Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the prior art rejection, applicant argues that “Gashi does not disclose that a clamping section (formed by the diffuser and the clamping ring) is provided which protrudes in the axial direction from the diffuser. Instead, it is clear from Figure 6 that the clamping section provided by the "bearing bracket" 30 for abutment against the thrust bearing washer protrudes in the radial direction.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, a three-dimensional element extends or protrudes in all three dimensions. Secondly, applicant has identified the wrong section in their annotated figure of Gashi. The clamping section is the section between the bearing washer and the diffuser. Note that the clamping section and the diffuser can be an integral one-piece element. In other words, they can be different sections of an element. Note that the claim recites “clamping section.” Also note that a part of an element can be interpreted to protrude from another part of that element.
Claim interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening element” in claim 2, “cooling element” in claim 1, “guide element” in claim 5, “aligning element” in claim 6.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “a clamping ring for fixing a thrust bearing to axially mount the impeller in a bearing receptacle, and an inner housing defining a bearing receptacle for receiving a mount” to “a clamping ring for fixing a thrust bearing to axially mount the impeller in a bearing receptacle, and an inner housing defining [[a]] the bearing receptacle for receiving a mount” to fix the antecedent basis issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “one of the at least one thrust bearing washer” to “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 lack a proper ending punctuation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gashi et al. (US 20190323511), referred to hereafter as Gashi.
With regard to claim 1, Gashi discloses a turbocompressor comprising: an impeller (8) rotatable about an axis of rotation for conveying a fluid (Fig. 4, 6), a diffuser (30) downstream of the impeller relative to a flow of the fluid, a clamping ring (30) for fixing a thrust bearing (24) to axially mount the impeller in a bearing receptacle (the receptacle in which the bearings are accommodated in Fig. 4), and an inner housing (26) defining a bearing receptacle for receiving a mount formed by the thrust bearing and/or a radial bearing (Fig. 4), wherein the diffuser and the clamping ring are formed integrally and in a single piece with each other as a unit (see 30 in Fig. 4), wherein the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring forms an end-face housing cover of the inner housing (Fig. 4), wherein the inner housing is also formed to receive an electric motor (12) driving the impeller and forms cooling elements (54) for cooling the electric motor (Fig. 4, [0036]), and wherein the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring is formed to direct the fluid conveyed by the impeller into and/or onto the cooling elements of the inner housing (Fig. 4), wherein the thrust bearing is an aerodynamic thrust bearing ([0031]) with at least one thrust bearing washer (Fig. 4), and wherein the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring forms a clamping section (the lower section of the diffuser) protruding in the axial direction from the diffuser for axially abutting one of the at least one thrust bearing washer (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 2, Gashi further discloses that the bearing receptacle includes a pot receiving the mount (Fig. 4), and wherein the housing cover formed by the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring is connectable to the pot by at least one fastening element (Fig. 4), and the mount is fixable in the pot by an axial clamping force generatable across the housing cover (Fig. 4. Note that based of the current claim language, such as fixable and generatable, the claim only requires the capability of such functions).
With regard to claim 3, Gashi further discloses that the clamping section has an annular projection extending peripherally in the circumferential direction (Fig. 4. Note that without reciting a plane of refence for “projection”, the projection can be any part of a three-dimensional element by virtue of projecting in the X, Y, and Z direction. In other words, claim 1 doesn’t recite what element exactly projects from what element or surface, which makes it broad).
With regard to claim 6, Gashi further discloses that the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring has at least one aligning element for concentric alignment with respect to the axis of rotation and/or for concentric alignment of the thrust bearing with respect to the axis of rotation and/or for concentric alignment of an inflow nozzle arranged on an inflow side of the impeller with respect to the axis of rotation (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 7, Gashi further discloses that the turbocompressor is a radial compressor or an axial compressor or a diagonal compressor (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gashi et al. (US 2019/0323511), referred to hereafter as Gashi in view of Meier et al. (US 2018/0245598), referred to hereafter as Meier.
With regard to claim 5:
Gashi discloses the turbocompressor of claim 1, as set forth above.
Gashi does not appear to explicitly disclose that the unit consisting of the diffuser and the clamping ring has a plurality of guide elements and/or cooling elements for cooling and pressure conversion of the fluid conveyed by the impeller.
However, Meier teaches a turbocompressor comprising a diffuser having a plurality of guide elements (161) and/or cooling elements for cooling and pressure conversion of the fluid conveyed by the impeller. Meier teaches that the guide elements help in preventing air turbulence ([0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add guide elements to the diffuser of Gashi, to yield predictable results of preventing air turbulence.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with regard to claim 4, the prior art doesn’t discloses that the annular projection is perforated by channels running in the radial direction for decoupling the flow, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, nor any motivation, to modify the prior arts for these deficiencies, because it would require improper hindsight reconstruction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar turbocompressors such as US 2023/0204037.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745