Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on July 7th, 2026, claims 1, 3 and 13 have been amended, claims 2 and 14 have been cancelled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1, 3-13, 15 and 16 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrive (GB 2522866 A) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20170010672 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Shrive teaches a control device for a vibrator of a haptic sensation presentation device comprising: a storage device; and a processor, wherein the storage device is configured to store a plurality of vibration modes of the vibrator that present haptic sensations for rehabilitation(Page 6, lines 21-30; Page 11, lines 20-29)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, ln 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
Shrive also teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform: a process of driving the vibrator in the plurality of vibration modes to output the haptic sensations in at least two vibration modes among the plurality of vibration modes, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes (Page 11, lines, 1-10, 20-29; Page 12, lines 13-23)
In addition. (the guidance system may he further provided with a command module by setting a series of pre-planned movement and/or manoeuvre commands. Such commands are relayed to the wireless communication module of the receiver, which are then passed to (the controller for energising one or more vibrators to provide directional or movement commands to the user. This is particularly useful in an artistic group performance setting where seamless and flawless synchronisation of different performers can be achieved by providing discreet directional prompt to the performers through the haptic-guidance wearable accessory. For example. the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs.[Pg 11, lns 1-10]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
Here, we see Shrive teaches a plurality of vibrator devices operating in at least two modes of vibrations, wherein a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes, i.e. operating in one mode where the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs; another mode being the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.
Furthermore, Shrive teaches the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the rehabilitation of a user achieved when the vibrator is driven in the respective vibration modes in the process, and a mode selection process of selecting a specific mode, which is a specific vibration mode from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process.(Page 6, lines 21-20;Page 11, lines 20-29)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, lns 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lns 20-29]
Here, we see Shrive’s teaching disclose the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the rehabilitation of a user achieved when the vibrator is driven in the respective vibration modes in the preliminary drive process, i.e. the vibrators indicating whether or not the user’s predefined performance goals are met, thereby activating the vibrators according to the real-time measured parameters with respect to the stored expectation
Furthermore, a mode selection process of selecting a specific mode, which is a specific vibration mode from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, i.e. a user interface that allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preference; wherein the user preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.
Despite not explicitly mentioning a preliminary drive process, by disclosing Shrive teaches a plurality of vibrator devices operating in at least two modes of vibrations, wherein a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes, i.e. operating in one mode where the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs; another mode being the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that by definition, the preliminary drive process is taught in Shrive’s disclosure.
Shrive is silent to the teaching of the further specified limitations of for each of the at least two vibration modes in which the preliminary drive process outputs haptic sensations, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters in response to the output haptic sensation in for the respective vibration mode[[s]], wherein the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the output haptic sensation for rehabilitation of a user a mode selection process of selecting specific vibration mode from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, and a main drive process of driving the vibrator in the specific mode selected in the mode selection process.
Tanaka on the other hand teaches for each of the at least two vibration modes in which the preliminary drive process outputs haptic sensations, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters in response to the output haptic sensation in for the respective vibration mode[[s]], wherein the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the output haptic sensation for rehabilitation of a user (Paragraphs 55, 59, 79)
Once the device recognizes the presence of a user in a vehicle through sensor input, it can adopt a vehicle mode where the feedback signal of the wearable device (e.g., vibration) becomes stronger so that the user can more easily notice the vibration, for example. In one embodiment, the wearable device can be configured as a wrist band type device that has an anti-sleep function. By using a GPS signal together with the motion information of the wrist band type, the wearable device can notice that the user's driving direction have strayed from the center. In that case, the strength of the haptic feedback is set at the maximum level.[P-55]
