DETAILED ACTION
Status
This communication is in response to Applicant’s “AMENDMENT” filed on July 21, 2026 (hereinafter “Amendment”). In the Amendment, Applicant amended Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18 and 20; cancelled no claim(s); and added no claim(s). Therefore, Claims 1-20 remain pending and presented for examination. Of the pending claims, Claims 1, 8 and 15 remain independent claims.
Original Claims 1-20 were originally presented by Applicant and, therefore, have been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits per MPEP §§ 819 & 821.03.
The present application, filed after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file (FITF) provisions of the America Invents Act (AIA ).
Priority/Benefit Claim
No claim(s) for benefit or priority exists in this application and, therefore, the effective filing date of this application is its filing date of January 30, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner notes that no information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed in this application.
Applicant is notified of 37 CFR 1.51(d): “Applicants are encouraged to file an information disclosure statement in nonprovisional applications”; as well as 37 C.F.R. 1.56, which states that each inventor named in the application has a duty to disclose information material to patentability.
Applicant is notified of MPEP § 2001.06(b): “prior art references from one application must be made of record in another subsequent application if such prior art references are ‘material to patentability’ of the subsequent application”.
Drawings
Examiner notes Figures 7 and 8 are deemed “Prior Art” per Applicant’s drawings filed on 7/21/2026.
Response to Amendments
A Summary of the Response to Applicant’s Amendment:
Applicant’s Amendment overcomes the drawing objections; therefore, the Examiner withdraws the drawing objections.
Applicant’s Amendment introduces objections to independent Claims 1, 8 and 15; therefore, the Examiner asserts objections to independent Claims 1, 8 and 15, as provided below.
Applicant’s Amendment introduces new rejections to Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of the AIA ; therefore, the Examiner asserts new § 112(b) rejections to Claims 1-20, as provided below.
Applicant’s Amendment does not overcome rejections to Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101; therefore, the Examiner asserts/maintains § 101 rejections to Claims 1-20, as provided below.
Applicant’s Amendment overcomes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102; therefore, the Examiner withdraws the rejections under § 102. However, Applicant’s Amendment introduces new prior art rejections to Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103; therefore, the Examiner asserts prior art rejections to Claims 1-20, as provided below.
Applicant’s arguments are found to be not persuasive; please see Examiner’s “Response to Arguments” provided below.
Claim Objections
Independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error(s). More specifically, each of Claims 1, 8 and 15 recites “by the automated machine learning system agent” (noun phrase) and then subsequently recites “by the automated machine learning agent” without the word “system” being recited as part of the noun phrase, which is unclear and/or grammatically incorrect because, for example, it is unclear whether Applicant’s recited agent is a “machine learning agent” or whether the agent is a “system agent” of a “machine learning system” type. Consequently, independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to. Appropriate corrections are required to each independent claim.
Independent Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error. More specifically, Claim 8 recites two consecutive punctuation marks (i.e., two commas) in phrase “selects, , with…” recited in Claim 8, which is grammatically incorrect. Thus, Claim 8 is objected to. Examiner understands that only one comma should be recited between the words “selects” and “with”. Appropriate correction(s) is required.
(continued on next page)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. “A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear” (MPEP § 2173.05(e)).
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 20 are each rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA , as being indefinite because it is unclear as to what the phrase “the generated items” means in the context of each of independent claim reciting alternative language (i.e., “or”) in the phrase “one or more generated items” (bolding emphasis added). More specifically, it is unclear as to whether the phrase “the generated items” (plural) recited in each of Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 20: refers to all generated items (plural) of “one or more generated items” recited in each corresponding independent claim; refers to any two or more of the recited “one or more generated items” recited in each corresponding independent claim; or refers to the recited “one or more generated items” (entire alternative phase of each corresponding independent claim), which may allow for constraints for only one generated item given that no more than one generated item is required in view of the alternative language recited in Claims 1, 8 and 15. As currently presented, “the generated items” (plural) recited in each of Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 20 is amenable to multiple plausible constructions and, therefore, Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. Appropriate corrections are required.
In addition, each of independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 twice introduces the phrase “a database” and, therefore, it is unclear: (-i-) whether Applicant’s first-introduced “a database” and Applicant’s second-recited “a database” are the same database, or (-ii-) whether the second-recited “a database” is different from the first-introduced “a database” as currently recited in each of Applicant’s independent claims. Consequently, Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA as being indefinite. As a result, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the database” in Claims 2, 9 and 16 since the phrase “a database” is twice introduced in each independent claim. For example, it is unclear as to whether the phrase “the database” in Claims 2, 9 and 16: references only Applicant’s first-recited “a database” (i.e., in the phrase “an API call requesting one or more actionable signals to a service of a database”), references only Applicant’s secondly-introduced “a database” (i.e., in the phrase “storing the first of the one or more generated items in a database;”), or references both recitations to “a database” in each of the independent claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the database” recited in Claims 2, 9 and 16 and, therefore, Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA as being indefinite. Appropriate corrections are required.
