DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 2, 4, 6 – 7, 9 – 13, 15 – 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12243219 (PG Pub. US 20230066765).
Regarding Claim 1, US 12243219 teaches:
A system comprising: a passenger boarding bridge including: a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft; and an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed position and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft; one or more cameras positioned to obtain image data regarding engagement of the passenger boarding bridge with the aircraft; and one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: process the image data to determine (a) whether the door is open or closed and (b) whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position; and provide an alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Claim 1, A system comprising: a passenger boarding bridge including: a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft; and an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed positioned and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft; a camera positioned to obtain image data of the free end of the passenger boarding bridge including the bridge cowling, the bridge opening, the autolevel wheel, and portions of the aircraft visible through the bridge opening; and one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: process the image data using the machine learning model to determine (a) whether the bridge cowling is in engagement with the aircraft and surrounding the door, (b) whether the door is open or closed, and (c) whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position; and provide an alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door being opened, and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position”).
Regarding Claim 2, US 12243219 teaches, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Claim 3, “wherein the camera is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge”).
Regarding Claim 4, US 12243219 teaches, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to process the image data using a machine learning model (Claim 1, “process the image data using the machine learning model”).
Regarding Claim 6, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising an edge computing device including at least one of the one or more processing circuits (Claim 2, “further comprising an edge computing device, wherein the edge computing device includes at least one of the one or more processing circuits”).
Regarding Claim 7, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising a loudspeaker configured to facilitate providing the alert (Claim 4, “further comprising a loudspeaker, wherein providing the alert includes activating the loudspeaker”).
Regarding Claim 9, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Claim 5, “further comprising a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter, wherein providing the alert includes transmitting a signal via the ACARS transmitter”).
Regarding Claim 10, US 12243219 teaches, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the door being closed (Claim 6, “wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door being closed”).
Regarding Claim 11, US 12243219 teaches, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the deployed position (Claim 7, “wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door being open or opened, and the autolevel wheel being in the deployed position”).
Regarding Claim 12, US 12243219 teaches:
A system comprising: a passenger boarding bridge including: a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft; and an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed position and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft; one or more cameras; and one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: acquire image data from the one or more cameras; process the image data to determine whether the door is open or closed; determine whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position; and provide an alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Claim 8, A system comprising: a passenger boarding bridge including: a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft; and an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed positioned and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft; a camera positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge to obtain image data of the free end of the passenger boarding bridge including the bridge cowling, the bridge opening, the autolevel wheel, and portions of the aircraft visible through the bridge opening; and one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: acquire image data from the camera; process the image data using a machine learning model to determine (a) whether the bridge cowling is in engagement with the aircraft and surrounding the door, (b) whether the door is open or closed, and (c) whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position; and provide an alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door being opened, and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position”).
Regarding Claim 13, US 12243219 teaches, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Claim 3, “wherein the camera is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge”).
Regarding Claim 15, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising at least one of a loudspeaker, a display, or an Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Claim 11, “further comprising a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter, wherein providing the alert includes transmitting a signal via the ACARS transmitter”).
Regarding Claim 16, US 12243219 teaches:
A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: acquire image data from one or more cameras; process the image data to determine whether a passenger boarding bridge is docked to an aircraft; determine whether an autolevel wheel of the passenger boarding bridge is in a stowed position or a deployed position where the autolevel wheel engages an exterior surface of the aircraft; and provide an alert in response to the passenger boarding bridge being docked to the aircraft and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Claim 14, “A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: acquire the image data from the camera; process the image data using a machine learning model to determine (a) whether the bridge cowling is in engagement with the aircraft and surrounding the door of the aircraft, (b) whether the door is open or closed, and (c) whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position; and provide an alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door of the aircraft being opened, and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position”).
Regarding Claim 17, US 12243219 teaches, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to process the image data to determine whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position (Claim 16, “wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the bridge cowling being in engagement with the aircraft, the door being open or opened, and the autolevel wheel being in the deployed position”).
Regarding Claim 18, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising the one or more cameras, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is configured to be positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Claim 3, “wherein the camera is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge”).
Regarding Claim 20, US 12243219 teaches, further comprising at least one of a loudspeaker, a display, or an Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Claim17, “wherein providing the alert includes activating a loudspeaker”; Claim 18, “wherein providing the alert includes transmitting a signal via a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter”).
