DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the non-final office action on the merits of Application No. 19/041,622 filed on 01/30/2025. Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 are independent claims. Claim 17 has been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a first rotational drive input” and “a second rotational drive input “ in lines 5-6 should read “the first rotational drive input” and “the second rotational drive input”, since both limitations are recited in lines 2-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabar et al. (US 20240034478 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tabar discloses a hybrid-electric propulsion system (20, figs. 1-3, para 29) for an aircraft, comprising:
a thermal engine (e.g. 44, 62, fig. 1) configured to produce a first rotational drive input (e.g. via an input 72);
an electric motor (e.g. 42, fig. 1) configured to produce a second rotational drive input (e.g. via an input 54);
a propulsion unit (e.g. 30, 38, fig. 1);
a gearbox (e.g. 36, 90, 94, 98, etc. fig. 1) having a housing (e.g. 102), the gearbox configured to receive the first rotational drive input from the thermal engine (44) and the second rotational drive input from the electric motor (42), and configured to transfer an output rotational drive (40) to the propulsion unit (30, 38);
an electric motor disconnect system (e.g. 92, see para 41 “the machine coupler 92 may be configured as or otherwise include a clutch assembly configured to selectively couple the machine rotating structure 48 to the geartrain 90 or decouple the machine rotating structure 48 from the geartrain 90. With such an arrangement, the electric machine 42 may be coupled with the geartrain and, thus, the driven rotor 38 during operating modes where the electric machine 42 powers the mechanical load 30. However, when the electric machine 42 is not being operated as the electric motor or the electric generator, the electric machine 42 may be decoupled from the geartrain 90 to reduce drag on the rest of the powertrain 22.”);
wherein the electric motor disconnect system (92) is disposable in a connected state wherein the electric motor (42) is engaged with the gearbox (e.g. 90) to provide the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and disposable in a disconnected state wherein the electric motor is disengaged from providing the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and
the electric motor disconnect system (92) disposed within the housing (102) of the gearbox.
Regarding claim 2, Tabar discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (20, fig. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the thermal engine (62) is a gas turbine engine. (see para 36)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 20210031934 A1) in view of Muldoon et al. (US 12060839 B1) and further in view of Leque et al. (US 20200158213 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses a hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-2, para 31) for an aircraft (e.g. 10, fig. 1), comprising:
a thermal engine (e.g. heat engine 104, fig. 2) configured to produce a first rotational drive input (e.g. via an input 109a);
an electric motor (e.g. 106, fig. 2) configured to produce a second rotational drive input (e.g. via an input 109b);
a propulsion unit (e.g. an air mover 105, fig. 2);
a gearbox (e.g. a reduction gearbox 107) having a housing (e.g. has no character numeral, the housing of gear box 107 as shown in fig. 2), the gearbox configured to receive a first rotational drive input from the thermal engine (104) and a second rotational drive input from the electric motor (106), and configured to transfer an output rotational drive (111) to the propulsion unit (105);
an electric motor disconnect system (e.g. not shown, see para 31);
However, Becker fails to disclose wherein the electric motor disconnect system is disposable in a connected state wherein the electric motor (106) is engaged with the gearbox (107) to provide the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and disposable in a disconnected state wherein the electric motor is disengaged from providing the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and the electric motor disconnect system disposed within the housing of the gearbox.
Muldoon discloses a hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-4) for an aircraft, comprising:
a thermal engine (e.g. gas turbine engine 20, fig. 2);
an electric motor (e.g. 102, fig. 2);
a propulsion unit (e.g. fan 42, fig. 1);
a gearbox (e.g. 62) having a housing (e.g. has no character numeral, the housing of gear box 62 as shown in fig. 2), the gearbox configured to receive a first rotational drive input from the thermal engine (20) and a second rotational drive input from the electric motor (102), and configured to transfer an output rotational drive to the propulsion unit (42); and
an electric motor disconnect system (e.g. clutch 78);
wherein the electric motor disconnect system (78) is disposable in a connected state wherein the electric motor (102) is engaged with the gearbox (62) to provide the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and disposable in a disconnected state wherein the electric motor is disengaged from providing the second rotational drive input to the gearbox.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker by adding a disconnect system as taught by Muldoon so that the disconnect system can facilitates selective engagement and disengagement of the electric motor to the gearbox, therefore enhancing different operational modes with a reliable control.
