DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 10, [0035], line 3, “14” in its second occurrence has been changed to - -14A- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, line 5, it is unclear as to what is meant by “a shorter direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
The term “substantially” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The contour shape of the first and second end surface is described as substantially parallelogram in the claim, however, it is unclear as to what is meant by substantially parallelogram. The end surfaces should be either in the form of a parallelogram or not in the form of a parallelogram.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hecht (US 2014/01999128 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hecht discloses a cutting insert (112; Fig. 1), comprising a first end surface (FES), a second end surface (SES), and a peripheral side surface (PSS) that connects the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES) and includes a cutting edge (122), wherein: a contour shape of each of the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES) has a longitudinal direction (I) and a shorter direction (L); and a rake surface (RS) is provided in at least a portion of the peripheral side surface (PSS), the rake surface (RS) facing the longitudinal direction (I) of each of the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES).
[AltContent: textbox (FES)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (SES)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (PSS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (RS)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Hecht discloses wherein the rake surface (RS) is provided in at least a portion of the peripheral side surface (PSS) on one side and a portion of the peripheral side surface (PSS) on the other side along the longitudinal direction (I) of each of the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES).
Regarding claim 3, Hecht discloses wherein the cutting insert (112; Fig. 2) is 180- degrees rotationally symmetrical in a plan view as viewed in a direction orthogonal to the first end surface (FES).
Regarding claim 4, Hecht discloses wherein a contour shape of each of the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES) is a substantially parallelogram shape (see Fig. 2) having a longitudinal direction (I) and a shorter direction (L).
Regarding claim 5, Hecht discloses wherein the cutting insert is formed in a mirror-symmetrical shape in a front view as viewed in a direction orthogonal to the first end surface.
Regarding claim 6, Hecht discloses wherein the cutting insert (112) comprises at least one irregularly-formed part (136) formed in an irregular shape, the irregularly-formed part (136) being provided at a portion of the peripheral side surface (PSS) that intersects with the shorter direction (L) of each of the first end surface (FES) and the second end surface (SES).
Regarding claim 7, Hecht discloses wherein the rake surface (RS) is located so as to be spaced on an inner side away from a straight line that circumscribes the peripheral side surface (PSS) along the longitudinal direction (I) of the first end surface (FES).
Regarding claim 8, Hecht discloses a cutting tool (100; Fig. 1) comprising the cutting insert (112), and a holder (102) on which the cutting insert (112) is held.
Regarding claim 9, Hecht discloses wherein the cutting insert (112) is held at a leading-end part of the holder (102) in a state in which the cutting insert (112) protrudes outwardly (see Fig. 1) along a longitudinal direction of the holder (102), and the cutting insert (112) has a rake surface (RS) at a leading-end part thereof in a longitudinal direction, the rake surface (RS) facing the longitudinal direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show cutting inserts and holders.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
September 3, 2026