Claims 3, 5, 8, 14 and 19 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12243219 (PG Pub. US 20230066765) in view of Akegami et al. (US 20240101275 A1; hereafter referred to as Akegami).
Regarding Claim 3, US 12243219 is silent to teaching: wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge.
In the same field of endeavor, Akegami teaches:
wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12243219 with the teachings of Akegami to position the cameras outside or separate from the passenger bridge; doing so can capture images of the door of the aircraft from different positions wherein the captured images provides positional relationships to determine abnormalities and yield high docking precision (Akegami, [0007] [0041], [0075]); thus one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 5, US 12243219 is silent to teaching: further comprising a server including at least one of the one or more processing circuits.
In the same field of endeavor, Akegami teaches:
further comprising a server including at least one of the one or more processing circuits (Akegawi, [0051] “the controller 50 includes an arithmetic processing unit such as a CPU and a storage unit including a ROM, RAM, etc. A control program for operating the passenger boarding bridge 1 and information necessary for the operations of the passenger boarding bridge 1 are prestored in the storage unit. By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge 1… The controller 50 may be configured as a single control device performing centralized control, or may be configured as a plurality of control devices performing distributed control in cooperation with each other via the Internet and LAN”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12243219 with the teachings of Akegami to use a server including at least one of the one or more processing circuits; doing so the controller can be configured as a single control device performing centralized control or may be configured as a plurality of control devices performing distributed control in cooperation with each other via the Internet and LAN (Akegami, [0051]); thus one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 8, US 12243219 is silent to teaching: further comprising a display configured to facilitate providing the alert.
In the same field endeavor, Akegami teaches:
further comprising a display configured to facilitate providing the alert (Akegami, [0075] “The notifier may be the display device 34”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12243219 with the teachings of Akegami to display the alert; doing so can provide the visual notification regarding the alert (Akegami, [0075]); thus one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 14, US 12243219 is silent to teaching: wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge.
In the same field of endeavor, Akegami teaches:
wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12243219 with the teachings of Akegami to position the cameras outside or separate from the passenger bridge; doing so can capture images of the door of the aircraft from different positions wherein the captured images provides positional relationships to determine abnormalities and yield high docking precision (Akegami, [0007] [0041], [0075]); thus one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 19, US 12243219 is silent to teaching: further comprising the one or more cameras, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is configured to be positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge.
In the same field of endeavor, Akegami teaches:
further comprising the one or more cameras, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is configured to be positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US 12243219 with the teachings of Akegami to position the cameras outside or separate from the passenger bridge; doing so can capture images of the door of the aircraft from different positions wherein the captured images provides positional relationships to determine abnormalities and yield high docking precision (Akegami, [0007] [0041], [0075]); thus one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(g)(1) during the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
A rejection on this statutory basis (35 U.S.C. 102(g) as in force on March 15, 2013) is appropriate in an application or patent that is examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA if it also contains or contained at any time (1) a claim to an invention having an effective filing date as defined in 35 U.S.C. 100(i) that is before March 16, 2013 or (2) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time such a claim.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akegami et al. (US 20240101275 A1; hereafter referred to as Akegami).