Leque teaches a similar kind of a hybrid-electric propulsion system (62, figs. 1-2) wherein the electric motor disconnect system (e.g. clutch 86) disposed within the housing of the gearbox (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker /Muldoon by disposing the disconnect system within the housing of the gearbox as taught by Leque in order to provide a compact and simple design of the hybrid-electric propulsion system.
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have wherein the electric motor disconnect system is disposable in a connected state wherein the electric motor is engaged with the gearbox to provide the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and disposable in a disconnected state wherein the electric motor is disengaged from providing the second rotational drive input to the gearbox, and the electric motor disconnect system disposed within the housing of the gearbox.
Regarding claim 2, Becker/Muldoon/ Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-2) as modified according to claim 1, Becker further discloses wherein the thermal engine is a gas turbine engine. (see para 32” It is contemplated that heat engine 104 could be a heat engine of any type, e.g., a gas turbine, spark ignited, diesel, rotary or reciprocating engine of any fuel type and with any configuration of turbomachiney elements, either turbocharger, turbosupercharger, supercharger and exhaust recovery turbo compounding, either mechanically, electrically, hydraulically or pneumatically driven.”)
Regarding claim 3, Becker/Muldoon/ Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-2) as modified according to claim 2, Becker further discloses wherein the gearbox is a reduction gearbox. (see para 31)
Regarding claim 4, Becker/Muldoon/ Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-2) as modified according to claim 3, Becker further discloses wherein the thermal engine (104) and the electric motor (106) are disposed in a parallel configuration.
Regarding claim 5, Becker/Muldoon/Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) of claim 3, Muldoon further teaches an offset gear drive (e.g. 60, 70), but fails to disclose the electric motor disconnect system is engaged with the offset gear drive.
Leque further teaches wherein the gearbox (48, fig. 1B) includes an offset gear drive (e.g. 70’, fig. 1B) and the electric motor disconnect system (86, fig. 2) is engaged with the offset gear drive (70 via 80, see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker/Muldoon/Leque by connecting the disconnect system with the gearbox as taught by Leque in order to provide a compact and simple design of the hybrid-electric propulsion system.
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have the electric motor disconnect system engaged with the offset gear drive.
Regarding claim 6, Becker/Muldoon/Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 3, Muldoon further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system includes a clutch (78) that is disposable in a clutch engaged configuration and a clutch disengaged configuration. (see col. 7, lines 8-10 , “The clutch 78 facilitates selective engagement and disengagement of the bowed rotor prevention motor 102 to the gas turbine engine 20.”)
Claims 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muldoon et al. (US 12060839 B1) and further in view of Leque et al. (US 20200158213 A1) and further in view of FINKE (US 20240101267 A1 cited in IDS filed on 02/05/2024)(hereinafter “FINKE”).
Regarding claim 16, Muldoon discloses a hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, figs. 1-4) for an aircraft, comprising:
a thermal engine (e.g. gas turbine engine 20, fig. 2);
an electric motor (e.g. 102, fig. 2) having a motor shaft (108);
a propulsion unit (e.g. fan 42, fig. 1);
a gearbox (e.g. 62) having a housing (e.g. has no character numeral, the housing of gear box 62 as shown in fig. 2), the gearbox configured to receive a rotational drive input from the electric motor (102); and
an electric motor disconnect system (e.g. clutch 78);
a clutch (e.g. 78) that is disposable in a clutch engaged configuration and a clutch disengaged configuration;
an engagement shaft (e.g. has no character numeral, the shaft of the clutch 78 as shown in fig. 2),
wherein the electric motor disconnect system (78) is disposable in a connected state, and in the connected state the electric motor (102) is engaged with the gearbox (62) to provide the rotational drive input to the thermal engine (20) via the gearbox (62), and disposable in a disconnected state wherein the electric motor is disengaged from providing the rotational drive input to the thermal engine (20),
wherein the motor shaft (108) of the electric motor (102) and the engagement shaft are connected to the clutch.
