DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-16,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elkotby to (US20240284456)
Regarding claims 1,13,20 Elkotby teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0005] FIG. 1B, wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) ) one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to([0042] FIG. 1B , WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122.. non-removable memory 130): transmit an indication of preferred resources for a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS); (([0136] the WTRU may report its ULP receiver capability and receive paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC, and NAS messages including any of the following: [0137] Support of LP-WUS transmissions targeting ULP capable WTRUs; [0138] LP-WUS configuration as any of sequence-based/DCI-based, group identifiers, and monitoring periodicity, e.g., duty-cycled or continuous; [0230], a WTRU in a first step, transmitting its ULP-capability indication (e.g., whether ULP based paging is supported or not) and preferred ULP mode of operation (e.g., a short ULP paging cycle and a dual short/long paging cycle for the conventional receiver) based on desired power saving and paging latency requirements) receive, based at least in part on the indication of preferred resources, a configuration that indicates an allocation of resources for one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions;( [0231] Discloses a WTRU receiving configurations of multiple paging cycles, one short paging cycle for ULP paging detection and a conventional longer paging cycle for conventional receiver. There are various ways how the multiple paging cycles can be signaled. In one option, for RAN-triggered paging, the RAN node may configure the ULP-capable WTRUs with multiple paging cycles (T parameter) for the same WTRU ID (e.g., TMSI) or the RAN node may configure the WTRUs with the same paging cycle for multiple (one or more) WTRU IDs (e.g., TMSIs), associated with the ULP receiver and the conventional receivers, respectively. Thus, a ULP-capable WTRU and RAN are using consistent paging settings for both ULP and conventional receivers) and receive the LP-WUS based at least in part on the configuration([0232] a WTRU utilizing the received ULP and Uu paging configurations in determining the ULP and conventional Uu paging occasions. The ULP receiver of the WTRU wakes up/is activated prior to the determined ULP-specific paging occasions. The ULP receiver detecting and blindly decoding the ULP paging occasions based on a configured/associated ULP search space. Upon a true paging addressed to the WTRU and determined based on any of the ULP paging early indication, the paging DCI over PDCCH/LP-PDCCH, and the paging record over PDSCH/LP-PDSCH, the WTRU's ULP receiver triggers a waking up signal to the conventional receiver such that it synchronizes with the Uu RAN interface…[0273] The on-demand Paging DCI search space and its corresponding PDSCH configuration can be obtained through predefined settings, SIB/RRC configurations and based on/inferred by the reception of a LP-WUS. For instance, the position in the time/frequency domain of the LP-WUS can indicate that the DCI will occur in specific set or subset of the search space, such as a (pre)configured time offset between the LP-WUS and the DCI and a frequency position based on the frequency position of the LP-WUS).
Regarding claims 2, Elkotby teaches wherein the preferred resources are time-frequency resources for monitoring and receiving the LP-WUS from a network node([0269] the LP paging indication may be shaped (in time/frequency domain).[0273] The on-demand Paging DCI search space and its corresponding PDSCH configuration can be obtained through predefined settings, SIB/RRC configurations and based on/inferred by the reception of a LP-WUS. For instance, the position in the time/frequency domain of the LP-WUS can indicate that the DCI will occur in specific set or subset of the search space, such as a (pre)configured time offset between the LP-WUS and the DCI and a frequency position based on the frequency position of the LP-WUS).
Regarding claims 3, Elkotby teaches wherein the preferred resources are based at least in part on a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst occasion for the UE([0098] in each PO, one or more PMOs are associated with one SSB, and a PO can consist of multiple PMOs associated with different SSBs supported by a Gnb).
Regarding claims 4, Elkotby teaches wherein the indication of preferred resources includes a preferred periodicity of the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions([0136] the WTRU may report its ULP receiver capability and receive paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC, and NAS messages including any of the following: [0137] Support of LP-WUS transmissions targeting ULP capable WTRUs; [0138] LP-WUS configuration as any of sequence-based/DCI-based, group identifiers, and monitoring periodicity, e.g., duty-cycled or continuous; [0139] LP-SS configuration in case of duty-cycled monitoring operation, e.g., sequence structure, potential sequences, and periodicity; [0140] Le)gacy PO transmission configuration such as paging search space, periodicity, and/or relationship to LP-WUS (e.g., a time offset from a detected LP-WUS). The PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of OFDM symbols.
