DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 2 recites “visible to the naked eye” in lines 1 and 2. It appears that the claim should recite “visible to a naked eye” in lines 1 and 2.
Claim 16 recites “visible to the naked eye” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “visible to a naked eye” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-23, 27, 28, 30-32, 34-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (US Patent Application No. 2022/0042369) in view of Ranade (US Patent Application No. 2016/0039594).
Regarding claim 1, Burrows teach an article comprising a glass sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 2, paragraph [0022]); an aerogel sheet comprising a first face, a second face, and an edge forming an outer perimeter of the aerogel sheet, wherein the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the glass sheet (page 2, paragraph [0022], Fig. 1).
Burrows fail to teach an encapsulation material encapsulates the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Burrows do not teach wherein the aerogel sheet has visible degradation (entire document). Therefore, the aerogel sheet is devoid of degradation visible to the naked eye.
Regarding claim 3, Burrows fail to teach wherein the encapsulation material encapsulates the edge of the aerogel sheet along an entirety of the outer perimeter. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along an entirety of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Burrows teach wherein an entirety of the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the glass sheet (page 2, paragraph [0022], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Burrows fail to teach wherein the encapsulation material consists essentially of organic material that is chemically and physically compatible with the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically and physically compatible with the aerogel sheet of Burrows.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is physically compatible with pores of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is physically compatible with pores of the aerogel sheet of Burrows.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is in contact with the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade in contact with the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material comprises polyethylene terephthalate glycol. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Burrows fail to teach wherein the polyethylene terephthalate glycol is extruded polyethylene terephthalate glycol. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]).
The product-by-process limitation “extruded polyethylene terephthalate glycol” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the article The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the article of Burrows et al., as modified by Ranade, possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed article.
Regarding claim 12, Burrows teach wherein the aerogel sheet comprises silica aerogel (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Burrows fail to teach wherein the encapsulation material is bonded to the glass sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the encapsulation material of Ranade to the glass sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Burrows teach a multiple pane insulating glazing unit (page 1, paragraph [0016]) comprising first and second panes (page 1, paragraph [0016]), a spacer (page 1, paragraph [0016], page 4, paragraph [0044]), a spacer sealant (page 4, paragraph [0044]), an aerogel sheet (page 1, paragraph [0016], page 2, paragraph [0022]), the spacer maintaining the first and second panes in a spaced apart configuration such that a between pane spaced is located between the first and second panes (page 1, paragraph [0016], page 4, paragraph [0044]), the aerogel sheet being located in the between pane space and retained in a mounted position alongside the first pane (page 1, paragraph [0016], page 2, paragraph [0022], page 4, paragraph [0044]), the aerogel sheet comprising a first faces, a second face and an edge forming an outer perimeter of the aerogel sheet (page 2, paragraph [0022], page 4, paragraph [0044], Fig. 1).
Burrows fail to teach wherein the unit comprises an organic material such that the organic material encapsulates the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 16, Burrows do not teach wherein the aerogel sheet has visible degradation (entire document). Therefore, the aerogel sheet is devoid of degradation visible to the naked eye.
Regarding claim 17, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material encapsulates the edge of the aerogel sheet along an entirety of the outer perimeter. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along an entirety of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Burrows teach wherein an entirety of the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the first pane (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 19, Burrows teach wherein a gas gap exists between the second face of the aerogel sheet and the second pane (page 3, paragraph [0035], page 4, paragraphs [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is bonded to the first pane. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the organic material of Ranade to the first pane of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 21, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is in contact with a portion of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic material of Ranade in contact with a portion of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 22, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is bonded to the portion of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the organic material of Ranade to a portion of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 23, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is spaced apart from the spacer sealant. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade spaced apart from the spacer sealant of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 27, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is physically compatible with pores of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The organic encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is physically compatible with pores of the aerogel sheet of Burrows.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 28, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is chemically compatible with the spacer sealant. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The organic encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically compatible with the spacer sealant.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 30, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material does not outgas. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). Ranade does not teach wherein the organic material outgas (entire document).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 31, Burrows teach wherein the unit further comprises a low emissivity coating (page 3, paragraph [0039]), the low emissivity coating including at least one film comprising silver (page 3, paragraph [0039]). Burrows do not teach wherein the organic material releases moisture to the between pane space in an amount that corrodes the low emissivity coating (page 3, paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 32, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material does not release moisture to the between pane space in an amount that degrades the spacer sealant. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). Ranade does not teach wherein the organic material releases moisture (entire document).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 34, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material does not degrade upon exposure to ultraviolet radiation with the between pane space. Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). Ranade does not teach wherein the organic material degrades upon exposure to ultraviolet radiation (entire document).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 35, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material comprises polyethylene terephthalate glycol. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The organic encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 36, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material is extruded polyethylene terephthalate glycol. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The organic encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]).
The product-by-process limitation “extruded polyethylene terephthalate glycol” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the article The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the article of Burrows et al., as modified by Ranade, possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed article.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 37, Burrows fail to teach wherein the organic material defines a bead. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]), wherein the organic material defines a bead (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 38, Burrows fail to teach wherein the bead contacts a wall of the spacer and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]), wherein the organic material defines a bead (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on a wall of the spacer and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 39, Burrows teach wherein the bead is bonded to the wall of the spacer and the portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]), wherein the organic material defines a bead (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on a wall of the spacer and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 40, Burrows fail to teach wherein the bead engages a wall of the spacer, a portion of the first pane, and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]), wherein the organic material defines a bead (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on a wall of the space, a portion of the first pane, and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 41, Burrows fail to teach wherein the bead is bonded to the wall of the spacer, the portion of the first pane, and the portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet. However, Ranade teaches an article comprising an organic encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]), wherein the organic material defines a bead (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic encapsulation material of Ranade on the wall of the space, a portion of the first pane, and a portion of the second face of the aerogel sheet of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 42, Burrows teach wherein the aerogel sheet comprises silica aerogel (page 2, paragraphs [0022], [0028]).
