DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0246862 A1 to Garcia-Sanz et al.
Garcia-Sanz et al. clearly teaches an airborne wind energy system, comprising:
a flotation module (12) comprising a lighter-than-air (LTA) shell configured to provide an inner volume and a bed region disposed beneath the LTA shell;
a stability module (106) configured to control drift and elevation of the apparatus, wherein the stability module is disposed on a surface of the flotation module;
an energy module (14) comprising a plurality of energy cells (20, 22, 24), wherein at least one energy cell comprises:
an angled axis wind turbine (20, 22, 24);
a tethered power transfer module (see paragraph [0034]) connected to an energy storage unit (see paragraph [0032]); and
a ground control module (see paragraph [0034]) equipped with sensors (see paragraphs [0050], [0062], and [0073]).
With regards to claim 3, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
a processor (“onboard computer”, see paragraph [0073]);
a navigation system (“GPS”, see paragraph [0073]);
a positioning system (see paragraph [0073]);
a control system (see paragraphs [0010], [0032], [0049], [0050], [0057], [0059], [0061]-[0064], [0068]-[0070], and [0073]); and
a sensor (see paragraphs [0050], [0062], and [0073]).
With regards to claim 6, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stability module comprises one or more components (108, 110, 112) configured to control the drift and the elevation.
With regards to claim 7, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
a lift wing (106);
a tether (16);
a direction vane (see tail in Figure 1); and
a rudder (114).
With regards to claim 8, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
a lift wing (106) on a surface of the LTA shell; and
a tether (16).
With regards to claim 9, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
a central rotating shaft (32, 34), and wherein each of a plurality of blades is attached to the central rotating shaft by a respective arm (82).
With regards to claim 10, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the angled axis wind turbine comprises a plurality of blades (26) extending from the central rotating shaft (see Figures 1-5 and 7).
With regards to claim 11, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
counter rotating energy cells (see paragraph [0032]).
With regards to claim 13, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the energy module further comprising one generator (36) configured to rotate the plurality of energy cells.
With regards to claim 15, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
one airborne wind-driven energy-producing apparatus (see Figure 1); and
a ground station (see paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0055], [0059], [0062], [0063], [0067], and [0074]) configured to communicate with and form a tether (16, see Figure 11) with at least one airborne wind-driven energy-producing apparatus.
With regards to claim 16, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the tether is configured to transmit and receive power or energy between the at least one airborne wind-driven energy-producing apparatus.
With regards to claim 17, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the tether being configured to transmit and receive information between the at least one airborne wind-driven energy-producing apparatus.
With regards to claim 18, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the ground station comprises a motor (see paragraph [0059]) configured to extend and retract the tether between the ground station and the at least one airborne wind-driven energy-producing apparatus.
With regards to claim 19, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the ground station comprises an energy storage unit (not illustrated).
With regards to claim 20, Garcia-Sanz et al. discloses:
the ground station comprising:
a communication system (see paragraphs [0032], [0034], [0056]-[0058], and [0062]);
a weather station (see paragraph [0073]); and
a GPS (see paragraph [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0246862 A1 to Garcia-Sanz et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0152391 A1 to McWhirk and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0105257 A1 to Bernhardt et al.
Garcia-Sanz et al. clearly teaches an airborne wind energy system as described in paragraph 4 above, wherein the inner volume of the LTA shell comprises a lighter-than air gas (see Abstract; see paragraphs [0006], [0032], [0039], [0060], [0068]-[0071], and [0073]).
However, it fails to disclose:
a hydrophobic material disposed on an inner surface of the shell; and
a composite material and a shape memory alloy disposed on an outer surface of the shell.
McWhirk discloses a multibody aircrane, comprising:
a hydrophobic material (see paragraph [0442]) disposed on an inner surface of a shell.
Bernhardt et al. discloses an inflatable propeller, comprising:
a composite material (see paragraph [0061]) and a shape memory alloy (see paragraph [0061]) disposed on an outer surface of the shell.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the hydrophobic material disclosed by McWhirk and the composite material and a shape memory alloy disclosed by Bernhardt et al. on the airborne wind energy system disclosed by Garcia-Sanz et al., for the purpose of providing a waterproof shell and providing a shape changing inflatable body (see paragraph [0060] of Bernhardt et al.).
With regards to claim 5, Bernhardt et al. discloses:
the LTA shell to expand or contract based on a temperature gradient of an atmosphere surrounding the airborne wind-driven energy-converting apparatus.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0246862 A1 to Garcia-Sanz et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0381220 A1 to Cammarasana, II.
Garcia-Sanz et al. clearly teaches an airborne wind energy system as described in paragraph 4 above.
However, it fails to disclose the at least one energy cell comprises a wall or guide vane configured to direct and block air to the angled axis wind turbine.
Cammarasana, II discloses a clean energy device, comprising:
at least one energy cell comprises a wall or guide vane (66, 68) configured to direct and block air to the angled axis wind turbine.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the wall of guide vane disclosed by Cammarasana, II on the airborne wind energy system disclosed by Garcia-Sanz et al., for the purpose of “funneling wind received in either of the opposing directions toward the central axis 12” (see paragraph [0041]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0246862 A1 to Garcia-Sanz et al. in view of KR 10-2013-0047450 A to Kang et al.
Garcia-Sanz et al. clearly teaches an airborne wind energy system as described in paragraph 4 above.
However, it fails to disclose an axis of the angled axis wind turbine being a vertical axis.
Kang et al. discloses a high-altitude wind power generating system with a cycloidal turbine, comprising:
an axis of the angled axis wind turbine being a vertical axis (see Figures 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the vertical axis orientation of a wind turbine disclosed by Kang et al. on the airborne wind energy system disclosed by Garcia-Sanz et al., for the purpose of utilizing a vertically stable turbine.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest an airborne wind-driven energy converting apparatus as recited by dependent claim 4, comprising:
a heater disposed within an internal volume of the LTA shell, wherein the heater is configured to:
heat a gas within the internal volume; and
to transmit and receive information from one or more of: a processor, a inertial measure unit, a navigation system, a positioning system, a control hub, a sensor, a power source, or a radar.
Conclusion
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 February 21, 2026