DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation recites:
“… determining, using the prediction block position as input to the trajectory mapping data …” (emphasis added). This limitation is not adequately disclosed or described in the applicant’s specification.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation: "… the prediction block position …" (emphasis added to accentuate insufficient antecedent basis). It’s unclear if the limitation refers to “the prediction block location” in claim 1 or if the limitation was intended to be “a prediction position”.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as: “… determining, using [[the]] a prediction block position , the trajectory mapping data …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 & 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., hereinafter referred to as Li (US 2020/0092576 A1).
As per claim 1, Li discloses a method for reconstructing video data from an encoded bitstream (Li: Abstract.), comprising:
determining trajectory mapping data for a current frame, wherein the trajectory mapping data is based on motion fields data between respective frames of a sequence of frames that includes the current frame and multiple reference frames (Li: Paras. [0094], [0127] disclose determining an estimated motion field [trajectory mapping data] for a current frame based on trajectory motion vectors and motion fields between previously reconstructed [reference] frames.);
determining, for a neighboring block of a current block of the current frame, a first reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the neighboring block (Li: Paras. [0004], [0142] disclose identifying a previously decoded block [neighboring block] and coding information such as a motion vector referring to a reference frame, which corresponds to the determination regarding a neighboring block.);
determining, from encoded block data (coding information) for the current block, a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the current block (Li: Paras. [0098], [0163], [0167] disclose determining motion vector predictions for the current block relative to specific reference frames (e.g., backward/forward reference frames), corresponding to determining a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the current block.);
determining a motion vector between the neighboring block (previously decoded block) within the current frame and a block position within the second reference frame (location in the forward reference frame) corresponding to the neighboring block according to the trajectory mapping data (coframe motion vector) and a prediction block location (location in the backward reference frame) for the neighboring block within the first reference frame (Li: Paras. [0158], [0172] disclose a forward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the forward reference frame [block position within the second reference frame] indicated by the forward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A backward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the backward reference frame [prediction block location within the first reference frame] indicated by the backward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe spatially corresponding to the spatial location of the previously coded block in the current frame displaced, or offset, by the coframe motion vector (cf MV).), wherein the motion vector is a motion vector predictor (motion vector prediction) for the current block (Li: Para. [0149] discloses the motion vector predictions for the previously coded block neighboring the current block may be identified as motion vector predictions for the current block.); and
reconstructing the video data of the current block using the motion vector predictor (Li: Paras. [0003]-[0004] disclose identifying generating a decoded block corresponding to the current block based on the prediction block and outputting a reconstructed frame.).
As per claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
determining, using the prediction block position as input to the trajectory mapping data, the block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block (Li: Paras. [0158], [0172]-[0173] disclose determining, using a prediction block position, the trajectory mapping data, the block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block.).
As per claim 3, Li discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
storing the trajectory mapping data as:
a trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs to intersecting locations within respective frames of the sequence of frames, wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location (Li: Paras. [0078], [0101], [0109], [0125]-[0126] disclose storing the motion field trajectory vectors [trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs]. The projected spatial location of the intersection [intersecting locations] of the trajectory motion vector [trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID] with the video sequence location corresponding to the fifth frame index is indicated by a broken line square in the fourth row R4 and corresponds to a probability that motion of the scene, or a portion thereof, captured by the sequence of frames has a trajectory between the respective frames along the trajectory motion vector. The estimated motion field, which may include the forward component and the backward component, may be determined for each spatial location, such as each block location [wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location].); and
a reverse mapping of respective block locations in the respective frames of the multiple reference frames to a respective trajectory ID (Li: Paras. [0108], [0125] disclose determining the estimated motion field may include identifying, such as on a per-pixel basis or a per-block basis [respective block locations in the respective frames], motion information, such as one or more motion vectors, intersecting the current temporal location [reverse mapping to a respective trajectory ID]. Determining the motion field may include identifying reference frames [multiple reference frames], available for coding a frame at the respective frame index for which corresponding motion information intersects the video sequence location [reverse mapping of respective block locations] and the corresponding motion vectors may be referred to as trajectory motion vectors [to a respective trajectory ID].).
As per claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the intersecting locations are stored as two-dimensional motion vectors between the intersecting locations and respective intersecting locations within a common frame of the sequence of frames (Li: Paras. [0077], [0078], [0101], [0131] disclose saving the motion vectors and coframe motion vectors in a two-dimensional matrix or Cartesian coordinate system, which define the spatial displacement between the projected spatial location where a trajectory intersects a temporal location [between the intersecting locations] and a corresponding portion or pixel position within an available reference frame [and respective intersecting locations within a common frame of the sequence of frames].).