Claims 6, 13, 25 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (US Patent Application No. 2022/0042369) in view of Ranade (US Patent Application No. 2016/0039594), in further view of Chowdhury et al. (US Patent Application No. 2023/0416099).
Burrows and Ranade are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 6, Burrows fail to teach wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophilic silica aerogel sheet, and the organic material is chemically compatible with methyl functional groups of the hydrophilic silica aerogel. However, Chowdhury et al. teach an article comprising a glass sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150]); an aerogel sheet comprising a first face, a second face, and an edge forming an outer perimeter or the aerogel sheet, wherein the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the glass sheet (page 2, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150], Fig. 9), wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophilic silica aerogel sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 4, paragraph [0054]). Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically and physically compatible with the aerogel sheet and chemically compatible with hydroxyl functional groups of the hydrophilic silica aerogel.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hydrophilic silica aerogel in Burrows as that of Chowdhury et al. in order to form an enhanced silica aerogel sheet having a desirable combination of mechanical, thermal and/or optical properties (Chowdhury et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]) and use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Burrows fail to teach wherein the silica aerogel comprising silica aerogel synthesized from methyl silicate 51. However, Chowdhury et al. teach an article comprising a glass sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150]); an aerogel sheet comprising a first face, a second face, and an edge forming an outer perimeter or the aerogel sheet, wherein the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the glass sheet (page 2, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150], Fig. 9), wherein the aerogel sheet comprising silica aerogel synthesized from methyl silicate 51 (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methyl silicate 51 of Chowdhury et al. in the article of Burrows in order to provide a silica aerogel with less haze and less optical distortion (Chowdhury et al., page 3, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 25, Burrows fail to teach wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophilic silica aerogel sheet and the organic material is chemically compatible with hydroxyl functional groups of the hydrophilic silica aerogel sheet. However, Chowdhury et al. teach a multiple pane insulating glazing unit comprising first and second panes, an aerogel sheet (page 11, paragraph [0150]), wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophilic silica aerogel sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 4, paragraph [0054]). Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically and physically compatible with the aerogel sheet and chemically compatible with hydroxyl functional groups of the hydrophilic silica aerogel.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hydrophilic silica aerogel in Burrows as that of Chowdhury et al. in order to form an enhanced silica aerogel sheet having a desirable combination of mechanical, thermal and/or optical properties (Chowdhury et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]) and use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 43, Burrows fail to teach wherein the silica aerogel comprising silica aerogel synthesized from methyl silicate 51. However, Chowdhury et al. teach an article comprising a glass sheet (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150]); an aerogel sheet comprising a first face, a second face, and an edge forming an outer perimeter or the aerogel sheet, wherein the first face of the aerogel sheet is in contact with the glass sheet (page 2, paragraph [0002], page 11, paragraph [0150], Fig. 9), wherein the aerogel sheet comprising silica aerogel synthesized from methyl silicate 51 (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0020]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the methyl silicate 51 of Chowdhury et al. in the article of Burrows in order to provide a silica aerogel with less haze and less optical distortion (Chowdhury et al., page 3, paragraph [0037]).
Claims 7 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (US Patent Application No. 2022/0042369) in view of Ranade (US Patent Application No. 2016/0039594), in further view of Wang et al. (US Patent Application No. 2019/0333490).
Burrows and Ranade are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 7, Burrows fail to teach wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet, and the organic material is chemically compatible with methyl functional groups of the hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet. However, Wang et al. teach an article comprising a glass sheet and an aerogel sheet (page 2, paragraph [0011]), wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet (page 2, paragraph [0011], page 4, paragraph [0043]). Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically compatible with methyl functional groups of the hydrophobic silica aerogel.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hydrophobic silica aerogel in Burrows as that of Wang et al. in order to provide water repellency (Wang et al., page 4, paragraph [0043]) and use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 26, Burrows fail to teach wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet, and the organic material is chemically compatible with methyl functional groups of the hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet. However, Wang et al. teach an article comprising a glass sheet and an aerogel sheet (page 2, paragraph [0011]), wherein the aerogel sheet is a hydrophobic silica aerogel sheet (page 2, paragraph [0011], page 4, paragraph [0043]). Ranade teaches an article comprising an encapsulation material (page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraph [0038]). The encapsulation material is polyethylene terephthalate glycol (page 3, paragraph [0038]) which is an organic material that is chemically compatible with methyl functional groups of the hydrophobic silica aerogel.
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hydrophobic silica aerogel in Burrows as that of Wang et al. in order to provide water repellency (Wang et al., page 4, paragraph [0043]) and use the encapsulation material of Ranade on the edge of the aerogel sheet along at least a portion of the outer perimeter of Burrows in order to provide protection (Ranade, page 1, paragraph [0017], page 3, paragraphs [0038], [0039]).
Claims 24, 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burrows (US Patent Application No. 2022/0042369) in view of Ranade (US Patent Application No. 2016/0039594), in further view of Tinianov (US Patent No. 7,954,283).
Burrows and Ranade are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 24, 29 and 33, Burrows fail to teach wherein the spacer sealant comprises polyisobutylene. However, Tinianov teaches an article comprising a glass (col. 3, lines 5-15), aerogel (col. 4, lines 65-67) and a spacer sealant comprising polyisobutylene (col. 4, lines 65-67, col. 5, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyisobutylene of Tinianov as the space sealant in Burrows in order to protect the spacer (Tinianov, col. 5, lines 5-10).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/26/2026