Another embodiment of the device uses the sensor information from several different sources to determine the travelling status of the user. In this example, the wearable device is provided preliminary information about the car such as whether it is an electric car, a hybrid car or a regular gasoline car alone so that the sensed vibration pattern can be correlated and assessed. The travel status of the user can be determined with a combination of a vibration pattern from the wheel, a GSP signal, speed information (accelerometer) or exchanged information between the wearable device and the car via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or some other type of communications link. Once the wearable device determines that the user is not driving, the mode of the wearable device can change from its car mode (e.g., alerting via car audio and/or a strong vibration) to the regular mode (e.g., alerting by sound and/or a vibration of the regular strength).[P-59}
A computer implemented method for monitoring wearable sensors with customizable feedback, the method comprising: (a) identifying available haptic outputs of a wearable sensor device; (b) designating an output for possible sensor results for each sensor of a wearable sensor device; (c) acquiring sensor data from at least one sensor while being worn by a user; (d) matching the acquired sensor data with possible sensor results; and (e) performing the designated output for matching sensor data; (f) wherein the method is performed by executing programming on at least one computer processor, the programming residing on a non-transitory medium readable by the computer processor.[P-79]
In Tanaka’s case, a first vibration modes is conducted in a preliminary drive process, which is the preset condition of the detected presence of a user in a vehicle, The drive process then outputs haptic sensations via a first vibration mode (to ensure the driver is not drowsy), to which a plurality of effect parameters are acquired in response to the haptic sensations, such as location (via GPS signal) together with the motion information(via gyroscope/accelerometer) of the wrist band type, the wearable device can notice that the user's driving direction have strayed from the center. There after setting the mode to drive the vibration, i.e. the strength of the haptic feedback is set at the maximum level based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, and a main drive process of driving the vibrator in the specific mode selected. Furthermore, Tanaka teaches a second vibration mode, wherein the preliminary drive process, is a preset condition to determine the user is not in a car mode, thereby producing haptic/vibratory outputs in a regular vibratory mode. Thereby using sensor to acquire parameter feedback to determine and select whether to transition the second mode from a strong vibration to a regular strength vibration, i.e. the wearable device determines that the user is not driving, the mode of the wearable device can change from its car mode (e.g., alerting via car audio and/or a strong vibration) to the regular mode (e.g., alerting by sound and/or a vibration of the regular strength).
As a result, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the said invention to combine Tanaka’s teaching with Shrive’s teaching in order to enable an more robust and optimized way of alerting and correcting a user during their day to day tasks.
In regards to claim 11, Shrive modified teaches each of the effect parameters indicates an activation level of a specific part of the body of the user (i.e. heart).(Page 12, lines 13-23, Shrive)
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
In regards to claim 12, Shrive modified teaches in the mode selection process, the processor is configured to select one of the vibration modes with which an effect parameter indicating a highest activation level is obtained. (Page 12, lines 13-23, Shrive)
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
Here, the highest level indication is the specific vibrator located in an area indicative of the obtained parameter, i.e. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energized.
In regards to claim 13, Shrive teaches a haptic sensation presentation device comprising: a vibrator; and a control device comprising a storage device and a processor, and configured to control the vibrator, wherein the storage device is configured to store a plurality of vibration modes of the vibrator that present haptic sensations output for rehabilitation(Page 6, lines 21-30; Page 11, lines 20-29)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, ln 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
Shrive then teaches the processor is configured to perform: a process of driving the vibrator in the plurality of vibration modes to output the haptic sensations in at least two vibration modes among the plurality of vibration modes, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes (Page 11, lines, 1-10, 20-29; Page 12, lines 13-23)
In addition. (the guidance system may he further provided with a command module by setting a series of pre-planned movement and/or manoeuvre commands. Such commands are relayed to the wireless communication module of the receiver, which are then passed to (the controller for energising one or more vibrators to provide directional or movement commands to the user. This is particularly useful in an artistic group performance setting where seamless and flawless synchronisation of different performers can be achieved by providing discreet directional prompt to the performers through the haptic-guidance wearable accessory. For example. the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs.[Pg 11, lns 1-10]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
Here, we see Shrive teaches a plurality of vibrator devices operating in at least two modes of vibrations, wherein a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes, i.e. operating in one mode where the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs; another mode being the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.
