This is the first Office Action for the serial number 19/041,283, ADAPTIVE BLADDER LOCATION, filed on 1/30/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4, “at least one group of “ should be changed to ---at least one of group consisting of--- for clarification.
Claim 1, line 6, “selected from the group of configurable bladder locations” is indefinite because it is not clear what other group is included.
Claim 19, line 4, “at least one group of configurable bladder locations” is indefinite because it is not clear what other group is included.
Claim 19, lines 6-7, “at least one group of configurable bladder locations” is indefinite because it is not clear what other group is included.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as depending on rejected claim 1. Claim 20 is rejected as depending on rejected claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2026/0037010 to Blair et al.
Blair et al. teaches a seat system (10) comprising a bladder assembly (200) including a carrier substrate (250) and inflatable bladders (5770) attached with the carrier substrate. Each of the inflatable bladders fluidly connected with an associated feed channel (2864). The at least one of the inflatable bladders is a foldable bladder that is foldable from an unfolded position into a folded position. The foldable bladder is secured to the carrier substrate. The foldable bladder is on a flap (5720). Wherein lateral edges of the flap are severed from the carrier substrate. The foldable bladder comprises a fastener (sewing or welding, section 0221). The foldable bladder is foldable along a fold line and the associated feed channel (2864) crosses the fold line. The fold line is non-intersecting with the foldable bladder. The feed channels are embedded in the carrier substrate. The bladder assembly is in a seat and the feed channel is connected to pump (2852). The foldable bladder is on a flap, lateral edges of the flap are severed from the carrier substrate, the foldable bladder is foldable along a fold line, and the associated feed channel cross the fold line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al..
Blair et al. teaches a seat system (10) comprising a bladder assembly (200) including a carrier substrate (250) and inflatable bladders (5770) attached with the carrier substrate. Each of the inflatable bladders fluidly connected with an associated feed channel (2864). The at least one of the inflatable bladders is a foldable bladder that is foldable from an unfolded position into a folded position. The foldable bladder is secured to the carrier substrate. The foldable bladder is on a flap (5720). Wherein lateral edges of the flap are severed from the carrier substrate. The foldable bladder comprises a fastener (sewing or welding, section 0221). The foldable bladder is foldable along a fold line and the associated feed channel (2864) crosses the fold line. The fold line is non-intersecting with the foldable bladder. The feed channels are embedded in the carrier substrate. The bladder assembly is in a seat and the feed channel is connected to pump (2852). The foldable bladder is on a flap, lateral edges of the flap are severed from the carrier substrate, the foldable bladder is foldable along a fold line, and the associated feed channel cross the fold line.
Blair teaches all of the elements but fail to teach the use of elements in method. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specified steps for installing the elements together to prevent from damaging the bladder assembly if improper installed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-13 and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 5, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from independent claim 1 and dependent claim 4 and the limitations from claim 5 with “wherein the fastener includes a snap”. Regarding claim 8, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from independent claim 1 and dependent 6 including the limitations from dependent claim 8 with “the feed channel includes internal protrusions.” Regarding claim 17, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from independent claim 1 and dependents claim 16 including the limitation with “the fastener includes a snap”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent # 4,720,146 to Mawbey et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2015/0035323 to Diop et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2025/0178506 to Abdella et al.
The cited references above teach the seat with a bladder construction therein.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636
6/12/26