Regarding claims 5, Elkotby teaches, wherein the indication of preferred resources includes one or more of a preferred bandwidth or a preferred number of repetitions of the LP-WUS([0317] detecting (1303) a LP-WUS addressed to a configured group based on assigned permanent and/or temporary identifiers; [0318] determining (1304) a time offset, number of paging DCI and message repetitions, time separation between repetitions, and search space based on any of received paging DCI monitoring configuration over PDCCH and detected LP-WUS).
Regarding claims 6 , Elkotby teaches, wherein the indication of preferred resources includes one or more channel state information (CSI) metrics associated with the UE( [0221] On a condition (1008) that paging record included the WTRU's identifier, the conventional Uu receiver waking up (1009), pre-synchronizing with the RAN interface using the RAN Uu SSBs, available TRS and/or CSI-RS).
Regarding claims 7,15 Elkotby teaches wherein the configuration, received via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control control element (MAC-CE), configures or reconfigures time-frequency resources for the LP-WUS, and the configuration indicates a number of repetitions for the LP-WUS([0263].. RRC configuration and/or SIB messages. For example, the ULP receivers may be configured to receive any of the following: [0264] on-demand paging indication; [0265] on-demand paging DCI; [0266] on-demand paging message).
Regarding claims 8,16 Elkotby teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the allocation of resources is based at least in part on the CSI report, and the allocation of resources is based at least in part on a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the UE([0342] ,FIG. 16, a ULP receiver capable WTRU supporting dynamic switch between ULP and Uu channels for paging based on received signal strength (signal-to-noise ratio), [0343] reporting (1600) its ULP capability and receiving paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC signaling, and NAS messages; [0344] determining (1601) support of ULP (early) paging indication as a LP-WUS transmission and paging DCIs transmission over LP-PDCCH, with e.g., LP-SS/LP-WUS structure and transmission configuration, within any of current serving cell and a set of cells in a defined area).
Regarding claims 11,19 Elkotby teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit location information associated with the UE, wherein the allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions is based at least in part on the location information([0135] if the network enables ULP-specific paging support, it has to provide the ULP-specific paging signals/messages over all the cells within the tracking area where the WTRU might be. If there is however feedback from the WTRU, the network might be able to limit which cells within the tracking area will need to support this functionality. Also covered here are scenarios when the WTRU can be uniquely addressed by a LP-WUS or a paging DCI (or equivalent, e.g., a second level of wake-up signaling or a paging sequence) without the need of paging message/record decoding).