Regarding Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18, since it is unclear as to what the phrase “the promotion” (singular) (bolding emphasis added) makes antecedent reference to in Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18; Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the promotion” (singular) recited in each of Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18. For example, it is unclear as to whether the phrase “the promotion” (singular): refers to all promotions (plural) for the products; refers to any one of the recited promotions for the products; or refers to a promotion not positively recited in any claim(s). As currently presented, “the promotion” (singular) recited in each of Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 is amenable to multiple plausible constructions and, therefore, Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claims 2-7 depend from independent Claim 1, but do not resolve the above issues and inherit the deficiencies of the parent claim(s); therefore, Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA . Similarly, Claims 9-14 depend from independent Claim 8, but do not resolve the above issues and inherit the deficiencies of the parent claim(s); therefore, Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA . Similarly, Claims 16-20 depend from independent Claim 15, but do not resolve the above issues and inherit the deficiencies of the parent claim(s); therefore, Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the AIA .
CPC Classification Notes
Examiner notes the following CPC classifications as being related to this case:
G06Q 30/00 Commerce
G06Q 30/02 • Marketing
G06Q 30/0207 •• Discounts or incentives, e.g. coupons or rebates
G06Q 30/0222 ••• During e-commerce, i.e. online transactions
G06Q 30/0224 ••• based on user history
G06Q 30/0239 ••• Online discounts or incentives
G06Q 30/0241 •• Advertisements
G06Q 30/0242 ••• Determining effectiveness of advertisements
G06Q 30/0244 •••• {Optimization}
G06Q 30/0251 ••• Targeted advertisements
G06Q 30/0253 •••• During e-commerce, i.e. online transactions
G06Q 30/0254 •••• based on statistics
G06Q 30/0255 •••• based on user history
G06Q 30/0277 ••• Online advertisement
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. During patent examination, the pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification” (MPEP § 2111). In view of this standard and based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to each claim as a whole, Claims 1-20 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 satisfy Step 1 enunciated in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014) with Claims 8-14 satisfying Step 1 based on Applicant’s recited “processor” being understood as a hardware processor.
Step 2A: Claims 1-20 are rejected under § 101 because Applicant’s claimed subject matter is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The rationale for this finding is that Applicant’s claims recite selecting one or more subjects (i.e., products or product categories) sold by a merchant’s store based on (indications of) one or more numerical “performance levels”/metrics regarding historical or past performance (e.g., a conversion rate, CTR, etc.) of the one or more subjects at the store, and in response to the one or more subjects (e.g., the products sold by the merchant’s store) being selected, generating/recommending a promotional item (e.g., a product promotion) for activation or implementation (e.g., presentation), such as in an effort to change (e.g., increase or boost) the performance levels or metrics of the one or more subjects (e.g., the products sold by the merchant’s store) — advertising management for a store based on historic store/product information (“performance levels”) which is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure of “leveraging the collected data to increase the performance of the… store” (Spec. ¶ [1]) and “attempt to boost where low-performing products and product categories show up” (Spec. ¶ [20]), as well as with Applicant’s disclosure recognizing (Spec. ¶ [1]) in the BACKGROUND) that “Merchants can use data collected for their… stores to determine actions they can take to maintain and improve their… stores and increase performance” (Spec. ¶ [1]) — as more particularly recited in Applicant’s pending claims save for recited (non-abstract claim elements): an automated machine learning system agent; a database(s); data stored in the database(s); an API call requesting information of the database; an API response; each of Applicant’s recited steps/operations of sending, receiving, activating, storing and discarding; (only Claims 4, 11 and 18) inserting a record into a database; (only independent Claim 8 and corresponding dependent claims) a computer-implemented system comprising one or more storage devices and a processor; and (only independent Claim 15 and corresponding dependent claims) a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more non-transitory storage devices storing instructions which are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations. However, advertising management for a store based on historic store/product information (e.g., “low performing”, numerical “performance levels”/metrics regarding historical or past performance levels/metrics such as a conversion rate, CTR, etc.), as currently recited in Applicant’s pending claims and further explained below, is within a certain method of organizing human activity — (i) fundamental economic principle or practice; and/or (ii) commercial interaction (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(A) provides examples of “fundamental economic principles or practices” and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B) provides additional discussion and examples of commercial interactions. This judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea exception) is not integrated into a practical application because each claim as a whole, having the combination of additional elements beyond the judicial exception(s), does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception and, therefore, the pending claims are “directed to” a judicial exception under USPTO Step 2A. More specifically, each claim as a whole does not appear to reflect the combination of additional elements as: (1) improving the functioning of a computer itself or improving another technology or technical field, (2) applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine/manufacture that is integral to the claim, (3) effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (4) applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Instead, any improvement is to the underlying abstract idea of advertising