DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “an light holder portion” is incorrect and should be corrected to read “a light holder portion.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beausoleil (US 2014/0119022) in view of McLeish (US 2005/0255718).
Regarding claim 1. Beausoleil discloses a lamp module (lighting system 50, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0077) comprising: a housing (a shroud 62, an upper knuckle 104 and a lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) comprising a light holder portion (shroud 62 and an upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) and a shaft portion (the lower knuckle 106 portion that includes shaft 126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0088), the light holder portion configured to tilt relative to the shaft portion (the upper knuckle 104 that is rotatably mounted to the lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 9, Para. 0106); an LED lamp board (76, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0083) positioned within the light holder portion (shroud 62); a power supply driving module (102, see Fig. 2, Para. 0109) connected in electrical communication with the LED lamp board; and at least one wire (e.g. 84, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0099) connected in electrical communication with at least one of the LED lamp board, the power supply driving module (102).
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to a first concentric terminal positioned at least partially within the shaft portion, the first concentric terminal connected in electrical communication with the power supply driving module, the first concentric terminal configured to rotatably connect in electrical communication with a second concentric terminal to supply power to the power supply driving module.
McLeish teaches an electrical connector (100/200/300, see Figs. 2a, 4a, and 8, Para. 0102) comprising a male connector (120/520) and a female connector (150/550) configured to be connected at any relative rotational orientation; wherein the male connector (120/520, see Figs. 2a, 14, Para. 0103 and 0139) includes first concentric terminal (terminals 121-123, 521-523, see Figs. 2c, 2g, and 14, Para. 0014, 0102, 0139) and the female connector (150/550, see Figs. 2a, 15, Para. 0104 and 0140) includes second concentric terminal (151-153, 552, 553, see Figs. 2d and 15, Para. 0014, 0140-0141) corresponding to first terminals (121-123, 521-523, Figs. 2a, 14, and 15, Para. 0106, 0141).
Therefore, in view of McLeish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that maintain electrical connection during relative rotation between first and second concentric terminals, as suggested by McLeish, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 2. Beausoleil further discloses the light holder portion defining a first housing cavity (see Para. 0077-0078); the light holder portion defining a first wire opening (trailing end 68 of the shroud 62 is connected to the upper knuckle 104 and Power and/or control for the LED driver 102 may be provided through conductive wires that pass through the upper knuckle 104, see Para. 0087 and 0104) that is in communication with the first housing cavity; the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0088) defining a second housing cavity, the shaft portion defining a second wire opening (power cord 130 preferably provides power to the LED driver 102 pass through the shaft 126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0109) that is in communication with the second housing cavity; the lamp module further comprises at least one wire (84, see Fig. 6A) connected in electrical communication with at least one of the LED lamp board (see Para. 0080), the power supply driving module (102, see Fig. 2, Para. 0109).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose that the electrical connection includes a first concentric terminal and the first concentric terminal; and the at least one wire extends from the first housing cavity to the second housing cavity through the first wire opening and the second wire opening.
McLeish teaches an electrical connector (100/200/300, see Figs. 2a, 4a, and 8, Para. 0102) comprising a male connector (120/520) and a female connector (150/550) configured to be connected at any relative rotational orientation; wherein the male connector (120/520, see Figs. 2a, 14, Para. 0103 and 0139) includes first concentric terminal (terminals 121-123, 521-523, see Figs. 2c, 2g, and 14, Para. 0014, 0102, 0139) and the female connector (150/550, see Figs. 2a, 15, Para. 0104 and 0140) includes second concentric terminal (151-153, 552, 553, see Figs. 2d and 15, Para. 0014, 0140-0141) corresponding to first terminals (121-123, 521-523, Figs. 2a, 14, and 15, Para. 0106, 0141).
Therefore, in view of McLeish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that maintain electrical connection during relative rotation between first and second concentric terminals, as suggested by McLeish, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 4. Beausoleil further discloses the at least one wire (84, see Fig. 6A, see Para. 0080) connects the LED lamp board (76) in electrical communication with the power supply driving module (102, see Figs. 6A and 8, Para. 0104).
