DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed 31 January 2025, this is the first Office action of the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 16-18 and 22 recite “a remote server using one or more applications”. These claim limitations appear to be citing intended use in terms of what the applications are used for. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite the functionality performed by the claimed method, instead of reciting what the claim elements are used for.
Claim 14 recites “using one or more application programming interface (API) keys”. These claim limitations appear to be citing intended use in terms of what the API keys are used for. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite the functionality performed by the claimed method, instead of reciting what the claim elements are used for.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “displaying a visual indicator of the one or more applications” and “an instruction instructing the remote server to update one or more keyed values” should read as -- displaying one or more visual indicators of the one or more applications -- and -- an instruction instructing the remote server to update the one or more keyed values -- respectively as it appears to be a typographical error and may cause antecedent basis issue.
Claims 16-17 recite “cause display of visual indicator of the one or more applications” and “an instruction instructing the remote server to update one or more keyed values” should read as -- cause display of one or more visual indicators of the one or more applications -- and “an instruction instructing the remote server to update the one or more keyed values” as it appears to be a typographical error and may cause antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilmer et al. (US 2020/0193370 A1, hereinafter “Kilmer”) in view of Stone et al. (US 2003/0233439 A1, hereinafter “Stone”).
Regarding claim 1, Kilmer teaches
A method for (see Kilmer, [0055] “a method 200 for configuring and deploying the data collection system”) updating a data repository stored at a remote server (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) using one or more applications associated with an optical code, (see Kilmer, [0053] “Server 110 may be a database server, a web server, an application server, or any type of microprocessor-based device suitable for transmitting, receiving, and storing data”; [0071] “The optical codes may be generated and stored by server 110”) the method comprising: (see Kilmer, [0055] “a method 200 for configuring and deploying the data collection system”).
detecting the optical code by a device comprising an optical detector and a display; (see Kilmer, [0020] “detect, by the optical sensor, an optical code, wherein the optical code is physically associated with an object”; [0046] “The system allows for the collection of data corresponding to any measurable or observable characteristic of an object by receiving data transmitted by a mobile device that has detected the optical code associated with the object”; [0020] “a device comprising a display, an optical sensor”; [0083] “mobile device 108 may display an interface”).
decoding one or more identifying values encoded in the optical code and transmitting information including the one or more identifying values to the remote server; (see Kilmer, [0020] “decode an identifying value encoded in the optical code; transmit geographic information from the GPS sensor to a remote server, wherein the geographic information is transmitted in accordance with the decoded identifying value”; [0081] “The decoded information may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to identify the digital label entry associated with the optical code”).
receiving data… from the remote server based on the one or more identifying values; (see Kilmer, [0085] “after receiving, from mobile device 108, information indicating that an optical code has been scanned, server 110 may access data associated with the optical code determine whether the optical code has previously been registered… Server 110 may determine, based on the data, whether the optical code has previously registered and transmit, to mobile device 108, information indicating whether the optical code has previously been registered”; [0053] “Server 110 may be a database server, a web server, an application server, or any type of microprocessor-based device suitable for transmitting, receiving, and storing data”; [0003] “customizable data collection system that can collect and store different types of data for different applications”).
displaying a visual indicator of the one or more applications at the display of the device (see Kilmer, [0098]-[0099] “interfaces 402a-402e may be displayed by terminal 200 of system 100… interfaces 402a-402e may be displayed by any electronic computing device, such as a laptop computer, desktop computer, smart-phone, tablet, or other electronic computing device configured to display one or more of interfaces 402a-402e and to receive one or more inputs from a user, as discussed herein, to control the operation of the interface and operation of a data collection system such as system 100… may include displaying one or more of the interfaces shown in FIGS. 4A-E… Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another”) based on the received data,… (see Kilmer, [0046] “methods for configuring and deploying a customizable data collection system. The system provides for the creation of customizable data profiles that correspond to real-world objects having unique measurable characteristics. The system provides for the creation of unique optical codes that may be deployed and physically associated with objects to be measured. In this way, the optical codes may uniquely identify each measured object in the system. The system allows for the collection of data corresponding to any measurable or observable characteristic of an object by receiving data transmitted by a mobile device that has detected the optical code associated with the object”) the data repository… within the data repository; (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”).
