DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 7/13/2026. Claims 1-4 was amended. No claims were canceled. No claims were added. Likewise, claims 1-4 were pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAGUCHI (JP 2010180619) in view of MOTOYAMA et al. (JP 2015045123).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), YAMAGUCHI teaches a vehicle (Fig 1; Pg 2, bottom four paragraphs) electronic key system according to the present embodiment includes an in-vehicle unit mounted on a vehicle) comprising a first antenna (Pg 3, Paras. 1-5; first transmitter 102 as Antenna A),
a second antenna (Pg 3, Paras. 1-5; first transmitter 104, as Antenna B),
a third antenna (Pg 3, Paras. 1-5; first transmitter 106, as Antenna C),
a processor (Fig 1; ECU 112; also see Pg 3 Paras. 5-6) configured to determine whether an electronic key (Pg 3, Paras. 3-4; when the electronic key 200 has received all transmission request signals from the antennas A, B, and C, the search ECU 112 detects the position of electronic key 200) is located in a cabin (Pg 3, Paras. 3-4; when the electronic key 200 has received all transmission request signals from the antennas A, B, and C, the search ECU 112 detects the position of electronic key 200) (an electronic key detection area is formed in the signal reachable range of the vehicle interior transmitter and the vehicle interior transmitter. In this way, the electronic key carrier is monitored for approaching the vehicle, getting on the vehicle, and getting off the vehicle),
each of the first antenna, the second antenna, and the third antenna is configured to: transmit, to the electronic key, a request signal to request transmission of a response signal (Pg 2, last Para.; Antennas A, B, and C are connected to the first to third transmitters 102, 104, and 106, and each of the transmitters 102, 104, and 106 has a corresponding antenna A, B using radio waves as a medium. , C transmits a transmission request signal for searching for the electronic key 200. The antennas A, B, and C are installed at different positions on the roof of the vehicle, for example, and transmit transmission request signals toward the vehicle interior and the vehicle interior with the same transmission output, and
receive the response signal transmitted from the electronic key (ECU 112 detects the position of the electronic key 200, and according to the position of the electronic key 200. Perform various controls), and
the processor is configured to perform determination control (Pg 3, Para. 3; ECU 112 detects the position of the electronic key 200, and according to the position of the electronic key 200. Perform various controls) to:
determine whether each of the first antenna, the second antenna, and the third antenna receives the response signal transmitted from the electronic key (Pg 3, Para. 3; when the electronic key 200 has received all transmission request signals from the antennas A, B, and C, the search ECU 112 detects the position of the electronic key 200, and according to the position of the electronic key 200. Perform various controls. Therefore, in the present embodiment, the detectable area of the electronic key 200 is an area where the communication areas of the antennas A, B, and C overlap. As shown in FIG. 2, the detectable area of the electronic key 200 includes not only the interior of the vehicle but also the area around the vehicle outside the vehicle),
determine that the electronic key is located in the cabin in a case where both the first antenna and the second antenna receive the response signal from the electronic key (Pg. 3, Para 003; Per FIG. 2, the detectable area of the electronic key 200 includes not only the interior of the vehicle but also the area around the vehicle outside the vehicle)
determine that the electronic key is not located in the cabin in a case where either of the first antenna and the second antenna receives the response signal from the electronic key (Pg. 3, Para 003; Per FIG. 2, the detectable area of the electronic key 200 includes not only the interior of the vehicle but also the area around the vehicle outside the vehicle), and
determine that the electronic key is located in the cabin in a case where the third antenna receives the response signal from the electronic key, even if either of the first antenna and the second antenna receives the response signal from the electronic key (Pg. 3, Para 003; Per FIG. 2, the detectable area of the electronic key 200 includes not only the interior of the vehicle but also the area around the vehicle outside the vehicle).
