DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 30 January 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim language recites “A communication apparatus comprising: a reception circuitry which, in operation, receives information regarding at least one of a first center frequency of a first frequency band in which a transmitter transmits a signal and a second center frequency of a second frequency band in which a receiver receives the signal; and a control circuitry which, in operation, controls transmission in the first frequency band or reception in the second frequency band based on the information.” This independent Claim 1 language, a “communication apparatus” that receives information regarding a frequency band in which “a transmitter transmits a signal” and “a receiver receives the signal” creates an ambiguous structural relationship. This claim language leaves it entirely unclear whether this “transmitter” and “receiver” are “comprised” within the communication apparatus itself as internal components, or if they are separate external entities. This structural ambiguity in the independent claim creates direct interpretation issues throughout the dependent claims (such as Claims 2-11), which state either “the communication apparatus is the transmitter” or “the communication apparatus is the receiver.” If the transmitter and receiver are meant to be interpreted as components inside the communication apparatus, the dependent claims impart an unclear interpretation that the communication apparatus (as a whole) is one of its component parts. Alternatively, if the transmitter and receiver are external entities, the communication apparatus cannot logically be a part that is separate from itself.
Claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of dependency on the independent Claim 1. Further, the dependent claims are rendered indefinite because of the ambiguity regarding the relationship between the claimed “communication apparatus” relative to the “transmitter” and the “receiver.” For broadest reasonable interpretation and search purposes, the claims will be examined as best understood in light of the current claim language and Applicant’s disclosure, as originally filed.
Therefore, the claim language is indefinite. Claim 12 is a method claim comprising the same limitations as Claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons. For broadest reasonable interpretation and search purposes, the claim will be examined as best understood in light of the current claim language and Applicant’s disclosure, as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Abdelghaffar et al (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0064720), hereinafter Abdelghaffar.
Regarding Claim 1, Abdelghaffar discloses a communication apparatus (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514) comprising:
a reception circuitry which, in operation, receives information regarding at least one of a first center frequency of a first frequency band in which a transmitter transmits a signal and a second center frequency of a second frequency band in which a receiver receives the signal (Figure 13 steps S1310, S1315, Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510 and paragraphs 0128, 0144, 0152 – teaches that UE 1500 comprises a transceiver 1510. In operation, the UE receives scheduling information from the network entity (via the transceiver 1510) in which the scheduling information includes a configuration of the sub-band full duplex (SBFD) frequency resources based on the size of one or more sub-bands and the size of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the UE. The UE is configured with DL/UL BWP pairs 1310 and 1315 that have the same center frequency, and where the configurations of DL sub-band 1300 and UL sub-band 1305 are provided by the gNB); and
a control circuitry which, in operation, controls transmission in the first frequency band or reception in the second frequency band based on the information (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1504, S1541, S1542 and paragraphs 0145, 0153 – teaches that UE 1500 further comprises a processor 1504, which includes communication and processing circuitry 1541 and SBFD circuitry 1542. In operation, after receiving the scheduling information configuring the SBFD frequency resources, the UE configures itself to communicate with the network via those specific SBFD frequency resources based on the scheduling information. Specifically, the SBFD circuitry 1542 acts as a control circuitry to control the transceiver 1510 to transmit or receive signals within those specifically configured sub-band frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 2, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the transmitter (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0153, 0163 – teaches the apparatus is the user equipment (UE) 1500, which includes a transceiver 1510 configured to communicate with a network, and acts as the transmitter when using an uplink transmit beam to transmit an uplink signal to the network entity),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the second center frequency from the receiver (Figure 15 step S1510, Figure 17 step S1700, and paragraphs 0144, 0152, 0165 – teaches the UE’s transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information that includes the configuration of the SBFD frequency resources/sub-bands directly from the network entity 1700, which acts as the receiver of the UE’s uplink signals),and
the control circuitry, in operation, controls transmission of the signal in a frequency resource different from the second center frequency (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542, S1510 and paragraphs 0145, 0153, 0165 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 control the transceiver 1510 to transmit the uplink signal using designated sub-band full duplex (SBFD) frequency resources, which are configured as distinct uplink sub-bands that are physically separate and different from the downlink sub-bands/the second center frequency).
Regarding Claim 3, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the transmitter (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0153, 0163 – teaches the apparatus is the user equipment (UE) 1500, which includes a transceiver 1510 configured to communicate with a network, and acts as the transmitter when using an uplink transmit beam to transmit an uplink signal to the network entity),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the second center frequency from the receiver (Figure 15 step S1510, Figure 17 step S1700, and paragraphs 0144, 0152, 0165 – teaches the UE’s transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information that includes the configuration of the SBFD frequency resources/sub-bands directly from the network entity 1700, which acts as the receiver of the UE’s uplink signals), and
the control circuitry, in operation, does not map the signal to a frequency resource corresponding to the second center frequency, and maps the signal to another frequency resource different from the frequency resource corresponding to the second center frequency (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542, S1510 and paragraphs 0145, 0153, 0165 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure the transceiver 1510 to communicate via specific sub-band full duplex (SBFD) frequency resources. Because SBFD separates uplink and downlink communications into distinct sub-bands, the control circuitry maps the uplink transmit signal to a designated uplink sub-band (another frequency resource) and explicitly does not map the uplink signal to the downlink sub-band (the frequency resource corresponding to the second center frequency)).