detecting a user selection of a visual indicator of the one or more visual indicators associated with an application of the one or more applications; (see Kilmer, [0099] “Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another. For example, each of the interfaces 402a-402e may be different screens that are selectively accessible from a mobile application or other computer program configured to work in conjunction with one or more electronic devices in order to configure and manage a data collection system”).
displaying a user interface associated with the application based on the user selection, (see Kilmer, [0099]-[0100] “Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another… FIG. 4A shows data profile definition interface 402a, according to some embodiments. Data profile creation interface 402a may… be an interface configured to allow a user to create or modify a data profile by naming the profile and defining characteristics to be associated with the data profile”) wherein the user interface comprises a prompt for a user input for updating one or more keyed values in the data repository; (see Kilmer, [0100] “FIG. 4A shows data profile definition interface 402a, according to some embodiments. Data profile creation interface 402a may… be an interface configured to allow a user to create or modify a data profile by naming the profile and defining characteristics to be associated with the data profile”; [0102] “data profile definition interface 402a may comprise one or more characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c that allow a user to select pre-defined characteristics to be associated with the data profile… a user may select one or more of characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c to associate the corresponding characteristic with the data profile… may allow a user to choose whether a data profile accepts pictures, whether a data profile requests information regarding whether or not an object is damaged, and/or whether a digital label entry and/or optical code associated with the data profile is disabled after a final event is received”; [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”).
receiving one or more inputs comprising information associated with the one or more keyed values to be updated via the user interface; and (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”).
… based on the one or more inputs… (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”) comprises an instruction instructing the remote server to… (see Kilmer, [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”; [0081] “may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to”) store in the data repository (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) based on the one or more inputs (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”).
Kilmer does not explicitly teach receiving data indicating the one or more applications; wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of the data repository based on respective permissions of the one or more applications; transmitting information to the remote server, wherein the information update one or more keyed values.
However, Stone discloses selection and update of data and teaches
receiving data indicating the one or more applications (see Stone, [0080] “through an nth application 202 provide reports of security data (e.g., application security data) to the security message queue 206. The first application 200 represents an illustrative example of the first resource 36. Similarly, where a total of two applications are present (i.e., n equals 2), the nth application 202 represents an illustrative example of the second resource 50. The security message queue 206 of the log-in module 204 collects security data on clients and network usage. The security message queue 206 holds the security data until the security data is processed”; [claim 34] “receiving data messages reported from applications”).
wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of data based on respective permissions of the one or more applications (see Stone, [0055] “A directory service system 32 refers to a service that identifies resources (36, 50) associated with a communications network and accessibility measures for making the resources (36, 50) accessible to clients 46, users and applications”; [0059] “directory services system 32 may support user authentication of a user and a single entry of a log-in identifier and a password to provide access to multiple resources (e.g., applications)… The directory services may support the assignment of attributes and attribute values to corresponding users. Attribute values may include user rights, permissions and control permissions for interacting with resources or objects. An object may be associated with object attributes. The objects may include limitations on the control presentation manipulation and access of objects, for example”).
transmitting information… to the remote server, wherein the information… update one or more keyed values (see Stone, [0113] “a request is arranged into a file for transmission over a communications network 22”; [0051] “allows operation and maintenance of one or more servers or resources to be executed remotely from the user interface 12”; [0120] “a server 326, transaction handler 92, or transaction server 78 determines the viability of the request or attempts to execute a request with respect to at least one resource (88 or 93)… the transaction handler 92 attempts to execute a request with respect to a data storage allocation associated with one or more applications (e.g., a first application 98 and a second application 99) or a resource (88 or 93). Accordingly, the server 326 or the transaction server 78 transmits a request to change, modify, add or delete attribute data (e.g., an attribute value) of a resource (88 or 93) consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”; [0125] “if the request is viable, attribute data is updated for at least one of following: a resource (88 or 93), a directory services data storage 86, and a directory services system 95… the first application data storage 82, the second application data storage 84, or both may modify, add, or delete an attribute value consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of receiving data indicating applications, applications accessing data based on permissions, transmitting information to remote server to update values, identifier related to a user device, restricting access to applications based on identifiers stored, receiving identifier via user interface, identifiers associated with the application, determining access to the application, notifications, reading data, writing data, deleting data and using APIs as being disclosed and taught by Stone, in the system taught by Kilmer to yield the predictable results of distributing file or data to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources (see Stone, [0049] “Under a first technique, the transmitter 20 or the central administration tool 14 transmits the selected attribute data to the affected resources in a group transmission to multiple resources. That is, the file or data structure 24 may be distributed to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources. An affected resource refers to any resource in which an update or change in attribute data is present in the data structure 24. The first technique may be applied where an administrative account is assigned a global password and a global log-in identifier, for example”).