Regarding Claim 1, Akegami teaches:
A system comprising:
a passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0009] “An object of the present invention is to provide a passenger boarding bridge”) including:
a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft (Akegami, [0015] The passenger boarding bridge may further include: a bellows-shaped closure that is provided at a distal end of the cab and that is extendable and contractible in a front-back direction; …The passenger boarding bridge may be configured to: perform automatic control of operations of the closure and the level detector, following the automatic control of the operation of the mover; and terminate the automatic control of the operations of the closure and the level detector in a case where the door opening determiner has determined that the door of the entrance cannot be opened smoothly”; Fig. 3 and 4, Akegami, [0040] As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, a bumper 62 is provided at the distal end of a floor 61 of the cab 6 to be docked with an aircraft 3. A plurality of (in this example, two) distance sensors 23 (e.g., laser distance meters), which serve as a measurer to measure the distance between the cab 6 and the aircraft 3, are mounted to the bumper 62, such that the distance sensors 23 are arranged in the left-right direction of the bumper 62”); and
an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed position and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft (Akegami, [0015] The passenger boarding bridge may further include: a bellows-shaped closure that is provided at a distal end of the cab and that is extendable and contractible in a front-back direction; and a level detector that is mounted to the cab and that comes into contact with the aircraft and detects an upward/downward movement of the aircraft with respect to the cab. The passenger boarding bridge may be configured to: perform automatic control of operations of the closure and the level detector, following the automatic control of the operation of the mover”; Akegami, [0044] A level detector 64 is mounted on, for example, an outer side wall of the cab 6. The level detector 64 is a device configured to detect the amount of relative upward/downward movement of the aircraft 3 with respect to the cab 6 when the aircraft 3 moves upward/downward due to, for example boarding/disembarking of passengers or loading/unloading of cargo after the cab 6 is docked with the aircraft 3”);
one or more cameras positioned to obtain image data regarding engagement of the passenger boarding bridge with the aircraft (Akegami, [0041] Further, as shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6”); and
one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (Akegami, [0051] “the controller 50 includes an arithmetic processing unit such as a CPU and a storage unit including a ROM, RAM, etc. A control program for operating the passenger boarding bridge 1 and information necessary for the operations of the passenger boarding bridge 1 are prestored in the storage unit”), cause the one or more processors to:
process the image data to determine (a) whether the door is open or closed and (b) whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position (Akegami, [0044] A level detector 64 is mounted on, for example, an outer side wall of the cab 6. The level detector 64 is a device configured to detect the amount of relative upward/downward movement of the aircraft 3 with respect to the cab 6 when the aircraft 3 moves upward/downward due to, for example boarding/disembarking of passengers or loading/unloading of cargo after the cab 6 is docked with the aircraft 3”; Akegami, [0051] “By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge 1 (the operations of, for example, the travel device 10, the lifting/lowering device 8, and the cab rotator 6R), and also functions as, for example, an image determiner 51, a pre-moving door width calculator 52, a pre-docking door width calculator 53, a door width determiner 54, and a door opening determiner 55”; Akegami, [0062] “the controller 50 obtains captured image data of the images captured by the two cameras 21 and 22, and based on the captured image data, performs image processing to detect a reference point 3P on the door 3a, and based on a predetermined arithmetic formula, calculates position coordinates of the reference point 3P on the door 3a of the aircraft 3”;); and
provide an alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Akegami, [0091] “the controller 50 may determine whether or not the cab 6 has been properly docked (i.e., determine whether or not the door 3a can be opened smoothly), and then may cause the notifier, such as the display device 34, to notify the operator of a result of the determination”).
Regarding Claim 2, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] Further, as shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6…The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary”).
Regarding Claim 3, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Regarding Claim 5, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising a server including at least one of the one or more processing circuits (Akegawi, [0051] “the controller 50 includes an arithmetic processing unit such as a CPU and a storage unit including a ROM, RAM, etc. A control program for operating the passenger boarding bridge 1 and information necessary for the operations of the passenger boarding bridge 1 are prestored in the storage unit. By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge 1… The controller 50 may be configured as a single control device performing centralized control, or may be configured as a plurality of control devices performing distributed control in cooperation with each other via the Internet and LAN”).
Regarding Claim 6, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising an edge computing device including at least one of the one or more processing circuits (Akegami, Fig. 5, [0051] The controller 50 may be configured as a single control device performing centralized control, or may be configured as a plurality of control devices performing distributed (edge devices) control in cooperation with each other via the Internet and LAN. For example, the cab 6 or the frontmost tunnel 5b is provided with the controller 50”).
Regarding Claim 7, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising a loudspeaker configured to facilitate providing the alert (Akegami, [0075] “The sound out putter may notify the abnormality by outputting, for example, buzzer sounds and/or other sounds”).
Regarding Claim 8, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, further comprising a display configured to facilitate providing the alert (Akegami, [0075] “The notifier may be the display device 34”).
Regarding Claim 10, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the door being closed (Akegami, [0079] “the controller 50 calculates a discrepancy between the width of the door 3a calculated in step S12 and the width of the door 3a calculated in step S14, and determines whether or not the discrepancy is within a predetermined allowable range. In a case where the discrepancy is determined to be out of the allowable range, the controller 50 terminates the automatic control, and causes the notifier to notify that there is a system abnormality”).