As per claim 5, Li discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the common frame is a most recently reconstructed frame (Li: Paras. [0027], [0090] disclose that the reference frames utilized for generating the prediction blocks and motion fields are selected from frames that were previously reconstruction in the coding order currently available to the encoder and decoder.).
As per claim 6, Li discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the motion vector between the neighboring block within the current frame and the block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block comprises:
determining the prediction block location for the neighboring block within the first reference frame using a reconstructed motion vector for the neighboring block (Li: Para. [0147], [0172] disclose captures identifying an alignment block in the reference coframe based on a spatial location of the previously coded block and the coframe motion vector for the previously coded block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe and displaced by the coframe motion vector.);
determining a trajectory ID from the reverse mapping using the prediction block location (Li: Para. [0173] discloses determining the motion information for the alignment block [using the prediction block location] may include determining motion vectors indicating a displacement [determining a trajectory ID from the reverse mapping].); and
determining the motion vector predictor from the trajectory mapping using the trajectory ID (Li: Para. [0174] discloses a first motion vector prediction (MV_pred1) may be determined based on the first motion vector for the alignment block (opf1_mv1) and the coframe motion vector (cf MV).).
As per claim 8, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the motion vector between the neighboring block within the current frame and the block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block comprises:
determining the prediction block location for the neighboring block within the first reference frame using a reconstructed motion vector for the neighboring block (Li: Para. [0147], [0172] disclose identifying an alignment block in the reference coframe based on a spatial location of the previously coded block and the coframe motion vector for the previously coded block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe and displaced by the coframe motion vector.);
determining a trajectory of the trajectory mapping data associated with the prediction block location (Li: Para. [0173] discloses determining the motion information for the alignment block [associated with the prediction block location] may include determining motion vectors indicating a displacement from the reference coframe to the motion projection reference frames [determining a trajectory of the trajectory mapping data].); and
determining the block position located within the second reference frame that is associated with the trajectory (Li: Para. [0173] discloses a forward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the forward reference frame [determining the block position located within the second reference frame] indicated by the forward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block.).
As per claim 9, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first reference frame and the second reference frame are different reference frames (Li: Paras. [0134], [0167] disclose wherein the first reference frame and the second reference frame are different reference frames.).
As per claim 10, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first reference frame and the second reference frame are a same frame (Li: Para. [0149] discloses the current block may be coded with reference to a single reference frame and the motion vector prediction for the previously coded block neighboring the current block and associated with the single reference frame may be identified as motion vector predictions for the current block.).
As per claim 11, Li discloses an apparatus for reconstructing video data from an encoded bitstream (Li: Abstract.), comprising:
a processor configured to (Li: Para. [0003] discloses a processor executing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium.):
determine trajectory mapping data for a current frame, wherein the trajectory mapping data is based on motion fields data between respective frames of a sequence of frames that includes the current frame and multiple reference frames (Li: Paras. [0094], [0127] disclose determining an estimated motion field [trajectory mapping data] for a current frame based on trajectory motion vectors and motion fields between previously reconstructed [reference] frames.);
determine, for a neighboring block of a current block of the current frame, a first reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the neighboring block (Li: Paras. [0004], [0142] disclose identifying a previously decoded block [neighboring block] and coding information such as a motion vector referring to a reference frame, which corresponds to the determination regarding a neighboring block.);
determine, from encoded block data (coding information) for the current block, a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the current block (Li: Paras. [0098], [0163], [0167] disclose determining motion vector predictions for the current block relative to specific reference frames (e.g., backward/forward reference frames), corresponding to determining a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the current block.);
determine a motion vector between the neighboring block (previously decoded block) within the current frame and a block position within the second reference frame (location in the forward reference frame) corresponding to the neighboring block according to the trajectory mapping data (coframe motion vector) and a prediction block location (location in the backward reference frame) for the neighboring block within the first reference frame (Li: Paras. [0158], [0172] disclose a forward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the forward reference frame [block position within the second reference frame] indicated by the forward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A backward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the backward reference frame [prediction block location within the first reference frame] indicated by the backward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe spatially corresponding to the spatial location of the previously coded block in the current frame displaced, or offset, by the coframe motion vector (cf MV).), wherein the motion vector is a motion vector predictor (motion vector prediction) for the current block (Li: Para. [0149] discloses the motion vector predictions for the previously coded block neighboring the current block may be identified as motion vector predictions for the current block.); and
reconstruct the video data of the current block using the motion vector predictor (Li: Paras. [0003]-[0004] disclose identifying generating a decoded block corresponding to the current block based on the prediction block and outputting a reconstructed frame.).
