DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In the amendment filed on June 30, 2026, claim 11 has been canceled, claims 1, 3-5, 7, 12-15, 18 and 19 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-10 and 12-20 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 12-14 depend from the canceled claim 11. For the purpose of the examination, the examiner will assume that claims 12-14 depend from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Examiner interprets Claim 5 limitation in lines 2-6 “at least one of an upper limit …; a lower limit …; and a relationship …” as “at least one of an upper limit …; at least one of a lower limit …; and at least one of a relationship …”. The plain English meaning of the phrase “at least one of X and Y;” is “at least one of X and at least one of Y”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 in the previous office action are withdrawn because arguments filed on June 30, 2026 (see Page 10 second last line-Page 11 line 2) are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisseman et al. (Lisseman: US 2015/0097796) in view of Buuck et al. (Buuck: US 9520036).
Regarding Claim 1, Lisseman teaches an automotive haptic control system for controlling a haptic output of a haptic actuator of an automobile (Fig. 1 and Par 53, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary controller or processor-based computing system that may be implemented as a controller associated with force-based switch panel 120.), the haptic control system comprising:
a haptic controller (Fig. 10, 810) configured to: obtain vibrational information indicative of a level of ambient vibration in an operational environment of the haptic actuator (Fig. 11, step 910 and Par 61, setting an output parameter based on a detected ambient or residual vibration associated with the force-based switch panel 120. The method commences upon detection of a vibration associated with at least a portion of the force-based switch panel 120. Such detection may occur upon receipt of force data from one or more sensors of the array of sensors associated with the force-based switch panel 120 (Block 910).),
wherein the operational environment is an automotive environment (Par 24, as illustrated in FIG. 1, operational environment 100 may include or embody a driver seat or cockpit associated with the vehicle);
determine the level of ambient vibration from the vibrational information (Fig. 11, step 920 and Par 61, Based on the received force data, processor 811 may determine a magnitude associated with the detected vibration ); and
generate a haptic control signal for use in controlling the haptic output of the haptic actuator, wherein a value of the haptic control signal is a function of the level of ambient vibration (Par 61, Based on the magnitude of the vibration, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset, the at least one parameter at least partially defining a haptic response generated by the haptic actuator (Block 950). ).
Lisseman does not explicitly disclose
wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust or set a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted, based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs;
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator; OR
a haptic driver configured to drive the haptic actuator with a haptic drive signal based on the haptic control signal, wherein the haptic driver is configured to control a level of the haptic drive signal based on the value of the haptic control signal.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of haptic devices. Buuck teaches (wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted (Col. 5 lines 60- Col. 6 lines 20: The accelerometer signal 208 (e.g., analog, digital, or hybrid) is provided to the processor 108 as a dynamic feedback signal to be used in adjusting or modifying the control signal 202. Such adjustments or modifications may be made in order to generate a particular haptic response 106 in accordance with tolerances, specifications, or other criteria), based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs (Fig. 2 and Col. 5, lines 40-60; The accelerometer 120 is mechanically coupled to the device structure 206 and is therefore subject to the haptic response 106 by way of the haptic input stimulus 122 i.e. history/past haptic outputs. The accelerometer 120 provides an accelerometer signal 208 resulting from the haptic input stimulus 122. Put another way, the accelerometer 120 is configured to measure the haptic response 106 and to provide a resultant accelerometer signal 208. Thus, the accelerometer signal 208 is defined by or approximates respective parameters such as amplitude, frequency, period, and so on, indicative of corresponding characteristics of the haptic response 106. And Col. 4 lines 58-Col. 5 lines 2);
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator; and
a haptic driver configured to drive the haptic actuator with a haptic drive signal based on the haptic control signal, wherein the haptic driver is configured to control a level of the haptic drive signal based on the value of the haptic control signal (Col. 3 lines 46-Col. 4 lines 5; Each haptic actuator 116 is configured to receive a haptic waveform signal from the haptic actuator controller 114 and to produce a corresponding haptic output 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buuck in order to maintain and improve output as devices are subject to other performance altering factors (Buuck: Col. 1 lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the haptic controller is configured to control the value of the haptic control signal to at least partly compensate for or track a change in the level of ambient vibration (Lisseman: Par 62, Based on the magnitude of the vibration, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein: the vibrational information comprises prior vibrational information, indicative of the level of ambient vibration prior to said haptic output; and/or the vibrational information comprises current vibrational information, indicative of the level of ambient vibration during said haptic output (Lisseman: Fig. 11 and Par 61, detecting the ambient vibration step 910 occurs prior to output step 950 and is also repeated after output step 950 continuously).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust or set the function of the level of ambient vibration based one or more operational factors (Lisseman: Par 61-62, a threshold that requires offset/correction).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust or set at least one of:
an upper limit on the value of the haptic control signal; a lower limit on the value of the haptic control signal (Buuck: Fig. 3, 304 and Col. 6 lines 54-63: volts peak ); and
a relationship between the determined level of ambient vibration and the value of the haptic control signal based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs (Buuck: Fig. 4, error signal 412 and Col. 8 lines 3-20);
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the vibrational information comprises information from one or more vibrational sensors located to sense the ambient vibration (Lisseman: Par 61, detected ambient vibration) and/or information, other than from one or more vibrational sensors, from which the ambient vibration may be estimated.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the vibrational information comprises: feedback information based on a feedback signal from the haptic actuator; and/or