Regarding Claim 11, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to refrain from providing the alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the deployed position (Akegami, [0086] “step S19, the controller 50 determines whether or not the groove 3g has been detected by the laser displacement sensor 20. If the groove 3g has not been detected yet, the controller 50 determines that the door 3a cannot be opened smoothly for the reason that the cab 6 is not properly docked with the entrance 3A, terminates the automatic control, and causes the notifier to notify that there is an abnormality in docking (step S22)”; [0096]).
Regarding Claim 12, Akegami teaches:
A system comprising:
a passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0009] “An object of the present invention is to provide a passenger boarding bridge”) including:
a bridge cowling positioned at a free end of the passenger boarding bridge, the bridge cowling defining a bridge opening, the bridge cowling configured to engage an exterior surface of an aircraft and surround a door of the aircraft (Akegami, [0015] The passenger boarding bridge may further include: a bellows-shaped closure that is provided at a distal end of the cab and that is extendable and contractible in a front-back direction; …The passenger boarding bridge may be configured to: perform automatic control of operations of the closure and the level detector, following the automatic control of the operation of the mover; and terminate the automatic control of the operations of the closure and the level detector in a case where the door opening determiner has determined that the door of the entrance cannot be opened smoothly”; Fig. 3 and 4, Akegami, [0040] As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, a bumper 62 is provided at the distal end of a floor 61 of the cab 6 to be docked with an aircraft 3. A plurality of (in this example, two) distance sensors 23 (e.g., laser distance meters), which serve as a measurer to measure the distance between the cab 6 and the aircraft 3, are mounted to the bumper 62, such that the distance sensors 23 are arranged in the left-right direction of the bumper 62”); and
an autolevel wheel repositionable between a stowed position and a deployed position where the autolevel wheel extends through the bridge opening to engage the exterior surface of the aircraft (Akegami, [0015] The passenger boarding bridge may further include: a bellows-shaped closure that is provided at a distal end of the cab and that is extendable and contractible in a front-back direction; and a level detector that is mounted to the cab and that comes into contact with the aircraft and detects an upward/downward movement of the aircraft with respect to the cab. The passenger boarding bridge may be configured to: perform automatic control of operations of the closure and the level detector, following the automatic control of the operation of the mover”; Akegami, [0044] A level detector 64 is mounted on, for example, an outer side wall of the cab 6. The level detector 64 is a device configured to detect the amount of relative upward/downward movement of the aircraft 3 with respect to the cab 6 when the aircraft 3 moves upward/downward due to, for example boarding/disembarking of passengers or loading/unloading of cargo after the cab 6 is docked with the aircraft 3”);
one or more cameras (Akegami, [0041] Further, as shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6”); and
one or more processing circuits including one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (Akegami, [0051] “he controller 50 includes an arithmetic processing unit such as a CPU and a storage unit including a ROM, RAM, etc. A control program for operating the passenger boarding bridge 1 and information necessary for the operations of the passenger boarding bridge 1 are prestored in the storage unit”), cause the one or more processors to:
acquire image data from the one or more cameras (Akegami, [0041] “As shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6. Each of the first and second cameras 21 and 22 is preferably a camera whose image-capturing direction is adjustable (changeable)”);
process the image data to determine whether the door is open or closed (Akegami, [0051] “By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge 1 (the operations of, for example, the travel device 10, the lifting/lowering device 8, and the cab rotator 6R), and also functions as, for example, an image determiner 51, a pre-moving door width calculator 52, a pre-docking door width calculator 53, a door width determiner 54, and a door opening determiner 55”; Akegami, [0062] “the controller 50 obtains captured image data of the images captured by the two cameras 21 and 22, and based on the captured image data, performs image processing to detect a reference point 3P on the door 3a, and based on a predetermined arithmetic formula, calculates position coordinates of the reference point 3P on the door 3a of the aircraft 3”; Akegami, [0086] “the controller 50 determines whether or not the door 3a can be opened smoothly (a function of the door opening determiner 55)”);
determine whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position (Akegami, [0044] A level detector 64 is mounted on, for example, an outer side wall of the cab 6. The level detector 64 is a device configured to detect the amount of relative upward/downward movement of the aircraft 3 with respect to the cab 6 when the aircraft 3 moves upward/downward due to, for example boarding/disembarking of passengers or loading/unloading of cargo after the cab 6 is docked with the aircraft 3”); and
provide an alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Akegami, [0091] “the controller 50 may determine whether or not the cab 6 has been properly docked (i.e., determine whether or not the door 3a can be opened smoothly), and then may cause the notifier, such as the display device 34, to notify the operator of a result of the determination”).
