DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 1-30-25. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are recites the limitation by means of “a DC/DC power converter and second DC link”. It is unclear if they are claiming this or just describing something. Seems like they're unclaimed. But they appear to be necessary components - so they should be claimed. It is unclear which it is, so that makes the claim indefinite, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2026/0009145 to Bendig et al. (“Bendig”) in view of US 2021/0140057 to Utz (“Utz”).
Regarding claim 1, Bendig discloses a method of providing low voltage ride through capability for an electrolyser plant (fig. 3, more electrolysis modules 29A-29E of an electrolysis installation l A, l B, l C), the electrolyser plant comprising: an AC/DC power converter (13) comprising: at least one AC terminal (35) electrically connectable to an AC power network (27), and an electrolyser (1A-1C) electrically connected to the first DC link, by means of a DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link (7), and adapted to receive a load current (para; 0005, For the operation of water electrolysis installations, a high direct current is required); the method comprising: during normal operation of the AC power network (para; 0009, wherein the central supply line is connected to the DC voltage output of the power supply source, such that a direct current having a first DC voltage can be injected into the central supply line, and wherein the electrolysis installations are electrically connected in parallel to the central supply line, wherein, for the DC power supply from the public power grid), maintaining a pre-event DC link voltage (down-circuit central modular multilevel converter 13, which comprises a DC voltage output 7) and supplying a pre-event load current to the electrolyser (para; 0012, grounds of the high DC currents required for electrolysis operations); and in response to a detected low voltage event (para; 0047, required, in the event that the DC output of the photovoltaic installations itself does not deliver a sufficiently high DC voltage level for injection into the central supply line): initially continuing to supply the pre-event load current to the electrolyser to maintain normal operation of the electrolyser (para; 0008, an electrolysis system having a DC power supply for multiple parallel-connected electrolysis installations, which is designed for industrial-scale installations), monitoring the DC link voltage, that is less than the pre-event DC link voltage (para; 0069, the DC voltage output 7 thereof, the first DC voltage 31 is supplied and is injected into the central supply line 5. Corresponding voltage levels for the first DC voltage are optionally obtained, for example, from medium-voltage levels of 3 kV, 6 kV, 10 kV, 15 kV, 20 kV or 30 kV, or from high-voltage levels of 60 kV or ll0 kV), reducing the load current supplied to the electrolyser (para; 0070, grounds of maintenance, is not generating power, or is only generating power to a very limited extent, or during phases of cloudy and windless conditions, such that a back-up solution is maintained, in the interests of ensuring the most continuous supply possible and a consistent operation of the electrolysis installations l A, l B for hydrogen production. Optionally, in the event of a shortfall in the DC electric power supply on the central supply line 5), optionally by ramping down the load current at a suitable ramp rate (para; 0047, flexibly adapted to the predetermined first DC voltage on the central DC supply line. If necessary, for the adjustment of the predetermined DC voltage level on the DC voltage output, step-up converters, or "boost converters).
But, Bendig does not disclose a first DC link with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals electrically connected to the first DC link; and when the monitored DC link voltage falls below a first voltage threshold,
However, Utz discloses a first DC link (fig. 2, DC link with capacitor (33)) with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals (fig. 2, top and bottom dots) electrically connected to the first DC link; and when the monitored DC link voltage falls below a first voltage threshold (para; 0034, Such damping by the filter 30 has an advantageous effect on the control and/or variation of the first DC voltage 8 or the second DC voltages 11, 12),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding DC link with capacitor as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to smooth the output of a rectifier.
Regarding claim 2, Bendig discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Bendig does not disclose the monitored DC link voltage is the voltage in the first DC link.
However, Utz discloses (para; 0031, stabilize the first DC voltage 8 produced by the rectifier 6 The opportunity to be able to influence the level of the second DC voltages 11, 12 simply by adapting the level of the first DC voltage 8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding DC link with capacitor as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to smooth the output of a rectifier.
Regarding claim 3, Bendig discloses the electrolyser is electrically connected to the first DC link by a DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link (7), and wherein the load current is the current at the DC output (33) terminals of the DC/DC power converter (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Bendig discloses the monitored DC link voltage is the voltage in the second DC link (fig. 3, 7).