Shrive then teaches the plurality of effect parameters indicate the effectiveness of the rehabilitation on the user achieved when the vibrator is driven in the respective vibration modes in the process, and a mode selection process of selecting a specific mode, which is a specific vibration mode, from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process.(Page 6, lines 21-20;Page 11, lines 20-29)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, lns 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lns 20-29]
Here, we see Shrive’s teaching disclose the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the rehabilitation of a user achieved when the vibrator is driven in the respective vibration modes in the preliminary drive process, i.e. the vibrators indicating whether or not the user’s predefined performance goals are met, thereby activating the vibrators according to the real-time measured parameters with respect to the stored expectation
Furthermore, a mode selection process of selecting a specific mode, which is a specific vibration mode from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, i.e. a user interface that allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preference; wherein the user preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.
Despite not explicitly mentioning a preliminary drive process, by disclosing Shrive teaches a plurality of vibrator devices operating in at least two modes of vibrations, wherein a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters for the respective vibration modes, i.e. operating in one mode where the vibrators can be re-calibrated such that vibration of one or more vibrators represents which direction and when the user should raise his or her limbs; another mode being the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that by definition, the preliminary drive process is taught in Shrive’s disclosure.
Shrive is silent to the teaching of the further specified limitations of for each of the at least two vibration modes in which the preliminary drive process outputs haptic sensations, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters in response to the output haptic sensation in for the respective vibration mode[[s]], wherein the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the output haptic sensation for rehabilitation of a user a mode selection process of selecting specific vibration mode from among the plurality of vibration modes based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, and a main drive process of driving the vibrator in the specific mode selected in the mode selection process.
Tanaka on the other hand teaches for each of the at least two vibration modes in which the preliminary drive process outputs haptic sensations, a parameter acquisition process of obtaining a plurality of effect parameters in response to the output haptic sensation in for the respective vibration mode[[s]], wherein the plurality of effect parameters indicate an effectiveness of the output haptic sensation for rehabilitation of a user (Paragraphs 55, 59, 79)
Once the device recognizes the presence of a user in a vehicle through sensor input, it can adopt a vehicle mode where the feedback signal of the wearable device (e.g., vibration) becomes stronger so that the user can more easily notice the vibration, for example. In one embodiment, the wearable device can be configured as a wrist band type device that has an anti-sleep function. By using a GPS signal together with the motion information of the wrist band type, the wearable device can notice that the user's driving direction have strayed from the center. In that case, the strength of the haptic feedback is set at the maximum level.[P-55]
Another embodiment of the device uses the sensor information from several different sources to determine the travelling status of the user. In this example, the wearable device is provided preliminary information about the car such as whether it is an electric car, a hybrid car or a regular gasoline car alone so that the sensed vibration pattern can be correlated and assessed. The travel status of the user can be determined with a combination of a vibration pattern from the wheel, a GSP signal, speed information (accelerometer) or exchanged information between the wearable device and the car via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or some other type of communications link. Once the wearable device determines that the user is not driving, the mode of the wearable device can change from its car mode (e.g., alerting via car audio and/or a strong vibration) to the regular mode (e.g., alerting by sound and/or a vibration of the regular strength).[P-59}
A computer implemented method for monitoring wearable sensors with customizable feedback, the method comprising: (a) identifying available haptic outputs of a wearable sensor device; (b) designating an output for possible sensor results for each sensor of a wearable sensor device; (c) acquiring sensor data from at least one sensor while being worn by a user; (d) matching the acquired sensor data with possible sensor results; and (e) performing the designated output for matching sensor data; (f) wherein the method is performed by executing programming on at least one computer processor, the programming residing on a non-transitory medium readable by the computer processor.[P-79]
In Tanaka’s case, a first vibration modes is conducted in a preliminary drive process, which is the preset condition of the detected presence of a user in a vehicle, The drive process then outputs haptic sensations via a first vibration mode (to ensure the driver is not drowsy), to which a plurality of effect parameters are acquired in response to the haptic sensations, such as location (via GPS signal) together with the motion information(via gyroscope/accelerometer) of the wrist band type, the wearable device can notice that the user's driving direction have strayed from the center. There after setting the mode to drive the vibration, i.e. the strength of the haptic feedback is set at the maximum level based on the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process, and a main drive process of driving the vibrator in the specific mode selected. Furthermore, Tanaka teaches a second vibration mode, wherein the preliminary drive process, is a preset condition to determine the user is not in a car mode, thereby producing haptic/vibratory outputs in a regular vibratory mode. Thereby using sensor to acquire parameter feedback to determine and select whether to transition the second mode from a strong vibration to a regular strength vibration, i.e. the wearable device determines that the user is not driving, the mode of the wearable device can change from its car mode (e.g., alerting via car audio and/or a strong vibration) to the regular mode (e.g., alerting by sound and/or a vibration of the regular strength).
