DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Rahaim et al. (Col. 5:29-46, Col. 7:1-7, Col. 8:39-42) appear to be directed to method of injecting the cooling fluid into the cyclonic separator not needing swirlers, swirler vanes, or deflectors to achieve the desired flow path which causes the particulate matter to move around the center body and allow for the particulate to exit from 112, and the clean air to move through the deswirler 166 to the clean air outlet 164 and does not expressly teach away from using additional features to achieve additional particulate separation and Rahaim et al. in Col. 5:56-6:22 discusses using continuously reducing and increasing cross-sections to achieve acceleration and deceleration of the airflow and therefore does not teach away from using additional undulations in the central body as taught by Atsuchi et al.
Regarding the argument that the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. do not teach or suggest, “the central body defines an internal channel in fluid communication with the first fluid outlet. The combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. as asserted by the Examiner includes modifying the central body of the Rahaim et al. with the teaching of Atsuchi et al. and thus creates a central body as claimed by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahaim et al. (US Patent 10,450,951 B2) in view of Atsuchi et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0078515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rahaim et al. discloses a gas turbine engine (10):
a compressor section (22);
a turbine section (32) downstream of the compressor section; and
a cyclonic separator (102) disposed between the compressor section and the turbine section (Fig. 2, Col.4:59-5:7; "FIG. 2 is a schematic view of a section of the engine 10 adjacent the junction between the combustor section 28 and the turbine section 32 of FIG. 1, showing a cyclonic separator 102 coupled to an inducer section 104"), the cyclonic separator defining an axial direction (Fig. 2) and a radial direction (Fig. 2), the cyclonic separator comprising:
a housing comprising a first end (see annotated Fig. 2 above), a second end (see annotated Fig. 2 above), and an outer wall (106) extending between the first end and the second end;
a central body (148) disposed in the housing and defining an annular chamber (108) with the
outer wall;
an inlet (110) disposed at the first end of the housing and in fluid communication with the annular chamber and the compressor section;
a first fluid outlet (114) disposed at the second end of the housing and in fluid communication with the turbine section;
a second fluid outlet (112) disposed in the outer wall downstream of the first end of the housing, the second fluid outlet extending outward at least partially in the radial direction relative to the outer wall (Fig. 2);
However, Rahaim et al. does not disclose, "a fluid deflector disposed on the central body between the first end of the housing and the second end of the housing, the fluid deflector extending outward in the radial direction and rearward in the axial direction into the annular chamber toward the outer wall."
Atsuchi et al. teaches, in the field of particle separators, a particle separator with a fluid deflector (1202, "separator body" with several crests 1208 and valleys 1210, Fig. 13) around a central core flow (1126, Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the central portion of the cyclonic separator of Rahaim et al. with the separator body (with
several crests 1208 and valleys 1210) and central core flow of Atsuchi et al., as both references are in
the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, "These undulations can
control a primary fluid velocity of the fluid and re-attachment points of the fluid. For example, the crests 1208 can accelerate the fluid and where different flow paths of the fluid re-combine after separating at the upstream edges 1218. Both this acceleration and re-combination of flow paths can increase the efficiency at which particles are separated from the fluid. For example, without the undulations, fewer particles may be separated from the fluid ([0074])." and "The unfiltered or non-diverted portion 1226 of the fluid 1222 can be directed into the combustor or combustor section 106 of the turbomachine 100 for combustion, or can be directed to another location for another purpose [0076]."