Regarding claim 5. Beausoleil further discloses light holder portion (shroud 62 and an upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085); a first ring surrounding a first joint opening (threaded opening 107 provided on the lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 9, Para. 0108); the first wire opening is in communication with the first joint opening; the shaft portion (104) defines a second ring surrounding a second joint opening; the second wire opening is in communication with the second joint opening; and the first toothed ring is configured to engage with the second toothed ring to secure an angle of the light holder portion relative to the shaft portion (see Para. 0108).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose that the first joint opening and the second joint opening is toothed ring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s joint part to include a first toothed ring surrounding the first joint opening and a second toothed ring surrounding the second joint opening as a matter of selecting a well-known connection means, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a toothed ring to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 6. Beausoleil further discloses light holder portion (shroud 62 and an upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) defines a first end (lower knuckle 106) and a second end (trailing end 68 and the upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2); the first end (lower knuckle 106) is connected to the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0108) and a retention insert (72, see Figs. 2 and 8B, Para. 0105) on fixture body (12) and the LED lamp board is secured within the first cavity by the retention insert.
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the second end defines internal threading within the first cavity; the lamp module further comprises; the retention insert is engaged with the internal threading; the retention insert may have internal threads which mate with external threads and the retention insert is engaged with the internal threading.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s light holder portion to include internal threading instead of external threading and the retention insert to include external threading to engaged with the internal threading as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include an internal threading within the first cavity to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 7. Beausoleil further discloses the light module further comprises a lens (70, see Fig. 2, Para. 0078) positioned over an LED (74, Para. 0080) of the LED lamp board (76), and wherein the retention insert (72) encircles the lens (70, see Fig. 1, Para. 0094).
Regarding claim 8. Beausoleil further discloses the light module further comprises a lens (70, see Fig. 2, Para. 0078) positioned over an LED (74, Para. 0080) of the LED lamp board (76), and wherein the retention insert (72) engages the lens.
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the lens includes a lens flange and the retention insert (72) engages the flange of the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s lens to include a lens flange as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a lens flange to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 9. Beausoleil further discloses the retention insert (72) secures the LED lamp board (76) against a shoulder of the light holder portion (see Figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claim 11. Beausoleil further discloses the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 1)
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to the shaft portion further including internal threading.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s shaft portion to include internal threading to engaged with the base as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include to include an internal threading within shaft portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 12. Beausoleil further discloses the shaft portion (lower knuckle 106 and shaft 126, see Fig. 9).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the first concentric terminal is positioned at least partially within the bottom insert; and the bottom insert defines a threaded shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that is positioned at least partially within the bottom insert to maintain electrical connection, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 13. Beausoleil discloses a lamp module (lighting system 50, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0077) comprising: a first housing (a shroud 62, an upper knuckle 104 and a lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) comprising a light holder portion (shroud 62 and an upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) and a shaft portion (the lower knuckle 106 portion that includes shaft 126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0088), and a fixing rod (108, see Fig. 9, Para. 0108), the shaft portion configured to tilt relative to the light holder portion about the fixing rod (see Para. 0108); the light holder portion defining a first housing cavity, the shaft portion defining a second housing cavity; an LED lamp board (76, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0083) positioned within the first housing cavity; the LED lamp board (76) configured to emit light through a bore of the light holder portion (shroud 62); a power supply driving module (102, see Fig. 2, Para. 0109) positioned within the second housing cavity; and at least one wire (e.g. 84, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0099) connected in electrical communication with at least one of the LED lamp board, the power supply driving module (102).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose that the shaft portion defining a threaded shaft; the electrical connection includes a first concentric terminal connected in electrical communication with the power supply driving module, the first concentric terminal positioned at least partially within the shaft, the first concentric terminal configured to rotatably connect in electrical communication with a second concentric terminal.
McLeish teaches an electrical connector (100/200/300, see Figs. 2a, 4a, and 8, Para. 0102) comprising a male connector (120/520) and a female connector (150/550) configured to be connected at any relative rotational orientation; wherein the male connector (120/520, see Figs. 2a, 14, Para. 0103 and 0139) includes first concentric terminal (terminals 121-123, 521-523, see Figs. 2c, 2g, and 14, Para. 0014, 0102, 0139) and the female connector (150/550, see Figs. 2a, 15, Para. 0104 and 0140) includes second concentric terminal (151-153, 552, 553, see Figs. 2d and 15, Para. 0014, 0140-0141) corresponding to first terminals (121-123, 521-523, Figs. 2a, 14, and 15, Para. 0106, 0141).
