DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-19 are currently being examined.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mondini et al (US Patent No. 12,637,245).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Mondini et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
A food processing system, comprising: (See Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 7-10)
a plurality of planar motors forming a worktable, (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Col. 9, Lines 60-65; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein the planar motors produce magnetic fields, and (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein the worktable forms a first location and a second location; (See Col. 9, Lines 34-41; Fig.5; Ref. Numerals 24(first location),22(second location)
a carrier disposed above the planar motors, (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 8; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable)
wherein the carrier includes one or more magnets that interact with the magnetic fields, and (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier)
wherein the magnetic fields are modulated to independently move the carrier relative to the planar motors; (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable)
wherein the carrier is adapted to support a food part; and (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the carrier supporting the food part is moved by the planar motors from the first location to the second location, and (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Col. 12, Lines 54-67; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
whereby the food part is cut to form constituent food parts. (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 8(slicing apparatus)
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent Claim 1, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 1, comprising:
wherein a carrier distribution computer determines a weight value of the food part supported by the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 4(carrier), 29(electronic device--carrier distribution computer)
With respect to Claim 3, which depends from independent Claim 1, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 3, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the worktable forms a conveyor location; (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Col. 9, Lines 60-65; col. 12, Lines 7-15; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein a carrier is adapted to support constituent food parts; and (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the carrier supporting the constituent food parts is moved by the planar motors from the second location to the conveyor location. (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Col. 9, Lines 60-65; col. 12, Lines 7-15; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
With respect to Claim 4, which depends from independent Claim 1, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 4, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 1, comprising:
wherein the weight of the food part is associated with the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to Claim 5, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 3 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 5, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 3, comprising:
wherein the weight of the constituent food parts is associated with the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to independent Claim 6, Mondini et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 6 as follows:
A food processing system, comprising: (See Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 7-10)
a plurality of planar motors forming a worktable, (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Col. 9, Lines 60-65; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein the planar motors produce magnetic fields, and (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein the worktable forms a first location and a second location; (See Col. 9, Lines 34-41; Fig.5; Ref. Numerals 24(first location), 22(second location)
a carrier disposed above the planar motors, (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 8; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable)
wherein the carrier includes one or more magnets that interact with the magnetic fields, and (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier)
wherein the magnetic fields are modulated to independently move the carrier relative to the planar motors; (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable)
wherein the carrier is adapted to support a food part; (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
a conveyor disposed above the worktable, (See Col. 9, Lines 10-33; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 35(conveyor), 5(worktable)
wherein the conveyor is adapted to transport a food part; and a transfer mechanism adapted to transfer the food part from the conveyor to the carrier. (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Col. 12, Lines 54-67; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 35(conveyor)
With respect to Claim 7, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 7, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of 6, comprising: a hopper for accumulating food parts transferred from the conveyor. (See Col. 9, Lines 56-59; Ref. Numerals "storage zone"(hopper-not shown)
With respect to Claim 8, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 and Claim 7 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
8. The processing system of 7, comprising: wherein the hopper transfers food parts to the carrier. (See Col 6, Lines 30-48; Figs. 8-10; Ref. Numerals 1(food parts), 4(carrier)
With respect to Claim 9, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of 6, comprising: wherein the worktable forms a processing location; and (See Col. 9, Lines 34-41;Col. 10, Lines 3-8; Fig.5; Ref. Numerals 5(worktable), "operating stations"(processing location)
wherein the carrier supporting the food part is moved by the planar motor to the processing location. (See Col. 9, Lines 34-41;Col. 10, Lines 3-8; Fig.5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable), "operating stations"(processing location)
With respect to Claim 10, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 and Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of 9, comprising:
wherein the worktable forms a transfer zone; (See Col. 4, Lines 26-32; Figs. 5, 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 5(worktable), 111(transfer zone)
wherein the carrier is adapted to support a constituent food part; and (See Col 4. Lines 40-55; figs. 5, 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the carrier supporting the constituent food part is moved by the planar motors from the processing location to the transfer zone. (See Col 4. Lines 40-55; figs. 5, 8, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 111(transfer zone), "operating stations"(processing location)
With respect to Claim 11, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 11, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of 6, comprising: wherein the food part is cut to form constituent food parts. (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 8(slicing apparatus)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of 6, comprising: wherein the weight of the constituent food parts is associated with the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to Claim 13, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 13, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 6, comprising: wherein a carrier distribution computer determines a weight value of the food part supported by the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to Claim 14, which depends from independent Claim 6, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 14, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The processing system of claim 6, wherein the weight of the food part is associated with the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to independent Claim 15, Mondini et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 15 as follows:
A method of food processing, comprising: (See Abstract; Col. 1, Lines 7-10)
providing a plurality of planar motors forming a worktable; (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Col. 9, Lines 60-65; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
wherein the worktable forms a first location and a second location; (See Col. 9, Lines 34-41; Fig.5; Ref. Numerals 24(first location),22(second location)
wherein the planar motors produce magnetic fields; (See Col. 3, Lines 39-54; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 5(worktable)
providing a carrier adapted to support a food part, (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the carrier includes one or more magnets that interact with the magnetic fields produced by the planar motors, and (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier)
wherein the magnetic fields are modulated by a carrier distribution computer to independently move the carrier relative to the planar motors; (See Col. 9, Line 66 to Col 10, Line 20; Figs. 1, 5; Ref. Numerals 3(planar motor), 4(carrier), 5(worktable)
providing a food part, (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the food part is supported by the carrier; and (See Col 4, Lines 26-36; Fig. 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
moving the carrier from the first location to the second location, and (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Col. 12, Lines 54-67; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier)
wherein the food part is cut to form constitute food parts at the second location. (See Col. 4, Lines 40-46; Col. 8, Lines 60-67; Col;. 12, Lines 18-23; Figs. 1, 2, 9; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 8(slicing apparatus)
With respect to Claim 16, which depends from independent Claim 15, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 16, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The method of food processing of claim 15, comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stored therein computer-readable instructions, (See Col. 12, Lines 60-67; Col. 13, Lines 14-27)
the computer-readable instruction when executed configured to: (See Col. 12, Lines 60-67; Col. 13, Lines 14-27; Ref. Numerals "electronic control unit")
modulate the magnetic fields; and (See Col. 12, Lines 54-67; Col. 13, Lines 14-27)
move the carrier from the first location to the second location. (See Col. 15, Lines 10-22; Ref. Numerals 4(carrier); 22(second location)
With respect to Claim 17, which depends from independent Claim 15, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 17, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The method of food processing of claim 15, comprising: determining a weight value of the food part supported by the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device):
With respect to Claim 18, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 15, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 and Claim 17 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 18, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The method of food processing of claim 17,
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stored therein computer-readable instructions, (See Col. 12, Lines 54-67; Col. 13, Lines 14-27; Ref. Numerals 29(electronic device)
the computer-readable instruction when executed configured to determine the weight value of the food part supported by the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
With respect to Claim 19, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 15, Mondini et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 and claim 18 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 19, Mondini et al discloses as follows:
The method of food processing of claim 18, comprising: associate the weight value of the food part with the carrier. (See Col 10, Lines 9-19 ; Col 15, Lines 23-28; Figs. 2, 4, 5; Ref. Numerals 1(food part), 4(carrier), 29(electronic device)
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular Column numbers, Line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims set forth hereinabove for the convenience of the Applicant. While the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages and figures in the cited reference may be applicable, as well. It is respectfully requested that the Applicant, in preparing any response to the Office Action, fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, in addition to the context of the passage(s) as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definitions that are not specifically set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 October 2, 2026