DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US PGPub 2019/0306457) in view of Kobayashi (US PGPub 2018/0240418) and Wu et al. (CN 118737076).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an imaging system (fig. 1, video communication system 1) comprising:
a display device (fig. 1, display device 11) comprising a display panel ([0033], “When the local translucent display device 11 displays a screen”); and
an imaging device (fig. 1, local camera array 12) disposed such that the display panel is interposed between the imaging device and a subject ([0032], “The local camera array 12 is placed on the back of the local translucent display device 11”), and configured to acquire an image of the subject transmitted through the display panel ([0032], “the local camera array 12 may capture the scene of the local user in front of the local translucent display device 11”), wherein
one frame period for displaying the image of one frame on the display panel ([0043], “action 1102, displaying the remote video information on the local translucent display device 11”).
While Liu discloses displaying video information which would display information over multiple frames, it has been known to display colors in a plurality of subframes within each frame period. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Kobayashi discloses a plurality of sub-field periods for displaying different colors ([0025], “A first aspect of the present invention provides a color image display device capable of displaying a color image by a field-sequential system with a plurality of subframe periods being included in each frame period”), and
the imaging device is configured to identify a sub-field period for displaying a specific color out of the sub-field periods according to a ratio of a color component or a color difference component of the image acquired in each of the sub-field periods ([0139], “Furthermore, it is assumed below that each frame period consists of L subframe periods, i.e., first to L'th subframe periods (in the case of the three-subframe configuration, L=3, and in the case of the four-subframe configuration, L=4). In addition, it is also assumed below that output values of the light sources are adjusted so as to achieve a desired color balance when the R-, G-, and B-components in the light source data are equal to one another, and the transparent color refers to a color which maintains such a color ratio (i.e., the ratio of the R-, G-, and B-components)”),
wherein the sub-field periods include:
a first sub-field period for displaying a first color (Kobayashi: fig. 8, period T1 which displays red);
a second sub-field period for displaying a second color (Kobayashi: fig. 8, period T2 which displays green); and
a third sub-field period for displaying a third color (Kobayashi: fig. 8, period T3 which displays blue);
wherein the imaging device is configured to
acquire a first color component corresponding to the first color in three consecutive sub-field periods (Kobayashi: fig. 8, shows multiple frame periods which would be repeated more than twice) and
identify, as the first sub-field period, the sub-field period in which an image having the first color component that is largest is acquired (Kobayashi: [0145], “If the determination result for step S50 is that the target color display area proportion TPk is greater than or equal to the target color selection coefficient Kt, it is determined whether the target color display area proportion TPk is “1” (step S54). If the determination result is that the target color display area proportion TPk is not “1”, the k'th drive light source data Ek for the following frame period is calculated by the following formula (step S56)”);
acquire a second color component corresponding to the second color in the three sub-field periods in which the first color component is acquired (Kobayashi: fig. 8, shows multiple frame periods) and
identify the sub-field period in which an image having the second color component that is larger is acquired, as the second sub-field period out of the two sub-field periods other than the sub-field period identified as the first sub-field period (Kobayashi: [0145], “If the determination result for step S50 is that the target color display area proportion TPk is greater than or equal to the target color selection coefficient Kt, it is determined whether the target color display area proportion TPk is “1” (step S54). If the determination result is that the target color display area proportion TPk is not “1”, the k'th drive light source data Ek for the following frame period is calculated by the following formula (step S56)”).
In view of the teachings of Liu and Kobayashi to include the plurality of subfields of Kobayashi, as performing the display of colors of the transparent display of Liu, for the purpose of providing a color image display device serving as a field-sequential transparent display which inhibits color breakup and a decrease of the range of color reproduction while enhancing the transparency of a transparent display area (Kobayashi: 0024).
While the combination of Liu and Kobayashi teaches determining a target color display area proportion, it has been known to determine relative size by using ratios. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Wu discloses identify, as the first sub-field period, the sub-field period in which an image acquired has an average chromaticity closer to the first color than an original average chromaticity such that a ratio of the first color component is larger than those of the second color component and the third color component; identify, as the second sub-field period, the sub-field period in which an image acquired has an average chromaticity closer to the second color than an original average chromaticity such that a ratio of the second color component is larger than those of the first component and the second component; and identify, as the third sub-field period, the sub-field period in which an image acquired has an average chromaticity closer to the third color than an original average chromaticity such that a ratio of the third color difference component is larger than those of the first component and the second component (claim 5: wherein the color coordinates of all pixels of the m-th frame image that exceed a first ratio threshold in the color coordinates in the XYZ space are located within the first graph formed by the n reference color coordinates; where on page 2 of the specification the reference primary colors are red, green and blue).
