DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 27, the claim states “wherein movement of the handle with respect to the frame advances the ratcheting mechanism”, this renders the claim indefinite since claim 26, from which claim 27 depends, sets forth an option of a ratcheting mechanism or a motorized mechanism, therefore it is unclear if the limitation in claim 27 is intending to further define the ratcheting mechanism as being selected, in which case it fails to positively recite this selection, or if it is intending to still refer to both options of claim 26. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 40, the claim states “the plurality of die heads comprises a pipe receiving recess”, it is unclear if the limitation is intending to set forth that the pipe receiving recess is formed by the combination of the plurality of die heads or if it is intending to set forth that each of the plurality of die heads comprises a pipe receiving recess. For examination purposes the limitation is being interpreted as setting forth each of the plurality of die heads comprises a pipe receiving recess.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29, 31-32, 34-37 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,214,411.
With regards to claim 21, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all the elements of claim 21 are to be found in claim 1. The difference between claim 21 of the application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claim 21. it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species [see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)]. Since claim 21 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1.
With regards to claim 22, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 22 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 23, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 23 can be found in claim 11 (as it encompasses claims 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 24, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 24 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 25, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 25 can be found in claim 10 (as it encompasses claims 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 26, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 26 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 27, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 27 can be found in claim 17 (as it encompasses claims 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 28, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 28 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 29, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 29 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 31, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 31 can be found in claim 2 (as it encompasses claim 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 32, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 32 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 34, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 34 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 35, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 35 can be found in claim 18 (as it encompasses claims 17, 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 36, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 35 can be found in claim 18 (as it encompasses claims 18, 17, 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) of the patent.
With regards to claim 37, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 37 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
With regards to claim 40, all of the claimed subject matter of claim 40 can be found in claim 1 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-28, 33 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiu (5,761,950).
In reference to claim 21, Chiu discloses a tubing bender device comprising
a frame (10) comprising a handle (15) and a mechanism (16), wherein the mechanism is engaged to a slide rod (14) and the handle [see col. 3 lines 5-9],
a cross bow bar support (30) releasably engages to the frame, the cross bow bar support comprising a plurality of die heads (33) releasably engaged to the cross bow bar support, wherein the cross bow bar support comprises a first side and a second side, wherein one of the plurality of die heads is releasably engaged to the first side and wherein another of the plurality of die heads is releasably engaged to the second side [see figure 1; col. 2 lines 48-60],
a first support bracket (20) releasably engaged to the cross bow bar support, the first support bracket comprising a first vertical receiving aperture, wherein the slide rod is releasably engaged to the first vertical receiving aperture,
a second support bracket (40) releasably engaged to the frame (10) [see figure 3], and
a bending mandrel (50) releasably engaged to the second support bracket [see figure 2; col. 2 lines 34-38].
In reference to claim 22, Chiu further discloses the bending mandrel (50) is releasably engaged to the second support bracket, movement of the slide rod moves the cross bow bar support (30) via the first support bracket (20) and in relation to the bending mandrel [see col. 3 lines 51-57; figure 4].
In reference to claim 23, the bending mandrel (50) comprises a pipe receiving channel (52), wherein the pipe receiving channel of the bending mandrel is positioned in a direction facing the slide rod (14), as seen in figure 1 [see col. 2 lines 34-36].
In reference to claim 24, Chiu further discloses when the bending mandrel (50) is releasably engaged to the slide rod (14), movement of the slide rod moves the bending mandrel in relation to the cross bow bar support [see figure 6; col. 4 lines 21-36].
In reference to claim 25, the bending mandrel (50) comprises a pipe receiving channel, wherein the pipe receiving channel of the bending mandrel is positioned in a direction facing away from the slide rod, as seen in figure 6.
In reference to claim 26, Chiu further discloses the mechanism comprises a ratcheting mechanism [see col. 3 lines 5-9; figure 3].
In reference to claim 27, the movement of the handle (15) with respect to the frame advances the ratcheting mechanism that moves the slide rod [see col. 3 lines 5-9].
In reference to claim 28, the plurality of die heads (33) have a degree of revolution relative to the cross bow bar support [see col. 2 lines 57-66; die heads are mounted via a bolt and can be rotated relative to the bar support to change the cavity in use].
In reference to claim 33, Chiu further discloses the plurality of die heads (33) shape a mid-plane with the bending mandrel, as seen in figure 1.
In reference to claim 38, the cross bow bar support (30) is located perpendicularly with respect to the frame, as seen in figure 1.
In reference to claim 39, the first side and the second side of the cross bow bar support are separated by a recessed bridge. as seen in figure 1.
In reference to claim 40, each of the plurality of die heads (33) comprises a pipe receiving recess (332), as seen in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-32, 34, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Houle et al (US 9,144,835).
In reference to claim 29, Chiu discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the device further comprises a plurality of repositionable die heads having a degree of freedom relative to the bar support.
However, Houle et al teaches of the tubing bender device having a cross bow support bar (60) including a plurality of die heads (80a, 80b) and a plurality of repositionable die heads (70a, 70b) that are rotatable relative to the cross bow support bar (60) for the purpose of being able to accommodate various tubing sizes for bending [see col. 5 lines 12-50; figure 1].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bender device of Chiu to further include a plurality of repositionable die heads, as taught by Houle et al, in order to allow for the bending of various tubing sizes in a single device.
In reference to claim 30, Houle et al further teaches the plurality of die heads (80a, 80b) are located on a bottom side of the cross bow bar support and the plurality of repositionable (70a, 70b) are located on a top side of the cross bow bar support, as seen in figure 1.
In reference to claim 31, Houle et al further teaches the plurality of repositionable die heads are rotatable about an axis [see col. 5 lines 21-23].
In reference to claim 32, the plurality of repositionable die heads, when in a non-operative position are located in a different plane than a plane established by the bending mandrel and plurality of die heads.
In reference to claim 34, Chiu discloses an embodiment wherein the tubing bender device has a first bending configuration for bending a pipe in a first bending direction [see figure 1], and discloses a second embodiment wherein the tubing bender deice has a second bending configuration for bending the pipe in a second bending direction opposite the first bending direction [see figure 6].
Chiu discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a single tubing bender device has the first and second bending configurations.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first bending configuration of the figure 1 embodiment and the second bending configuration of the figure 6 embodiment since the cross bow bar support and bending mandrel are releasably engaged with the frame and the mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art [see In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167].
In reference to claim 36, the plurality of die heads extend upwardly from the cross bow bar support in the first bending configuration.
In reference to claim 37, the mechanism comprises a ratcheting mechanism [see col. 3 lines 5-9].
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725