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above, wherein the fluid deflector includes an upstream surface (Atsuchi et al., indicated by the
deflectors themselves 1202), the upstream surface extending outward in the radial direction and
rearward in the axial direction (Atsuchi et al., Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above, wherein the central body defines an internal channel (Atsuchi et al., Fig. 13 shows an internal
channel which would be in fluid communication with the first fluid outlet of Rahaim et al.) in fluid
communication with the first fluid outlet.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above, wherein the turbine section comprises a turbine (Rahaim et al., 34) having a cooling passage
(Rahaim et al., 98), and wherein the first fluid outlet disposed at the second end of the housing is fluidly connected to the cooling passage of the turbine (Rahaim et al., Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 1 as
above, further comprising a cooling circuit (Rahaim et al., 98) fluidly connecting the compressor section
to the turbine section (Rahaim et al.; Fig. 2, see the source from 20, 24, 26 to the turbine 34), wherein
the cooling circuit comprises the cyclonic separator (Rahaim et al., Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Rahaim et al. discloses a cyclonic separator (102) for a turbine (34) cooling
flow (98), the cyclonic separator defining a centerline (Fig. 4, Fig. 6, 48), an axial direction (see annotated Fig. 2 above), and a radial direction (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the cyclonic separator comprising:
a housing comprising a first end (see annotated Fig. 2 above), a second end (see annotated Fig. 2
above), and an outer wall (106) extending between the first end and the second end;
a central body (148) disposed in the housing and defining an annular chamber (108) with the
outer wall;
an inlet (110) disposed at the first end of the housing and in fluid communication with the
annular chamber and the compressor section;
a first fluid outlet (114) disposed at the second end of the housing and in fluid communication
with the turbine section;
a second fluid outlet (112) disposed in the outer wall downstream of the first end of the
housing, the second fluid outlet extending outward at least partially in the radial direction relative to the outer wall (Fig. 2);
However, Rahaim et al. does not disclose, "a fluid deflector disposed on the central body
between the first end of the housing and the second end of the housing, the fluid deflector extending
outward in the radial direction and rearward in the axial direction into the annular chamber toward the
outer wall."
Atsuchi et al. teaches, in the field of particle separators, a particle separator with a fluid
deflector (1202, "separator body" with several crests 1208 and valleys 1210, Fig. 13) around a central
core flow (1126, Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to
modify the central portion of the cyclonic separator of Rahaim et al. with the separator body (with
several crests 1208 and valleys 1210) and central core flow of Atsuchi et al., as both references are in
the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, "These undulations can
control a primary fluid velocity of the fluid and re-attachment points of the fluid. For example, the crests 1208 can accelerate the fluid and where different flow paths of the fluid re-combine after separating at the upstream edges 1218. Both this acceleration and re-combination of flow paths can increase the efficiency at which particles are separated from the fluid. For example, without the undulations, fewer particles may be separated from the fluid ([0074])." and "The unfiltered or non-diverted portion 1226 of the fluid 1222 can be directed into the combustor or combustor section 106 of the turbomachine 100 for combustion, or can be directed to another location for another purpose [0076]."
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as above, wherein the fluid deflector includes an upstream surface (Atsuchi et al., indicated by the deflectors themselves 1202), the upstream surface extending outward in the radial direction and rearward in the axial direction (Atsuchi et al., Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as
above, wherein the central body defines an internal channel (Atsuchi et al., Fig. 13 shows an internal
channel which would be in fluid communication with the first fluid outlet of Rahaim et al.) in fluid
communication with the first fluid outlet.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 15 as
above, wherein the central body defines a vent (Atsuchi et al., 1214) in fluid communication with the
internal channel.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as
above, wherein the inlet has a bend (Rahaim et al., 150) arranged to swirl air (Rahaim et al., Fig. 6)
around the central body.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as
above, wherein the fluid deflector extends for the second fluid outlet (the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. would provide for the fluid deflector, from Atsuchi et al., extending down the axis of the central body toward the second fluid outlet of Rahaim et al.).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as
above, wherein the second fluid outlet defines an outlet passage (Rahaim et al.; Fig. 3, 112) in fluid
communication with an exit flow (Rahaim et al., 98).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Rahaim et al. and Atsuchi et al. teach all of claim 7 as
above, wherein the fluid deflector is arranged to direct air moving in the axial direction outward in the
radial direction toward the second fluid outlet (Atsuchi et al., 1224 "clean air" which corresponds with
the second fluid outlet of Rahaim et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Claim 21 includes subject matter indicated allowable in the Non-Final Rejection dated 02/19/2026 (see Pages 9-10).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN C CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3745