management for a store based on historic store/product information (“performance levels”). SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, No. 2017-2081, 2018 U.S. App. LEXIS 12590, Slip. Op. 13 (Fed. Cir. May 15, 2018) (“What is needed is an inventive concept in the non-abstract realm.”). Examiner notes that each of Applicant’s independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 recites use by or with “an automated machine learning system agent”; however, using or usage of “an automated machine learning system agent”, as recited in independent Claims 1, 8 and 15, appears as a high-level black box with no detail about the machine learning algorithm itself or any machine learning processes based on the recited “inputs”, such as how Applicant's model/tool operates on the recited “inputs” to produce an outputs (such as “one or more subjects”) and first and second generated items. Furthermore, Examiner notes that no detail of any training algorithm appears to be mentioned in Applicant's claims and, therefore, no specific way of training the algorithm/model exists within Applicant's recited use of “an automated machine learning system agent”. In addition, Examiner notes that the processes/operations utilizing “an automated machine learning system agent”, as recited in independent Claims 1, 8 and 15, may be via “any suitable machine learning system” — model-agonistic — per Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0022] (bolding and underlining emphases added by Examiner), which is similar to the analysis in Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Case No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025), which found “The machine learning technology described…is conventional, as the…specifications demonstrate” (page 11 of Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp.). Also similar to Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Case No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025), Applicant’s claims “do no more than claim the application of generic machine learning to new data environments, without disclosing improvements to the machine learning model[] to be applied” (see page 18 of Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp.). Applicant's mere recitations to “an automated machine learning system agent” are not sufficient to amount to a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 of the Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) analysis in view of Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Case No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025). Although Applicant’s independent claims require “one or more performance metrics generated from data stored in the database” and “performance levels for the one or more subjects”, these techniques encompass mathematical concepts in the form of formulas, equations, and calculations which also have been determined to constitute abstract ideas. See Memorandum, "Grouping of Abstract Ideas" and cases cited in footnote 12, such as enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (84 Fed. Reg. 50). As noted on page 4 of the “October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility” issued by the USPTO, Examiner notes that a claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using mathematical methods or “performing” a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim, in light of the specification, encompasses one or more mathematical calculations. Applicant’s additional elements, taken individually and in combination, do not appear to be integrated into a practical application since they embody mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or mere use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, do no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use {e.g., see “FIG. 7 is an example computer 20 suitable for implementing… the presently disclosed subject matter” (Spec. ¶ [52] with bolding added by Examiner) and “operation of a computer such as that shown in FIG. 7 is readily known in the art” (Spec. ¶ [56] with bolding added by Examiner) and “computing device 100” (illustrated in Figures 1, 2A and 2B and described in Applicant’s disclosure) can be “…any suitable computing device, such as, for example, a computer 20 as described in FIG. 7” (Spec. ¶ [21] with emphases added by Examiner). Examiner also notes Figure 8 of Applicant’s drawings, which is deemed “Prior Art”, illustrates a computer network environment in network communication with an online store/merchant 10,11, a database 15 and a server 13} and amount to no more than combining the abstract idea with insignificant extra-solution activity including each of Applicant’s recited operations/processes of receiving, storing, discarding, selecting, inserting, sending, performing and activating, as further explained below. For the reasons discussed above, Applicant’s claims are directed to an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 of the Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) analysis of 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2B: Under Step 2B enunciated in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014), Applicant’s instant claims do not recite limitations, taken individually and in combination, that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because Applicant’s claims do not recite, as further explained in detail below, an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, an application with or by a particular machine, a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, unconventional steps confining the claim to a particular useful application, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Examiner notes that each of Claims 1-7 is drawn to a method; however, Applicant’s claim limitations taken individually and in combination are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer-based agent and would require no more than generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., see the computer network environment shown in Figures 7-8 of Applicant’s drawings, which are admittedly “Prior Art” per Applicant’s drawings filed on 7/21/2026), and having the abstract idea combined with insignificant extra-solution activity including each of Applicant’s recited operations/processes of receiving, storing, discarding, selecting, inserting, sending, performing and activating, as further explained below. Examiner also notes that albeit limitations recited in the Claims 8-14 are performed by the generically recited “a processor” while Claims 15-20 are performed by the generically recited “one or more processors” and “by an automated machine learning system agent”, these claim limitations taken individually and in