In view of the teachings of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the ratio of Wu, within the system of Liu and Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing a color separation phenomenon.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein
the display device comprises a light source configured to irradiate a side surface of the display panel with light, and the light source comprises: a first light source configured to emit light in the first sub-field period; a second light source configured to emit light in the second sub-field period; and a third light source configured to emit light in the third sub-field period (Kobayashi: [0111], “The light source unit 40 is composed of red, green, and blue LEDs (light-emitting diodes) 40r, 40g, and 40b, which serve as red, green, and blue light sources, respectively, and there are several examples of the light source unit, such as direct, edge-light, and projection types. In the case of the direct type, the light source unit 40 is composed of the red, green, and blue LEDs 40r, 40g, and 40b arranged two-dimensionally on the back side of the liquid crystal panel 11. In the case of the edge-light type, the light source unit 40 is composed of the red, green, and blue LEDs 40r, 40g, and 40b arranged one-dimensionally along a side of the liquid crystal panel 11. In the case of the projection type, the light source unit 40 is composed of the red, green, and blue LEDs 40r, 40g, and 40b positioned so as to be out of the observer's field of view and project emission light onto the back of the liquid crystal panel 11”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein
the first color is red, the second color is green, and the third color is blue (Kobayashi: [0120], “In the case where the three-subframe-configuration FS system is employed in the present embodiment, the modulation data computation portion 212 sequentially outputs the red, green, and blue image signals Rin, Gin, and Bin respectively as a red modulation signal Sr, which corresponds to the first modulation data C1, during the first subframe period T1, a green modulation signal Sg, which corresponds to the second modulation data C2, during the second subframe period T2, and a blue modulation signal Sb, which corresponds to the third modulation data C3, during the third subframe period T3”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the display device is conjured to display an all-white image in at least the three sub-field periods in which the imaging device acquires the first color component (Kobayashi: [0106], “a first subframe period (also referred to as a “W-subframe period”) T1 during which a white image represented by the white gradation signal Wf is displayed”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured to
acquire a first color difference component corresponding to the first color in three consecutive sub-field periods and identify, as the first sub-field period, the sub-field period in which the image having the first color difference component that is largest is acquired (Kobayashi: [0176], “As shown in (B) of FIG. 14, during the first subframe period T1, the red light source (i.e., the red LED 40r) emits light at a maximum intensity, and the green light source (i.e., the green LED 40g) and the blue light source (i.e., the blue LED 40b) emit light at 20% of the maximum intensity; during the second subframe period T2, the green light source emits light at the maximum intensity, and the red and blue light sources emit light at 20% of the maximum intensity; and during the third subframe period T3, the blue light source emits light at the maximum intensity, and the red and green light sources emit light at 20% of the maximum intensity”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured to
acquire a second color difference component corresponding to the third color in the three sub-field periods in which the first color difference component is acquired and identify the sub-field period in which the image having the second color difference component that is larger is acquired, as the third sub-field period out of the two sub-field periods other than the sub-field period identified as the first sub-field period (Kobayashi: [0177], “In the case where most (96%) of the area of an image to be displayed (i.e., a current image) is displayed in a transparent display mode, as shown in FIG. 13, color breakup in the transparent display area poses a problem more than does saturation in the display area other than the transparent display area (hereinafter, referred to as the “color display area”). In this regard, in the present embodiment, the light source state in the first operation example shown in (B) of FIG. 14 enhances the transparency of the transparent display area and reduces color breakup, but instead, saturation in the color display area decreases (see (A) of FIG. 11).”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the display device is configured to display an all-white image in at least the three sub-field periods in which the imaging device acquires the first color difference component (Kobayashi: [0106], “a first subframe period (also referred to as a “W-subframe period”) T1 during which a white image represented by the white gradation signal Wf is displayed”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured to combine a plurality of pieces of exposure data of a plurality of colors acquired in the sub-field periods to generate imaged data (Liu: [0030], “There is a plurality of microlenses 112c placed on the plurality of pixel units 112a. The plurality of microlenses 112c covers the plurality of pixel units 112a, while the interval areas 112b are exposed. The naked-eye 3D display may simultaneously provide video information to a plurality of local users located in different directions, and simultaneously display different video information to the plurality of local users according to the different directions of the plurality of local users. In FIG. 3, a display area of each pixel unit 112a in the naked-eye 3D display may be equally divided into N units to accommodate different viewing angles and/or positions, and N is greater than or equal to two. In one embodiment, the display area of each pixel unit 112a in the naked-eye 3D display is divided into