Regarding claim 5, Bendig discloses wherein in the response to the detected low voltage event (para; 0047, required, in the event that the DC output of the photovoltaic installations itself does not deliver a sufficiently high DC voltage level for injection into the central supply line) the method further comprises: and greater than the first voltage threshold (para; 0069, the DC voltage output 7 thereof, the first DC voltage 31 is supplied and is injected into the central supply line 5. Corresponding voltage levels for the first DC voltage are optionally obtained, for example, from medium-voltage levels of 3 kV, 6 kV, 10 kV, 15 kV, 20 kV or 30 kV, or from high-voltage levels of 60 kV or ll0 kV).
But, Bendig does not disclose the electrolyser plant includes an additional energy storage device that is electrically connected to the first or second DC link, by means of a power converter, and starting to supply energy from the additional energy storage device to the first or second DC link if the monitored DC link falls below a second voltage threshold that is less than the pre-event DC link voltage,
However, Utz discloses the electrolyser plant includes an additional energy storage device (fig. 2, 32) that is electrically connected to the first or second DC link, by means of a power converter (rectifier 6), and starting to supply energy from the additional energy storage device (# 32 connected to 33) to the first or second DC link if the monitored DC link falls below a second voltage threshold (para; 0034, Such damping by the filter 30 has an advantageous effect on the control and/or variation of the first DC voltage 8 or the second DC voltages 11, 12) that is less than the pre-event DC link voltage,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding energy storage as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to use as backup source and smooth the output of a rectifier.
Regarding claim 6, Bendig discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Bendig does not discloses the load current supplied to the electrolyser is reduced if the stored energy available to be supplied from the additional energy storage device falls below a threshold.
However, Utz discloses the load current supplied to the electrolyser is reduced if the stored energy available to be supplied from the additional energy storage device falls below a threshold (para; 0034, Such damping by the filter 30 has an advantageous effect on the control and/or variation of the first DC voltage 8 or the second DC voltages 11, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding energy storage as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to control a current distribution according to the resistance ratios of the electrolysers therefore advantageously allows safe and more efficient operation of the circuit.
Regarding claim 7, Bendig discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Bendig does not discloses the additional energy storage device is controlled to stop supplying energy to the first or second DC link when the low voltage event ends.
However, Utz discloses the additional energy storage device is controlled to stop supplying energy to the first or second DC link when the low voltage event ends (para; 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding energy storage as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to control a current distribution according to the resistance ratios of the electrolysers therefore advantageously allows safe and more efficient operation of the circuit.
Regarding claim 8, Bendig discloses the load current is increased back to the pre-event load current when the low voltage event ends, by ramping up the load current at a suitable ramp rate (para; 0047, flexibly adapted to the predetermined first DC voltage on the central DC supply line. If necessary, for the adjustment of the predetermined DC voltage level on the DC voltage output, step-up converters, or "boost converters).
Regarding claim 9, Bendig discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Bendig does not discloses the additional energy storage device is controlled to stop supplying energy to the first or second DC link when the pre-event load current is reached.
However, Utz discloses the additional energy storage device is controlled to stop supplying energy to the first or second DC link when the pre-event load current is reached (para; 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding energy storage as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to control a current distribution according to the resistance ratios of the electrolysers therefore advantageously allows safe and more efficient operation of the circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Bendig discloses operation of the electrolyser is stopped when the load current falls below a current threshold (para; 0018, in the electrolysis system, electrolysis installations are both controllable with respect to the electrolysis power, and can also be switched on and off. A part-load capability or part-load actuation is achieved by the regulation of the electrolysis current).
Regarding claim 11, Bendig discloses the current threshold is zero or substantially zero (para; 0019, The bridging of a DC/DC converter thus entails a complete drop of the first DC voltage across the electrolysis installation which is connected to the bridged DC/DC converter.).