Regarding claim 16, Kilmer teaches
A system for (see Kilmer, [0046] “Described herein are exemplary embodiments of systems”) updating a data repository stored at a remote server (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) one or more applications associated with an optical code, (see Kilmer, [0053] “Server 110 may be a database server, a web server, an application server, or any type of microprocessor-based device suitable for transmitting, receiving, and storing data”; [0071] “The optical codes may be generated and stored by server 110”) the system comprising: one or more processors and memory storing one or more computer programs that include computer instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to: (see Kilmer, [0027] “the system comprising a display, one or more processors, and memory storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to”).
decode one or more identifying values encoded in the optical code detected by a device comprising an optical detector and a display; (see Kilmer, [0020] “decode an identifying value encoded in the optical code”; [0081] “The decoded information may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to identify the digital label entry associated with the optical code”; [0020] “detect, by the optical sensor, an optical code, wherein the optical code is physically associated with an object”; [0046] “The system allows for the collection of data corresponding to any measurable or observable characteristic of an object by receiving data transmitted by a mobile device that has detected the optical code associated with the object”; [0020] “a device comprising a display, an optical sensor”; [0083] “mobile device 108 may display an interface”).
transmit information including the one or more identifying values to the remote server; (see Kilmer, [0020] “transmit geographic information from the GPS sensor to a remote server, wherein the geographic information is transmitted in accordance with the decoded identifying value”; [0081] “The decoded information may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to identify the digital label entry associated with the optical code”).
receive data… from the remote server based on the one or more identifying values; (see Kilmer, [0085] “after receiving, from mobile device 108, information indicating that an optical code has been scanned, server 110 may access data associated with the optical code determine whether the optical code has previously been registered… Server 110 may determine, based on the data, whether the optical code has previously registered and transmit, to mobile device 108, information indicating whether the optical code has previously been registered”; [0053] “Server 110 may be a database server, a web server, an application server, or any type of microprocessor-based device suitable for transmitting, receiving, and storing data”; [0003] “customizable data collection system that can collect and store different types of data for different applications”).
cause display of a visual indicator of the one or more applications at the display of the device (see Kilmer, [0098]-[0099] “interfaces 402a-402e may be displayed by terminal 200 of system 100… interfaces 402a-402e may be displayed by any electronic computing device, such as a laptop computer, desktop computer, smart-phone, tablet, or other electronic computing device configured to display one or more of interfaces 402a-402e and to receive one or more inputs from a user, as discussed herein, to control the operation of the interface and operation of a data collection system such as system 100… may include displaying one or more of the interfaces shown in FIGS. 4A-E… Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another”) based on the received data,… (see Kilmer, [0046] “methods for configuring and deploying a customizable data collection system. The system provides for the creation of customizable data profiles that correspond to real-world objects having unique measurable characteristics. The system provides for the creation of unique optical codes that may be deployed and physically associated with objects to be measured. In this way, the optical codes may uniquely identify each measured object in the system. The system allows for the collection of data corresponding to any measurable or observable characteristic of an object by receiving data transmitted by a mobile device that has detected the optical code associated with the object”) the data repository… within the data repository; (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”).
detect a user selection of a visual indicator of the one or more visual indicators associated with an application of the one or more applications; (see Kilmer, [0099] “Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another. For example, each of the interfaces 402a-402e may be different screens that are selectively accessible from a mobile application or other computer program configured to work in conjunction with one or more electronic devices in order to configure and manage a data collection system”).