combination are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and require no more than a generic computer agent to generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., see the computer network environment shown in Figures 7-8 of Applicant’s drawings, which are deemed “Prior Art” per Applicant’s drawings filed on 7/21/2026), and no more than a combination of the abstract idea with insignificant extra-solution activity including each of Applicant’s recited operations/processes of receiving, storing, discarding, selecting, inserting, sending, performing and activating, as further explained below. As mentioned above, the claim elements in addition to the abstract idea arguably include: an automated machine learning system agent; a database(s); data stored in the database(s); an API call requesting information of the database; an API response; each of Applicant’s recited steps/operations of sending, receiving, activating, storing and discarding; (only Claims 4, 11 and 18) inserting a record into a database; (only independent Claim 8 and corresponding dependent claims) a computer-implemented system comprising one or more storage devices and a processor; and (only independent Claim 15 and corresponding dependent claims) a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more non-transitory storage devices storing instructions which are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations. However, each of these components is recited at a high level of generality that taken individually and in combination perform corresponding generic computer functions of receiving, storing, discarding, selecting, inserting, sending, performing and activating — there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology since the additional elements taken individually and collectively merely provide conventional computer implementations known to the industry. Furthermore, Examiner notes that none of the processes/steps recited in the pending claims taken individually and in combination impose a meaningful limit on the claim’s scope since none of recited processes/steps taken individually and in combination involve activity that amounts to more than generic computer functions/activity. The steps/processes of receiving, storing, discarding, selecting, inserting, sending, performing and activating, as currently recited individually and in combination in Applicant’s claims, are considered to be generic computer functions since they involve having the abstract idea combined with insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use previously known to the industry — each of the steps of receiving encompasses a data input/loading or retrieving function performed by virtually all general purpose computers {see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360; see Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716‐17; see buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014); see Cyberfone Systems, LLC v. CNN Interactive Group, Inc., 558 Fed. Appx. 988, 993 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and see Mayo Collaborative Serv. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. __, 132 S.Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)}; each of the steps of “receiving an API response” encompasses a data recognition/inquiry function or retrieving function performed by virtually all general purpose computers {see Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., 776 F.3d 1343, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2014), hereinafter “Content Extraction”, for data recognition); each of the steps of storing, discarding, selecting and inserting encompasses a data saving or depositing function performed by virtually all general purpose computers {see Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360; Cyberfone Systems, LLC v. CNN Interactive Group, Inc., 558 Fed. Appx. 988 (Fed. Cir. 2014), hereinafter “Cyberfone”; and Content Extraction and Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., 776 F.3d 1343, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2014), hereinafter “Content Extraction”, for data storage}; and each of the steps of sending, performing and activating encompasses a data output/transmittal function performed by virtually all general purpose computers {see Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716‐17; see buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and see Cyberfone Systems, LLC v. CNN Interactive Group, Inc., 558 Fed. Appx. 988, 993 (Fed. Cir. 2014)}. In addition, Examiner notes that Applicant’s disclosure mentions that “FIG. 7 is an example computer 20 suitable for implementing… the presently disclosed subject matter” (Spec. ¶ [52] with bolding added by Examiner) and “operation of a computer such as that shown in FIG. 7 is readily known in the art” (Spec. ¶ [56] with bolding added by Examiner) and “computing device 100” (illustrated in Figures 1, 2A and 2B and described in Applicant’s disclosure) can be “…any suitable computing device, such as, for example, a computer 20 as described in FIG. 7” (Spec. ¶ [21] with emphases added by Examiner). However, Examiner notes that both Figures 7 and 8 of Applicant’s drawings illustrate “Prior Art” devices/systems as admitted in Applicant’s drawings filed on 7/21/2026. Examiner notes it may be worth being mindful of the “July 2015 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility” document, at page 7, second and sixth bullet points (July 30, 2015) regarding various well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer. Employing well-known computer functions individually and in combination to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the computer-implemented abstract idea in Flook (Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978)) to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. For the reasons discussed above, Applicant’s pending claims do not satisfy Step 2B enunciated in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014).
Consequently, based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to each claim as a whole, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. For information regarding 35 U.S.C. 101, please see Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) guidance and instructional materials at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility, which includes guidance, memoranda, and updates regarding SME under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the America Invents Act (AIA ) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0233102 of DeDeo et al. (hereinafter “DeDeo”), which lists Salesforce.com as an applicant, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0276718 of Thomas et al. (“Thomas”).
