DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sabin (US 2021/0282964).
Regarding claim 1, Sabin discloses a method for treating esophageal cancer in situ with a flow of heated air that can be inhaled through a mask (fig.8-11, face mask 800) and mouthpiece (fig.11), comprising the steps of: providing and directing the flow of the heated air from a heat source to be inspired/inhaled through the mouth and into the trachea/windpipe (fig.8-11; see also [0135]), at an elevated temperature less than sauna air temperatures into the trachea of the patient at a sufficient constant positive pressure [0134] and temperature to uniformly heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane extending between the esophagus and the respiratory trachea in the patient [0105]; monitoring and allowing the heated air to heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane at a predetermined temperature and constant positive air pressure through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane to conductively heat the esophageal cancer tumor adjacent to the heated trachea [0061] and the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane [0065]; whereby the heat provided at a predetermined temperature and at constant positive pressure from the heater air is inspired by the patient through the trachea migrates/transmits/disperses conductively across the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane separating the patient trachea from the esophagus to contact the esophageal tumor at the predetermined heat and positive pressure sufficient to cause apoptosis programmed cell death thereat [0102].
Regarding claim 2, Sabin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said heat source has an outlet nozzle which is sufficiently large and shaped to deliver heat to the esophageal cancer through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus.
Regarding claim 3, Sabin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein said heat source has a display comprising an LCD screen showing both of said temperatures, including said set programmed temperature and said current temperature within the trachea and esophagus of the patient (fig.1 and fig.1A, see also [0121]).
Regarding claim 4, Sabin discloses the method of claim 3 in which the set programmed temperature is displayed on the screen of the heat source (fig.2, see also [0141]).
Regarding claim 5, Sabin discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said efficacious internally applied heated air is delivered to said esophageal cancer located adjacent to the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus at a range of about 107 to 113 degrees F [0145].
Regarding claim 6, Sabin discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising the step of inserting a subcutaneous needle probe temperature monitor into the in situ site of the esophageal tumor being treated and measuring the temperature of the tumor being treated [0189].
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,233,213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Patent No. US 12,233,213 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
19/041,841
US 12,233,213
1. A method for treating esophageal cancer in situ with a flow of heated air that can be inhaled through a mask and mouthpiece, comprising the steps of: providing and directing the flow of the heated air from a heat source to be inspired/inhaled through the mouth and into the trachea/windpipe, at an elevated temperature less than sauna air temperatures into the trachea of the patient at a sufficient constant positive pressure and temperature to uniformly heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane extending between the esophagus and the respiratory trachea in the patient; monitoring and allowing the heated air to heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane at a predetermined temperature and constant positive air pressure through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane to conductively heat the esophageal cancer tumor adjacent to the heated trachea and the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane; whereby the heat provided at a predetermined temperature and at constant positive pressure from the heater air is inspired by the patient through the trachea migrates/transmits/disperses conductively across the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane separating the patient trachea from the esophagus to contact the esophageal tumor at the predetermined heat and positive pressure sufficient to cause apoptosis programmed cell death thereat.
1. A method for treating esophageal cancer in situ with a flow of heated air that can be inhaled through a mask and mouthpiece, comprising the steps of: providing and directing the flow of the heated air from a heat source to be inspired/inhaled through a mouth and into a trachea/windpipe, at an elevated temperature less than sauna air temperatures into the trachea of a patient at a sufficient constant positive pressure and temperature to uniformly heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane extending between an esophagus and a respiratory trachea in the patient; monitoring and allowing the heated air to heat the patient's tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane at a predetermined temperature and constant positive air pressure through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane to conductively heat the esophageal cancer adjacent to the heated trachea and the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane; whereby the heat provided at the predetermined temperature and at the constant positive pressure from the heated air is inspired by the patient through the trachea migrates/transmits/disperses conductively across the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane separating the patient trachea from the esophagus to contact the esophageal cancer at the predetermined heat and positive pressure sufficient to cause apoptosis programmed cell death thereat, further comprising the steps of: a) providing a heat gun as said heat source; b) installing a correct outlet nozzle on the heat gun; c) determining and adjusting the temperature of the flow of heated air; d) programing and providing the flow of heated air at said constant positive pressure and at a threshold temperature of the esophageal cancer sufficient to remove the esophageal cancer; e) adjusting the output nozzle of said heat gun and supplying said flow of heated air through the patient's mouth and trachea to a location of the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane separating the trachea from the esophagus in the vicinity of the esophageal cancer f) activating said temperature-controlled heat gun with locks and interlocks for a predetermined time, at which time the entire tumor will be conductively heated across the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane from the trachea into the esophagus with heat derived from said flow of heated air at controlled threshold temperatures; and, g) monitoring the cancer temperature for ensuring that the heated air does not exceed a safe temperature threshold within the trachea and esophagus of the patient.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein said heat source has an outlet nozzle which is sufficiently large and shaped to deliver heat to the esophageal cancer through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein said outlet nozzle is sufficiently large and shaped to deliver heat to the esophageal cancer through the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein said heat source has a display comprising an LCD screen showing both of said temperatures, including said set programmed temperature and said current temperature within the trachea and esophagus of the patient.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein a display comprises an LCD screen showing both of said temperatures, including said set programmed temperature and a current temperature within the trachea and esophagus of the patient.
4. The method of claim 3 in which the set programmed temperature is displayed on the screen of the heat source.
4. The method of claim 3, in which the set programmed temperature is displayed on the screen of the heat gun.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein said efficacious internally applied heated air is delivered to said esophageal cancer located adjacent to the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus at a range of about 107 to 113 degrees F.
5. The method of claim 3, wherein an efficacious internally applied heated air being delivered to said esophageal cancer located adjacent to the tracheoesophageal party wall sheath membrane, separating the trachea from the esophagus at a range of about 107 to 113 degrees F.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising the step of inserting a subcutaneous needle probe temperature monitor into the in situ site of the esophageal tumor being treated and measuring the temperature of the tumor being treated.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising the step of inserting a subcutaneous needle probe temperature monitor into the in situ site of the esophageal cancer being treated and measuring the temperature of the cancer being treated.
/TIGIST S DEMIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794