sensor information based on a sensor signal from a vibration sensor other than the haptic actuator (Lisseman: Par 61, a detected ambient vibration); and/or
external information, indicative of the ambient vibration, from an external data source; and/or
status information, indicative of the status of at least one vibration source operable to contribute to the ambient vibration; and/or
environmental information, indicative of an aspect of the operational environment of the haptic actuator which affects the ambient vibration.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the haptic controller is configured to control the value of the haptic control signal, the control comprising:
adjusting the value of the haptic control signal to tend to keep a difference or ratio between the value of the haptic control signal and the level of ambient vibration above a threshold level, within a target range and/or substantially constant; and/or
raising the value of the haptic control signal when the level of ambient vibration increases and/or lowering the value of the haptic control signal when the level of ambient vibration decreases; and/or
setting the value of the haptic control signal at a first level when the vibrational information is indicative of a first level of ambient vibration and setting the value of the haptic control signal at a second level, higher than the first level, when the vibrational information is indicative of a second level of ambient vibration, higher than the first level of ambient vibration; and/or
controlling the value of the haptic control signal so that the value of the haptic control signal at least partly tracks the level of ambient vibration (Lisseman: Par 61-62, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset, the at least one parameter at least partially defining a haptic response generated by the haptic actuator).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, wherein the haptic controller is configured to: compare the level of ambient vibration with a threshold level of ambient vibration; and adjust the value of the haptic control signal when the level of ambient vibration is higher than or equal to the threshold level of ambient vibration, and not adjust the value of the haptic control signal when the level of ambient vibration is lower than the threshold level of ambient vibration (Lisseman: Fig. 11, step 920 and Par 61-62).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 11, wherein controlling the level of the haptic drive signal comprises:
controlling a gain, wherein the haptic driver is configured to apply the gain to a reference signal to generate the haptic drive signal; and/or
controlling a compensation signal, wherein the haptic driver is configured to apply the compensation signal to a reference signal to generate the haptic drive signal; and/or
controlling a level of amplification applied to the haptic drive signal and/or to the reference signal to generate the haptic drive signal; and/or
controlling a power level of an amplifier used to amplify the haptic drive signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or
controlling a power level of the haptic actuator (Lisseman: Par 52, apply an amplitude offset,); and/or
controlling a number of haptic actuators driven by the haptic drive signal, wherein said haptic actuator comprises a plurality of haptic actuators; and/or
controlling an instantaneous value or an average or running average of a power level or peak-to-peak value, or a DC component thereof, of the haptic drive signal.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the haptic driver is configured to receive a feedback signal from the haptic actuator, and wherein the vibrational information is based on the feedback signal, wherein the feedback signal is indicative of a current drawn by the haptic actuator and/or a voltage across the haptic actuator (Bucck: Fig. 2-3, 208 and Col. 5, lines 40-60; The accelerometer 120 is mechanically coupled to the device structure 206 and is therefore subject to the haptic response 106 by way of the haptic input stimulus 122 and Col. 18 lines 41-48).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 11, wherein: the haptic controller is provided separately or remotely from the haptic driver (Buuck: Fig. 2, 202 and 114); or the haptic controller is integrated with the haptic driver in a single integrated circuit or in a single unit or device or module.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, configured to control the haptic output in response to a detected user input (Lisseman: Fig. 8A-8B, par 51, In response to the magnitude, location, and/or duration of the applied force, the force-based switch panel may be configured to generate a haptic and/or audible feedback signal responsive to the detected force. ).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches an automotive haptic system comprising: the automotive haptic control system of claim 1 (as set forth in claim 1 above); and the haptic actuator (Lisseman: Par 45 and Par 62, haptic actuator).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches an automobile (Fig. 1-2 and Par 10) comprising the automotive haptic control system of claim 1 (as set forth in claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 18, Lisseman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having an automotive haptic control computer program stored thereon, wherein the automotive haptic control computer program (Par 54, a computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions for performing methods consistent with certain disclosed embodiments) is configured, when executed on a computer of a haptic control system of an automobile, to cause the automotive haptic control system to carry out an automotive haptic control method for controlling a haptic output of a haptic actuator of an automobile (Fig. 1 and Par 53, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary controller or processor-based computing system that may be implemented as a controller associated with force-based switch panel 120), the automotive haptic control method comprising:
obtaining vibrational information indicative of a level of ambient vibration in an operational environment of the haptic actuator (Fig. 11, step 910 and Par 61, setting an output parameter based on a detected ambient or residual vibration associated with the force-based switch panel 120. The method commences upon detection of a vibration associated with at least a portion of the force-based switch panel 120. Such detection may occur upon receipt of force data from one or more sensors of the array of sensors associated with the force-based switch panel 120 (Block 910).), wherein the operational environment is an automotive environment (Par 24, as illustrated in FIG. 1, operational environment 100 may include or embody a driver seat or cockpit associated with the vehicle);
determining the level of ambient vibration from the vibrational information (Fig. 11, step 920 and Par 61, Based on the received force data, processor 811 may determine a magnitude associated with the detected vibration ); and
generating a haptic control signal for use in controlling the haptic output of the haptic actuator, wherein a value of the haptic control signal is a function of the level of ambient vibration (Par 61, Based on the magnitude of the vibration, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset, the at least one parameter at least partially defining a haptic response generated by the haptic actuator (Block 950). ).
