DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 30 January 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “A step-up reconfigurable multimode LLC converter module with extended high-efficiency range for wide voltage gain application in medium voltage DC grid systems” by Abbasi et al. (hereinafter “Abbasi”)1.
In re claims 1 and 20, Abbasi discloses a direct current power converter (Figs. 2, 16), wherein the direct current power converter comprises
a controller (Fig. 16),
a first power conversion module (Fig. 2: Module (1)):, and
a second power conversion module (Module (n));
a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the first power conversion module are respectively coupled to a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the second power conversion module (i.e., Modules (1) and (n) inputs are coupled in parallel as shown);
the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the first power conversion module are respectively a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the direct current power converter (i.e., the inputs of Module (1) are coupled to the input voltage source Vi of the direct current power converter);
a third direct current terminal of the first power conversion module is a third direct current terminal of the direct current power converter (i.e., positive output terminal of Module (1) is the positive output terminal of VoT);
a fourth direct current terminal of the first power conversion module is coupled to a third direct current terminal of the second power conversion module (i.e., negative output terminal of Module (1) is coupled to positive output terminal of Module (n));
a fourth direct current terminal of the second power conversion module is a fourth direct current terminal of the direct current power converter (i.e., negative output terminal of Module (n) is the negative output terminal of VoT); and
the first power conversion module comprises at least one first full-bridge circuit (see example module circuits in Fig. 2: full-bridge S1-S4),
wherein coupling is a direct or indirect electrical connection; and
the controller is configured to control, based on a first total voltage between the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the direct current power converter and/or a second total voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the direct current power converter, the first full-bridge circuit to work in a full-bridge mode or a half-bridge mode (see Fig. 4: full-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(a)-(b); half-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(c); see also Fig. 17 and p. 8127, second column: “The mode of operation in the control system is selected according to the input voltage, the reference output, and the output voltage”).
In re claim 2, Abbasi discloses wherein the first power conversion module (Fig. 2: Module (1)) comprises a first DC-AC conversion unit (see example Module circuitry in Fig. 2: S1-S4), a first AC-DC conversion unit (Dr1-Dr4, Cr1-Cr2), and a first transformer unit (transformer 1:m);
a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the first DC-AC conversion unit are respectively the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the first power conversion module (i.e., positive and negative input terminals of the full-bridge S1-S4 are the positive and negative input terminals of Module (1));
a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the first DC-AC conversion unit are respectively coupled to a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the first AC-DC conversion unit by using the first transformer unit (i.e., AC output terminals of full-bridge S1-S4 drive the transformer primary and the transformer secondary is connected to AC input terminals of rectifier Dr1-Dr4, Cr1-Cr2); and
a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the first AC-DC conversion unit are respectively the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the first power conversion module (i.e., output DC terminals of the rectifier Dr1-Dr4, Cr1-Cr2 are the DC output terminals of Module (1)).
In re claim 3, Abbasi discloses wherein the second power conversion module (Fig. 2: Module (n)) comprises a second DC-AC conversion unit (S1-S4; it is noted Fig. 2 shows only one example module circuitry which represents the circuits of both Module (1) and Module (n)), a second AC-DC conversion unit (Cr1-Cr2, Dr1-Dr2), a second transformer unit (transformer 1:m), and a direct current regulation unit (Sx, Dr3-Dr4, Cr3-Cr4);
a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the second DC-AC conversion unit are respectively the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the second power conversion module (i.e., positive and negative input terminals of the full-bridge S1-S4 are the positive and negative input terminals of Module (n));
a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the second DC-AC conversion unit are respectively coupled to a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit by using the second transformer unit (i.e., AC output terminals of full-bridge S1-S4 drive the transformer primary and the transformer secondary is connected to AC input terminals of rectifier Dr1-Dr2, Cr1-Cr2);
a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit are respectively coupled to a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit (i.e., DC output terminals of Dr1, Dr2 are connected to DC input terminals of Dr3, Dr4); and
a third direct current terminal and a fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit are respectively the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the second power conversion module (i.e., output DC terminals of Dr3, Dr4 and Cr3, Cr4 are the DC output terminals of Module (n)).