As a result, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the filing date of the said invention to combine Tanaka’s teaching with Shrive’s teaching in order to enable an more robust and optimized way of alerting and correcting a user during their day to day tasks.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrive (GB 2522866 A) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20170010672 A1) as applied above in claim 1, in further view of Notsu et al. (CN 207996294 U).
In regards to claim 3, Shrive fails to teach a period for performing the preliminary drive process in the vibration mode selected as the specific mode is shorter than a period for performing the main drive process.
Notsu on the other hand teaches a period for performing the preliminary drive process in the vibration mode selected as the specific mode is shorter than a period for performing the main drive process.(Page 7, Paragraph 5)
Therefore, massage mode setting 1 is rhythm of music faster massaging action speed of 5 or faster, the rhythm of the music is slow action speed of massage 5 also becomes slow. Here, as the change of the movement speed of the massaging part 5, instantiating the lifting speed of the massage unit 9. However, the massaging unit 9 of other actions or other actions 5 of massaging is also set to be the same. That is, preferably set to music rhythm is faster the massaging unit 9 of kneading or beating speed is quicker, the rhythm of the music is faster shorter switching intervals of 10 expansion and contraction of the air bag, the tempo of the music is faster vibrator vibration speed of 11 or faster.[Pg 7, P-5]
Here, we see Notsu teaching different operating periods for different vibrating modes such as kneading or beating as opposed to a different mode being faster in shorter intervals of time. Thereby if applicable with Shrive’s teaching enabling the configuration of altering different time periods for different modes. Therefore it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Ntosu’s teaching with Shrive’s teaching in order to more effectively provide and distinguish different vibrotactile modes of physiotherapy.
Claim(s) 4-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrive (GB 2522866 A) in view of Lisy et al. (US 10874346 B1).
In regards to claim 4, Shrive fails to teach each of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher.
Lisy on the other hand teaches each of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher.(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Here, we see Lisy teach of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher, such as a specific area of the brain being activated, such that the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optically monitoring blood hemoglobin levels via the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients. Thereby, obviously enabling the monitoring of various levels of the hemoglobin relative to the specific brain areas.
As a result, it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Lisy’s teaching with Shrive’s teaching to enable more accurate and specific physiological monitoring of a patient.
In regards to claim 5, Shrive modified via Lisy teaches each of the effect parameters indicates a most activated region among activated regions of the brain (Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10, Lisy)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
By Lisy teaching a specific area of the brain being activated, such that the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optically monitoring blood hemoglobin levels via the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients., One of ordinary in the art may further obviously optically monitor other activated areas of the brain such that the most visible areas are visible in the optical monitoring presentation.
In regards to claim 6, Shrive modified via Lisy teaches the processor is further configured to perform an acquisition process of obtaining information indicating a target part of the body of the user(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10, Lisy)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Here we see the acquisition/obtaining indicating the target part of the body of the user, in this case hemoglobin levels
in the mode selection process, the processor is configured to select the specific mode with which the activated region is located within a predetermined distance from a region that is among the plurality of regions of the brain of the user and is activated when the target part is moved, i.e. the mode of selection activates a means to optically monitor the region around which the activated brain is from other regions of the brain through monitoring the hemoglobin within that said region.