Lisseman does not explicitly disclose
adjusting or setting a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted, based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs;
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of haptic devices. Buuck teaches (wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted (Col. 5 lines 60- Col. 6 lines 20: The accelerometer signal 208 (e.g., analog, digital, or hybrid) is provided to the processor 108 as a dynamic feedback signal to be used in adjusting or modifying the control signal 202. Such adjustments or modifications may be made in order to generate a particular haptic response 106 in accordance with tolerances, specifications, or other criteria), based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs (Fig. 2 and Col. 5, lines 40-60; The accelerometer 120 is mechanically coupled to the device structure 206 and is therefore subject to the haptic response 106 by way of the haptic input stimulus 122 i.e. history/past haptic outputs. The accelerometer 120 provides an accelerometer signal 208 resulting from the haptic input stimulus 122. Put another way, the accelerometer 120 is configured to measure the haptic response 106 and to provide a resultant accelerometer signal 208. Thus, the accelerometer signal 208 is defined by or approximates respective parameters such as amplitude, frequency, period, and so on, indicative of corresponding characteristics of the haptic response 106. And Col. 4 lines 58-Col. 5 lines 2);
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buuck in order to maintain and improve output as devices are subject to other performance altering factors (Buuck: Col. 1 lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 19, Lisseman teaches an automotive haptic controller for controlling a haptic signal, the haptic signal for use in driving a haptic actuator of an automobile (Fig. 1 and Par 53, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary controller or processor-based computing system that may be implemented as a controller associated with force-based switch panel 120 and Par 45), the automotive haptic controller (Fig. 10, 810) configured to:
obtain vibrational information indicative of a level of ambient vibration in an operational environment of the haptic actuator (Fig. 11, step 910 and Par 61, setting an output parameter based on a detected ambient or residual vibration associated with the force-based switch panel 120. The method commences upon detection of a vibration associated with at least a portion of the force-based switch panel 120. Such detection may occur upon receipt of force data from one or more sensors of the array of sensors associated with the force-based switch panel 120 (Block 910).), wherein the operational environment is an automotive environment (Par 24, as illustrated in FIG. 1, operational environment 100 may include or embody a driver seat or cockpit associated with the vehicle);
determine the level of ambient vibration from the vibrational information (Fig. 11, step 920 and Par 61, Based on the received force data, processor 811 may determine a magnitude associated with the detected vibration ); and
generate the haptic control signal, wherein a value of the haptic control signal is a function of the level of ambient vibration (Par 61, Based on the magnitude of the vibration, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset, the at least one parameter at least partially defining a haptic response generated by the haptic actuator (Block 950). ).
Lisseman does not explicitly disclose
adjusting or setting a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted, based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs;
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of haptic devices. Buuck teaches (wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted (Col. 5 lines 60- Col. 6 lines 20: The accelerometer signal 208 (e.g., analog, digital, or hybrid) is provided to the processor 108 as a dynamic feedback signal to be used in adjusting or modifying the control signal 202. Such adjustments or modifications may be made in order to generate a particular haptic response 106 in accordance with tolerances, specifications, or other criteria), based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs (Fig. 2 and Col. 5, lines 40-60; The accelerometer 120 is mechanically coupled to the device structure 206 and is therefore subject to the haptic response 106 by way of the haptic input stimulus 122 i.e. history/past haptic outputs. The accelerometer 120 provides an accelerometer signal 208 resulting from the haptic input stimulus 122. Put another way, the accelerometer 120 is configured to measure the haptic response 106 and to provide a resultant accelerometer signal 208. Thus, the accelerometer signal 208 is defined by or approximates respective parameters such as amplitude, frequency, period, and so on, indicative of corresponding characteristics of the haptic response 106. And Col. 4 lines 58-Col. 5 lines 2);
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buuck in order to maintain and improve output as devices are subject to other performance altering factors (Buuck: Col. 1 lines 10-15).
