherein each guiding element comprises one or more floating bearings (same as 118, Figs. 6A, 6B) for mounting the corresponding segment or the first part of the segment in a floating manner, wherein the one or more floating bearings are lances (same as top and bottom 118 which acts as lances in Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claims 14-15, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 9. Fricker does not teach wherein the first part of each segment is lockable in the advanced position and in the retracted position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first part of each segment is lockable in the advanced position and in the retracted position in Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim, since
all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, have the positions be lockable can prevent accidental change in positions of the segment, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches the sled according to claim 9, and Fricker further teaches wherein the sled comprises one or more electronic component (see electronic components on 104 in Figs. 6A, 6B). Fricker does not explicitly teach wherein the connection elements are connected to the electronic components via cables. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection elements are connected to the electronic components via cables in Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, using cables to reach electronic components allow simple direct connections from electronic components to the connection elements, and this yields predict results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 19-20, Fricker in view of Bechtolsheim teaches The OD chassis (102) according to claim 1 above, and Bechtolsheim further teaches the OD chassis comprising:
- one or more horizontal sleds (106, Figs. 4-5 of Bechtolsheim); and
- one or more vertical sleds (102, Figs. 4-5 of Bechtolsheim),
wherein each horizontal sled is connectable to each vertical sled using the OD connection (202, 204, 206, Figs. 2-3, 5 of Bechtolsheim), and
wherein the one or more horizontal sleds and/or the one or more vertical sleds are configured as sleds according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above); wherein each horizontal sled comprises a plurality of first connection elements (206, Fig. 3 of Bechtolsheim), wherein each vertical sled comprises a plurality of second connection elements (204, Fig. 3 of Bechtolsheim), and wherein the first connection elements and the second connection elements are connectable to each other to establish the OD connection (as shown in Fig. 3 of Bechtolsheim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claims 16-17, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the sled according to claim 16, in particular, wherein each segment comprises one or more levers, wherein the guiding elements comprise, for each lever, a first hole and a second hole, wherein the lever is engageable with the corresponding first hole for locking the first part of the segment in the advanced position, wherein the lever is engageable with the corresponding second hole for locking the first part of the segment in the retracted position.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841