In regards to claim 7, Shrive modified via Lisy teaches the mode selection process, the processor is configured to select a vibration mode with which the activated region becomes closest to the region and is activated when the target part is moved(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10; Column 44, lines 50-Column 45, line 8, Lisy)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Haptic technology provides tactile feedback that stimulates the sense of touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions. Haptic actuators include vibrators, as are common in cell phones and video game controllers, and actuators that suppress motion, as by locking joints or pressing against limbs. A simple vibrator is made with an eccentric rotating mass (ERM), which involves a mass spun by a motor on an axis off its center of mass. Different effects (and thus different distinguishable signals to the user) can be created by pulsing the spins with different durations, pulse frequencies, and/or duty cycles, and/or by altering the spin speed. More advanced vibrators use linear resonant actuators (LRAs), which vibrate a magnet attached to a spring and surrounded by a coil when current is applied, or piezo beams or disks, which deform on the application of current. Different effects (and distinguishable signals) can be achieved with these actuators as with ERMs. The present invention further envisions haptic actuators that function by pressing or vibrating against pressure points, for example, by pressing against or massaging one or more temples of the head to automatedly relieve maladies such as migraine headaches, nausea, and seasickness upon detection of such a malady or upon being informed of such a malady. These haptic actuators may be incorporated in the eyewear or other headgear of the present invention.[Col 44, ln 50- Col 45, ln 8]
Here, we see Lisy’ teaching disclose the activation of vibration activated in regions of the brain activated such as vibrating against pressure points, for example, by pressing against or massaging one or more temples of the head to automatedly relieve maladies such as migraine headaches, nausea, and seasickness upon detection of such a malady or upon being informed of such a malady
In regards to claim 8, Shrive via Lisy teaches the processor is further configured to perform an acquisition process of obtaining information indicating a target part of the body of the user; and wherein when the plurality of effect parameters are obtained in each of the vibration modes in the parameter acquisition process, the processor is configured to select, in the mode selection process, the specific mode with which one of the plurality of activated regions is located within a predetermined distance from a region that is among the plurality of regions of the brain of the user and is activated when the target part is moved(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10; Column 44, lines 50-Column 45, line 8, Lisy)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Haptic technology provides tactile feedback that stimulates the sense of touch by applying forces, vibrations, or motions. Haptic actuators include vibrators, as are common in cell phones and video game controllers, and actuators that suppress motion, as by locking joints or pressing against limbs. A simple vibrator is made with an eccentric rotating mass (ERM), which involves a mass spun by a motor on an axis off its center of mass. Different effects (and thus different distinguishable signals to the user) can be created by pulsing the spins with different durations, pulse frequencies, and/or duty cycles, and/or by altering the spin speed. More advanced vibrators use linear resonant actuators (LRAs), which vibrate a magnet attached to a spring and surrounded by a coil when current is applied, or piezo beams or disks, which deform on the application of current. Different effects (and distinguishable signals) can be achieved with these actuators as with ERMs. The present invention further envisions haptic actuators that function by pressing or vibrating against pressure points, for example, by pressing against or massaging one or more temples of the head to automatedly relieve maladies such as migraine headaches, nausea, and seasickness upon detection of such a malady or upon being informed of such a malady. These haptic actuators may be incorporated in the eyewear or other headgear of the present invention.[Col 44, ln 50- Col 45, ln 8]
Here, we see Lisy teach the processor is further configured to perform an acquisition process of obtaining information indicating a target part of the body of the user, such as indications of migraines, nausea and seasickness; to which ich vibrations modes targeting specific parts of the brain, such as vibrating pressure points on the temple are actuated, the vibrators are located within a predetermined distance from the region of the brain (temple), activated to stimulate/move the said area in order to affect the measured parameters (physiological ailments).