However, Muldoon fails to disclose the electric motor disconnect system (e.g. clutch 78) disposed within the housing of the gearbox, and an input shaft having an axially extending central bore; and an engagement shaft received within the central bore; wherein the electric motor disconnect system is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft changes the clutch from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration; and wherein the gearbox is an accessory gearbox in drive communication with an engine shaft of the thermal engine via a tower shaft.
Leque teaches a similar kind of a hybrid-electric propulsion system (62, figs. 1-2) wherein the electric motor disconnect system (e.g. clutch 86) disposed within the housing of the gearbox (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muldoon by disposing the disconnect system within the housing of the gearbox as taught by Leque in order to provide a compact and simple design of the hybrid-electric propulsion system.
FINKE teaches a disconnect mechanism of an aircraft as shown in figs. 1-10 wherein an electric motor disconnect system (76,fig. 2) includes a clutch (94,fig. 3) that is disposable in a clutch engaged configuration and a clutch disengaged configuration (see fig. 6); an input shaft (e.g. 20, fig. 3, para 74) having an axially extending central bore (26); and an engagement shaft (30) received within the central bore (26); wherein a motor shaft (96) of an electric motor (6) and the engagement shaft (30) are connected to the clutch (94, fig. 6); and wherein the electric motor disconnect system (e.g. 76, fig. 2) is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft (30, fig. 3) changes the clutch (e.g. 94, para 103) from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration (see fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muldoon/Leque by substituting the disconnect system as taught by FINKE in order to provide reliable and efficient actuation of the disconnect mechanism. (see para 19 of FINKE)
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have the electric motor disconnect system disposed within the housing of the gearbox and an input shaft having an axially extending central bore; and an engagement shaft received within the central bore; wherein the electric motor disconnect system is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft changes the clutch from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration; and wherein the gearbox is an accessory gearbox in drive communication with an engine shaft of the thermal engine via a tower shaft.
Regarding claim 18, Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 16, FINKE further teaches wherein a spline arrangement (e.g. 42, fig. 3) mechanically couples the engagement shaft (30) and the input shaft (20) and allows axial travel of the engagement shaft relative to the input shaft. (see para 87 of FINKE “The male and female spline teeth, which may be collectively termed the spline 42, are configured to mesh or engage with each other to allow the transmission of torque/rotational motion between the rotor shaft 20 and the disconnect shaft 30.”)
Regarding claim 19, Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 18, FINKE further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system (76) includes a disconnect actuator (86, fig. 4, para 101) disposable in a retracted state or in a deployed state; and wherein in the inactive position state disconnect actuator is configured to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate. (see para 106 “Before the propulsion system 2 of the aircraft is activated a user of the aircraft or an automated engine management system will ensure that the actuator shaft 82 of the disconnect mechanism 76 is in the inactive position, As a result (i) the shaft end 84 of the actuator shaft 82 is not in contact with the actuation face 88 of the disconnect groove 80; (ii) the reset spring 70 biases the disconnect shaft 30 in direction 44; and (iii) the teeth of the two halves of the dog clutch 94 are engaged with each other.”)
While FINKE reference works in the opposite way of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to reverse the actuation of the disconnect actuator, by deploying the disconnect actuator to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. (MPEP 2144.04)
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have in the deployed state the disconnect actuator is configured to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate.
Regarding claim 20, Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 19, Muldoon further discloses wherein the thermal engine (20) is a gas turbine engine.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 20210031934 A1) in view of Muldoon et al. (US 12060839 B1) and Leque et al. (US 20200158213 A1) and further in view of FINKE (US 20240101267 A1 cited in IDS filed on 02/05/2024)(hereinafter “FINKE”).
Regarding claim 7, Becker/Muldoon/ Leque discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified claim 6, Muldoon further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system (78) includes an engagement shaft (e.g. has no character numeral, the shaft of the clutch 78 as shown in fig. 2), wherein a motor shaft (108) of the electric motor (102) and the engagement shaft are connected to the clutch.
