DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 and 15 were amended. Claim 21 was added. Regarding the amendments to claims 1 and 15 Applicant argues the connecting layer of Caruso is not directly between the metal insert and the fibrous material in a radial direction of the wind turbine rotor blade part since Fig 6 and the corresponding description at Col 8, In. 32-33, only shows/describes element 64 as being disposed between 46 and 52 and not between 46 and 40 or 42. However, upon review of Col 8, In. 30-36, Caruso states "the root assembly 30 may also include a bonding agent 64 configured within the radial gap 44, e.g. between the various surfaces between the root inserts 46 and/or spacers 52. Thus the bonding agent 64 is configured to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer throughout the root assembly 30 during the manufacturing process." Examiner respectfully disagrees the bonding agent must be limited to the spaces between 46 and 52. It appears Caruso teaches using the bonding agent within the radial gap 44 between the various surfaces (i.e. all surfaces) of the root inserts and/or spacers to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer thought the root assembly. More specifically, it appears Caruso at least suggests applying a boding agent between the inner and/or outer radial surfaces of the insert and the fibrous material 40 and/or 42.
Regarding added claim 21, Applicant argues Caruso teaches a process of removing an insert that differs from Applicant's claimed invention since according to Caruso the entirety of the insert 46 which includes the metal bushing would be removed. However, there is nothing in the claim that precludes more than metal bushing being removed during the removal process, further there is nothing the claims preventing the claimed "metal insert" to include non-metallic material. As such, it appears Caruso teaches the invention of claim 21 substantially as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Caruso et al. (US 10060411), hereinafter: “Caruso”.
In Regard to Claim 1
Caruso teaches:
A method for removing a metal insert(46) from a wind turbine rotor blade part(16,32,40,42), the method comprising:
providing the wind turbine rotor blade part(40,42; Col 10, ln. 22-42), the wind turbine rotor blade part including a fibrous composite material(Col 6, ln. 21-36) and the metal insert(46) held in the fibrous composite material(Fig 3), wherein the metal insert is configured to fasten the wind turbine rotor blade part to a wind turbine rotor hub(18) or to another wind turbine rotor blade part(the metal insert is structurally capable of fastening the wind turbine rotor blade to another wind turbine rotor blade part; Col 3, ln. 7-22), the wind turbine rotor blade further including a connecting layer(50,64) disposed directly between the metal insert and the fibrous composite material(Fig 3) in a radial direction of the wind turbine rotor blade part(Col 8, In. 30-36, states "the root assembly 30 may also include a bonding agent 64 configured within the radial gap 44, e.g. between the various surfaces between the root inserts 46 and/or spacers 52. Thus the bonding agent 64 is configured to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer throughout the root assembly 30 during the manufacturing process." Caruso teaches using the bonding agent within the radial gap 44 between the various surfaces (i.e. all surfaces) of the root inserts and/or spacers to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer thought the root assembly) and which connects the metal insert to the fibrous composite material in a stable manner(Col 6, ln. 27-65; Col 10, ln. 23-42), wherein the connecting layer is a coating or a film(portion 64 of the connecting layer body is a plastic film; Col 8, ln. 30-44) and the fibrous composite material is a cured material(Col 8, ln. 30-67; Col 10, ln. 43-55; Fig 14);
weakening the connecting layer such that the connecting layer is connecting the metal insert to the fibrous composite material in a less stable manner(via heat; Col 10, ln. 23-42); and,
removing the metal insert from the fibrous composite material(Col 10, ln. 23-42).
In the alternative, should Applicant disagree with the interpretation of Caruso above, Caruso at least suggests applying a bonding agent between the inner and/or outer radial surfaces of the insert and the fibrous material 40 and/or 42.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Caruso to apply a connecting layer directly radially between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40 to promote additional surface adhesion and/or resin transfer between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40(Col 8, In. 30-36).
In Regard to Claim 2
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the method is a repair method and further comprises:
inserting another metal insert into a cavity in the fibrous composite material at a position where the removed metal insert was arranged(“insert 46 may be reheated, removed, and replaced in the event of damage and/or manufacturing defects”; Col 10, ln. 23-42).
In Regard to Claim 4
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising:
manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade part(100) including curing the fibrous composite material in a mold(66; Col 8, ln. 30-67; Fig 14);
arranging the metal insert and the connecting layer at their desired positions(Step 104; Fig 14; Col 9, ln. 1-30); and,
connecting the metal insert in a stable manner to the fibrous composite material via the connecting layer(Step 110; Fig 14; Col 9, ln. 1-30).
In Regard to Claim 5
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 4(see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein said manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade part includes applying the connecting layer to at least one of an outer surface of the metal insert and a surface of a layer of a fiber material(connecting layer 50 is applied to the outer surface of 48; Col 6, ln. 36-56; Fig 3).