As per claim 12, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to receive, from an encoder, the trajectory mapping data, and the trajectory mapping data comprises:
a trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs to intersecting locations within respective frames of the sequence of frames, wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location (Li: Paras. [0078], [0101], [0109], [0125]-[0126] disclose storing the motion field trajectory vectors [trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs]. The projected spatial location of the intersection [intersecting locations] of the trajectory motion vector [trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID] with the video sequence location corresponding to the fifth frame index is indicated by a broken line square in the fourth row R4 and corresponds to a probability that motion of the scene, or a portion thereof, captured by the sequence of frames has a trajectory between the respective frames along the trajectory motion vector. The estimated motion field, which may include the forward component and the backward component, may be determined for each spatial location, such as each block location [wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location].); and
a reverse mapping of respective block locations in the respective frames of the multiple reference frames to a respective trajectory ID (Li: Paras. [0108], [0125] disclose determining the estimated motion field may include identifying, such as on a per-pixel basis or a per-block basis [respective block locations in the respective frames], motion information, such as one or more motion vectors, intersecting the current temporal location [reverse mapping to a respective trajectory ID]. Determining the motion field may include identifying reference frames [multiple reference frames], available for coding a frame at the respective frame index for which corresponding motion information intersects the video sequence location [reverse mapping of respective block locations] and the corresponding motion vectors may be referred to as trajectory motion vectors [to a respective trajectory ID].).
As per claim 13, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to generate the trajectory mapping data, wherein the trajectory mapping data comprises:
a trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs to intersecting locations within respective frames of the sequence of frames, wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location (Li: Paras. [0078], [0101], [0109], [0125]-[0126] disclose storing the motion field trajectory vectors [trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs]. The projected spatial location of the intersection [intersecting locations] of the trajectory motion vector [trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID] with the video sequence location corresponding to the fifth frame index is indicated by a broken line square in the fourth row R4 and corresponds to a probability that motion of the scene, or a portion thereof, captured by the sequence of frames has a trajectory between the respective frames along the trajectory motion vector. The estimated motion field, which may include the forward component and the backward component, may be determined for each spatial location, such as each block location [wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location].); and
a reverse mapping of respective block locations in the respective frames of the multiple reference frames to a respective trajectory ID (Li: Paras. [0108], [0125] disclose the estimated motion field may include identifying, such as on a per-pixel basis or a per-block basis [respective block locations in the respective frames], motion information, such as one or more motion vectors, intersecting the current temporal location [reverse mapping to a respective trajectory ID]. Determining the motion field may include identifying reference frames [multiple reference frames], available for coding a frame at the respective frame index for which corresponding motion information intersects the video sequence location [reverse mapping of respective block locations] and the corresponding motion vectors may be referred to as trajectory motion vectors [to a respective trajectory ID].).
As per claim 14, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein to determine the motion vector between the neighboring block within the current frame and the block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block comprises to:
determine the prediction block location for the neighboring block within the first reference frame using a reconstructed motion vector for the neighboring block (Li: Para. [0147], [0172] disclose identifying an alignment block in the reference coframe based on a spatial location of the previously coded block and the coframe motion vector for the previously coded block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe and displaced by the coframe motion vector.);
determine a trajectory of the trajectory mapping data associated with the prediction block location (Li: Para. [0173] discloses determining the motion information for the alignment block [associated with the prediction block location] may include determining motion vectors indicating a displacement from the reference coframe to the motion projection reference frames [determining a trajectory of the trajectory mapping data].); and
determine the block position within the second reference frame that is associated with the trajectory (Li: Para. [0173] discloses a forward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the forward reference frame [determining the block position located within the second reference frame] indicated by the forward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block.).
