DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 – 20 are examined here-in.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the second line of claim 15, “cysteine” is misspelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris (EP 0254257 A2).
Harris teaches an insect bait composition which contains an insecticide, a non-caloric sweetener, and an aqueous carrier (abstract).
Harris teaches an insect bait composition which includes a caloric sweetener selected from fructose, sucrose, dextrose, and honey in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10), at least one amino acid selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9), an insecticide that is a borate salt or boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4), a non-caloric sweetener, and water (claim 1) anticipating instant claim 1. Harris’ teaching for an amino acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9) falls within the claimed range of up to 5% as recited in instant claim 1. Prior art teachings that overlap the claimed range with sufficient specificity are anticipatory according to MPEP 2131.03(ii).
Harris’ teaching that the insect bait composition contains an insecticide that is a borate salt or boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4) anticipates instant claim 2.
Harris’ teaching that the insect bait composition includes a caloric sweetener selected from fructose, sucrose, dextrose, and honey in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10) anticipates instant claims 5 and 6. Harris’ teaching that fructose or sucrose is in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10) falls within the claimed range of 1 to 50% w/v as recited in claim 6. Prior art teachings that overlap the claimed range with sufficient specificity are anticipatory according to MPEP 2131.03(ii).
Harris’ teaching for an amino acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9) falls within the claimed range of 1 to 5% as recited in instant claim 8. Prior art teachings that overlap the claimed range with sufficient specificity are anticipatory according to MPEP 2131.03(ii).
Harris teaches the at least one amino acid is selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid, which anticipates instant claim 10’s recitation for one or more of L-leucine and L-phenylalanine.
Harris teaches the at least one amino acid is selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid, which anticipates instant claim 13 and 14’s recitation for one or more non-essential amino acids of L-aspartic acid and L-proline.
Harris teaches the insect bait composition includes liquid water in an amount of 80 to 99.9% (claims 1 and 8), anticipating instant claim 17.
Harris’ examples are with Pharoah ants (pages 5 – 10) which are in the subfamily Myrmicinae, anticipating instant claim 18.
However, in the event that the previous does not have sufficient specificity to rise to anticipation, claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10, 13, 14, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (as cited above).
For the purposes of this ground of rejection only, and purely arguendo, the examiner will take the position that Harris does not teach a specific embodiment (i.e., preferred embodiment, working example, etc.) having all of the claimed elements arranged as required by claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 18 without resorting to some “picking and choosing” within the prior art disclosure. That being said, although Harris thus would not be anticipatory by this interpretation of the facts, it nevertheless does fairly suggest the claimed invention, as shown below.
As discussed above, Harris teaches an insect bait composition which contains an insecticide, a non-caloric sweetener, and an aqueous carrier (abstract).
Harris teaches an insect bait composition which includes a caloric sweetener selected from fructose, sucrose, dextrose, and honey in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10), at least one amino acid selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9), an insecticide that is a borate salt or boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4), a non-caloric sweetener, and water (claim 1).
As noted above, for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, and purely arguendo, the examiner will take the position that Harris does not teach a specific embodiment having each of the claimed elements, however, claims 1 – 10, 13, 14, and 17 – 20 are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Harris, because it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, in order to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)). In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., amino acids, sweeteners, lethal ingredients) were known in the prior art (e.g., insecticidal compositions) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (e.g., an insecticidal composition with amino acids, a sweetener, and a lethal ingredient) to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Harris’s teaching for an insect bait composition which includes a caloric sweetener such as fructose or sucrose in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10), at least one amino acid selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9), an insecticide that is a borate salt or boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4), a non-caloric sweetener, and water (claim 1) read on instant claims 1 and 19.
Harris’ teaching for an amino acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9) falls within the claimed range of up to 5% as recited in instant claim 1 and the claimed range of 1 to 5% as recited in claim 19. Harris’ teaching for fructose or sucrose in an amount of 0.1 to 10% falls within the claimed range of 1 to 50% (claim 10) recited in claim 19. Harris’ teaching for boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4) overlaps the claimed range of 1 to 5.4% as recited in claim 19. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Harris’ teaching for boric acid in an amount from 0.01 to 10% (claims 2 and 4) reads on instant claims 2 – 4, overlapping on the claimed ranges of 1 to 5.4% and 1 to 2% as recited in claims 3 and 4, respectively.
