DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Preliminary Amendment filed on 08/06/2025.
Claims 2-20 have been newly added.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding independent claims 1, 18, and 20, the claims recite “accessing, by a computing system comprising one or more processors, a security request associated with generating a security policy based at least in part on organizational data comprising one or more organizational records, wherein the security request comprises one or more rules associated with the security policy; determining, by the computing system, based at least in part on the security request, the one or more rules that are in compliance with one or more policies associated with the organizational data; generating, by the computing system, the security policy based at least in part on the one or more rules that are in compliance with the one or more policies; and performing, by the computing system, one or more operations associated with implementing the security policy”. The limitations of accessing a security request associated with generating a security policy based at least in part on organizational data comprising one or more organizational records, wherein the security request comprises one or more rules associated with the security policy; determining, by the computing system, based at least in part on the security request, the one or more rules that are in compliance with one or more policies associated with the organizational data; generating, by the computing system, the security policy based at least in part on the one or more rules that are in compliance with the one or more policies; and performing, by the computing system, one or more operations associated with implementing the security policy, as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the accessing, determining, generating, and performing steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of performing one or more operations associated with implementing the security policy) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the accessing, determining, generating, and performing steps that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13-14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kahn (US Patent No. 7,185,192 B1) listed in IDS dated 01/30/2025 hereinafter Kahn.
Regarding claim 1, 18, and 20, Kahn discloses a computer-implemented method, system, and medium of implementing security policies, the computer-implemented method comprising:
accessing, by a computing system (fig. 2, server 200) comprising one or more processors (fig. 2, processor 220), a security request associated with generating a security policy based at least in part on organizational data comprising one or more organizational records (fig. 1-2, resources 160-1 to 160-N) (col. 30, lines 5-16, processing an access request 301 (query or resource) against the master set of rules 350-4 to select which rules will be applied (i.e., selection of the selected set of rules 318) to make an access control decision 301-1 or to produce query result 301-2.)
wherein the security request comprises one or more rules associated with the security policy (col. 10, lines 28-30, a requestor can submit an access request to the system of the invention. Access requests can specify, for example, an identity of a requestor, a type of access requested, and a resource to which this requester requests the access);
determining, by the computing system, based at least in part on the security request, the one or more rules that are in compliance with one or more policies (fig. 3 or 5, master rule set 350-4) associated with the organizational data (fig. 7, step 420-421, rule engine 315 determines identity of resource to which access is requested and determines role identity of requestor submitting the access request and col. 30, lines 17-30, for steps 420 and 421, the identity of the resource and the identity of the role requester are equal to the respective values of the RESOURCE and REQUESTOR portions as specified in the access request 301 received in step 400 (FIG. 6). However, the RESOURCE and/or the REQUESTOR information indicated within the access request 301 may specify values indicating a username, a software application, or a specific computer or peripheral device which the rule or query engine 315, 320, in respective steps 420 and 421, can then compare to a resource or role identity table that matches this information to a specific resource or requestor role identity, such as one of the role identities or resource identities in Columns 1 and 2 of Table 1 shown above);
generating, by the computing system, the security policy (produce the selected set of rules 318) based at least in part on the one or more rules that are in compliance with the one or more policies (col. 31, lines 31-43, If the access request 301 is a resource access request 301-1, then the rule engine 315 processes step 422 in FIG. 7. In step 422, the rule engine 315 applies at least one filter operation, using the identity of the resource and/or the role identity of the requestor and/or the a type of access being requested, for rules in the master set of rules 350-4 to produce the selected set of rules 318 upon which the access control decision will be based. In other words, the rule engine 315, in step 422, applies filter operations to the access request 301 to determine what rules might apply (i.e., to determine an initial set of applicable rules--the selected set of rules 318) to an access control decision for the access request 301); and
performing, by the computing system, one or more operations associated with implementing the security policy (abstract, the processor further performs at least one rule operation based on the subset of rules to produce an access control decision).
Regarding claim 2, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules are based on an application specific query language that is associated with the security policy (col. 23, lines 4-67).
Regarding claim 4, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more policies comprise one or more access policies that define one or more users that are permitted to access one or more applications associated with the one or more organizational records (fig. 5, col. 14, line 5- col. 15, line 67, table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the organizational data comprises information associated with one or more organizational divisions, and wherein each of the one or more organizational divisions is associated with a portion of the one or more organizational records (col. 13, lines 15-52).
