DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 1/30/2025 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, ‘aquired’ is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 1,245,526 in view of Yashiro JP-2004-235889A.
Instant Application 19/041,808
US 12,425,526
1. A non-transitory storage medium storing an application configured to support printing software, the printing software being configured to generate print data printable by a plurality of printing apparatuses provided by different vendors and to transmit the print data to at least one of the printing apparatuses, the application causing a computer to:
acquire drawing data and information about a print setting including information about a sheet size on which the drawing data is to be printed, the drawing data including image data;
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size indicates a predetermined sheet size, a first control of changing an orientation of the drawing data such that the drawing data is printed on a sheet in an orientation with a bottom side and a top side of the drawing data respectively corresponding to a downstream side and an upstream side of the sheet in a conveyance direction of conveying the sheet to a printing apparatus configured to perform print processing to print the drawing data based on the print data is performed, and
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the first control is not performed.
Apparatus Claim 13.
Method Claim 14.
1. A non-transitory storage medium storing an application configured to support a function of printing software, the printing software being configured to generate print data printable by a plurality of printing apparatuses provided by different vendors and to transmit the print data to the printing apparatuses, the application causing a computer to:
acquire drawing data and information about a print setting including information about a sheet on which the drawing data is to be printed, the drawing data including image data;
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet indicates a predetermined sheet, a first control of changing an orientation of the drawing data such that the drawing data is printed on the sheet in an orientation with a bottom side and a top side of the drawing data respectively corresponding to a downstream side and an upstream side of the sheet in a conveyance direction of conveying the sheet to a printing apparatus configured to perform print processing to print the drawing data based on the print data is performed, and
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet does not indicate the predetermined sheet, the first control is not performed,
wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed, wherein a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is a control of adding information about the sheet to print function information generated by the printing software, and wherein in a case where capabilities information about the printing apparatus that is acquired from the printing apparatus includes first information about the predetermined sheet, second information about the predetermined sheet based on a value obtained by switching a value of a length of a top margin area of the sheet with a value of a length of a bottom margin area of the sheet and switching a value of a length of a left margin area of the sheet with a value of a length of a right margin area of the sheet is newly added to the print function information.
Apparatus Claim 14.
Method Claim 15.
2. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed,
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed, and
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the second control is not performed.
2. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet indicates the predetermined sheet, the second control is performed, and
wherein in a case where the information about the sheet does not indicate the predetermined sheet, the second control is not performed.
3. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the second control switches the value of the top margin area of the margin area of the image data with the value of the bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data and switches a value of a left margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a right margin area of the margin area of the image data.
3. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the second control switches the value of the top margin area of the margin area of the image data with the value of the bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data and switches a value of a left margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a right margin area of the margin area of the image data.
4. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the first control is a control of rotating the drawing data by 180°.
4. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the first control is a control of rotating the drawing data.
5. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined sheet size indicates a size of a envelope.
5. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined sheet is a portrait envelope.
6. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size,
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, the first control is performed, and
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the first control is not performed.
6. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet indicates the predetermined sheet,
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet indicates the predetermined sheet, the first control is performed, and
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet does not indicate the predetermined sheet, the first control is not performed.
7. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size,
wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed,
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed, and
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the second control is not performed.
7. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet indicates the predetermined sheet,
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet indicates the predetermined sheet, the second control is performed, and
wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet does not indicate the predetermined sheet, the second control is not performed.
10. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application causing a computer to display a guide about a method for feeding the sheet to the printing apparatus.
12. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein a guide about a method for feeding the sheet to the printing apparatus is displayed.
12. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the application causing the computer to transmit the drawing data and the information about the print setting to the printing apparatus, and
wherein the printing apparatus performs print processing for the drawing data.