Harris’ teaching that the insect bait composition includes a caloric sweetener selected from fructose, sucrose, dextrose, and honey in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10) reads on instant claims 5 - 7. Harris’ teaching that fructose or sucrose is in an amount of 0.1 to 10% (claim 10) falls within the claimed range of 1 to 50% w/v as recited in claim 6 and overlaps the claimed range of 4 to 6% as recited in claim 7. Claimed ranges that overlap teachings of the prior art are prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2144.05(i).
Harris’ teaching for an amino acid in an amount of 0.001 to 2% (claim 9) falls within the claimed range of 1 to 5% as recited in instant claim 8 and overlaps the range of 1 to 2% as recited in claim 9.
Harris’ teaching that the at least one amino acid is selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid reads on instant claim 10’s recitation for one or more of L-leucine and L-phenylalanine.
Harris’s teaching that the at least one amino acid is selected from proline, leucine, phenylalanine, and aspartic acid reads on instant claim 13 and 14’s recitation for one or more non-essential amino acids of L-aspartic acid and L-proline.
Harris teaches the insect bait composition is a liquid (page 5 line 23) reading on instant claim 17.
Harris’ examples are with Pharoah ants (pages 5 – 10) which are in the subfamily Myrmicinae, reading on instant claim 18.
In example 1, Harris teaches placing the insecticidal composition in a container in an ant nest (page 5 lines 40 – 49), reading on instant claim 20.
Claims 11, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (as cited above) in view of Warner (US 2004/0057976 A1).
Harris’ teachings are discussed above.
Harris does not specifically teach that more than one amino acid is included in the composition, or that the amount of each amino acid included is equal.
Warner teaches the missing element of Harris.
Warner teaches insect baits for ants which includes amino acids and a sugar (abstract, paragraphs 0022 – 0025, claim 1). Warner teaches amino acids such as alanine, asparagine, aspartic acid, glutamic acid, glutamine, glycine, histidine, phenylalanine, proline, serine, threonine, and valine (paragraph 0007). Warner teaches a plurality of amino acids for inclusion in insect bait, with each amino acid present in a concentration of 2 – 7 grams per 100 mL of bait (paragraphs 0009, 0012, 0028). Warner teaches that amino acids are an attractant for insects due to their nitrogen content, and a suitable amount for inclusion in the composition is an amount that “enhances the gustatory stimulation of insects” (paragraph 0028).
The combination of Harris and Warner’s teachings renders instant claims 11, 12, 15, and 16 prima facie obvious as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(i)(a)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Harris’ composition to include a plurality of amino acids as taught by Warner because Warner teaches that amino acids are an attractant for insects due to their nitrogen content, and a suitable amount for inclusion in the composition is an amount that “enhances the gustatory stimulation of insects” (paragraph 0028). Therefore, the combination of Harris and Warner’s teachings would yield predictable results of increased ant attraction to baits due to enhanced gustatory stimulation of multiple amino acids, which is prima facie obvious according to MPEP 2143(i)(a).
The combination of Harris’s teaching for an insect bait composition which includes a sweetener, at least one amino acid, an insecticide that is a borate salt or boric acid, and water (claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10) with Warner’s teaching to include a plurality of amino acids in insect bait (paragraphs 0009, 0012, 0028) reads on instant claims 11 and 15. Although the combination of Harris and Warner does not teach every amino acid recited in instant claims 11 and 15, Harris and Warner teach amino acids such as alanine, asparagine, aspartic acid, glutamic acid, glutamine, glycine, histidine, phenylalanine, proline, serine, threonine, and valine as examples (paragraph 0007), suggesting that other, un-named amino acids are also suitable. (Alanine, glutamic acid, histidine, phenylalanine, threonine, and valine read on the EAAs, while asparagine, aspartic acid, glutamine, glycine, proline, and serine read on the non-EAAs.)
Warner’s teaching for a plurality of amino acids with each amino acid present in a concentration of 2 – 7 grams per 100 mL of bait (paragraphs 0009, 0012, 0028) reads on instant claim 12 and 16’s recitation for “each of the one or more EAAs is provided in the same amount” and “each of the one or more non-EAAs is provided in the same amount”.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/TORIANA N. VIGIL/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612