In re claim 11, Abbasi discloses wherein the second DC-AC conversion unit and/or the second AC-DC conversion unit comprise/comprises a second full-bridge circuit (Fig. 2: S1-S4 of Module (n)), and the controller is configured to control, based on a first partial voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit and/or the first total voltage, the second full-bridge circuit to work in the full-bridge mode or the half-bridge mode (see Fig. 4: full-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(a)-(b); half-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(c); see also Fig. 17 and p. 8127, second column: “The mode of operation in the control system is selected according to the input voltage, the reference output, and the output voltage”).
In re claim 6, Abbasi discloses wherein the first DC-AC conversion unit and/or the first AC-DC conversion unit comprise/comprises a second full-bridge circuit (Fig. 2: S1-S4 of Module (1)), and the controller is configured to control, based on the first total voltage and/or the second total voltage, the first full-bridge circuit to work in the full-bridge mode or the half-bridge mode (see Fig. 4: full-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(a)-(b); half-bridge mode shown in Fig. 4(c); see also Fig. 17 and p. 8127, second column: “The mode of operation in the control system is selected according to the input voltage, the reference output, and the output voltage”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-10 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 2 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the second power conversion module comprises the first DC-AC conversion unit, a second AC-DC conversion unit, a second transformer unit, and a direct current regulation unit; the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the first DC-AC conversion unit are respectively the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the second power conversion module; the first alternating current terminal and the second alternating current terminal of the first DC-AC conversion unit are respectively coupled to a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit by using the second transformer unit; a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit are respectively coupled to a first direct current terminal and a second direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit; and a third direct current terminal and a fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit are respectively the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the second power conversion module.
That is, in Abbasi, the second power conversion module (Fig. 2: Module (n)) comprises a separate, second DC-AC conversion module, Abbasi does not contemplate the first and second power conversion modules sharing the first DC-AC power converter. Moreover, it is not seen that the additional prior art on record can provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to result in the claimed features, because to do so would alter the operating principles in Abbasi, which provides separate control for the first and second DC-AC conversion modules within the first and second power conversion modules.
Claims 15 and 19 both depend from claim 4 and thus would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 5, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 1 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the second power conversion module comprises the first DC-AC conversion unit, nor a first secondary winding of the transformer unit is coupled to a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the first AC-DC conversion unit, and a second secondary winding of the transformer unit is coupled to a first alternating current terminal and a second alternating current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit.
That is, in Abbasi, the second power conversion module (Fig. 2: Module (n)) comprises a separate, second DC-AC conversion module, Abbasi does not contemplate the first and second power conversion modules sharing the first DC-AC power converter, nor a single transformer unit having first and second secondary windings. Moreover, it is not seen that the additional prior art on record can provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to result in the claimed features, because to do so would alter the operating principles in Abbasi, which provides separate control for the first and second DC-AC conversion modules within the first and second power conversion modules.
With respect to claim 7, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 6 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: when the first full-bridge circuit works in the full-bridge mode and a ratio of the second total voltage to the first total voltage is lower than a first threshold, or the second total voltage is lower than a second threshold, or the first total voltage is greater than a third threshold, control the first full-bridge circuit to work in the half-bridge mode; or the controller is further configured to: when the first full-bridge circuit works in the half-bridge mode and a ratio of the second total voltage to the first total voltage is greater than a fourth threshold, or the second total voltage is greater than a fifth threshold, or the first total voltage is lower than a sixth threshold, control the first full-bridge circuit to work in the full-bridge mode, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than or equal to the first threshold, the fifth threshold is greater than or equal to the second threshold, and the sixth threshold is lower than or equal to the third threshold.
That is, Abbasi does not contemplate controlling the full-bridge circuit between full-bridge and half-bridge modes based on ratio of total or partial voltages in the manner claimed. Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and thus would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 9, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 6 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: when the first full-bridge circuit works in the half-bridge mode and a ratio of the second total voltage to the first total voltage is lower than a first threshold, or the second total voltage is lower than a second threshold, or the first total voltage is greater than a third threshold, control the first full-bridge circuit to work in the full-bridge mode; or the controller is further configured to: when the first full-bridge circuit works in the full-bridge mode and a ratio of the second total voltage to the first total voltage is greater than a fourth threshold, or the second total voltage is greater than a fifth threshold, or the first total voltage is lower than a sixth threshold, control the first full-bridge circuit to work in the half-bridge mode, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than or equal to the first threshold, the fifth threshold is greater than or equal to the second threshold, and the sixth threshold is lower than or equal to the third threshold.