Therefore, in view of McLeish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that maintain electrical connection during relative rotation between first and second concentric terminals, as suggested by McLeish, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s shaft portion to include threaded shaft to engaged with the base as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include an internal threading within shaft portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 14. Beausoleil further discloses the bore (62) is at least partially threaded (an interior rim or groove may be formed within the first end 64 of the shroud 62 for seating an optical lens, see Fig. 2, Para. 0094).
Regarding claim 15. Beausoleil further discloses a retention (72, see Fig. 2, Para. 0029) insert engages the bore and secures the LED lamp board (76) against a shoulder defined within the first housing cavity.
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the retention is threaded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s retention to be threaded in order to effectively engaged with the housing cavity as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include threading within the retention portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 16. Beausoleil further discloses a retention (72, see Fig. 2, Para. 0029) insert engages the bore and secures the LED lamp board (76) against a shoulder defined within the first housing cavity and a lens (70).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the retention is threaded and secures a lens over the LED lamp board.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s retention to be threaded in order to effectively engaged with the housing cavity as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include to include threading within the retention portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding using the retention insert to secure the lens over the LED lamp board, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s retention insert to secure the lens, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 17. The teachings of Beausoleil have been discussed above.
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the first concentric terminal is directly mounted to the power supply driving module.
Therefore, in view of McLeish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that is directly mounted to the power supply driving module to maintain electrical connection, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 18. Beausoleil further discloses a first end of the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 9) is coupled to the light holder portion (see Fig. 2); the shaft (126) is defined at a second end of the shaft portion opposite from the first end; and the power supply driving module (102, see Fig. 8B) extends lengthwise through the lower housing cavity from the first end to the second end (see Fig. 8B).
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to the shaft portion is threaded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s shaft portion to include threading to engaged with the base as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include threading within shaft portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beausoleil in view of McLeish and further in view of Schmuckle (US 2013/0208489).
Regarding claim 3. The teachings of Beausoleil have been discussed above.
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to the first housing cavity is at least partially filled with a filler material, and wherein the filler material forms a seal around the at least one wire.
Schmuckle teaches a light fixture (10, see Fig. 1) having a housing (12), a wire (49, see Fig. 2) and filling (potting compound 57, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0031) the housing cavity at least partially with potting (52, see Figs. 2 and 7).
Therefore, in view of Schmuckle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil by including a filler material that forms a seal around the at least one wire in order to provides a substantially water tight seal between the wire and the housing. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to prevent water intrusion and causing a short or damage to the LED.
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beausoleil in view of McLeish and further in view of Woytowitz et al. (US 2017/0051910 hereinafter refer as “Woytowitz”).
Regarding claim 19. Beausoleil discloses a lamp module (lighting system 50, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0077) comprising: a housing (a shroud 62, an upper knuckle 104 and a lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) comprising a light holder portion (shroud 62 and an upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 2, Para. 0085) and a shaft portion (the lower knuckle 106 portion that includes shaft 126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0088), the light holder portion configured to tilt relative to the shaft portion (the upper knuckle 104 that is rotatably mounted to the lower knuckle 106, see Fig. 9, Para. 0106), the light holder portion defining a first housing cavity (see Para. 0077-0078), the light holder portion defining a first wire opening (trailing end 68 of the shroud 62 is connected to the upper knuckle 104 and Power and/or control for the LED driver 102 may be provided through conductive wires that pass through the upper knuckle 104, see Para. 0087 and 0104) that is in communication with the first housing cavity; the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0088) defining a second housing cavity, the shaft portion defining a second wire opening (power cord 130 preferably provides power to the LED driver 102 pass through the shaft 126, see Fig. 9, Para. 0109) that is in communication with the second housing cavity, the light holder portion defining a first end (the lower knuckle 106) and a second end (upper knuckle 104, see Fig. 9), the first end (e.g. the lower knuckle 106) connected to the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 9), an LED lamp board (76, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0083) positioned within the light holder portion (shroud 62); a lens (70) positioned over an LED (74) of the LED lamp board (76, see Fig. 2), the lens at least partially encircled by the retention insert; a power supply driving module (102, see Fig. 2, Para. 0109) connected in electrical communication with the LED lamp board; and at least one wire (e.g. 84, see Fig. 6A, Para. 0099) connected in electrical communication with at least one of the LED lamp board, the power supply driving module (102).