However, Becker/Muldoon/Leque fails to disclose wherein the electric motor disconnect system is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft changes the clutch from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration.
FINKE teaches a disconnect mechanism of an aircraft as shown in figs. 1-10 wherein an electric motor disconnect system (76, fig. 2) includes an engagement shaft (e.g. 30 as shown in fig. 3), wherein a motor shaft (96) of an electric motor (6) and the engagement shaft (30) are connected to a clutch (94, fig. 3); wherein the electric motor disconnect system (e.g. 76, fig. 2) is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft (30, fig. 3) changes the clutch (e.g. 94, para 103) from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration (see fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker/Muldoon/Leque by substituting the disconnect system as taught by FINKE in order to provide reliable and efficient actuation of the disconnect mechanism. (see para 19 of FINKE)
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have the electric motor disconnect system is configured such that linear translation of the engagement shaft changes the clutch from the clutch engaged configuration to the clutch disengaged configuration.
Regarding claim 8, Becker/Muldoon/Leque / FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 6, FINKE further teaches wherein the engagement shaft (30, fig. 6) is biased toward the clutch (94) engaged configuration.
Regarding claim 9, Becker/Muldoon/Leque / FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 7, FINKE further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system (76) includes an engagement shaft spring (70, fig. 3, para 95), and the electric motor disconnect system is configured such that the engagement shaft spring biases the engagement shaft (30) toward the clutch engaged configuration. (see para 106 “Before the propulsion system 2 of the aircraft is activated a user of the aircraft or an automated engine management system will ensure that the actuator shaft 82 of the disconnect mechanism 76 is in the inactive position, As a result (i) the shaft end 84 of the actuator shaft 82 is not in contact with the actuation face 88 of the disconnect groove 80; (ii) the reset spring 70 biases the disconnect shaft 30 in direction 44; and (iii) the teeth of the two halves of the dog clutch 94 are engaged with each other.”)
Regarding claim 10, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 9, FINKE further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system (76) includes an input shaft (e.g. 20, fig. 3, para 74) having an axially extending central bore (26); and wherein the engagement shaft (30) is received within the central bore (26); and wherein a spline arrangement (e.g. 42, fig. 3) mechanically couples the engagement shaft (30) and the input shaft (20) and allows axial travel of the engagement shaft relative to the input shaft. (see para 87 of FINKE “The male and female spline teeth, which may be collectively termed the spline 42, are configured to mesh or engage with each other to allow the transmission of torque/rotational motion between the rotor shaft 20 and the disconnect shaft 30.”)
Regarding claim 11, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 10, FINKE further teaches wherein the electric motor disconnect system (76) includes a disconnect actuator (86, fig. 4, para 101) disposable in a retracted state or in a deployed state; and wherein in the inactive position state disconnect actuator is configured to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate. (see para 106 “Before the propulsion system 2 of the aircraft is activated a user of the aircraft or an automated engine management system will ensure that the actuator shaft 82 of the disconnect mechanism 76 is in the inactive position, As a result (i) the shaft end 84 of the actuator shaft 82 is not in contact with the actuation face 88 of the disconnect groove 80; (ii) the reset spring 70 biases the disconnect shaft 30 in direction 44; and (iii) the teeth of the two halves of the dog clutch 94 are engaged with each other.”)
While FINKE reference works in the opposite way of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to reverse the actuation of the disconnect actuator, by deploying the disconnect actuator to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. (MPEP 2144.04)
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have wherein in the deployed state the disconnect actuator is configured to cause the engagement shaft to axially translate.
Regarding claim 12, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 11, FINKE further teaches wherein in the deployed state the disconnect actuator (86, fig. 7) engages with a ramp (e.g. 80, fig. 4, para 100) attached to the engagement shaft (30).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 20210031934 A1) in view of Muldoon et al. (US 12060839 B1), Leque et al. (US 20200158213 A1) and FINKE (US 20240101267 A1) and further in view of Tate (US 20240068531 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the disconnect actuator includes a solenoid that is controllable to actuate the disconnect actuator from the retracted state to the deployed state.