As per claim 15, Li discloses an apparatus for encoding video data into an encoded bitstream (Li Abstract.), comprising:
a processor configured to (Li: Para. [0003] discloses a processor executing instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium.):
determine trajectory mapping data for a current frame, wherein the trajectory mapping data is based on motion fields data between respective frames of a sequence of frames that includes the current frame and multiple reference frames (Chao: Paras. [0007], [0123]-[0124] disclose generating an interpolated motion field [trajectory mapping data] for a whole picture. This field is derived by scanning motion vectors in reference pictures [motion fields data] and scaling them to the current picture.);
determine, for a neighboring block of a current block of the current frame, a first reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the neighboring block (Li: Paras. [0094], [0127] disclose determining an estimated motion field [trajectory mapping data] for a current frame based on trajectory motion vectors and motion fields between previously reconstructed [reference] frames.);
determine a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames for encoding the current block (Li: Paras. [0098], [0163], [0167] disclose determining motion vector predictions for the current block relative to specific reference frames (e.g., backward/forward reference frames), corresponding to determining a second reference frame of the multiple reference frames used to encode the current block.);
determine a motion vector between the neighboring block within the current frame and a block position within the second reference frame corresponding to the neighboring block according to the trajectory mapping data and a prediction block location for the neighboring block within the first reference frame (Li: Paras. [0158], [0172] disclose a forward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the forward reference frame [block position within the second reference frame] indicated by the forward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A backward motion vector prediction for the neighboring block indicates a spatiotemporal displacement between the location in the backward reference frame [prediction block location within the first reference frame] indicated by the backward motion vector for the alignment block and the location in the current frame of the neighboring block. A spatial location of the alignment block may be centered at a location in the reference coframe spatially corresponding to the spatial location of the previously coded block in the current frame displaced, or offset, by the coframe motion vector (cf MV).), wherein the motion vector is a motion vector predictor (motion vector prediction) for the current block (Li: Para. [0149] discloses the motion vector predictions for the previously coded block neighboring the current block may be identified as motion vector predictions for the current block.); and
encode the video data of the current block using the motion vector predictor (Li: Paras. [0004], [0101] disclose encoding the current frame/block and including the indication of the motion vector prediction in an output bitstream.).
As per claim 16, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to encode the video data of the current block using the motion vector predictor comprises to:
determine a residual block as a difference between the current block and a prediction block corresponding to a motion vector for the current block (Li: Paras. [0061], [0100]-[0101] disclose subtract the prediction block from the current block (raw block) to produce a residual block.);
determine a residual motion vector as a difference between the motion vector and the motion vector predictor (Li: Paras. [0061], [0100]-[0101] disclose determining differential motion information based on a difference between the motion information identified at and the motion vector for the previously coded neighboring block.); and
encode the residual block and the residual motion vector into the encoded bitstream (Li: Paras. [0061], [0100]-[0101] disclose encoding this residual difference between the current block and the prediction block included in an output bitstream.).
As per claim 17, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to encode the video data of the current block using the motion vector predictor comprises to:
determine a residual block as a difference between the current block and a prediction block corresponding to the motion vector predictor (Li: Paras. [0061], [0100]-[0101] disclose determining a residual block as a difference between the current block and a prediction block corresponding to the motion vector predictor.); and
encode the residual block and an identifier for the motion vector predictor into the encoded bitstream (Li: Paras. [0061], [0100]-[0101] disclose encoding that residual difference alongside a reference pointing to the previously coded neighboring block.).
As per claim 18, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein to determine trajectory mapping data for the current frame comprises to:
determine a trajectory mapping that maps each trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs to intersecting locations within respective frames of the sequence of frames, wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location (Li: Paras. [0078], [0101], [0109], [0125]-[0126] disclose storing the motion field trajectory vectors [trajectory ID of multiple trajectory IDs]. The projected spatial location of the intersection [intersecting locations] of the trajectory motion vector [trajectory mapping of each trajectory ID] with the video sequence location corresponding to the fifth frame index is indicated by a broken line square in the fourth row R4 and corresponds to a probability that motion of the scene, or a portion thereof, captured by the sequence of frames has a trajectory between the respective frames along the trajectory motion vector. The estimated motion field, which may include the forward component and the backward component, may be determined for each spatial location, such as each block location [wherein each of the intersecting locations corresponds to a respective block location].); and
determine a reverse mapping that maps respective block locations in the respective frames of the multiple reference frames to a respective trajectory ID (Li: Paras. [0108], [0125] disclose determining the estimated motion field may include identifying, such as on a per-pixel basis or a per-block basis [respective block locations in the respective frames], motion information, such as one or more motion vectors, intersecting the current temporal location [reverse mapping to a respective trajectory ID]. Determining the motion field may include identifying reference frames [multiple reference frames], available for coding a frame at the respective frame index for which corresponding motion information intersects the video sequence location [reverse mapping of respective block locations] and the corresponding motion vectors may be referred to as trajectory motion vectors [to a respective trajectory ID].).
As per claim 19, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the trajectory mapping data to a decoder for reconstruction of the video data from the encoded bitstream (Li: Para. [0101] discloses the coframe motion vector, or corresponding differential motion information, and a residual difference between the current block and the prediction block may be encoded and included in an output bitstream, which may be stored, and which may be transmitted, or otherwise provided, to a decoder for decoding the encoded video.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be viewed in the list of references.
/PEET DHILLON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 2488
Date: 03-07-2026