DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 2,291,678 to Benz et al. (Benz).
In reference to claim 1, Benz teaches an installation for storing and distributing a cryogenic fluid (FIG. 1), the installation comprising a cryogenic reservoir (5, FIG. 1) which is buried below the ground (FIG. 1); a liquid withdrawal circuit comprising an upstream end (6, FIG. 1) connected to the reservoir (5, FIG. 1) and a downstream end (8, FIG. 1) located above the ground and configured to be connected to a consumer (17, FIG. 1), wherein the liquid withdrawal circuit further comprises a cryogenic pump (7, FIG. 1) arranged above the ground (FIG. 1); and a pipe (12, FIG. 1) for the recovery of vaporization gas generated inside the cryogenic pump (7, FIG. 1), having an upstream end (at 9, FIG. 1) connected to the cryogenic pump (7, FIG. 1) and a downstream end (12, FIG. 1) connected to the reservoir (5, FIG. 1), wherein the pipe for the recovery of the vaporization gases (12, FIG. 1) comprises at least one control device (11, FIG. 1) configured to control the pressure and/or flow rate of the vaporization gas returned to the reservoir, wherein the control device (11, FIG. 1) is further configured to control the pressure inside the reservoir at a pressure level which is greater than the pressure at the inlet of the cryogenic pump (intended use recitation; said valve 11 in FIG. 1 is capable of performing said functional language).
In reference to claim 2, Benz teaches the installation as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Benz additionally teaches wherein the control device (11, FIG. 1) is further configured to control the pressure inside the reservoir (5, FIG. 1) at a level of between 5 mbar and 500 mbar above the pressure at the inlet of the cryogenic pump (7, FIG. 1) (intended use recitation; said system in FIG. 1 is capable of performing said functional language).
In reference to claim 7, Benz teaches the installation as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Benz additionally teaches wherein the pipe for the recovery of the vaporization gases (12, FIG. 1) comprises a branching T-piece (12-21, FIG. 1) provided with a valve (22, FIG. 1) toward a discharge zone (7-8, FIG. 1).
In reference to claim 9, it claims the method of providing and configuring the apparatus of claim 1, thus, it is rejected based on the rejection of apparatus as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above and the associated method steps, which follow directly from the use of the apparatus, are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benz in view of DE 10-2017-125125 to Ratzka (Ratzka).
In reference to claim 3, Benz discloses the installation as explained in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the control device comprises at least one of a heat exchanger. Ratzka teaches a method for carrying out a pressure test of a liquefied gas tank (FIG. 1) wherein the control device comprises at least one of a heat exchanger (23, FIG. 1) in order to evaporate any liquid before returning gas to the storage tank.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Benz, to include at least one of a heat exchanger, as taught by Ratzka, in order to evaporate any liquid before returning gas to the storage tank.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benz in view of FR 3122717 to Fayer (Fayer).
In reference to claim 8, Benz discloses the installation as explained in the rejection of claim 1, but does not teach a pressurization device configured to pressurize the reservoir, wherein the pressurization device is autonomous and separate from the pipe for the recovery of the vaporization gases and the control device. Fayer teaches a device for storing and supplying cryogenic fluid (FIG. 1) comprising a pressurization device (10, FIG. 1) configured to pressurize the reservoir (1, FIG. 1), wherein the pressurization device (10, FIG. 1) is autonomous and separate from the pipe for the recovery of the vaporization gases (8, FIG. 1) and the control device (7, FIG. 1) in order to provide a backup pressurization system for the reservoir in case one pressurization system for the reservoir fails.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Benz, to include a pressurization device configured to pressurize the reservoir, wherein the pressurization device is autonomous and separate from the pipe for the recovery of the vaporization gases and the control device, as taught by Fayer, in order to provide a backup pressurization system for the reservoir in case one pressurization system for the reservoir fails.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
8/14/2026