Regarding Claim 4, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the transmitter (Figure 15 step 1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0153, 0163 – teaches the apparatus is the user equipment (UE) 1500, which includes a transceiver 1510 configured to communicate with a network, and acts as the transmitter when using an uplink transmit beam to transmit an uplink signal to the network entity),
the communication apparatus further comprises a transmission circuitry (Figure 15 step S1510 – teaches the transceiver 1510 inherently functions as both the reception circuitry and the transmission circuitry for the UE 1500),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the second center frequency from the receiver (Figure 15 step S1510, Figure 17 step S1700, and paragraphs 0144, 0152, 0165 – teaches the UE’s transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information configuring the sub-band full duplex (SBFD) frequency resources directly from the network entity 1700, inherently including the center frequency information of the allocated bands),
the transmission circuitry, in operation, transmits the information regarding the first center frequency to the receiver (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraph 0153 – teaches transceiver 1510 is configured to communicate with the network via the SBFD frequency resources, which includes transmitting uplink communications, signaling, and capability information back to the network entity. Transmitting these uplink signals within the configured framework inherently requires the transmission circuitry to communicate information regarding its assigned or requested first center frequency back to the receiving network entity to maintain synchronization) and
the control circuitry, in operation, does not map the signal to frequency resources corresponding to the first center frequency and the second center frequency, and maps the signal to other frequency resources different from the frequency resources corresponding to the first center frequency and the second center frequency (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542, S1510 and paragraphs 0145, 0146 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure the communication via at least two distinct resource block groups (RBGs) or physical resource groups (PRGs) within the sub-bands. Therefore, the signal is mapped to distinct “other” frequency resources, such as the specific RBGs rather than being mapped entirely to the broad first or second center frequencies of the overall sub-bands).
Regarding Claim 5, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the receiver (Figure 16 step S1602 and paragraphs 0144, 0152 – teaches that UE1500 acts as a receiver when receiving scheduling information and downlink signals from the network entity),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the first center frequency from the transmitter (Figure 13 steps S1310, S1315, Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0128, 0144, 0150, 0152 – teaches the UE transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information from the network entity that includes a configuration of SBFD frequency resources for one or more sub-bands and the size of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the UE, which may include a downlink control information (DCI) bitfield. The UE is configured with DL/UL BWP pairs 1310 and 1315 that have the same center frequency, and where the configurations of DL sub-band 1300 and UL sub-band 1305 are provided by the gNB), and
the control circuitry, in operation, controls reception of the signal in a frequency resource different from the first center frequency (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542 and paragraphs 0145, 0146 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure the communication via at least two distinct resource block groups (RBGs) or physical resource groups (PRGs) having different sizes within the sub-bands. By allocating specific, distinct RBGs for the UE’s downlink communication, the control circuitry controls reception in a frequency resource such as the specifically assigned RBG that is different from the overall first center frequency of the sub-band).
Regarding Claim 6, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the receiver (Figure 16 step S1602 and paragraphs 0144, 0152 – teaches that UE1500 acts as a receiver when receiving scheduling information and downlink signals from the network entity),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the first center frequency from the transmitter (Figure 13 steps S1310, S1315, Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0128, 0144, 0150, 0152 teaches the UE transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information from the network entity that includes a configuration of SBFD frequency resources for one or more sub-bands and the size of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the UE, which may include a downlink control information (DCI) bitfield. The UE is configured with DL/UL BWP pairs 1310 and 1315 that have the same center frequency, and where the configurations of DL sub-band 1300 and UL sub-band 1305 are provided by the gNB), and
the control circuitry, in operation, does not use a frequency resource corresponding to the first center frequency for reception processing, and uses another frequency resource different from the frequency resource corresponding to the first center frequency for reception processing (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542 and paragraphs 0145, 0146 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure the communication via at least two distinct resource block groups (RBGs) or physical resource groups (PRGs) having different sizes within the sub-bands. By allocating specific, distinct downlink RBGs for the UE’s reception, the control circuitry actively does not use the frequency resources corresponding to the broad first center frequency (e.g., the reception processing, and instead uses another, different frequency resource, the specific assigned downlink RBGs for its reception processing).
