DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 2010/0129156) in view of Dallyn et al. (US 9702104).
The same-inventor pre-grant publication is the closest prior art. Taylor discloses the fillable, portable water containment barrier [100] with a water impermeable liner [500] configured to cover the barrier.
Taylor fails to disclose the barrier having a discharge assembly and the details thereof.
Dallyn teaches a water containment barrier with a discharge assembly [16] comprising a tube penetrating a polygonal hole in the barrier [Figures 1-8] that connects to a discharge hose [40].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Taylor by adding the discharge assembly as described by Dallyn to allow controlled passage of water through the barrier in the same manner as a dam spillway.
Specifically regarding claims 13 and 14 although the combination is silent as to the hole being rectangular in shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize such a shape depending on the desired flow characteristics and the availability of the materials. Furthermore, it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding method claims 15-18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the water containment barrier of the Taylor-Dallyn combination in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method as claimed by the Applicant.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Taylor-Dallyn combination as applied to claims 1, 2, 5 and 13-18 above, and further in view of Youn (KR 101946327 B1).
The Taylor-Dallyn combination teaches the invention with the exception of a gate and grate attachments.
Youn teaches an opening and closing valve for a sewer system with a lift gate [100] and a grate [500].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of the Taylor-Dallyn combination by adding the gate and grate as described by Youn by adding the lift gate to relieve hydrostatic pressure on the tube outlet valve and provide a mechanized/automated means for opening the barrier, and by adding the grate to prevent obstructions from damaging or getting lodged in the hole; thereby saving time/money and the potential need for costly repairs.
Conclusion
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619