Tate teaches an electric propulsion system as shown in figs. 1-4 wherein the disconnect actuator (e.g. 52, fig. 3, para 62) includes a solenoid that is controllable to actuate the disconnect actuator from the retracted state to the deployed state. (see para 63” Actuation of the solenoid 52 causes the hollow shaft 26 to be moved between a first position shown in FIG. 3 (in which the gear sets/splines 30 on the hollow cylinder 26 and the gear rings/splines 36 on the drive shaft 10 are fully engaged or meshed with each other), and a second position shown in FIG. 4 (in which the gear sets/splines 30 on the hollow cylinder 26 and the gear rings/splines 36 on the drive shaft 10 are not engaged or meshed with each other).”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker/Muldoon/Leque/FINKE by substituting the disconnect actuator with a solenoid one as taught by Tate in order to provide reliable, simple design and efficient actuation of the disconnect mechanism.
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have a solenoid disconnect actuator.
Regarding claim 14, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE /Tate discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 13, further comprising a controller (150, 104, fig. 3) in communication with the electric motor (102), the electric motor disconnect system (78), and a non- transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed cause the controller to: monitor electric motor operation; and control the disconnect actuator of the electric motor disconnect system to actuate to a deployed state in the event the electric motor operation monitoring identifies an abnormal event occurrence (via 256 or 79, fig. 3) . (see col. 6, lines 50-67, “The controller 104 may include memory to store instructions that are executed by a processor. The executable instructions may be stored or organized in any manner and at any level of abstraction, such as in connection with a controlling and/or monitoring operation of one or more systems of the gas turbine engine 20 of FIG. 1. The processor can be any type of central processing unit (CPU), including a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor, a microcontroller, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array, or the like. Also, in embodiments, the memory may include random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), or other electronic, optical, magnetic, or any other computer readable medium onto which is stored data and control algorithms in a non-transitory form. The controller 104 can be embodied in an individual line-replaceable unit, within a control system (e.g., in an electronic engine control), and/or distributed between multiple electronic systems.”)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 20210031934 A1) in view of Muldoon et al. (US 12060839 B1), Leque et al. (US 20200158213 A1), FINKE (US 20240101267 A1) and Tate (US 20240068531 A1), and further in view of Waddleton et al. (US 20050135929 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Becker/Muldoon/Leque /FINKE / Tate discloses the hybrid-electric propulsion system (100, fig. 2) as modified according to claim 14, but fails to disclose further comprising a lubrication system that cycles a flow of fluid lubricant through the gearbox; and wherein the flow of fluid lubricant is in communication with the electric motor disconnect system disposed within the housing of the gearbox.
Waddleton teaches a electric propulsion system as shown in figs. 1-3 wherein a lubrication system (see fig. 2) that cycles a flow of fluid lubricant through the gearbox (RGB 14, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Becker/Muldoon/Leque/FINKE/ Tate by adding up the a lubrication system as taught by Waddleton in order to provide a good lubrication to the gearbox as well as the propeller control and actuator in a single source, therefore a compact and reliable lubrication system can be achieved.
As modified, the hybrid-electric propulsion system would have a lubrication system that cycles a flow of fluid lubricant through the gearbox; and wherein the flow of fluid lubricant is in communication with the electric motor disconnect system disposed within the housing of the gearbox.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant contends that neither Muldoon nor Leque disclose or suggest the newly recited features of claim 1. While this argument is found persuasive, a new reference has been applied (Becker et al. (US 20210031934 A1)) that discloses the new limitation, as appears above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
HARVEY et al. (US 20210179286 A1) discloses a hybrid aircraft propulsion system including a thermal engine, an electric motor, a disconnect system, a reduction gearbox and a propeller as shown in fig. 2.
Becker et al. (US 20200277062 A1) discloses an aircraft including a hybrid-electric propulsion system. The electrical system can be part of the hybrid-electric propulsion system. The hybrid-electric propulsion system can include a heat engine, and/or an electric-motor as shown in fig. 3.
Conclusion
/F.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655