Regarding claim 6, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the security policy is implemented on the one or more organizational divisions (col. 13, lines 15-52).
Regarding claim 7, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the portion of the one or more organizational records in the one or more organizational divisions is organized in accordance with a hierarchical ranking in which the one or more organizational records are respectively associated with one or more statuses, and wherein the security policy is implemented on the one or more organizational records that are associated with the one or more organizational divisions that are the same and have an equal status or lower status (col. 13, lines 15-52).
Regarding claim 8, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the computing system, one or more inputs via a graphical user interface configured to display one or more interface elements associated with the one or more rules; and generating, by the computing system, the security request based on the one or more inputs (col. 16, lines 36-44).
Regarding claim 9, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the security request is associated with one or more constraints on authentication, access, or authorization of one or more applications or one or more devices associated with the organizational data ((col. 18, lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 10, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules comprise one or more session time-out rules to limit a duration of an authentication session of one or more applications associated with the one or more organizational records (col. 11, lines 24-54).
Regarding claim 11, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the organizational data comprises historical data associated with one or more events in which one or more applications associated with the organizational data were accessed, wherein the one or more organizational records respectively comprise one or more user attributes, and wherein the security policy is based on one or more rules associated with the historical data and the one or more user attributes records (fig. 5, col. 14, line 5- col. 15, line 67, table 1).
Regarding claim 13, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the security request is associated with a request authorization level, and wherein the one or more policies are respectively associated with one or more policy authorization levels (col. 6, lines 4-31 and col. 19, lines 32).
Regarding claim 14, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the determining, by the computing system, based on the security request, the one or more rules that are in compliance with one or more policies associated with the organizational data comprises: comparing, by the computing system, the request authorization level associated with the one or more rules to the one or more policy authorization levels associated with the one or more policies (col. 6, lines 4-31 and col. 19, lines 32).
Regarding claim 16, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more organizational records comprise one or more employee records respectively associated with one or more employees of an organization (fig. 1, col. 11, lines 24-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barton et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0109175 A1) hereinafter Barton.
Regarding claim 3, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules comprise an application associated with the one or more organizational records can be accessed within a predetermined time period (col. 11, lines 24-44), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Barton discloses access rules limit a number of times an application can be accessed within a predetermined time period (para 0130, the policy for the application may include an indication describing a condition as to when the ticket expires (e.g., a time-period such as two-weeks, one day, forever, etc.; a number of accesses to the enterprise resource such as one access, ten accesses, infinite accesses, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kahn to include limit a number of times an application can be accessed within a predetermined time period as taught by Barton in order to provide access to highly protected resource (Barton para 0123).
Regarding claim 12, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose, however, Barton discloses wherein the organizational data comprises information associated with one or more geographic areas, and wherein the one or more rules are associated with constraining access to one or more applications or one or more devices based on the one or more geographic areas (para 0120, These application-specific policies may further restrict access to the enterprise resource only during certain times, from certain networks, from certain geo-locations, and only from devices that are in compliance with all organizations security policies). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kahn to include the one or more rules are associated with constraining access to one or more applications or one or more devices based on the one or more geographic areas as taught by Barton in order to provide access to highly protected resource (Barton para 0123).
Regarding claim 19, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules are based on an application specific query language that is associated with the security policy (col. 23, lines 4-67) and wherein the one or more rules comprise an application associated with the one or more organizational records can be accessed within a predetermined time period (col. 11, lines 24-44), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Barton discloses access rules limit a number of times an application can be accessed within a predetermined time period (para 0130, the policy for the application may include an indication describing a condition as to when the ticket expires (e.g., a time-period such as two-weeks, one day, forever, etc.; a number of accesses to the enterprise resource such as one access, ten accesses, infinite accesses, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kahn to include limit a number of times an application can be accessed within a predetermined time period as taught by Barton in order to provide access to highly protected resource (Barton para 0123).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burns et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0018154 A1) hereinafter Burns.
Regarding claim 17, Kahn discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules comprise one or more passcode complexity criteria associated with the one or more organizational records (col. 18, lines 20-35, password), but does not explicitly disclose, however, Burns discloses wherein the one or more passcode complexity criteria comprise a minimum passcode length (Fig. 5B, para 0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kahn to include the one or more passcode complexity criteria comprise a minimum passcode length as taught by Burns in order to enforce policies specified by the administrator (Burns para 0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-892).
/BAOTRAN N TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435