Regarding Claim 1, DeDeo discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
sending, by an agent, an API call requesting one or more actionable signals to a service of a database (e.g., “a ‘user’ may refer to a merchant, which may be a corporation… or any other entity that provides goods…to its customers. A merchant may be a customer of… a provider of a computerized commerce platform…. computerized commerce platform… allows its customers to develop and deploy commercial websites, such as for the sales of goods” via a “a dashboard or other user interface” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0006] and [0027]; “suggest… promotions to the user automatically or in response to a request” —DeDeo at ¶ [0009]; “each promotion… defined in terms of…the product or type of product” such as “products or types of products of the user's choice” so that “stored promotions 205… apply to individual products, types or categories of products” of the merchant user’s choice —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0014], [0011] and [0014]; the merchant user’s “desire may be explicitly expressed by the user, automatically identified by the platform based on the user's prior behavior or patterns identified… for the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0016]; “computerized commerce platform may receive a request … for the platform to suggest a promotion. The request may be initiated by the user, or it may be made in response to a prompt by the platform. For example, the platform may present … potential promotions to the user via a user interface of the platform” and a “metric also may be identified by the user when requesting a proposed promotion” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011] and [0027]; “In response to the request… the platform may identify …proposed promotions for use on the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0012]; “personal computing device … used by a user … to access …computerized commerce platform” —DeDeo at ¶ [0033]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0013], [0015], [0017] and [0026]–[0027]; as well as Figures 1-3 of DeDeo);
receiving, by the agent, an API response comprising the one or more actionable signals, wherein the one or more actionable signals comprise indications of a subject and are generated from one or more performance metrics generated from data stored in the database (e.g., “In response to the request… the platform may identify …proposed promotions for use on the user's site…. based on… historical data 206 indicating … outcomes of … promotions that were previously implemented by the platform on the user's site … and data specific to the user's site” such as “a metric of a user's site to be improved…. including… revenue over time, profit…, customer engagement, number of unique customer visits…. a user may specify a metric that he wants to improve for his site.… such as by selecting a calculated metric provided by a dashboard…. The metric also may be identified by the user when requesting a proposed promotion” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0012] and [0027]; “each promotion… defined in terms of…the product or type of product” such as “products or types of products of the user's choice” so that “stored promotions 205… apply to individual products, types or categories of products” of the merchant user’s choice —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0014], [0011] and [0014]; Figures 1-3 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0026]–[0028]);
selecting, by the agent, from the one or more actionable signals, one or more subjects
(e.g., merchant user selects a product or product category via promotions available to the merchant user — “the user may… implement …promotion…only for specific products” such “products or types of products of the user's choice” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0027] and [0011]; “promotional factors, such as… the product or type of product” are “promotional factors, each of which may be accepted or rejected by the user” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0014] and [0018]; “If the user accepts only a subset of promotional factors at 225, [such as “the product or type of product to which the discount applies”,] the platform…. implement the promotion including the specific promotional feature(s) [such as “the product or type of product to which the discount applies”] as indicated by the user” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0018] and [0014]; “each promotion may be defined in terms of… the product or type of product to which the discount applies” —DeDeo at ¶ [0014]; “a user may reject a proposed promotion…. For example, a user may not want to offer discounts on certain products” and “The user… excluding certain products or types of products from some or all promotions or types of promotions” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0021] and [0026]; “user may be able to accept the promotion and implement… promotion… only for specific products” —DeDeo at ¶ [0011]; Figures 1-3 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0026]–[0028]) based on performance levels for the one or more subjects indicated in the one or more actionable signals (e.g., “proposed promotions for use on the user's site…. based on… historical data 206 indicating … outcomes of … promotions that were previously implemented by the platform on the user's site … and data specific to the user's site” such as “a metric of a user's site to be improved…. including… revenue over time, profit…, customer engagement, number of unique customer visits…. a user may specify a metric that he wants to improve for his site.… such as by selecting a calculated metric provided by a dashboard…. The metric also may be identified by the user when requesting a proposed promotion” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0012] and [0027]; “each promotion… defined in terms of…the product or type of product” such as “products or types of products of the user's choice” so that “stored promotions 205… apply to individual products, types or categories of products” of the merchant user’s choice —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0014], [0011] and [0014]; Figures 1-3 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0026]–[0028]), wherein the one or more subjects comprise products or product categories sold by an online store (e.g., “user…merchant … provides goods… to its customers. A merchant may be a customer of… a provider of a computerized commerce platform…. computerized commerce platform… allows its customers to develop and deploy commercial websites, such as for the sales of goods” —DeDeo at ¶ [0006]; “a site that sells seasonal clothing such as bathing suits” —DeDeo at ¶ [0008]; “computerized commerce platform regularly tracks relevant site characteristics” and “historical performance data from multiple sites may be used” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0031] and [0032]; Figures 1-3 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0027]–[0028]);