cause display of a user interface associated with the application based on the user selection, (see Kilmer, [0100] “FIG. 4A shows data profile definition interface 402a, according to some embodiments. Data profile creation interface 402a may… be an interface configured to allow a user to create or modify a data profile by naming the profile and defining characteristics to be associated with the data profile”) wherein the user interface comprises a prompt for a user input for updating one or more keyed values in the data repository; (see Kilmer, [0100] “FIG. 4A shows data profile definition interface 402a, according to some embodiments. Data profile creation interface 402a may… be an interface configured to allow a user to create or modify a data profile by naming the profile and defining characteristics to be associated with the data profile”; [0102] “data profile definition interface 402a may comprise one or more characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c that allow a user to select pre-defined characteristics to be associated with the data profile… a user may select one or more of characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c to associate the corresponding characteristic with the data profile… may allow a user to choose whether a data profile accepts pictures, whether a data profile requests information regarding whether or not an object is damaged, and/or whether a digital label entry and/or optical code associated with the data profile is disabled after a final event is received”; [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”).
receive one or more inputs comprising information associated with the one or more keyed values to be updated via the user interface; and (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”).
…based on the one or more inputs… (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”) comprises an instruction instructing the remote server to… (see Kilmer, [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”; [0081] “may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to”) update in the data repository based on the one or more inputs store in the data repository (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) based on the one or more inputs (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”).
Kilmer does not explicitly teach receiving data indicating the one or more applications; wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of the data repository based on respective permissions of the one or more applications; transmit information to the remote server, wherein the information update one or more keyed values.
However, Stone discloses selection and update of data and teaches
receiving data indicating the one or more applications (see Stone, [0080] “through an nth application 202 provide reports of security data (e.g., application security data) to the security message queue 206. The first application 200 represents an illustrative example of the first resource 36. Similarly, where a total of two applications are present (i.e., n equals 2), the nth application 202 represents an illustrative example of the second resource 50. The security message queue 206 of the log-in module 204 collects security data on clients and network usage. The security message queue 206 holds the security data until the security data is processed”; [claim 34] “receiving data messages reported from applications”).
wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of data based on respective permissions of the one or more applications (see Stone, [0055] “A directory service system 32 refers to a service that identifies resources (36, 50) associated with a communications network and accessibility measures for making the resources (36, 50) accessible to clients 46, users and applications”; [0059] “directory services system 32 may support user authentication of a user and a single entry of a log-in identifier and a password to provide access to multiple resources (e.g., applications)… The directory services may support the assignment of attributes and attribute values to corresponding users. Attribute values may include user rights, permissions and control permissions for interacting with resources or objects. An object may be associated with object attributes. The objects may include limitations on the control presentation manipulation and access of objects, for example”).
transmit information… to the remote server, wherein the information… update one or more keyed values (see Stone, [0113] “a request is arranged into a file for transmission over a communications network 22”; [0051] “allows operation and maintenance of one or more servers or resources to be executed remotely from the user interface 12”; [0120] “a server 326, transaction handler 92, or transaction server 78 determines the viability of the request or attempts to execute a request with respect to at least one resource (88 or 93)… the transaction handler 92 attempts to execute a request with respect to a data storage allocation associated with one or more applications (e.g., a first application 98 and a second application 99) or a resource (88 or 93). Accordingly, the server 326 or the transaction server 78 transmits a request to change, modify, add or delete attribute data (e.g., an attribute value) of a resource (88 or 93) consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”; [0125] “if the request is viable, attribute data is updated for at least one of following: a resource (88 or 93), a directory services data storage 86, and a directory services system 95… the first application data storage 82, the second application data storage 84, or both may modify, add, or delete an attribute value consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of receiving data indicating applications, applications accessing data based on permissions and transmitting information to remote server to update values as being disclosed and taught by Stone, in the system taught by Kilmer to yield the predictable results of distributing file or data to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources (see Stone, [0049] “Under a first technique, the transmitter 20 or the central administration tool 14 transmits the selected attribute data to the affected resources in a group transmission to multiple resources. That is, the file or data structure 24 may be distributed to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources. An affected resource refers to any resource in which an update or change in attribute data is present in the data structure 24. The first technique may be applied where an administrative account is assigned a global password and a global log-in identifier, for example”).