Regarding claim 12, Elkotby teaches wherein a reception of the LP-WUS is via a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR) of the UE, and the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via a main receiver of the UE, a synchronization signal block (SSB);([0301] a minimum time can be defined for the next PO monitoring to ensure the time to wake the legacy radio on and ensure synchronization. A subset of the PO can be selected based on the position or content of the LP signals to simplify and reduce the consumption of the legacy device) and keep the main receiver on for a period of time for a subsequent physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring, wherein the PDCCH monitoring is in response to the reception of the LP-WUS([0303] the conventional receiver adopts a configured duty-cycled Uu paging monitoring to support a faster paging detection and decoding, on the condition that paging DCI monitoring over the PDCCH is triggered by the ULP receiver detecting a paging indication over the LP-PDCCH channel)
Regarding claim 14, Elkotby teaches the preferred resources are based at least in part on a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst occasion; ([0098] in each PO, one or more PMOs are associated with one SSB, and a PO can consist of multiple PMOs associated with different SSBs supported by a Gnb)the indication of preferred resources includes a preferred periodicity of the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions; ( [0140] Le)gacy PO transmission configuration such as paging search space, periodicity, and/or relationship to LP-WUS (e.g., a time offset from a detected LP-WUS). The PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of OFDM symbols)the indication of preferred resources includes one or more of a preferred bandwidth or a preferred number of repetitions of the LP-WUS; ([0136] the WTRU may report its ULP receiver capability and receive paging monitoring configuration/parameters in any of system information, RRC, and NAS messages including any of the following: [0137] Support of LP-WUS transmissions targeting ULP capable WTRUs; [0138] LP-WUS configuration as any of sequence-based/DCI-based, group identifiers, and monitoring periodicity, e.g., duty-cycled or continuous; [0139] LP-SS configuration in case of duty-cycled monitoring operation, e.g., sequence structure, potential sequences, and periodicity; [0140] Le)gacy PO transmission configuration such as paging search space, periodicity, and/or relationship to LP-WUS (e.g., a time offset from a detected LP-WUS). The PO search space may constitute a set of frequency resources defined in terms of, e.g., control channel elements (CCE), resource element groups (REG), and/or aggregation level, and a set/duration of time resources defined in terms of OFDM symbols)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10,17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elkotby to (US20240284456) in view of HERATH to (WO 2025175144 A1)
Regarding claims 9,17 Elkotby does not explicitly teach transmit an indication of a missed LP-WUS in response to the LP-WUS not being successfully received by the UE, wherein the indication includes one or more channel state information (CSI) metrics associated with the UE; and receive, based at least in part on the indication of the missed LP-WUS, a configuration that indicates an updated allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions
However, HERATH teaches transmit an indication of a missed LP-WUS in response to the LP-WUS not being successfully received by the UE, ,( [0192] The WTRU may report to the base station/gNB and/or the core network (CN) the one or more exit conditions met, and/or evaluated exit conditions (e.g., MDR of LP-SS and/or LP-SS that triggered the WTRU to exit LP-WUS monitoring)) wherein the indication includes one or more channel state information (CSI) metrics associated with the UE; ( [0007] indication of one or more of: a number of, and which exit conditions were met; the identified missed and/or consecutively missed LP signals, or a value of a timer during the consecutively missed LP signals. In examples, LP signal monitoring exit condition may include determining that a missed detection rate (MDR)) and receive, based at least in part on the indication of the missed LP-WUS, a configuration that indicates an updated allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions([0110]..The WTRU may place the main radio (MR) in a sleep state (e.g., deep sleep state) associated with LP-WUS monitoring mode (e.g., WTRU places its MR in a deep sleep state if the WTRU is configured to perform RRC INACTIVE/IDLE mode LP-WUS monitoring) and turn on its low-power radio (LR) for LP signal (e.g., LP-WUS, LP-SS) monitoring)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date to enable the system of Elkotby includes transmit an indication of a missed LP-WUS in response to the LP-WUS not being successfully received by the UE,wherein the indication includes one or more channel state information (CSI) metrics associated with the UE; and receive, based at least in part on the indication of the missed LP-WUS, a configuration that indicates an updated allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions, as suggested by Herath. This modification would benefit to reduce communication error and save transmission power.
Regarding claims 10,18 Elkotby does not explicitly teach transmit signaling for adjusting allocated resources for the LP-WUS, wherein the allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions is based at least in part on the signaling
However, HERATH teaches transmit signaling for adjusting allocated resources for the LP-WUS, wherein the allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions is based at least in part on the signaling([0110]..The WTRU may place the main radio (MR) in a sleep state (e.g., deep sleep state) associated with LP-WUS monitoring mode (e.g., WTRU places its MR in a deep sleep state if the WTRU is configured to perform RRC INACTIVE/IDLE mode LP-WUS monitoring) and turn on its low-power radio (LR) for LP signal (e.g., LP-WUS, LP-SS) monitoring)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date to enable the system of Elkotby includes transmit signaling for adjusting allocated resources for the LP-WUS, wherein the allocation of resources for the one or more LP-WUS monitoring occasions is based at least in part on the signaling, as suggested by Herath. This modification would help reduce communication errors and save transmission power.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461