YAMAGUCHI is silent on specifically using a left door in which the first antenna is located, and a right door in which the second antenna is located, wherein: the third antenna is located between the first antenna and the second antenna in a right- left direction of a body of the vehicle, and is located on a front side of the first antenna and the second antenna in a front-rear direction of the body. However, Yamaguchi does suggest in concept, that antennas A, B, and C are installed at different positions on the roof of the vehicle, for example, and transmit transmission request signals toward the vehicle interior and the vehicle exterior with the same transmission output. Also teaches that per Fig. 2, the communication areas of the antennas A, B, and C spread in a spherical shape with the antennas A, B, and C as the center. Since the installation positions of the antennas A, B, and C are different and transmit the transmission request signal with the same output, the communication areas of the antennas A, B, and C are also shifted from each other (Pgs. 2 last Para. through Pg 3 Paras. 1-3). Moreover, MOTOYAMA from an analogous art teaches the concept of using a left door in which the first antenna is located, and a right door in which the second antenna is located, wherein: the third antenna is located between the first antenna and the second antenna in a right- left direction of a body of the vehicle (See Fig 2 reception antenna 23), and is located on a rear front side of the first antenna and the second antenna in a front-rear direction of the body (¶020; A straight line connecting the right front transmission antenna 21 and the left front transmission antenna 22 is substantially disposed along the vehicle width direction, and the rear transmission antenna 23 is disposed at a position separated from the straight line to the rear side.. vehicle reception antenna 24 is disposed at an arbitrary position of the vehicle cabin 210… vehicle receiving antenna 24 may be provided at the center of the instrument panel 250). MOTOYAMA differs slightly from the claimed invention because the third antenna is located between the first antenna and the second antenna in a right- left direction of a vehicle body (See Fig 2 reception antenna 23) and is “NOT” located on a front side of the first antenna and the second antenna in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body. MOTOYAMA also differs because it’s arrangement uses a fourth antenna to determine that the electronic key is located in the cabin. However, MOTOYAMA expressly suggests that the invention is not limited to the embodiments described therein, and suggests that various modifications and changes are possible, and are also within the technical scope of the invention. For example, the configuration of the position detection device, the number of antennas, and the arrangement are not limited to the above-described embodiments, and can be changed as appropriate. In this case, at least three transmission antennas may be arranged so as not to be aligned. Further, the method of changing the antenna output is not particularly limited (¶036). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try using an arrangement with the third antenna being located on a front side (instead of the rear) of the first antenna and the second antenna in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body and for using a another/fourth antenna to determine that the electronic key is located in the cabin as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), YAMAGUCHI and MOTOYAMA in combination teach the vehicle according to claim 1, and YAMAGUCHI further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform the determination control in a case where a door of the vehicle is brought from an open state to a closed state (Pg. 2, Para 002; and a receiver that receives a response signal (response signal) from the electronic key. And an ECU that controls in-vehicle devices such as doors based on the result of transmission / reception with the electronic key).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), YAMAGUCHI and MOTOYAMA in combination teach the vehicle according to claim 1, and YAMAGUCHI further teaches comprising a drive request switch that is operated to output a start request to the processor, the start request being a request of starting a drive device of the vehicle (Pg 2, Para. 4; when the area where the electronic key is detected moves from the outside of the vehicle to the passenger compartment by the rider of the electronic key getting on the vehicle, the vehicle side unit controls the in-vehicle device based on the ID code verification result… Allow the engine to start), wherein: the processor is further configured to control the drive device, and the processor is further configured not to permit start of the drive device in a case where determination is made that the electronic key is not located in the cabin and the start request is made by operating drive request switch ( when the person who carries the electronic key gets off after stopping the engine of the vehicle, the area where the electronic key is detected moves from the passenger compartment to the outside of the passenger compartment, and to permit the start of the drive device in a case where determination is made that the electronic key is located in the cabin and the start request is made by operating the drive request switch (Pg 2, Para. 4; when the area where the electronic key is detected moves from the outside of the vehicle to the passenger compartment by the rider of the electronic key getting on the vehicle, the vehicle side unit controls the in-vehicle device based on the ID code verification result… Allow the engine to start).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAGUCHI (JP 2010180619) in view of MOTOYAMA et al. (JP 2015045123) further in view of Bergman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2008/0024304).
Regarding claim 4, YAMAGUCHI and MOTOYAMA in combination teach the vehicle according to claim 1, and MOTOYAMA infers the right door has window glass arranged in an up-down direction of the vehicle body and the left door has window glass arranged in an up-down direction of the vehicle body (see Fig 2); but YAMAGUCHI and MOTOYAMA are silent on the remaining features of claim 4.
Bergman from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein:
a first antenna is located between two window glasses of a right door in an up- down direction (Figs 1-3 & 6-7); and a second antenna is located between two window glasses of a left door in an up-down direction (Figs 1-3 & 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to try using an arrangement with a right door has two window glasses arranged in an up-down direction and a first antenna located between the two window glasses of the right door in the up- down direction and a left door has two window glasses arranged in an up-down direction and a second antenna located between two window glasses of a left door in the up- down direction, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-4 have been fully considered, but are moot because independent claims 1-4 were amended by Applicant to include new features that were never previously presented. Therefore, the scope of claims 1-4 and their dependent claims has changed. However, another prior art rejection is applied to reject these claims.
[End of Arguments].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685