Claim 17 incorporates substantively all the limitations of claim 16 in a computer-readable medium form (see Kilmer, [0138] “Storage 704 can be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs, which, when executed by one or more processors, such as processor 701, cause the one or more processors to execute methods described herein”) and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 22, Kilmer teaches
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions for updating a data repository using one or more applications associated with an optical code, the instructions configured to be executed by a system, the system comprising one or more processors to cause the system to: (see Kilmer, [0138] “Storage 704 can be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs, which, when executed by one or more processors, such as processor 701, cause the one or more processors to execute methods described herein”).
at a server: receive data comprising one or more identifying values decoded from an optical code; (see Kilmer, [0020] “decode an identifying value encoded in the optical code; transmit geographic information from the GPS sensor to a remote server, wherein the geographic information is transmitted in accordance with the decoded identifying value”; [0081] “The decoded information may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to identify the digital label entry associated with the optical code”).
transmit data… based on the one or more identifying values (see Kilmer, [0020] “decode an identifying value encoded in the optical code; transmit geographic information from the GPS sensor to a remote server, wherein the geographic information is transmitted in accordance with the decoded identifying value”; [0081] “The decoded information may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to identify the digital label entry associated with the optical code”) to a mobile device,… (see Kilmer, [0085] “after receiving, from mobile device 108, information indicating that an optical code has been scanned, server 110 may access data associated with the optical code determine whether the optical code has previously been registered… Server 110 may determine, based on the data, whether the optical code has previously registered and transmit, to mobile device 108, information indicating whether the optical code has previously been registered”; [0053] “Server 110 may be a database server, a web server, an application server, or any type of microprocessor-based device suitable for transmitting, receiving, and storing data”; [0003] “customizable data collection system that can collect and store different types of data for different applications”) the data repository… within the data repository; (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”).
… based on one or more inputs provided at a user interface (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”) of the mobile device, (see Kilmer, [0099] “each of the interfaces 402a-402e may be different screens that are selectively accessible from a mobile application”) the user interface associated with a selected application of the one or more applications,… (see Kilmer, [0099] “Interfaces 402a-402e may… be interrelated interfaces of a single program or application configured to be used in connection with one another. For example, each of the interfaces 402a-402e may be different screens that are selectively accessible from a mobile application or other computer program configured to work in conjunction with one or more electronic devices in order to configure and manage a data collection system”) comprises an instruction instructing the server to… (see Kilmer, [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”; [0081] “may cause mobile device 108 to transmit information to server 110 that allows server 110 to”) store in the data repository (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) based on the one or more inputs; and (see Kilmer, [0102]-[0103] “characteristic toggle icons 406a-406c may be interactive affordances, in that they may be clicked, tapped, pressed, or otherwise selected in order to indicate selection or deselection of the corresponding characteristic… characteristics field 408 may be a text field configured to accept input from a user… characteristics field 408 may be configured to allow a user to enter text corresponding to one or more characteristics (for example, multiple characteristics may be delineated by commas, semicolons, or another suitable notation)…. characteristics field 408 may be configured to accept measurement characteristics, event characteristics, and/or other characteristics to be associated with the data profile”).
…store in in the data repository (see Kilmer, [0083] “Server 110 may store, in a data entry, the name entered by the user and associate the data entry with the optical code's corresponding digital label entry. Server 110 may also update data associated with the corresponding digital label entry to indicate that the corresponding optical code has been registered”; [0015] “transmitting an instruction to the remote server to register the optical code by uniquely associating the entry in the database with the information associated with registering the optical code”) based on the received information (see Kilmer, [0046] “methods for configuring and deploying a customizable data collection system. The system provides for the creation of customizable data profiles that correspond to real-world objects having unique measurable characteristics. The system provides for the creation of unique optical codes that may be deployed and physically associated with objects to be measured. In this way, the optical codes may uniquely identify each measured object in the system. The system allows for the collection of data corresponding to any measurable or observable characteristic of an object by receiving data transmitted by a mobile device that has detected the optical code associated with the object”).
Kilmer does not explicitly teach transmit data indicating the one or more applications; wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of the data repository based on respective permissions of the one or more applications; receive information, wherein the information update one or more keyed values; update the one or more keyed values.