That is, Abbasi does not contemplate controlling the full-bridge circuit between full-bridge and half-bridge modes based on ratio of total or partial voltages in the manner claimed. Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and thus would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 12, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 11 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: when the second full-bridge circuit works in the full- bridge mode, and a ratio of the first partial voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit to the first total voltage is lower than a first threshold, or the first partial voltage is lower than a second threshold, or the first total voltage is greater than a third threshold, control the second full-bridge circuit to work in the half- bridge mode; or the controller is further configured to: when the second full-bridge circuit works in the half- bridge mode and a ratio of the first partial voltage to the first total voltage is greater than a fourth threshold, or the first partial voltage is greater than a fifth threshold, or the first total voltage is lower than a sixth threshold, control the second full-bridge circuit to work in the full-bridge mode, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than or equal to the first threshold, the fifth threshold is greater than or equal to the second threshold, and the sixth threshold is lower than or equal to the third threshold.
That is, Abbasi does not contemplate controlling the full-bridge circuit between full-bridge and half-bridge modes based on ratio of total or partial voltages in the manner claimed. Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
Claim 13 depends from claim 12 and thus would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 11 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: when the second fill-bridge circuit works in the half- bridge mode, and a ratio of the first partial voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit to the first total voltage is lower than a first threshold, or the first partial voltage is lower than a second threshold, or the first total voltage is greater than a third threshold, control the second full-bridge circuit to work in the full- bridge mode; or the controller is further configured to: when the second full-bridge circuit works in the full- bridge mode and a ratio of the first partial voltage to the first total voltage is greater than a fourth threshold, or the first partial voltage is greater than a fifth threshold, or the first total voltage is lower than a sixth threshold, control the second full-bridge circuit to work in the half-bridge mode, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than or equal to the first threshold, the fifth threshold is greater than or equal to the second threshold, and the sixth threshold is lower than or equal to the third threshold.
That is, Abbasi does not contemplate controlling the full-bridge circuit between full-bridge and half-bridge modes based on ratio of total or partial voltages in the manner claimed. Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
With respect to claim 16, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 11 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control, based on a first reference voltage, a second partial voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the first power conversion module, and a third partial voltage between the first direct current terminal and the second direct current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit, the direct current regulation unit to adjust a first partial voltage between the third direct current terminal and the fourth direct current terminal of the direct current regulation unit, so that a sum of the first partial voltage and the second partial voltage is the first reference voltage.
Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 and thus would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 18, the closest prior art is Abbasi, disclosing the invention according to claim 11 as explained above. However, Abbasi does not further disclose wherein the first AC-DC conversion unit comprises two switching bridge arms connected in parallel, and connection terminals of switching transistors of the switching bridge arms are separately used as the first alternating current terminal and the second alternating current terminal of the first AC-DC conversion unit to connect to the first transformer unit; and the second AC-DC conversion unit comprises two switching bridge arms connected in parallel, and connection terminals of switching transistors of the switching bridge arms are separately used as the first alternating current terminal and the second alternating current terminal of the second AC-DC conversion unit to connect to the second transformer unit.
Moreover, the additional prior art on record does not provide an obvious suggestion to modify Abbasi so as to produce the claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent 10,224,827 discloses a Power Converter With Wide DC Voltage Range including a controller that is configured to operate the interleaved multi-bridge circuit in a parallel mode in which the second sides of the first and second transformers are in parallel at a DC terminal of the interleaved multi-bridge circuit and in a series mode in which the second sides of the first and second transformers are in series at the DC terminal.
US 2023/0378879 discloses SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR CONFIGURABLE PRIMARY AND SECONDARY DC-DC CONVERTER AND BATTERY CHARGER operable to configure the first bridge rectifier and the second bridge rectifier into each of a single rectifier configuration, a parallel rectifier configuration, and a series rectifier configuration.
US 2024/0213885 discloses an AC-DC CONVERSION DEVICE AND VOLTAGE CONVERTER CIRCUIT including a partial power DC-DC converter configured to regulate the second DC voltage based on a required voltage across the output of the AC-DC conversion device.
/FRED E FINCH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838
1 Cited by Applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 14 August 2025