In Regard to Claim 6
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 4(see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein said manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade part includes placing in a gap(radial gap 44) between the metal insert and the fibrous composite material(radial gap 44 extends bushing 48 of 46 and 40,42) an adhesive which forms the connecting layer(50 fills the radial gap between 48 and 40,42; Fig 3-5).
In Regard to Claim 7
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 4(see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein said manufacturing of the wind turbine rotor blade part includes infusion of a resin into a mold(66) in which a fiber material(64) and the metal insert are arranged(Col 8, ln. 30 to Col 9, ln. 30).
In Regard to Claim 8
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the connecting layer includes a polymeric material(Col 6, ln. 36-56; Col 7 ln. 3-36).
In Regard to Claim 10
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the wind turbine rotor blade part includes a joining surface(33) configured to be arranged next to a wind turbine rotor blade hub(18; Fig 1-2); the metal insert defines a longitudinal direction(parallel to 24) and includes a circumferential surface(inner and/or outer circumferential surface of 46) embedded into the fibrous composite material(Fig 3-5), a front surface arranged at the joining surface(surface of 46 flush with 33), and a back surface embedded into the fibrous composite material(surface of 46 distal to the front surface; Fig 10); and, the connecting layer covers an entirety of the circumferential surface(connecting layer 50 covers an entirety of the inner and/or outer circumferential surfaces).
In Regard to Claim 11
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 10(see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the connecting layer further covers the back surface(the connecting layer 50 extends to cover the back surface; Fig 10).
In Regard to Claim 12
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein said weakening the connecting layer is carried out by applying heat(via heat; Col 10, ln. 23-42).
In Regard to Claim 15
Caruso teaches:
A wind turbine rotor blade part(16,32) comprising:
a fibrous composite material(40,42; Col 6, ln. 21-36);
a metal insert(46) held in said fibrous composite material(Fig 3);
said metal insert being configured to fasten the wind turbine rotor blade part to a wind turbine rotor hub(18) or to another wind turbine rotor blade part(the metal insert is structurally capable of fastening the wind turbine rotor blade to another wind turbine rotor blade part; Col 3, ln. 7-22);
a connecting layer(50,64) a connecting layer(50,64) disposed directly between the metal insert and the fibrous composite material(Fig 3) in a radial direction of the wind turbine rotor blade part(Col 8, In. 30-36, states "the root assembly 30 may also include a bonding agent 64 configured within the radial gap 44, e.g. between the various surfaces between the root inserts 46 and/or spacers 52. Thus the bonding agent 64 is configured to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer throughout the root assembly 30 during the manufacturing process." Caruso teaches using the bonding agent within the radial gap 44 between the various surfaces (i.e. all surfaces) of the root inserts and/or spacers to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer thought the root assembly);
said connecting layer connecting said metal insert to said fibrous composite material in a stable manner(Col 6, ln. 27-65; Col 10, ln. 23-42);
said connecting layer being a coating or a film(portion 64 of the connecting layer body is a plastic film; Col 8, ln. 30-44) and said fibrous composite material is a cured material(Col 8, ln. 30-67; Col 10, ln. 43-55; Fig 14);
wherein the wind turbine rotor blade part is configured to enable a weakening of said connecting layer such that said connecting layer connects said metal insert to said fibrous composite material in a less stable manner(via heat; Col 10, ln. 23-42); and,
said metal insert is configured to be removed from said fibrous composite material(Col 10, ln. 23-42).
In the alternative, should Applicant disagree with the interpretation of Caruso above, Caruso at least suggests applying a bonding agent between the inner and/or outer radial surfaces of the insert and the fibrous material 40 and/or 42.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Caruso to apply a connecting layer directly radially between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40 to promote additional surface adhesion and/or resin transfer between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40(Col 8, In. 30-36).