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to the first housing cavity being at least partially filled with a filler material, the second end defining internal threading within the first cavity; a retention insert engaging the internal threading within the first cavity, the retention insert securing the LED lamp board within the first cavity; a first concentric terminal positioned at least partially within the shaft portion, the first concentric terminal connected in electrical communication with the power supply driving module, the first concentric terminal configured to rotatably connect in electrical communication with a second concentric terminal to supply power to the power supply driving module; and the first concentric terminal, the at least one wire extending from the first housing cavity to the second housing cavity through the first wire opening and the second wire opening, the filler material forming a seal around the at least one wire.
McLeish teaches an electrical connector (100/200/300, see Figs. 2a, 4a, and 8, Para. 0102) comprising a male connector (120/520) and a female connector (150/550) configured to be connected at any relative rotational orientation; wherein the male connector (120/520, see Figs. 2a, 14, Para. 0103 and 0139) includes first concentric terminal (terminals 121-123, 521-523, see Figs. 2c, 2g, and 14, Para. 0014, 0102, 0139) and the female connector (150/550, see Figs. 2a, 15, Para. 0104 and 0140) includes second concentric terminal (151-153, 552, 553, see Figs. 2d and 15, Para. 0014, 0140-0141) corresponding to first terminals (121-123, 521-523, Figs. 2a, 14, and 15, Para. 0106, 0141).
Woytowitz teaches an illuminating device (10, see Fig. 2, Para. 0046) that includes a housing (12) with a first housing cavity (a first opening 21a, see Fig. 3D, Para. 0050) being at least partially filled with a filler material (potting material 30, see Fig. 5A, Para. 0063, 0068) to inhibit or prevent moisture that may damage the control board, and a second end of the housing defining internal threading (an inner rig surface 40, see Fig. 3D, Para. 0067) within the first cavity.
Therefore, in view of McLeish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that maintain electrical connection during relative rotation between first and second concentric terminals, as suggested by McLeish, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Therefore, in view of Woytowitz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brynjolfsson’s first housing cavity to be at least partially filled by the filling material in order to inhibit or prevent moisture that may damage the LED lamp board. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to prevent water intrusion and causing a short or damage to the LED lamp board.
Regarding claim 21. Beausoleil further discloses the shaft portion (126, see Fig. 1)
However, Beausoleil is silent with respect to the shaft portion further including internal threading.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beausoleil’s shaft portion to include internal threading to engaged with the base as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include to include an internal threading within shaft portion to achieve a predictable and reliable connection.
Regarding claim 22. Beausoleil further discloses the shaft portion (lower knuckle 106 and shaft 126, see Fig. 9).
However, Beausoleil does not explicitly disclose the first concentric terminal is positioned at least partially within the bottom insert; and the bottom insert defines a threaded shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical wiring connection of Beausoleil to include a concentric terminals that is positioned at least partially within the bottom insert to maintain electrical connection, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, providing concentric terminals from the design requirement of rotatable lighting fixture and would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Brynjolfsson fails to disclose or suggest “the concentric terminal comprises the inner conductive sleeve configured to receive a conductive post of the second concentric terminal to establish a first electrical connection, the outer conductive sleeve configured to contact a conductive spring of the second concentric terminal to establish a second electrical connection, the first concentric terminal configured to maintain the first electrical connection and the second electrical connection regardless of a rotational orientation of the first concentric terminal relative to the second concentric terminal” and as specifically called for the claimed combinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hagen (US 6,161,948) teaches a light fixture (18, see Fig. 2) that includes a housing (20, 12, 14, see Fig. 2) comprising a light holder portion (12, housing 20 and cap 21 which enclose lamp 24, see Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 3; lines 28-30) and a shaft portion (14, see Figs. 1-3, Col. 3; lines 25-65); wherein the shaft portion includes a stud member (16, see Figs. 1 and 3) threadably connects to a source of electrical power (see Col. 3; lines 25-35), such as an outlet box or mounting canopy (26, see Fig. 2) having electrical wires (27) that can connect to lamp; Mullen (US 2020/0072450) teaches a light fixture (20, see Fig. 1) that allows for pivoting the light fixture about a horizontal axis and rotating the light fixture about a vertical axis (Para. 0042); and Lee et al. (US 2018/0100638) teaches lamp module comprising: a housing comprising a light holder portion and a shaft portion, the light holder portion configured to tilt relative to the shaft portion.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875