DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,257,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘442 patent claim a system comprising a user inter-race device configured to initiate an information exchange session between the patient and a software-based virtual agent (SVA) regarding patient neurological status or feedback to the neuromodulation therapy, and generate a control signal to the neuromodulation device to deliver or adjust the neuromodulation therapy in accordance with the determined device setting. The ‘442 patent is further limiting by positively reciting the transceiver circuit. Therefore, the claims of the ‘442 patent anticipates the claims of the present application.
Claim 1 of present application
Claim 1 of Patent ‘442
A medical-device system, comprising:
a neuromodulation device configured to provide a neuromodulation therapy to a neural target of a patient; and
a user-interface device configured to:
initiate an information exchange session between the patient and a software-based virtual agent (SVA) regarding patient neurological status or feedback to the neuromodulation therapy;
in response to a trigger event or a request by the patient or the SVA, prompt a human assistant, other than the patient, to join an ongoing information exchange session between the patient and the SVA;
determine a device setting for the neuromodulation device based on information exchanged among the patient, the SVA, and the human assistant;
and generate a control signal to the neuromodulation device to deliver or adjust the neuromodulation therapy in accordance with the determined device setting.
A system for computer-assisted programming of a neuromodulation device for pain management in a patient, the system comprising:
a programming aid device operable by the patient, comprising:
a user interface;
a transceiver circuit configured to receive, from one or more of a software-based virtual agent (SVA) or a human assistant other than the patient, information about pain management for the patient; and a controller circuit configured to:
initiate and manage an information exchange session between the patient and the SVA, via the user interface, regarding pain or paresthesia perception and pain management of the patient;
in response to a trigger event detected by the programming aid device, generate an alert to invite the human assistant to join the information exchange session while it is going on;
based on the information exchange among the patient, the SVA, and the human assistant, determine a stimulation setting for the neuromodulation device;
and generate a therapy control signal to the neuromodulation device to initiate delivery of neuromodulation energy to the patient in accordance with the determined stimulation setting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 6, 10, 13 – 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozloski et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0358457 – previously cited) in view of Pless et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0203111 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 13, and 15, Kozloski discloses a system and method, , for computer- assisted programming of a neuromodulation device for pain management in a patient, comprising: a programming aid device operable by the patient, comprising: a user interface (e.g. 610); and a controller circuit configured to: initiate and manage an information exchange session between the patient and one or more of the SVA or the human assistant, via the user interface, regarding pain or paresthesia perception and pain management of the patient (e.g. para 83); based on the information exchange, determine a stimulation setting for the neuromodulation device (e.g. ¶ 87); and generate a therapy control signal to the neuromodulation device to initiate delivery of neuromodulation energy to the patient in accordance with the determined stimulation setting (e.g. para 87). Kozloski fails to teach in response to a trigger event detected by the programming aid device, generate an alert to invite the human assistant to join the information exchange session.
Pless teaches it is known to, in response to a trigger event detected by a programming aide device, generate an alert to invite a human assistant to join an information exchange session (e.g. paras 131 and 136). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device as taught by Kozloski with the alert to invite a human assistant as taught by Pless, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of alerting a physician to communicate with the patient when necessary in order to better treat the patient.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kozloski discloses providing the therapy via one or more electrodes operably positioned at a spinal or brain target (e.g. ¶ 5)
Regarding, claims 6 and 16, Kozloski discloses the controller circuit is configured to generate an alert to invite the human assistant to join the information exchange session responsive to a request by the patient or the SVA (e.g. ¶ 125) and the trigger even includes an identification of a new pain or paresthesia site; a new stimulation setting suggested by the SVA; a frequent reprogramming of therapy exceeding a threshold; or an outlier event during programming of therapy (e.g. ¶ 83).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Kozloski discloses the information exchange session includes messages about identifying one or more stimulation sites to apply the neuromodulation energy or modified neuromodulation energy, and wherein the controller circuit is configured to determine the stimulation setting based on the identified one or more stimulation sites; and/or wherein the controller circuit is configured to determine the stimulation setting based on suggested stimulation setting; and/or wherein the controller circuit is configured to determine the stimulation setting based on the confirmation, override, or modification of the stimulation setting (e.g. ¶ 65).
Claim(s) 2, 7 – 9, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozloski et al. in view of Pless et al, and further in view of Davis et al. (US PGPUB 2011/0270358).
Regarding claims 2, 7 – 9, 11, 12, 17, 18, and 20, Kozloski in view of Pless discloses the information exchange session includes messages about pain or paresthesia perception of the patient including identifying one or more pain or paresthesia sites (e.g. ¶ 83 and 109), but fails to explicitly teach that the controller circuit is configured to generate a pain or paresthesia map based on the identified one or more pain or paresthesia sites.
Davis teaches it is known to use pain or paresthesia maps on an interface in a pain management stimulation system (e.g. ¶ 83 and 129). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the invention as taught by Kozloski with the pain mapping as taught by Davis, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing for better optimization of stimulation parameters in order to better treat pain.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792