DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on January 31st, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210044028 A1), herein referred to as Lee and further in view of Han et al. (US 20210151889 A1), herein referred to as Han.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an antenna module comprising: a dielectric substrate (200); a first ground electrode (201) and a second ground electrode (202) that are arranged at the dielectric substrate (200); a plurality of first antenna elements (see fig. 4a, the antenna element comprising 112a and 111a) that are arranged in a first direction (Y) at the dielectric substrate; and a second antenna element (antenna element comprising 112b) that is arranged at the dielectric substrate (200), wherein the plurality of first antenna elements face the first ground electrode (201) in a second direction (Z) that is different from the first direction (Y), wherein the second antenna element (112b) faces the second ground electrode (202) in the second direction (Z), wherein the second antenna element (112b) is arranged between first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 4A), among the plurality of first antenna elements, when seen from a third direction (X) that is orthogonal to the first direction (Y) and the second direction (Z), wherein each of the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other includes a first radiating element (112a) and a second radiating element (111a) that is arranged between the first radiating element (111a) and the first ground electrode (201), wherein the second antenna element includes a third radiating element (112b), wherein the first radiating element (112a), the second radiating element (111a), and the third radiating element (112b) each have a flat plate shape (See fig. 4a), wherein in the first direction (y), a size of the second radiating element (111a) is larger (See fig. 4a) than a size of the first radiating element (112a).
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein an opposing distance between the third radiating element and the second ground electrode is shorter than an opposing distance between the first radiating element and the first ground electrode.
However, Han discloses a similar antenna, and teaches, in para. 0061, that the intrinsic elements including spacing, are results effective variables that determine the bandwidth of the antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to make the antenna of Lee wherein an opposing distance between the third radiating element and the second ground electrode is shorter than an opposing distance between the first radiating element and the first ground electrode, in order to fine tune bandwidth.
Regarding claim 15, Lee and Han render obvious all limitations of base claim 1.
Lee also discloses wherein in the second direction (Z), the first ground electrode (201) and the second ground electrode (202) face each other (stacked in said direction), and wherein when seen from the third direction (X), an opposing distance between the second radiating element and the first ground electrode is equal to or more than an opposing distance between the second ground electrode and the first ground electrode (see fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 16, Lee and Han render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Lee also discloses wherein a plurality of second antenna elements (antenna elements comprising 112b) are arranged at the dielectric substrate, and wherein the first antenna elements (elements comprising 112a and 111a) that are adjacent to each other and the second antenna element that is arranged between the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other are arranged in an array in the first direction (Y) at the dielectric substrate (see fig. 4A).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Han and further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 20190089057 A1), herein referred to as Mitchell.
Regarding claim 17, Lee and Han render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Lee also discloses wherein a plurality of second antenna elements (elements comprising 112b) are arranged at the dielectric substrate.
Lee does not disclose wherein the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other and the second antenna element that is arranged between the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other are arranged in an array in the third direction at the dielectric substrate.
However, Mitchell discloses a similar antenna wherein the first and second antenna elements are arranged in a 2-dimensional array, such that the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other and the second antenna element that is arranged between the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other are arranged in an array in the third direction at the dielectric substrate (see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified antenna of Lee wherein the first and second antenna elements are arranged in a 2-dimensional array, such that the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other and the second antenna element that is arranged between the first antenna elements that are adjacent to each other are arranged in an array in the third direction at the dielectric substrate, as taught by Mitchell, to create a lower footprint (para. 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20060214869 A1.
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845