In regards to claim 9, Shrive modified teaches multiple effect parameters are obtained in each of the vibration modes in the parameter acquisition process(Page 12, lines 13-23, Shrive)
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
Furthermore, Shrive teaches the processor is configured to select, in the mode selection process, the specific mode with which the plurality of effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined value. (Page 6, lines 21-30; Page 11, lines 20-29, Shrive)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, ln 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
In regards to claim 10, Shrive modified teaches when the plurality of effect parameters are obtained in each of the vibration modes in the parameter acquisition process, the processor is configured to select, in the mode selection process(Page 6, lines 21-30; Page 11, lines 20-29; Page 12, lines 13-23, Shrive)
The embodiment illustrated in Figure 1 further includes a user interface 44 that is accessible directly on the haptic-guidance wearable accessory 10. The user interface 44 is hard wired to the controller 22 which allows the user to input or adjust parameters of the controller 22 and to select certain user preferences. Data storage means 46. such as a data storage module, is provided on board the accessory 10 for storing such preferences. User preferences include parameters such as the preferred amplitude of the vibration, and how far in advance should the vibrators 14 start to provide haptic guidance prompts to the user prior to a guidance output. An adjustment means, such as an adjustment module or a potentiometer. is provided to adjust each parameter, such as the amplitude of the vibration.[Pg 6, ln 21-30]
The haptic-guidance wearable accessory may further comprise a user sensing and monitoring means, such as a user sensing and monitoring module for monitoring the user's physiological data, such as heart rate, blood pressure or body temperature. and activity data, such as a speed of travel or timing of movements, in real time. A set of pre-defined parameters, entered and saved in the data storage device, is used to compare with the data collected in real time. If the monitored data is outside the pre-defined parameters, an alert signal is sent to the receiver. The signal is relayed to the controller for energising one or more of the vibrators based on the alert signal received, to provide a haptic prompt to the user that his or her physiological or activity data is outside the pre-defined parameters.[Pg 11, lines 20-29]
If the user's speed is or is substantially the same as the speed set by the pre-defined parameters, then the one or more vibrators lateral to the user may he energised to indicate to the user that he or she is on track. Alternatively, the vibrators lateral to the user may be used to signal one or more physiological data, such as the user's heart rate and/or blood pressure. If the user's heart rate is below the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, then the most posterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. If the user's heart rate is above the rate set by the pre-defined parameter, the most anterior of the lateral vibrators on the right hand side of the user may be energised. The lateral vibrators on the left hand side of the user may then he used to provide signals relating to the user's blood pressure, in a similar manner.[Pg 12, ln 13-23]
Thereby, the specific mode with which the number of the effect parameters obtained in the parameter acquisition process becomes largest/emphasized, in Shrive’s example, the obtained parameter emphasized is the users heart rate.
In regards to claim 16, Shrive modified via Lisy teaches the processor is further configured to perform an acquisition process of obtaining information indicating a target part of the body of the user(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10, Lisy)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Here we see the acquisition/obtaining indicating the target part of the body of the user, in this case hemoglobin levels
in the mode selection process, the processor is configured to select the specific mode with which the activated region is located within a predetermined distance from a region that is among the plurality of regions of the brain of the user and is activated when the target part is moved, i.e. the mode of selection activates a means to optically monitor the region around which the activated brain is from other regions of the brain through monitoring the hemoglobin within that said region.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrive (GB 2522866 A) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20170010672 A1) and Notsu et al. (CN 207996294 U) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lisy et al. (US 10874346 B1).
In regards to claim 15, Shrive modified fails to teach each of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher.
Lisy on the other hand teaches each of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher.(Column 26, line 65-Column 27, line 10)
Near-infrared (NIR) sensors may be included in many embodiments of the present invention. An example of an application for near-infrared measurements is for pulse oximetry and measurement of blood oxygen concentration. The primary application of NIRS to the human body uses the fact that the transmission and absorption of NIR light in human body tissues contains information about hemoglobin concentration changes. When a specific area of the brain is activated, the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optical imaging can measure the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients [Col 26, ln 65-Col 27, ln 10]
Here, we see Lisy teach of the effect parameters indicates an activated region that is among a plurality of regions of a brain of the user and is activated to a predetermined level or higher, such as a specific area of the brain being activated, such that the localized blood volume in that area changes quickly. Optically monitoring blood hemoglobin levels via the location and activity of specific regions of the brain by continuously monitoring blood hemoglobin levels through the determination of optical absorption coefficients. Thereby, obviously enabling the monitoring of various levels of the hemoglobin relative to the specific rain areas.
As a result, it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Lisy’s teaching with Shrive modified’s teaching to enable more accurate and specific physiological monitoring of a patient.
Response to Arguments
The applicant integrated limitations of previous claim 2 and claim 14 into independent claims 1 and 13, and further narrowing the scope of the invention by further explaining the preliminary drive process with the two vibratory modes as well as the correlation with the output haptic sensations and the feedback haptic sensations. The examiner has addressed the limitations under new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686