13. The non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1, the application causing the computer to transmit the drawing data and the information about the print setting to the printing apparatus,
wherein the printing apparatus performs print processing for the drawing data.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine US Patent No. 12,425,526 with Yashiro who teaches “sheet size” in claims 1-2 and 5-7, “wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed; a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed” in claim 2, “180°” in claim 4, and “a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed” in claim 7. Yashiro’s teaching of a desired paper size [par 0046, 0071], acquiring a predetermined number of continuous still images and layout information including a desired paper size and binding margin designation, where the binding margin is an area should not be covered/printed [par 0025, 0040, 0046, 0063, 0070-0074, 0110], layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees (i.e. switching orientation value of margin areas) where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0040, 0113-0118]; rotating 180 degrees [Fig 17, par 0117]; and when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees (i.e. switching orientation value of margin areas) where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction, the binding margin is an area should not be covered/printed and if the acquired layout information indicates a right-binding layout, performing printout without rotation [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0040, 0046, 0110, 0113-0118], which corresponds to instant application’s said limitations.
The above response is applied to instant independent information processing apparatus claim 13 and program claim 14 with US Patent No. 12,425,526 in view of Yashiro.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yashiro (JP-2004-235889A) in view of Saito (US-2020/0356314).
As to Claim 13, Yashiro teaches ‘An information processing apparatus including an application, the information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor operating to: acquire drawing data and information about a print setting including information about a sheet size on which the drawing data is to be printed, the drawing data including image data [par 0025, 0040, 0046, 0063, 0070-0074 – information processing apparatus including application software and printer driver for acquiring a predetermined number of continuous still images and layout information including a desired paper size and binding margin designation]; wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size indicates a predetermined sheet size, a first control of changing an orientation of the drawing data such that the drawing data is printed on a sheet in an orientation with a bottom side and a top side of the drawing data respectively corresponding to a downstream side and an upstream side of the sheet in a conveyance direction of conveying the sheet to a printing apparatus configured to perform print processing to print the drawing data based on the print data is performed [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0046, 0110, 0113-0118 – when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction, where the paper size is fixed at A4, but a desired paper size may be selected and detected so that the print layout is determined for the continuous still images and the margins are arranged in the transport direction for printing to be performed], and wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the first control is not performed [Fig 14, par 0046, 0110, 0113, 0116 – if the acquired layout information indicates a right-binding layout and based on the desired paper size selected/detected, performing printout without rotation]’.
Yashiro does not disclose expressly ‘support a printing software, the printing software being configured to generate print data printable by a plurality of printing apparatuses provided by different vendors and to transmit the print data to at least one of the printing apparatuses’.
Saito teaches ‘support a printing software, the printing software being configured to generate print data printable by a plurality of printing apparatuses provided by different vendors and to transmit the print data to at least one of the printing apparatuses [Fig 3, par 0025, 0037, 0044-0047 – printer extension application is provided from an application distribution system of a cloud server to operate on an OS and cooperates with the printer driver to cause a printer to perform print processing]’.
Yashiro and Saito are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a printer extension application provided by a cloud server, as taught by Saito. The motivation for doing so would have been to providing the information processing apparatus capable of displaying an appropriate print setting UI. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Saito with Yashiro to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Further, in regards to claim 14, the information processing apparatus of claim 13 performs the method of claim 14.
Further, in regards to claim 1, the method of claim 14 is fully embodied on the non-transitory storage medium of claim 1.
As to Claim 2, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed [par 0025, 0040, 0046, 0063, 0070-0074, 0110 – information processing apparatus including application software and printer driver for acquiring a predetermined number of continuous still images and layout information including a desired paper size and binding margin designation, where the binding margin is an area should not be covered/printed], wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0040, 0113-0118 – when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees (i.e. switching orientation value of margin areas) where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction], and wherein in a case where the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the second control is not performed [par 0116 – if the acquired layout information indicates a right-binding layout, performing printout without rotation]’.
As to Claim 3, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the second control switches the value of the top margin area of the margin area of the image data with the value of the bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data and switches a value of a left margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a right margin area of the margin area of the image data [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0040, 0113-0118 – when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees (i.e. switching orientation value of all margin side areas) where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction]’.
As to Claim 4, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the first control is a control of rotating the drawing data by 180° [Fig 17, par 0115-0117 – if layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees where a margin is always located at the rear end of the sheet]’.
As to Claim 6, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, the first control is performed, and wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the first control is not performed [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0046, 0110, 0113-0118 – when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction, the binding margin is an area should not be covered/printed and if the acquired layout information indicates a right-binding layout, performing printout without rotation]’.
