DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). Claims 2, 4-7, 11, 13-16 recite “X-axis, Y-axis, Z-axis and “X-Y plane, X-Z plane” all of which need to be shown for understanding of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As of claim 2, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0049]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 3 is rejected as being dependent on claim 2.
As of claim 4, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0073]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 5 is rejected as being dependent on claim 4.
As of claim 6, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0090]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 7 is rejected as being dependent on claim 6.
As of claim 11, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0049]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 12 is rejected as being dependent on claim 11.
As of claim 13, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0073]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 14 is rejected as being dependent on claim 13.
As of claim 15, the limitation “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” is unclear. A review of description (PGPUB [0090]) repeats the claim limitation. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner has interpreted “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis” as “in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the X axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis”.
Claim 16 is rejected as being dependent on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) in view of Kaytes (US 2019/0144246 A1).
As of claim 1, MATSUO teaches a projection system [fig 23] comprising: a projector 710 [fig 23] [0249]; and a projector cart 760 [fig 23] configured to house the projector 710 [fig 23], wherein the projector includes an enclosure 750 (housing) [fig 22] [0249], a light source 221 [fig 9] housed in the enclosure 210 [fig 9], a light modulator 238 r, g, b [fig 9] [0159] housed in the enclosure 210 [fig 9] and configured to modulate light emitted from the light source 221 [fig 9] and a projection lens unit 240 a, b [fig 9] [0148] configured to emit the light modulated by the light modulator to an outside of the enclosure 280 (screen) [fig 9], and in a posture of using the projector 710 [fig 22], the projector cart 760 [fig 23] includes a housing 750 [fig 22] which is configured to house the projector 710 [fig 22] and is configured to emit the light emitted from the projection lens unit 740 a, b [fig 22] to an outside of the projector cart (projecting partial images RPa, RPb [fig 22]), a base 610 (pedestal) [fig 22] [0250] placed below the housing 750 [fig 22], and wheels 650 [fig 22] placed below the base 610 [fig 22].
MATSUO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
MATSUO does not teach the base includes a rotor on which the housing is rotatably mounted.
Kaytes teaches an aerial advertising display apparatus [fig 3] having a rotor 120 (turntable) [fig 3] [0054] on which the housing 114 (chassis) [fig 3] is rotatably mounted (the support base 102 also may include a counterweighted turntable 120 mounted for rotation on the chassis 114 about a vertical axis) [0054].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base includes a rotor on which the housing is rotatably mounted as taught by Kaytes to the projection system as disclosed by Matsuo to provide an aerial advertising display or other aerial structure or apparatus facilitating the movement and positioning of the structure from one location to another location with relative ease (Kaytes; [0007]).
As of claim 9, MATSUO teaches the projector cart 760 [fig 24] includes a fixation part 618 (screws) [fig 24] [0253] configured to fix a position of the housing 750 [fig 24] with respect to the base 610 [fig 24].
As of claim 10, MATSUO teaches a projector cart 760 [fig 23] configured to house a projector 710 [fig 23] [0249] including an enclosure, a light source housed in the enclosure 750 (housing) [fig 22] [0249], a light modulator 238 r, g, b [fig 9] [0159] housed in the enclosure 210 [fig 9] and configured to modulate light emitted from the light source 221 [fig 9], and a projection lens unit 240 a, b [fig 9] [0148] configured to emit the light modulated by the light modulator to an outside of the enclosure 280 (screen) [fig 9], the projector cart 760 [fig 23] comprising: in a posture of using the projector 710 [fig 22], a housing 750 [fig 22] which is configured to house the projector 710 [fig 22] and is configured to emit the light emitted from the projection lens unit 740 a, b [fig 22] to an outside of the projector cart (projecting partial images RPa, RPb [fig 22]), a base 610 (pedestal) [fig 22] [0250] placed below the housing 750 [fig 22], and wheels 650 [fig 22] placed below the base 610 [fig 22].
MATSUO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
MATSUO does not teach the base includes a rotor on which the housing is rotatably mounted.
Kaytes teaches an aerial advertising display apparatus [fig 3] having a rotor 120 (turntable) [fig 3] [0054] on which the housing 114 (chassis) [fig 3] is rotatably mounted (the support base 102 also may include a counterweighted turntable 120 mounted for rotation on the chassis 114 about a vertical axis) [0054].
As of claim 18, MATSUO teaches the projector cart 760 [fig 24] includes a fixation part 618 (screws) [fig 24] [0253] configured to fix a position of the housing 750 [fig 24] with respect to the base 610 [fig 24].
Claims 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) in view of Kaytes (US 2019/0144246 A1) and further in view of Meglan et al. (US 2021/0046637 A1; Meglan).
MATSUO teaches in a posture of using the projector 710 [fig 22], the projector cart 760 [fig 23] includes a gripper 630 [fig 23] provided to the housing 750 [fig 22], the gripper 630 [fig 23] is located above the housing in a vertical direction [fig 23].
MATSUO does not teach the projector cart is provided to the gripper.
Meglan teaches a surgical robotic system 1000 [fig 1] having the first operator 34 [fig 1] [0036] is provided to the gripper 38 a, b [fig 1] [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first operator is provided to the gripper as taught by Meglan to the projection system as disclosed by MATSUO in view of Kaytes to have one or more modular arm carts, radio-based location of each of which in a 3D space is based on a signal communicated by the transmitter and determining a spatial pose of the mobile carts based on the received signal (Meglan; [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if earlier 112(b) rejections are successfully overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 2, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 3 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 2.
As of claim 4, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 5 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 4.
As of claim 6, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the posture of using the projector, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 7 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 6.
As of claim 11, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the use posture, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, and a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 12 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 11.
As of claim 13, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the use posture, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 14 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 13.
As of claim 15, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, in the use posture, when defining a vertical direction as a Z axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis as a Y axis, a direction orthogonal to the Z axis and the Y axis as an X axis, and the X axis as a direction in which the projection lens unit emits the light, the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Y plane parallel to the X axis and the Y axis with the Z-axis direction as an axis, and the housing is placed so as to be rotatable with respect to the base along an X-Z plane parallel to the X axis and the Z axis with the Y-axis direction as an axis.
Claim 16 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Dundee et al. (US 20150083675 A1) teaches a modular projector cage for operably supporting an optical projector and for forming a stacked frame using another identical modular projector cage is disclosed. The modular projector cage has a rectangular hexahedral open frame. A mounting plate is connected to a bottom section of the frame by first and second articulated elevation assemblies connected to respective sides of the mounting plate adjacent the mounting plate front end, and by a yaw assembly rotatably connected to the mounting plate adjacent the back end. The first and second articulated elevation assemblies are independently adjustable to adjust the elevation at each side of the plate so that the pitch and roll of the mounting plate can be adjusted. The yaw assembly adjusts the amount of yaw, which causes articulated movement of the first and second articulated elevation assemblies;
- Prior Art WATANABE (US 20120236265 A1) teaches a projector which modulates a luminous flux emitted from a light source in accordance with image information and projects the modulated light by a projection lens. The projector includes an exterior housing that houses the projection lens and has a projection opening through which the light exiting from the projection lens passes and a lens cover that opens and closes the projection opening, the lens cover has a first cover and a second cover, and the first cover and the second cover are configured so that they open and close the projection opening by being slid and are stacked and housed in an open state in which the projection opening is opened.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882