three units, and the video information displayed in the three units of the naked-eye 3D display are different, and the three units may be defined as unit a, unit b, and unit c. In FIG. 4, when a viewing position of a local user A is in unit a, a viewing position of a local user B is in unit b, and a viewing position of a local user C is in unit c, the video information seen by each of the users A, B and C is different. The scene in front of the translucent display can be captured by human eyes or the local camera 12 on the back of the translucent display through the interval areas 112b”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured to combine a plurality of pieces of exposure data of a plurality of colors acquired in the sub-field periods to generate imaged data (Liu: [0030], “There is a plurality of microlenses 112c placed on the plurality of pixel units 112a. The plurality of microlenses 112c covers the plurality of pixel units 112a, while the interval areas 112b are exposed. The naked-eye 3D display may simultaneously provide video information to a plurality of local users located in different directions, and simultaneously display different video information to the plurality of local users according to the different directions of the plurality of local users. In FIG. 3, a display area of each pixel unit 112a in the naked-eye 3D display may be equally divided into N units to accommodate different viewing angles and/or positions, and N is greater than or equal to two. In one embodiment, the display area of each pixel unit 112a in the naked-eye 3D display is divided into three units, and the video information displayed in the three units of the naked-eye 3D display are different, and the three units may be defined as unit a, unit b, and unit c. In FIG. 4, when a viewing position of a local user A is in unit a, a viewing position of a local user B is in unit b, and a viewing position of a local user C is in unit c, the video information seen by each of the users A, B and C is different. The scene in front of the translucent display can be captured by human eyes or the local camera 12 on the back of the translucent display through the interval areas 112b”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein
the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the first color in the first sub-field period, the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the second color in the second sub-field period, and the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the third color in the third sub-field period (Kobayashi: [0163], “As described above, in the present embodiment, a transparent color externally designated as a target color candidate TCC is determined as a target color TCk for each subframe period Tk (where k=1 to L). In this case, values for the target color candidate TCC are used as specific values representing each target color TCk=(R1, Gt, Bt). On the basis of the target color TCk thus determined, a target color display area proportion TPk for the target color TCk, a light source data initial value Ebk, and a target color selection coefficient Kt, light source data Ek is determined for each subframe period Tk (by formulas (5) to (7)), and the state of the light source (the type (color) and the intensity of the light source to be lit up) is determined for each subframe period Tk in accordance with the determined light source data Ek. Moreover, as described earlier, for each subframe period Tk, modulation data Ck is determined by input image signals included in an input signal Din, but in the case where a transparent color is displayed, for all subframe periods T1 to TL, modulation data C1 to CL for a display area to be rendered in the transparent color (i.e., a transparent display area) are set so as to maximize backlight transmission through the spatial light modulation portion. Accordingly, the present embodiment renders it possible to inhibit a reduction in saturation of a display color as much as possible while achieving enhanced visible luminance of background light, i.e., transparency, in the transparent display area, whereby color breakup due to the field-sequential system can be inhibited”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu, Kobayashi and Wu further discloses wherein
the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the first color in the first sub-field period, the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the second color in the second sub-field period, and the imaging device is configured to acquire the exposure data of a color different from the third color in the third sub-field period (Kobayashi: [0163], “As described above, in the present embodiment, a transparent color externally designated as a target color candidate TCC is determined as a target color TCk for each subframe period Tk (where k=1 to L). In this case, values for the target color candidate TCC are used as specific values representing each target color TCk=(R1, Gt, Bt). On the basis of the target color TCk thus determined, a target color display area proportion TPk for the target color TCk, a light source data initial value Ebk, and a target color selection coefficient Kt, light source data Ek is determined for each subframe period Tk (by formulas (5) to (7)), and the state of the light source (the type (color) and the intensity of the light source to be lit up) is determined for each subframe period Tk in accordance with the determined light source data Ek. Moreover, as described earlier, for each subframe period Tk, modulation data Ck is determined by input image signals included in an input signal Din, but in the case where a transparent color is displayed, for all subframe periods T1 to TL, modulation data C1 to CL for a display area to be rendered in the transparent color (i.e., a transparent display area) are set so as to maximize backlight transmission through the spatial light modulation portion. Accordingly, the present embodiment renders it possible to inhibit a reduction in saturation of a display color as much as possible while achieving enhanced visible luminance of background light, i.e., transparency, in the transparent display area, whereby color breakup due to the field-sequential system can be inhibited”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629