sending, by the agent, an API call comprising the selected one or more subjects to a generative system (e.g., sending implementation call including acceptance/authorization indicating only those products or types of products that have been selected to receive the promotional discount on the user’s site — “If the user accepts only a subset of promotional factors at 225, [such as “the product or type of product to which the discount applies”,] the platform…. implement the promotion including the specific promotional feature(s) [such as “the product or type of product to which the discount applies”] as indicated by the user” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0018] and [0014]; “user may then authorize the platform to automatically implement any promotion that is determined to meet some or all of the defined target metric” —DeDeo at ¶ [0026]; “If the promotion is accepted at 225, the promotion may be implemented on the user's site at 230. Implementation details may be specific to each promotion…. For example,…seasonal items are discounted…. The seasonal discount may be applied on each product display page… and display the appropriate discount” as “…defined in terms of…the…type of product” such as “products or types of products of the user's choice” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0019], [0014] and [0011]; “platform may identify and proposed a modification to the promotion and/or an alternate promotion” —DeDeo at ¶ [0024]; “modify or develop new promotions… suitable for use on … users' sites” —DeDeo at ¶ [0032]; “promotions…may apply to individual products, types or categories of products…. The promotions… automatically constructed by the platform based on rules encoded in the platform” —DeDeo at ¶ [0014]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0026]–[0028]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo);
receiving, by the agent, from the generative system, one or more generated items based on the selected one or more subjects (e.g., platform/website receives instructions generated to modify to the user’s site and generate the discount on the user’s site for specific products or specific product categories (e.g., bathing suits) selected by the merchant user — “promotion may be implemented on the user's site…. each promotional feature will result in changes made to …features of the user's site…. promotional features… result in the implementation of associated rules or other modifications to the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0019]; “the promotion…implemented on the user's site…. For example,… seasonal items are discounted…. The seasonal discount may be applied on each product display page… and display the appropriate discount” such as “seasonal items are discounted” to “implement …promotion…only for specific products” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0019] and [0027]; “implement one or more promotions that will increase the profit level of the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0026]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0018], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo);
determining, by the agent, that a first of the one or more generated items adheres to constraints for the generated items and that a second of the one or more generated items violates the constraints for the generated items (e.g., determining, based on constraints/requirements/rules, which generated items/promotions are to be modified/added to the user’s site and which generated items/promotions are to be discarded/removed from the user’s site and generate/update the discount on the user’s site for specific products or specific product categories (e.g., bathing suits) selected by the merchant user — “promotion may be implemented on the user's site…. each promotional feature will result in changes made to …features of the user's site…. promotional features… result in the implementation of associated rules or other modifications to the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0019]; “the promotion…implemented on the user's site…. For example,… seasonal items are discounted…. The seasonal discount may be applied on each product display page… and display the appropriate discount” such as “seasonal items are discounted” to “implement …promotion…only for specific products” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0019] and [0027]; “platform to automatically implement any promotion that is determined to meet some or all of the defined target metric” and “may not want to offer discounts on certain products” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0026] and [0021]; “only for specific products, or only for products that meet…. promotional factors, each of which may be accepted or rejected by the user” —DeDeo at ¶ [0018]; “implement one or more promotions that will increase the profit level of the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0026]; “tracking the performance of each promotion implemented on the platform” —DeDeo at ¶ [0020]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0020], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo);
activating the first (e.g., Figures 2-3 of DeDeo; activating promotions/discounts —DeDeo at ¶¶
DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0020], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; “promotion may be implemented on the user's site…. each promotional feature will result in changes made to …features of the user's site…. promotional features… result in the implementation of associated rules or other modifications to the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0019]; “the promotion…implemented on the user's site…. For example,… seasonal items are discounted…. The seasonal discount may be applied on each product display page… and display the appropriate discount” such as “seasonal items are discounted” to “implement …promotion…only for specific products” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0019] and [0027]; “platform to automatically implement any promotion that is determined to meet some or all of the defined target metric” and “only for specific products, or only for products that meet…. promotional factors… accepted…by the user” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0026] and [0018]; and “implement one or more promotions that will increase the profit level of the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0026]);