Regarding Claim 7, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the receiver (Figure 16 step S1602 and paragraphs 0144, 0152 – teaches that UE1500 acts as a receiver when receiving scheduling information and downlink signals from the network entity),
the communication apparatus further comprises a transmission circuitry (Figure 15 step S1510 – teaches the transceiver 1510 inherently functions as both the reception circuitry and the transmission circuitry and the transmission circuitry for the UE 1500),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives the information regarding the first center frequency from the transmitter (Figure 13 steps S1310, S1315, Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0128, 0144, 0150, 0152 -- teaches the UE transceiver 1510 receives scheduling information from the network entity that includes a configuration of SBFD frequency resources for one or more sub-bands and the size of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the UE, which may include a downlink control information (DCI) bitfield. The UE is configured with DL/UL BWP pairs 1310 and 1315 that have the same center frequency, and where the configurations of DL sub-band 1300 and UL sub-band 1305 are provided by the gNB),
the transmission circuitry, in operation, transmits the information regarding the second center frequency to the transmitter (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraph 0153 – teaches the transceiver 1510 is configured to communicate with the network via the SBFD frequency resources, which includes transmitting uplink communications, signaling, and capability information back to the network entity. Transmitting these uplink signals within the configured framework inherently requires the transmission circuitry to communication information regarding its assigned or requested second center frequency back to the receiving network to maintain synchronization), and
the control circuitry, in operation, does not use frequency resources corresponding to the first center frequency and the second center frequency for reception processing, and uses other frequency resources different from the frequency resources corresponding to the first center frequency and the second center frequency for reception processing (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542 and paragraphs 0145, 0146 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure the communication via at least two distinct resource block groups (RBGs) or physical resource groups (PRGs) having different sizes within the sub-bands. By allocating specific, distinct downlink RBGs for the UE’s reception, the control circuitry actively does not use the frequency resources corresponding to the broad first and second center frequencies for reception processing, and instead uses another, different frequency resource, the specific assigned downlink RBGs for its reception processing).
Regarding Claim 11, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 15 steps S1500, S1510, S1514 and paragraph 0136 – teaches a hardware implementation for a user equipment (UE) 1500 employing a transceiver 1510 and a processing system 1514),
wherein the communication apparatus is the transmitter (Figure 15 step 1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0153, 0163 – teaches the apparatus is the user equipment (UE) 1500, which includes a transceiver 1510 configured to communicate with a network, and acts as the transmitter when using an uplink transmit beam to transmit an uplink signal to the network entity),
the communication apparatus further comprises a transmission circuitry (Figure 15 step S1510 – teaches the transceiver 1510 inherently functions as both the reception circuitry and the transmission circuitry for the UE 1500),
the transmission circuitry, in operation, transmits the information regarding the first center frequency to the receiver (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraph 0153 – teaches the transceiver 1510 is configured to communicate with the network via the SBFD frequency resources, which includes transmitting uplink communications and signaling back to the network entity. Transmitting these uplink signals inherently requires the transmission circuitry to communicate information regarding its assigned or requested first center frequency back to the receiving network entity to maintain synchronization),
the reception circuitry, in operation, receives information regarding a reception signal at the first center frequency from the receiver (Figure 15 step 1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0150 – teaches the UE 1500 receives downlink control information (DCI) and scheduling signaling from the network entity. In standard SBFD frameworks, this downlink signaling inherently includes feedback such as transmit power control (TPC) commands or timing adjustments regarding the network’s reception of the UE’s prior uplink signals at the configured frequency); and
the control circuitry, in operation, corrects a characteristic of the transmission circuitry based on the information regarding the reception signal (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542 – teaches the processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 configure and control the transceiver. Based on the received feedback or network signaling, the control circuitry actively corrects an operational characteristic of the transmission circuitry such as adjusting the transmit power level or modifying transmission timing to ensure the uplink signal is optimally received by the network entity).
Regarding Claim 12, Abdelghaffar discloses a communication method comprising:
receiving, by a communication apparatus, information regarding at least one of a first center frequency of a first frequency band in which a transmitter transmits a signal and a second center frequency of a second frequency band in which a receiver receives the signal (Figure 15 step S1510, Figure 16 step S1602, and paragraphs 0128, 0144, 0150, 0152 – teaches the user equipment (UE) 1500 receives downlink control information (DCI) and scheduling information from the network entity. This signaling includes a configuration of sub-band full duplex (SBFD) frequency resources for one or more sub-bands and the size of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with the UE. The UE is configured with DL/UL BWP pairs 1310 and 1315 that have the same center frequency, and where the configurations of DL sub-band 1300 and UL sub-band 1305 are provided by the gNB); and
controlling, by the communication apparatus, transmission in the first frequency band or reception in the second frequency band based on the information (Figure 15 steps S1504, S1542 and paragraphs 0145, 0146, 0153 – teaches the UE’s processor 1504 and SBFD circuitry 1542 uses the received scheduling information and BWP configuration to actively configure and control the transceiver 1510, thereby controlling the transmission of uplink signals or the reception of downlink signals within those specified frequency resources).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar
(United States Patent Application Publication US 2024/0064720), hereinafter Abdelghaffar in view of Plevel et al (United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0226738), hereinafter Plevel.
