DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 were filed with the amendment dated 07/22/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 2-6B) in the reply filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant states that claims 8-11 are withdrawn and that claims 1-7 and 12-16 read on the elected species. The examiner disagrees. Claims 12-16 require the pressure transmission prevent means to include a fixing portion and a cover portion. The fixing portion and cover portion are only found in unelected Figs 10-14 (see Application at page 16, lines 5-11; and page 16, lines 19-23). Therefore, claims 12-16 are also withdrawn from examination.
Claims 8-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure(s) 1A, 1B, 2,6A, 6B, 7, 9A, 9B, 10, and 12 are sectional views, but do not include the required hatching (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(h)(3)).
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pressure transmission prevention means in claim 1. The specification describes the pressure transmission prevention means “may include: a flap including a plate-shaped member configured to move upward or downward…an extension member…and a flap guide” (page 3, last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20-0259949 (hereinafter referred to as “KR949”) as evidenced by the translation attached.
With regard to claim 1, KR949 discloses a device for preventing breakage of a diaphragm (see Figs 2-6). The phrase “for a normal-open solenoid valve” is a statement of intended use and the preamble and not given patentable weight (intended use of an apparatus does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art. See MPEP 2114). The device comprising: a valve cover (100+200) having a center hole (221) formed through the valve cover (100+200), provided between a water inlet portion (110; “water”), through which water (para [0030]) is introduced, and a water outlet portion (120), through which the introduced water is discharged, configured as a center passageway through which the water flows (IF, see arrows in Fig 4), and configured to be adjusted to be opened or closed by a diaphragm (DP) so that the water introduced into the water inlet portion is selectively discharged to the water outlet portion (see para [0066]), the valve cover (100+200) having a square hole (224/223; para [0049] [0050]) provided at one side of the valve cover (100+200), formed through the valve cover (100+200), and configured as a passageway configured to communicate with a space in which the diaphragm (DP) is installed (see Fig 4); and a pressure transmission prevention means (400) installed in an inlet region of the square hole (223/224) and configured to prevent pressure, which is generated by a fluid, from being transmitted to the diaphragm (DP) in order to prevent the diaphragm (DP) from being broken by pressure applied to the diaphragm (DP) by the fluid introduced through the center hole (221) and passing through the square hole (223/224) (see Figs 4-5; para [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20-0259949 (hereinafter referred to as “KR 949”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 0,209,740 (“Williams”).
With regard to claim 2, KR 949 discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing wherein the pressure transmission prevention means comprises: a flap comprising a plate-shaped member configured to move upward or downward so as to selectively come into contact with a peripheral edge portion of the square hole and having a diameter relatively larger than a diameter of the square hole, and an extension member extending by a predetermined length from a lower portion of the plate-shaped member, configured to be inserted into the square hole, and having a communication space; and a flap guide installed above the flap and configured to guide and restrict the upward and downward movements of the flap.
Williams discloses a pressure transmission prevention means that includes a check valve, similar to that of KR 949, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify the pressure transmission prevention means to include a flap (E) comprising a plate-shaped member (b) configured to move upward or downward so as to selectively come into contact with a peripheral edge portion of the square hole (at surface at a) and having a diameter relatively larger than a diameter of the square hole (see annotated Fig 4), and an extension member (d) extending by a predetermined length from a lower portion of the plate-shaped member (b), configured to be inserted into the square hole (at A), and having a communication space (communication space is space between curved triangular portions of extension member d, see annotated Fig 2); and a flap guide (D) installed above the flap (E) and configured to guide and restrict the upward and downward movements of the flap (E) (see Fig 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pressure transmission prevention means as taught by Williams in place of the pressure transmission prevention means of KR 949, since the valves/pressure transmission prevention means are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 3, the combination of KR 949 and Williams discloses the communication space is formed by partially cutting a lateral surface of the extension member (d) in a height direction so that a part of the square hole is opened when the plate-shaped member (b) is separated from the peripheral edge portion (a) of the square hole (see annotated Fig 2; opening/space is created by inwardly cutting/curvature in radial direction that extends along the axial length of the extension member d).
With regard to claim 5, the combination discloses that the flap guide (D) comprises: a support member (vertical legs) having a predetermined height (height shown in Fig 4) and configured to be brought into contact with and supported on an upper peripheral surface of the square hole (hole in A) around a peripheral edge portion of the flap (E; see Fig 4); and a restriction member (horizontal walls) provided at an upper end of the support member (vertical legs) and configured to restrict a height by which the flap moves upward or downward (horizontal walls provides a limit for movement of E, see Fig 4).
With regard to claim 6, the combination discloses that a height of the support member (vertical legs) formed on the flap guide (D) is relatively smaller than a length of the extension member (d) (see Fig 4).
Alternatively, if it is successfully argued that Williams is not considered to show that the height of the support member is smaller than a length of the extension member, then the following alternative rejection is offered.
In Williams, the support member (vertical walls/legs of D) appears to be smaller in height than a length of the extension member (d)
One of ordinary skill in the art of valve design would have arranged the relative heights/lengths in any suitable size.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the relative height of the support member to be smaller than a length of the extension member of Williams as an engineering expedient in order to arrange ensure that the extension member provides the necessary weight and guidance of the flap (E), such as taught by Williams (page 2, col. 2, lines 9-16), and because the Federal Circuit has also held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE3023515 and FR2492042 each disclose a solenoid valve with a diaphragm.
U.S. Pat. Nos. 0833560 1,160,707 each disclose a pressure transmission prevention means with a flap and flap guide.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753