storing the first in a database (e.g., Figures 2-3 of DeDeo; as well as “stored promotions” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0014]–[0015], [0019]–[0020] and [0029]); and
discarding the second (e.g., “promotional factors… rejected by the user” and “the promotion is not implemented” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0018] and [0023]; “reject the promotion” —DeDeo at ¶ [0023]; “proposed promotion will not be suitable to address the restrictions” —DeDeo at ¶ [0025]; “promotion is unacceptable” —DeDeo at ¶ [0022]; “metric is not improved” and “rejects the available promotions” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0030] and [0025]; and DeDeo at ¶ [0030]), but DeDeo arguably fails to explicitly disclose the agent including an automated machine learning system agent. However, Thomas teaches optimizing digital advertising performance by determining the most effective machine-generated advertisement(s), which can then be utilized for creating optimized advertisements (e.g., Thomas at ¶ [0002]) as well as an agent including an automated machine learning system agent (e.g., Thomas at ¶¶ [0007], [0028]–[0029], [0038], [0046], [0054], [0058] and [0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the agent including an automated machine learning system agent, as taught by Thomas, into the method/system disclosed by DeDeo, which is also directed toward improving advertising performance (e.g., “implement one or more promotions that will increase the profit level of the user's site” —DeDeo at ¶ [0026]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0018], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo), because such incorporation would be applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 1 above and DeDeo teaching wherein the data stored in the database comprises data for the online store (e.g., “user…merchant … provides goods… to its customers. A merchant may be a customer of… a provider of a computerized commerce platform…. computerized commerce platform… allows its customers to develop and deploy commercial websites, such as for the sales of goods” —DeDeo at ¶ [0006]; “a site that sells seasonal clothing such as bathing suits” —DeDeo at ¶ [0008]; “computerized commerce platform regularly tracks relevant site characteristics” and “historical performance data from multiple sites may be used” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0031] and [0032]; Figures 1-3 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017] and [0027]–[0028]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 2 above and DeDeo teaching wherein the one or more generated items comprise promotions for the products of the one or more selected subjects, and wherein activating the first comprises activating the promotion for the first in the online store (e.g., DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017]–[0018], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 3 above and DeDeo teaching wherein activating the promotion for the first in the online store further comprises inserting a record for the promotion into a database used by the online store (e.g., “platform may store one or more promotions 205 that are always available for use” —DeDeo at ¶ [0011]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017]–[0018], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 3 above and DeDeo teaching before activating the promotions, approving the promotions without user input (e.g., DeDeo at ¶¶ [0012] and [0026]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 5 above and DeDeo teaching wherein approving the promotions without user input further comprises determining that the promotions do not violate the constraints for the generated items for promotions for the online store (e.g., DeDeo at ¶¶ [0007], [0010] and [0025]–[0026]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeDeo in view of Thomas as applied to Claim 1 above and DeDeo teaching performing one or more actions to boost the appearance of the one or more subjects in search results (e.g., “develop and deploy commercial websites, such as for the sales of goods…. offer various promotions to its own customers” such as “offering discounts to products” such as “seasonal clothing such as bathing suits” —DeDeo at ¶¶ [0006], [0025] and [0008]; DeDeo at ¶¶ [0011]–[0015], [0017]–[0018], [0020], [0023], [0026]–[0028] and [0029]–[0032]; and Figures 1-3 of DeDeo).
Regarding Claim 8, DeDeo in view of Thomas teaches a computer-implemented system comprising: one or more storage devices; and a processor (e.g., Figures 1-4 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0033]–[0038]) that performs respective processes/operations as recited in Claim 1, and, therefore, Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis(es) as applied above with respect to Claim 1.
Claims 9-14 recite substantially similar subject matter to that of respective Claims 2-7 and, therefore, Claims 9-14 are rejected on the same basis(es) as applied above to Claims 2-7, respectively.
Regarding Claim 15, DeDeo in view of Thomas teaches a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more non-transitory storage devices storing instructions which are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers (e.g., Figures 1-4 of DeDeo; and DeDeo at ¶¶ [0033]–[0038]) to perform respective processes/operations as recited in Claim 1, and, therefore, Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis(es) as applied above with respect to Claim 1.
Claims 16-20 recite substantially similar subject matter to that of respective Claims 2-6 and, therefore, Claims 16-20 are rejected on the same basis(es) as applied above to Claims 2-6, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Amendment filed on July 21, 2026, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner notes further recitation above to U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0233102 (“DeDeo”) in an effort to assist Applicant given Applicant’s amendments and arguments in “Amendment”.
Applicant's Arguments in the Amendment
(Pages 10-11) Applicant asserts that the pending claims, as currently amended, are drawn to eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
(Page 11) Applicant asserts that the independent claims, as currently amended, are not anticipated by DeDeo.
(Page 11) Applicant asserts that Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20, which depend from respective independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 and include respective limitations therein, are patentably distinguishable over DeDeo based on at least the same reasons provided with respect to independent Claims 1, 8 and 15.