Regarding Claim 13, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 12, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] Further, as shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6…The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary”).
Regarding Claim 14, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 12, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Regarding Claim 15, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 12, further comprising at least one of a loudspeaker, a display, or an Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Akegami, [0075] “The notifier may be the display device 34, which notifies the abnormality by displaying characters or the like, or may be a sound out putter (not shown) provided on the control panel 31. The sound out putter may notify the abnormality by outputting, for example, buzzer sounds and/or other sounds”; NOTE, since the claim recites “at least one of”, the Examiner is mapping for loudspeaker and display for providing alert as notification).
Regarding Claim 16, Akegami teaches:
A system comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when executed by one or more processors (Akegami, [0051] “controller 50 includes an arithmetic processing unit such as a CPU and a storage unit including a ROM, RAM, etc…. By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge”), cause the one or more processors to:
acquire image data from the one or more cameras (Akegami, [0041] “As shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6. Each of the first and second cameras 21 and 22 is preferably a camera whose image-capturing direction is adjustable (changeable)”);
process the image data to determine whether a passenger boarding bridge is docked to an aircraft (Akegami, [0051] “By executing the control program by the arithmetic processing unit, the controller 50, for example, controls the operations of the components of the passenger boarding bridge 1 (the operations of, for example, the travel device 10, the lifting/lowering device 8, and the cab rotator 6R), and also functions as, for example, an image determiner 51, a pre-moving door width calculator 52, a pre-docking door width calculator 53, a door width determiner 54, and a door opening determiner 55”; Akegami, [0061] “the controller 50 causes the first and second cameras 21 and 22 to capture images of the entrance 3A (the door 3a) of the aircraft 3, respectively”; Akegami, [0062] “[0062] Subsequently, the controller 50 obtains captured image data of the images captured by the two cameras 21 and 22, and based on the captured image data, performs image processing to detect a reference point 3P on the door 3a, and based on a predetermined arithmetic formula, calculates position coordinates of the reference point 3P on the door 3a of the aircraft 3”; [0066] “the controller 50 performs a calculation process of calculating a control variable for moving the cab 6 at the temporary stop position to the docking position (step S4)”);
determine whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position or a deployed position where the autolevel wheel engages an exterior surface of the aircraft (Akegami, [0044] A level detector 64 is mounted on, for example, an outer side wall of the cab 6. The level detector 64 is a device configured to detect the amount of relative upward/downward movement of the aircraft 3 with respect to the cab 6 when the aircraft 3 moves upward/downward due to, for example boarding/disembarking of passengers or loading/unloading of cargo after the cab 6 is docked with the aircraft 3”); and
provide an alert in response to the door being open or opened and the autolevel wheel being in the stowed position (Akegami, [0091] “the controller 50 may determine whether or not the cab 6 has been properly docked (i.e., determine whether or not the door 3a can be opened smoothly), and then may cause the notifier, such as the display device 34, to notify the operator of a result of the determination”).
Regarding Claim 17, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to process the image data to determine whether the autolevel wheel is in the stowed position or the deployed position (Akegami, [0061] “the controller 50 causes the first and second cameras 21 and 22 to capture images of the entrance 3A (the door 3a) of the aircraft 3, respectively”; Akegami, [0062] “ Subsequently, the controller 50 obtains captured image data of the images captured by the two cameras 21 and 22, and based on the captured image data, performs image processing to detect a reference point 3P on the door 3a, and based on a predetermined arithmetic formula, calculates position coordinates of the reference point 3P on the door 3a of the aircraft 3”; Akegami, [0066] “the controller 50 performs a calculation process of calculating a control variable for moving the cab 6 at the temporary stop position to the docking position (step S4)”).
Regarding Claim 18, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 16, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is configured to be positioned inside of the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] Further, as shown in FIG. 4, first and second cameras 21 and 22 each for capturing an image of an entrance 3A (a door 3a) of the aircraft 3 are installed at respective positions that are recessed from the distal end part of the cab 6…The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary”).
Regarding Claim 19, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 17, wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is positioned outside of or separate from the passenger boarding bridge (Akegami, [0041] “The installation positions of these first and second cameras 21 and 22 may be changed as necessary, so long as the first and second cameras 21 and 22 are disposed away from each other and can each capture an image of the door 3a of the aircraft 3”).