Regarding claim 12, Bendig discloses an electrolyser plant (fig. 3, 100) comprising: an AC/DC power converter (13) comprising: at least one AC terminal electrically connectable to an AC power network (27), an electrolyser (1A-1C) electrically connected to the first DC link, by means of a DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link, and adapted to receive a load current (para; 0005, For the operation of water electrolysis installations, a high direct current is required); and a controller (para; 0009, such that the second DC voltage drops across the electrolysis installation, wherein each of the DC/DC converters can be controlled and/or regulated for adjusting a level of the second DC voltage thereof, and wherein actuatable bridging switches are provided such that, where a bridging switch is closed, a respective DC/DC converter can be bridged, such that the connected electrolysis installation can be directly energized by the first DC voltage) configured to: during normal operation of the AC power network, maintain a pre-event DC link voltage (DC link voltage from first capacitor 56 (or regulating) the power from the high-voltage battery and supplying the power to motor 22) and supply a pre-event load current to the electrolyser (para; 0012, grounds of the high DC currents required for electrolysis operations); and in response to a detected low voltage event: initially continue to supply the pre-event load current to the electrolyser to maintain normal operation of the electrolyser (para; 0008, an electrolysis system having a DC power supply for multiple parallel-connected electrolysis installations, which is designed for industrial-scale installations), the pre-event DC link voltage (para; 0069, the DC voltage output 7 thereof, the first DC voltage 31 is supplied and is injected into the central supply line 5. Corresponding voltage levels for the first DC voltage are optionally obtained, for example, from medium-voltage levels of 3 kV, 6 kV, 10 kV, 15 kV, 20 kV or 30 kV, or from high-voltage levels of 60 kV or ll0 kV), reduce the load current supplied to the electrolyser, by ramping down the load current at a suitable ramp rate (para; 0047, flexibly adapted to the predetermined first DC voltage on the central DC supply line. If necessary, for the adjustment of the predetermined DC voltage level on the DC voltage output, step-up converters, or "boost converters).
But, Bendig does not disclose a first DC link with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals electrically connected to the first DC link; monitor the DC link voltage, and when the monitored DC link voltage falls below a first voltage threshold,
However, Utz discloses a first DC link (fig. 2, DC link with capacitor (33)) with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals (fig. 2, top and bottom dots) electrically connected to the first DC link; monitor the DC link voltage, and when the monitored DC link voltage falls below a first voltage threshold (para; 0034, Such damping by the filter 30 has an advantageous effect on the control and/or variation of the first DC voltage 8 or the second DC voltages 11, 12),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding DC link with capacitor as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to smooth the output of a rectifier.
Regarding claim 13, Bendig discloses the electrolyser is electrically connected to the first DC link by a DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link.
Regarding claim 14, Bendig discloses two or more electrolysers (fig. 3, more electrolysis modules 29A-29E of an electrolysis installation l A, l B, l C), wherein each electrolyser is electrically connected to the first DC link in parallel, by a respective DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link.
Regarding claim 15, Bendig discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Bendig does not discloses one or more additional energy storage devices, wherein each additional energy storage device is electrically connected to the first DC link or to one or more second DC links, optionally by a power converter.
However, Utz discloses one or more additional energy storage devices (fig. 2, 32), wherein each additional energy storage device is electrically connected to the first DC link or to one or more second DC links, optionally by a power converter (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding energy storage as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to use as backup source and smooth the output of a rectifier.
Regarding claim 16, Bendig discloses a method of providing low voltage ride through capability for an electrolyser plant (fig. 3, 100 and para; 0025), the electrolyser plant comprising: an AC/DC power converter (13) comprising: at least one AC terminal electrically connectable to an AC power network (27), and an electrolyser electrically connected to the first DC link, by means of a DC/DC power converter (11A-11C) and second DC link, and configured to receive a load current (para; 0005, For the operation of water electrolysis installations, a high direct current is required); the method comprising: during normal operation of the AC power network supplying a pre-event load current to the electrolyser (para; 0012, grounds of the high DC currents required for electrolysis operations); and in response to a detected low voltage event, immediately reducing the load current supplied to the electrolyser to a minimum current value, by ramping down the load current at a suitable ramp rate (para; 0047, flexibly adapted to the predetermined first DC voltage on the central DC supply line. If necessary, for the adjustment of the predetermined DC voltage level on the DC voltage output, step-up converters, or "boost converters).
But, Bendig does not disclose a first DC link with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals electrically connected to the first DC link;
However, Utz discloses a first DC link (fig. 2, DC link with capacitor (33)) with at least one DC link capacitor; and at least two DC terminals (fig. 2, top and bottom dots) electrically connected to the first DC link;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bendig by adding DC link with capacitor as part of its configuration as taught by Utz, in order to adding a capacitor is to smooth the output of a rectifier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Falk et al. US 2021/0317588 A1- A method for operating an electrolysis device, having a converter which is connected on an AC voltage side to an AC voltage grid via a decoupling inductance and draws an AC active power from the AC voltage grid, and an electrolyze, which is connected to the converter on the DC voltage side, is provided.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849