Regarding Claim 20, Lisseman teaches an automotive haptic system (Fig. 1 and Par 53, FIG. 10 illustrates an exemplary controller or processor-based computing system that may be implemented as a controller associated with force-based switch panel 120), comprising: a haptic actuator (Par 45); and a haptic control system (Fig. 10) configured to:
obtain vibrational information indicative of a level of ambient vibration in an operational environment of the haptic actuator (Fig. 11, step 910 and Par 61, setting an output parameter based on a detected ambient or residual vibration associated with the force-based switch panel 120. The method commences upon detection of a vibration associated with at least a portion of the force-based switch panel 120. Such detection may occur upon receipt of force data from one or more sensors of the array of sensors associated with the force-based switch panel 120 (Block 910).),
wherein the operational environment is an automotive environment (Par 24, as illustrated in FIG. 1, operational environment 100 may include or embody a driver seat or cockpit associated with the vehicle);
determine the level of ambient vibration from the vibrational information (Fig. 11, step 920 and Par 61, Based on the received force data, processor 811 may determine a magnitude associated with the detected vibration ); and
control the haptic actuator, wherein a drive signal of the haptic actuator is a function of the level of ambient vibration (Par 61, Based on the magnitude of the vibration, the processor 811 may estimate a calibration offset that is to be applied to the system to compensate for the effects caused by the ambient mechanical vibration of the system (Block 940). Based on the calibration offset, the processor 811 may establish at least one parameter associated with a haptic actuator of the force-based switch panel 120 based on the estimated calibration offset, the at least one parameter at least partially defining a haptic response generated by the haptic actuator (Block 950). ).
Lisseman does not explicitly disclose
adjusting or setting a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted, based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs;
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of haptic devices. Buuck teaches (wherein the haptic controller is configured to adjust a rate at which the value of the haptic control signal is adjusted (Col. 5 lines 60- Col. 6 lines 20: The accelerometer signal 208 (e.g., analog, digital, or hybrid) is provided to the processor 108 as a dynamic feedback signal to be used in adjusting or modifying the control signal 202. Such adjustments or modifications may be made in order to generate a particular haptic response 106 in accordance with tolerances, specifications, or other criteria), based on at least one of:
a history of haptic outputs (Fig. 2 and Col. 5, lines 40-60; The accelerometer 120 is mechanically coupled to the device structure 206 and is therefore subject to the haptic response 106 by way of the haptic input stimulus 122 i.e. history/past haptic outputs. The accelerometer 120 provides an accelerometer signal 208 resulting from the haptic input stimulus 122. Put another way, the accelerometer 120 is configured to measure the haptic response 106 and to provide a resultant accelerometer signal 208. Thus, the accelerometer signal 208 is defined by or approximates respective parameters such as amplitude, frequency, period, and so on, indicative of corresponding characteristics of the haptic response 106. And Col. 4 lines 58-Col. 5 lines 2);
a history of detected user responses to haptic outputs;
a user setting or system setting;
a categorization of the haptic output; or
information defining the operational environment of the haptic actuator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buuck in order to maintain and improve output as devices are subject to other performance altering factors (Buuck: Col. 1 lines 10-15).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisseman in view of Bucck further in view of Levesque et al. (Levesque: US 2014/0253302).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Lisseman and Buuck teaches the automotive haptic control system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the haptic controller is configured to update a model based on the obtained vibrational information, the model representative of the operational environment and/or of the level of ambient vibration, and to generate the haptic control signal based on the model.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Levesque teaches a system for haptics in vibrating environments (abstract) and further teaches wherein the haptic controller is configured to update a model based on the obtained vibrational information, the model representative of the operational environment and/or of the level of ambient vibration, and to generate the haptic control signal based on the model (Par 43, a database of one or more templates of parasitic vibrations. These templates may comprise data associated with parasitic vibrations in common environments. For example, in some embodiments the templates may comprise data associated with vibrations: on an airplane (e.g. in various levels of turbulence), a bus on various types of roads, a car on various types of roads, or another environment associated with background vibrations and Par 44; f processor 110 determines that the user is traveling at above a certain speed on the Interstate, processor 110 may determine that a specific type of parasitic vibration is likely present. and Par 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Levesque in order to produce a haptic effect to be felt in spite of the parasitic vibration (Levesque: par 45).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on (571) 270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Nay Tun/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688