Regarding Claim 20, Akegami teaches the system of Claim 16, further comprising at least one of a loudspeaker, a display, or an Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Akegami, [0075] “The notifier may be the display device 34, which notifies the abnormality by displaying characters or the like, or may be a sound out putter (not shown) provided on the control panel 31. The sound out putter may notify the abnormality by outputting, for example, buzzer sounds and/or other sounds”; NOTE, since the claim recites “at least one of”, the Examiner is mapping for loudspeaker and display for providing alert as notification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akegami et al. (US 20240101275 A1; hereafter referred to as Akegami) in view of Thompson et al. (US 20200106992 A1; hereafter referred to as Thompson).
Regarding Claim 4, Akegami teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly recite:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to process the image data using a machine learning model.
In the same field of endeavor, Thompson teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to process the image data using a machine learning model (Thompson, [0041] “Each camera system 104 also includes at least one controller 116 that is programmed with one or more logic modules (each of which may include one or more trained algorithms”; Thompson, [0051] “the controller executes an event recognition algorithm based at least in part upon the image data. In an embodiment, the event recognition module is programmed with one or more event recognition algorithms, which may receive the image data as an input and execute the event recognition module to determine whether one or more events is recognized”).
Akegami and Thompson are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the processing of image data of Akegami with the trained algorithm as taught by Thompson to make the invention that processes the image data using a machine learning model; doing so efficiently recognize events (such as equipment object being too close to, or far away from, another object, the equipment object in motion, the equipment object entering a predetermined area; the equipment object is unattended; and the presence or absence of an identified object, or other event) by capturing image data from at least one camera and executing one or more algorithms based upon the image data (Thompson, [0043]); thus, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Regarding Claim 9, Akegami teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly recite: further comprising a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert.
In the same field of endeavor, Thompson teaches:
further comprising a Communications Addressing and Reporting System (ACARS) transmitter configured to facilitate providing the alert (Thompson, [0064] “the controller 428 causes the event recognition system 400 to activate one or more alarms and/or communications, e.g., to alert the pilot of the approaching aircraft 452”; Thompson, [0082] “, circuitry includes one or more remotely located components. In an embodiment, remotely located components are operatively connected via wireless communication. In an embodiment, remotely located components are operatively connected via one or more receivers, transmitters, transceivers, or the like”).
Akegami and Thompson are considered analogous art as they are reasonably pertinent to the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the processing of image data of Akegami with the trained algorithm as taught by Thompson to make the invention that communicates the alert by a transmitter; doing so efficiently connect remotely located components and transmit alerts (Thompson, [0082]); thus, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200387162 A1 CONTROL DEVICE AND CONTROL METHOD, PROGRAM, AND MOBILE OBJECT: The present disclosure relates to a control device and a control method that can quickly estimate a self-location again even when the self-location is unknown, a program, and a mobile object.
US 20180354650 A1 AUTOMATIC PASSENGER BOARDING BRIDGE DOCKING SYSTEM The present invention provides an improved method and apparatus for automatically aligning and connecting a passenger boarding bridge (PBB) with the passenger door of an aircraft or other vessel. A sensory suite module includes cameras and sensors to scan the apron for obstacles and identify an aircraft based on external features. The sensory suite module also includes one or more high-precision active laser line profilers to detect the vertical and lower edges of an aircraft door. A controller module provides precise control and movement of the distal end of the PBB and guides the distal end of the PBB to the passenger door. The system can be activated by a remote triggering panel module.
US 20180074473 A1 AUTOMATED LOADING BRIDGE POSITIONING USING ENCODED DECALS A device may obtain, from one or more cameras, an image that depicts one or more encoded decals positioned on a body of a vehicle. The device may process the image and may identify, based on processing the image, one or more characteristics of the one or more encoded decals. The device may determine, based on the one or more characteristics of the one or more encoded decals, positioning information to be used to position a loading bridge relative to the body of the vehicle. The device may determine one or more control signals based on the positioning information. The device may provide the one or more control signals to one or more actuators to automatically position the loading bridge relative to the body of the vehicle.
Conclusion
VAISALI RAO. KOPPOLU
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/VAISALI RAO KOPPOLU/Examiner of Art Unit 2664