As to Claim 7, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the application causing the computer to perform a first determination of determining whether the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed, wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size indicates the predetermined sheet size, a second control of switching a value of a top margin area of the margin area of the image data with a value of a bottom margin area of the margin area of the image data is performed, and wherein in a case where the first determination determines that the information about the sheet size does not indicate the predetermined sheet size, the second control is not performed [Figs 15, 16, 17, par 0040, 0046, 0110, 0113-0118 – when layout information acquired indicates a layout for left binding, a printing position of the continuous still image is moved to the right side of the strip by rotating 180 degrees (i.e. switching orientation value of margin areas) where a margin is located at the rear end side of the sheet in the conveyance direction, the binding margin is an area should not be covered/printed and if the acquired layout information indicates a right-binding layout, performing printout without rotation]’.
As to Claim 12, Yashiro teaches ‘wherein the application causing the computer to transmit the drawing data and the information about the print setting to the printing apparatus, and wherein the printing apparatus performs print processing for the drawing data [par 0030-0032, 0038-0039 – the PRTC sequentially transmits the print-data stored in the spooler area to the printer, which will form an image]’.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yashiro in view of Saito and further in view of Iwasaki (US-2020/0314254).
As to Claim 5, Yashiro in view of Saito teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Yashiro in view of Saito does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the predetermined sheet size indicates a size of a envelope’.
Iwasaki teaches ‘wherein the predetermined sheet size indicates a size of a envelope [Fig 16 (1601), par 0041, 0085-0088 – sheet size is an envelope size orientation]’.
Yashiro in view of Saito are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include an envelope size, as taught by Iwasaki. The motivation for doing so would have been to an improvement in operability is achieved providing a more easily viewable preview image to a user to any case where a selected sheet size is to be fed in a long-edge direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Iwasaki with Yashiro in view of Saito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
As to Claim 10, Iwasaki teaches ‘wherein the application causing a computer to display a guide about a method for feeding the sheet to the printing apparatus [Figs 10-11, par 0090-0092 – displaying a guide dialogue for guiding a sheet feeding and page orientation method]’.
Yashiro in view of Saito are analogous art with Iwasaki because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a guide dialogue, as taught by Iwasaki. The motivation for doing so would have been to an improvement in operability is achieved providing a more easily viewable preview image to a user to any case where a selected sheet size is to be fed in a long-edge direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Iwasaki with Yashiro in view of Saito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yashiro in view of Saito and further in view of Kawasaki (US-2021/0200492).
As to Claim 9, Yashiro in view of Saito teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Yashiro in view of Saito does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the capabilities information is acquired in a response to a Get-Printer- Attributes operation’.
Kawasaki teaches ‘wherein the capabilities information is acquired in a response to a Get-Printer- Attributes operation [par 0050 – print function expansion unit issues an IPP Get-Printer-Attributes operation to the printing apparatus]’.
Yashiro in view of Saito are analogous art with Kawasaki because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include IPP Get-Printer-Attributes, as taught by Kawasaki. The motivation for doing so would have been to expanding a function of a standard driver to provide a better function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kawasaki with Yashiro in view of Saito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
As to Claim 11, Kawasaki teaches ‘wherein the printing software is an IPP Class Driver [par 0032 – using Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) Class Driver included in Windows as print data generation software]’.
Yashiro in view of Saito are analogous art with Kawasaki because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include IPP Class Driver, as taught by Kawasaki. The motivation for doing so would have been to expanding a function of a standard driver to provide a better function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kawasaki with Yashiro in view of Saito to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Yashiro in view of Saito, Iwasaki, Kawasaki and further in view of the prior art searched and/or cited does not teach nor suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein the drawing data include a margin area corresponding to a region where the image data is not to be printed, wherein in a case where capabilities information about the printing apparatus that is acquired from the printing apparatus includes first information about the predetermined sheet size, second information corresponding to the predetermined sheet size is newly added to a print function information, wherein the first information includes a first value of a length of a top margin area, a second value of a length of bottom margin area, a third value of a left margin area, and a forth value of a right margin area, and wherein the second information is information obtained from the first information by switching the first value with the second value and switching the third value with the forth value” as recited in dependent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. JP Publication No. 2004-235889A
b. US Publication No. 2020/0356314
c. US Publication No. 2020/0314254
d. US Publication No. 2021/0200492
e. US Patent No. 12,425,526
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681