Regarding Claim 8, Abdelghaffar discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus is the transmitter (Figure 15 step S1510 and paragraphs 0144, 0153 – teaches the user equipment (UE) 1500 acts as a transmitter when using an uplink transmit beam to transmit an uplink signal to the network entity).
Abdelghaffar does not explicitly detail the specific processing of receiving information
regarding a reception signal to subsequently correct the transmission circuitry based on that information.
However, Plevel teaches:
a communication apparatus (Figure 13 step S1300 and paragraph 0104 – shows an example of a digital device), wherein the reception circuitry, in operation, receives information regarding a reception signal at the first center frequency from the receiver, and the control circuitry, in operation, corrects a transmission circuitry of the transmitter based on the information regarding the reception signal (Paragraphs 0040, 0043 – teaches a “feedback loop between the transmitting device 102 and the receiving device 108” where the receiving device 108 sends “DC offset correction information to the transmitting device 102 by including the direct current (DC) offset correction information in a control channel.” The transmitting device then uses this information to apply a corrective DC bias).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus of Abdelghaffar to incorporate the feedback and correction processing taught by Plevel. By dynamically calibrating the transmitter during operation, it reduces signal distortion, optimizing transmission power, and improving overall uplink signal quality in the system.
Regarding Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Abdelghaffar in view of Plevel further discloses wherein the information regarding the reception signal includes reception quality at the first center frequency (Note: this is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation), a value indicating interference at the first center frequency (Note: this is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation), or a correction amount of the transmission circuitry (Paragraphs 0040, 0041, 0043 of Plevel – teaches a “feedback loop between the transmitting device 102 and the receiving device 108” where the receiving device 108 sends “DC offset correction information to the transmitting device 102 by including the direct current (DC) offset correction information in a control channel.” The transmitting device then uses this information, which includes a specific correction amount or “quant of DC bias” [e.g., 100 mV or -10mV], to apply a corrective DC bias to the transmission circuitry).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus of Abdelghaffar to incorporate the feedback and correction processing taught by Plevel. By dynamically calibrating the transmitter during operation, it reduces signal distortion, optimizing transmission power, and improving overall uplink signal quality in the system.
Regarding Claim 10, which depends on Claim 8, Abdelghaffar in view of Plevel further discloses wherein the control circuitry, in operation, performs correction processing of suppressing LO leakage (Note: this is claimed in the alternative and is therefore not required as part of the broadest reasonable interpretation) or correction processing of correcting a DC offset at a transmission center frequency of the transmitter based on the information regarding the reception signal (Paragraph 0040 of Plevel – explicitly teaches that the application of the DC bias based on the “feedback loop” information results in the “reduction or elimination of DC offset”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus of Abdelghaffar to incorporate the feedback and correction processing taught by Plevel. By dynamically calibrating the transmitter during operation, it reduces signal distortion, optimizing transmission power, and improving overall uplink signal quality in the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure:
Burke et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0136696) discloses a method of reducing sub-band full duplex (SBFD) user equipment (UE)-to-UE interference (paragraph 0005).
Kim et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0205581) discloses a downlink signal reception method and apparatus that is advantageous in terms of facilitating downlink signal reception of a terminal in a wireless communication system (paragraph 0013).
Ghimire et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2025/0030590) discloses in each frequency component of two or more frequency components, the transmitter is configured to transmit a first signal in said frequency component, such that a receiver of the wireless communication system receives a signal as a received signal in said frequency component (paragraph 0041).
Li et al, “Realizing up and Downlink Subcarrier Allocation in Orthogonal Frequency Division Duplex (OFDD) Systems” discloses a new method for multicarrier
systems that allow the allocation of different subcarriers to their up and downlinks (page 1).
Heino et al, “Recent advances in antenna design and interference cancellation algorithms for in-band full duplex relays” discloses that in practice, the increase in throughput due to full-duplex operation is limited by the presence of unavoidable self-interference when the transmitted signal couples back to the receiver in the in-band full-duplex transceiver (page 91).
Zhang et al, “Full-Duplex Wireless Communications: Challenges, Solutions, and Future Research Directions” discloses the potential benefits offered by FD
Techniques (page 1372).
Kanj et al, “A Tutorial on NB-IoT Physical Layer Design” discloses the focus on the characteristics and the scheduling of downlink and uplink physical channels at the NB-IoT base station side and the user equipment (UE) side (page 2408).
should be directed to DENNIS ALBERT WESTBROOKS II whose telephone number is (571)270-7711. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m..
/DENNIS ALBERT WESTBROOKS II/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472