However, Stone discloses selection and update of data and teaches
transmit data indicating the one or more applications (see Stone, [0080] “through an nth application 202 provide reports of security data (e.g., application security data) to the security message queue 206. The first application 200 represents an illustrative example of the first resource 36. Similarly, where a total of two applications are present (i.e., n equals 2), the nth application 202 represents an illustrative example of the second resource 50. The security message queue 206 of the log-in module 204 collects security data on clients and network usage. The security message queue 206 holds the security data until the security data is processed”; [claim 34] “receiving data messages reported from applications”) wherein the one or more applications are respectively configured to enable access to one or more portions of data based on respective permissions of the one or more applications (see Stone, [0055] “A directory service system 32 refers to a service that identifies resources (36, 50) associated with a communications network and accessibility measures for making the resources (36, 50) accessible to clients 46, users and applications”; [0059] “directory services system 32 may support user authentication of a user and a single entry of a log-in identifier and a password to provide access to multiple resources (e.g., applications)… The directory services may support the assignment of attributes and attribute values to corresponding users. Attribute values may include user rights, permissions and control permissions for interacting with resources or objects. An object may be associated with object attributes. The objects may include limitations on the control presentation manipulation and access of objects, for example”).
receive information… wherein the information… update one or more keyed values (see Stone, [0113] “a request is arranged into a file for transmission over a communications network 22”; [0051] “allows operation and maintenance of one or more servers or resources to be executed remotely from the user interface 12”; [0120] “a server 326, transaction handler 92, or transaction server 78 determines the viability of the request or attempts to execute a request with respect to at least one resource (88 or 93)… the transaction handler 92 attempts to execute a request with respect to a data storage allocation associated with one or more applications (e.g., a first application 98 and a second application 99) or a resource (88 or 93). Accordingly, the server 326 or the transaction server 78 transmits a request to change, modify, add or delete attribute data (e.g., an attribute value) of a resource (88 or 93) consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”; [0125] “if the request is viable, attribute data is updated for at least one of following: a resource (88 or 93), a directory services data storage 86, and a directory services system 95… the first application data storage 82, the second application data storage 84, or both may modify, add, or delete an attribute value consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”).
update the one or more keyed values (see Stone, [0113] “a request is arranged into a file for transmission over a communications network 22”; [0051] “allows operation and maintenance of one or more servers or resources to be executed remotely from the user interface 12”; [0120] “a server 326, transaction handler 92, or transaction server 78 determines the viability of the request or attempts to execute a request with respect to at least one resource (88 or 93)… the transaction handler 92 attempts to execute a request with respect to a data storage allocation associated with one or more applications (e.g., a first application 98 and a second application 99) or a resource (88 or 93). Accordingly, the server 326 or the transaction server 78 transmits a request to change, modify, add or delete attribute data (e.g., an attribute value) of a resource (88 or 93) consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”; [0125] “if the request is viable, attribute data is updated for at least one of following: a resource (88 or 93), a directory services data storage 86, and a directory services system 95… the first application data storage 82, the second application data storage 84, or both may modify, add, or delete an attribute value consistent with the request in the file received via the communications network 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the functionality of transmitting data indicating applications, applications accessing data based on permissions and receiving information to update values as being disclosed and taught by Stone, in the system taught by Kilmer to yield the predictable results of distributing file or data to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources (see Stone, [0049] “Under a first technique, the transmitter 20 or the central administration tool 14 transmits the selected attribute data to the affected resources in a group transmission to multiple resources. That is, the file or data structure 24 may be distributed to multiple servers simultaneously to efficiently update the affected resources. An affected resource refers to any resource in which an update or change in attribute data is present in the data structure 24. The first technique may be applied where an administrative account is assigned a global password and a global log-in identifier, for example”).
Regarding claim 2, the proposed combination of Kilmer and Stone teaches
wherein the information transmitted to the server comprises (see Stone, [0113] “a request is arranged into a file for transmission over a communications network 22”; [0051] “allows operation and maintenance of one or more servers or resources to be executed remotely from the user interface 12”) identifying information associated with a user of the device, and (see Kilmer, [0087] “detecting an input, such as a name, from the user, mobile device 108 may transmit, to server 110, the information entered by the user”) wherein the received data (see Kilmer, [0085] “after receiving, from mobile device 108, information indicating that an optical code has been scanned, server 110 may access data associated with the optical code determine whether the optical code has previously been registered… Server 110 may d