Examiner’s Response to Applicant's Arguments
Please see updated/modified § 101 rejections above regarding Applicant’s pending claims being drawn to ineligible subject matter under § 101. Regarding machine learning concepts recited in Applicant’s pending claims and Applicant’s argument that “the present claims are in improvement to…database access as they allow a machine learning agent access to the database…” (page 11 of Applicant’s Amendment), Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to Federal Circuit decision: Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Case No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025), which was decided on April 18, 2025, by the US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (CAFC). § 101 rejections above make reference to this CAFC case and Examiner encourages Applicant to distinguish its claimed machine learning aspects from this CAFC case. Similar to Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., Case No. 2023-2437 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025), it appears that Applicant’s most recent independent claims “do no more than claim the application of generic machine learning to new data environments, without disclosing improvements to the machine learning model[] to be applied” and, therefore, Applicant’s machine learning concepts, as currently recited, do not appear to save Applicant’s pending claims from being directed to ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Similarly, Applicant argues “allowing for promotions to be generated in a more timely manner” (underlining added by Examiner to page 11 of Amendment) and “the present claims more efficiently use both the database that includes… signals and the database that stores…” (underlining added by Examiner to page 10 of Applicant’s Amendment); however, Examiner notes that “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In addition, Examiner notes that Applicant's alleged improvements are no more than a desired or intended result that are not required to be performed or achieved based on the language currently recited in each of Applicant’s pending claims. Thus, none of Applicant’s pending claims are required to improve any computer related technology or to improve upon the functioning of the computer itself. Consequently, Applicant's arguments constitute no more than a general allegation that the pending claims provides a plurality of improvements under § 101 in view of MPEP § 2173.05(q), “[a]lthough a claim should be interpreted in light of the specification disclosure, it is generally considered improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims. See In rePrater, 415 F.2d 1393, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969) and In re Winkhaus, 527 F.2d 637, 188 USPQ 129 (CCPA 1975), which discuss the premise that one cannot rely on the specification to impart limitations to the claim that are not recited in the claim.” In view of Applicant’s arguments and above § 101 analysis, Examiner is unpersuaded and, therefore, maintains/asserts rejections to Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding § 102, please see citations to prior art references of DeDeo and Thomas in the § 103 rejections above regarding amended portions of Applicant’s claims. Examiner agrees that DeDeo discloses “using data on prior promotions”; however, those “promotions 205… may apply to individual products, types or categories of products, or any combination thereof…. Generally each promotion may be defined in terms of …the product or type of product to which the discount applies… or the like” (e.g., see DeDeo at ¶ [0014]). Thus, the promotions of DeDeo can be related to the performance level of particular products or product categories because the promotions of DeDeo can be limited to “individual products, types or categories of products, or any combination thereof” (e.g., DeDeo at ¶ [0014]). Examiner notes that during patent examination, the pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation”. In view of this standard, Examiner asserts § 103 rejections to Applicant’s amended claims, as noted above under § 103. In addition, Examiner notes that patent documents are relevant as prior art for all they contain and that “[a] reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments” —MPEP § 2123.
Please see above § 103 rejections with respect to independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 for at least the same reasons provided with respect to the independent claims that Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20, depending from respective independent Claims 1, 8 and 15 and including the limitations therein, are not patentable based on dependency from respective independent claims.
Conclusion
The following references are considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, and are being made of record albeit the references are not relied upon as a basis for rejection in this Office action:
U.S. Patent No. 12,572,955 issued to Jordan Taler (hereinafter “Taler”).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0272714 of Kumar et al. (“Kumar”).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0045802 of FARSEEV et al. (“Farseev”).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0279258 of Genc-Kaya et al. (“Genc-Kaya”).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158487 of Stuart Ogawa (“Ogawa”).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0290399 of England et al. (“England”) for “Web Optimization And Campaign Management In A Syndicated Commerce Environment” —Title of England.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0134048 of Leibow et al. (hereinafter “Leibow”) for “low conversion rate products, may be that the conversion rate is below a preset value, for example 30%” —Leibow at ¶ [0071]; and “analytics facility may present a notice to the catalog administrator suggesting that the administrator apply either or both available actions to all products, or to a selected group of products, satisfying the triggers in the on-line catalog…. the analytics facility may apply the suggested actions for all products completely automatically, without intervention of the catalog administrator, as illustrated by line 85 of flowchart 80. Typically in the case of automatic application of the suggestions, the analytics facility notifies the administrator that the suggestions have been applied” —Leibow at spec.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mathew Syrowik whose telephone number is 313-446-4862. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM (Eastern Time). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Waseem Ashraf, can be reached at telephone number 517-270-3948. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Mathew Syrowik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621