In Regard to Claim 21
Caruso teaches:
A method for removing a metal insert(46) from a wind turbine rotor blade part(16,32,40,42), the method comprising:
providing the wind turbine rotor blade part(40,42; Col 10, ln. 22-42), the wind turbine rotor blade part including a fibrous composite material(Col 6, ln. 21-36) and the metal insert(46) held in the fibrous composite material(Fig 3), wherein the metal insert is configured to fasten the wind turbine rotor blade part to a wind turbine rotor hub(18) or to another wind turbine rotor blade part(the metal insert is structurally capable of fastening the wind turbine rotor blade to another wind turbine rotor blade part; Col 3, ln. 7-22), the wind turbine rotor blade further including a connecting layer(50,64) disposed between the metal insert and the fibrous composite material(Fig 3; 64 is between 46 and 40/42 since a line extending at an angle from 46 would pass through both 64 and 40/42, further because the junction of 46/52 extends the full height of the radial gap between 46 and 52 64 also connects 46 to 40/42; in another interpretation - Col 8, In. 30-36, states "the root assembly 30 may also include a bonding agent 64 configured within the radial gap 44, e.g. between the various surfaces between the root inserts 46 and/or spacers 52. Thus the bonding agent 64 is configured to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer throughout the root assembly 30 during the manufacturing process." Caruso teaches using the bonding agent within the radial gap 44 between the various surfaces (i.e. all surfaces) of the root inserts and/or spacers to promote surface adhesion and/or resin transfer thought the root assembly) and which connects the metal insert to the fibrous composite material in a stable manner(Col 6, ln. 27-65; Col 10, ln. 23-42), wherein the connecting layer is a coating or a film(portion 64 of the connecting layer body is a plastic film; Col 8, ln. 30-44) and the fibrous composite material is a cured material(Col 8, ln. 30-67; Col 10, ln. 43-55; Fig 14);
weakening the connecting layer such that the connecting layer is connecting the metal insert to the fibrous composite material in a less stable manner(via heat; Col 10, ln. 23-42); and,
removing only the metal insert from the fibrous composite material(Col 10, ln. 23-42; there is nothing the claims preventing the claimed "metal insert" to include non-metallic material, as such, since 46 in the metal insert because includes metal, “only” the metal insert is removed).
In the alternative, should Applicant disagree with the interpretation of Caruso above, Caruso at least suggests applying a bonding agent between the inner and/or outer radial surfaces of the insert and the fibrous material 40 and/or 42.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Caruso to apply a connecting layer directly radially between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40 to promote additional surface adhesion and/or resin transfer between the metal insert 42 and the fibrous composite material 40(Col 8, In. 30-36).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso in view of Martini et al. (NPL Document 1), hereinafter: “Martini”.
In Regard to Claim 3
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above),
Caruso fails to teach:
wherein the method is a recycling method and further comprises:
recycling at least one of the metal insert and the fibrous composite material after the metal insert has been removed from the fibrous composite material.
Martini teaches:
A method of recycling wind turbine blades wherein pyrolysis or solvolysis is used to separate the blade into three different materials, glass, metal and fillers for recycling(section 1.2, Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Caruso to incorporate the teachings of Martini to recycle the metal insert and/or the fibrous composite material decrease the cost of landfill disposal, and resell the amount of recycled raw material for a profit(section 1.2).
In Regard to Claim 14
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above),
Caruso fails to teach:
wherein said weakening the connecting layer is carried out by applying a solvent
Martini teaches:
A method of recycling wind turbine blades wherein pyrolysis or solvolysis is used to separate the blade into three different materials, glass, metal and fillers for recycling(section 1.2, Fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Martini to incorporate the teachings of Martini to use solvolysis instead of heat to weaken the connecting layer since solvolysis works better than pyrolysis for carbon fiber based composites(section 1.2, Fig 2)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso in view of Cundiff et al. (US 6589618), hereinafter: “Cundiff”.
In Regard to Claim 9
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above),
Caruso fails to teach:
wherein the connecting layer includes a ceramic material
Cundiff teaches:
A method of manufacturing a blade made of composite material using a resin transfer molding process wherein the composite fiber includes a ceramic material(“ceramics”; Col 10, ln. 7-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Caruso to incorporate the teachings of Cundiff to use ceramic fiber material to construct the connecting layer as Cundiff teaches the use of a “ceramic fiber material” is a known material suitable for making composite wind turbine blades. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected a “ceramic fiber material” because it is merely the selection of an art known material suitable for the construction of composite wind turbine blades. In further support of this position, the selection of a known material to make an abradable coating prior to the invention was held to be obvious see In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruso in view of Woods et al. (US 6585839), hereinafter: “Woods”.
In Regard to Claim 13
Caruso teaches:
The method of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein said weaking the connecting layer is carried out by applying heat to the thermoplastic inserts(Col 10, ln. 22-42).
Caruso fails to teach:
wherein said weakening the connecting layer is carried out by applying ultrasound
Woods teaches:
Woods teaches it is known to use ultrasonic heating to heat thermoplastic material to enabling bonding and thus fabrication of composite parts(Col 2, ln. 20-29; Col 4, ln. 1-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Caruso to incorporate the teachings of Woods to weaken the connecting layer by applying ultrasonic heating because ultrasonic heating does not depend upon a thermal driver to effect energy transfer to the composite material, is instantaneously modulatable, and it provides deep, penetrating heating in the plastic matrix beyond mere surface heating(Col 2, ln. 21-28)
Conclusion
/BRIAN P WOLCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711