Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13 are amended.
Claims 17-20 are new.
Claims 8 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 19-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application EP24159317.7, filed on 02/23/2024.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stautmann et al. [US20170364089, now Stautmann]; with Maloney [US 20200349362], further in view of Ingibergsson et al. [EP 3195719, now Ingiberg].
Claim 1
Stautmann discloses a method for determining the position of a work vehicle in a silo facility [see at least Stautmann, abstract (discusses general concepts of use of a work vehicle in a flat silo facility]; ¶ 0028 (“flat silo”), comprising:
detecting via a detection device associated with the work vehicle at least one stationary identification feature [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0063 (“determination of the position”); 0089 (different feedstuff and identification of such for each vehicle); 0123 (“in order to detect position quality data of the feed supply for the extraction of feed from the flat silo 26 with the at least partially autonomous feed mixing vehicle 1, the feed mixing vehicle 1 is equipped with sensor-equipped sensing devices such as e.g. scanners and cameras, for controlling the travel elements and operating elements.”); 0126 (“ exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 1… positions the feed mixing vehicle at a grid point 19-1 in the region of the flat silo 26. A further scanner 21 serves to assist this task…”)];
looking up, from a database, via a control unit on the basis of the at least one stationary identification feature; (a) a position of the stationary identification feature with respect to a predetermined reference position inside the silo facility including a number of bunker silos [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0009 (“the position of the location of the autonomous vehicle is sensed and defined as a starting point (S) in the computer,”); 0022 – 0025 (discusses vehicle navigation); 0037 (“predetermined”); note the computer shown in Stautmann, had to have a database to fulfil the actions described)];
calculating via the control unit a spatial location of the work vehicle relative to the at least one stationary identification feature [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0037 (“control”); 0067 (“control of autonomous vehicle”)];
setting via the control unit the spatial location by comparison with the looked-up position of the at least one stationary identification feature with respect to the predetermined reference position [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0037-0038 (discusses control and predetermined location)]; 0029]; and
outputting via the control unit the spatial location as the current position of the work vehicle, the control unit connected via a data interface to the detection device, the database, and a user interface [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0029 (discusses controlling an autonomous vehicle in detail); 0048 (“the computer determines from the acquired surroundings data a three-dimensional point cloud which maps the surroundings and is composed of individual points, wherein the position of the individual points is defined in each case by a point coordinate, and the point cloud characterizes overall the situational spatial surroundings,”)];
recording, in the database, a route covered by the work vehicle by periodically determining, via the control unit, the current position of the work vehicle [see at least Stautmann, Fig. 5; ¶ 0029; 0039 (data record, stored); 0069; 0115];
performing, by the work vehicle, a compacting procedure on the bunker silo based on the current position of the work vehicle, the looked-up state of compaction of the bunker silo, and already processed areas identified from the recorded route [see at least Stautmann, Fig.1; ¶ 0126 (discusses guiding the mixing which is similar to compacting the silo material)].
Maloney also teaches these limitations with more specific technology for features of position determining [see at least Maloney, Abstract (“determining a position…storing object data…object parameters..”); 0005 (discusses identifying of a locations); 0032 (describes details of determining a position of a vehicle); 0034 (determining predetermined reference position inside the silo facility); 0082 (discusses moving between different sites); 0121 (“The type or the purpose of use of the autonomous vehicle or the assemblies which are selected for the execution of partial functions such as extraction of feed, mixing of feed and dispensing of feed are not essential for the method according to the invention. Instead, the control processes or elements, such as the corresponding sensors, which are necessary to realize an at least partially autonomous control process are essential.”)].
Examiners note: Stautmann discloses navigation within a silo operation with flat silos (same as a bunker silo) for feed mixing, while Maloney was one of the references used in the EP search report and teaches localization, navigation, and position determination for a vehicle. Thus is analogous art.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Neither Stautmann or Maloney specifically disclose/teach but Ingiberg teaches b) a state of compaction associated with a bunker silo identified by the at least one stationary identification feature [see at least Ingiberg, Figs. 1 and 2; ¶ 0037-0038 (“With the ground information D representing the density of the soil, a soil compaction, that may go back on the agricultural machine 1 driving over the ground G, may easily be detected. Such detection of soil compaction may well be applied in large silo arrangements which are being fed by agricultural machines 1 as tractors or the like. Here it is important to know the density of the silo material in order to be able to estimate the filling degree of the silo. This application of the proposed solution is shown in Fig. 2 and will be explained later.”)];
performing, by the work vehicle, a compacting procedure on the bunker silo based on the current position of the work vehicle, the looked-up state of compaction of the bunker silo, and already processed areas identified from the recorded route [see at least Ingiberg, Figs. 1 and 2; ¶ 0037-0038].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, further with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claim 2
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses current position of the work vehicle is output in local coordinates relative to the predetermined reference position [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0037 (discusses current positioning)].
Maloney more specifically teaches this limitation (see at least Maloney, 0058 (absolute position within an environment and GPS location): 0060 (geographic coverage); 0230 (discusses reasoning to perform the limitation)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claim 3
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses the current position of the work vehicle, output by the control unit, is transformed into global coordinates [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0025-0026 (discusses positioning determining system (GPS) and lane guidance within a flat (bunker) silo)}.
Claim 4
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses the transformed current position of the work vehicle is used to correct localization discrepancies of a GPS navigation system connected to the control unit via the data interface [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0012 (“ criteria which permit correction of the determined travel path to form a newly calculated travel path are predefined in the computer,”); 0029 (“spatial data”)].
Claim 5
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses wherein associated with the at least one stationary identification feature is at least one localization criterion of a bunker silo [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0026 (“ the navigation of the autonomous vehicle or of the feed mixing vehicle as far as the feed store, which may be, for example, an elongated flat silo, can be carried out by means of GPS and by means of an optical system within the feed store.”); Note, a flat silo is the same as a Bunker silo; 0031 (“localization and mapping”)].
Ingiberg more specifically teaches a bunker silo [see at least Ingiberg, Figs. 1 and 2; ¶ 0037-0038].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, further with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claim 6
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses the at least one localization criterion includes one or more of a silo reference position, a silo content, a silo characteristic, and a type of processing measures being carried out [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0028 (“feeding methods are also known in which, on feed mixing vehicles which are known per se and are controlled by an operator, the manual control operations, ranging from the extraction of feed from a flat silo to the delivery of feed, are controlled independently of the operator, to a partial extent (assistance systems) or even completely (autonomous systems).”); 0032 (“predefined grid point on the flat silo. From this grid point, position data and/or quality data of the feedstuffs to be extracted from the flat silo are determined by means of at least one scanner and/or sensor.”)].
Claim 7
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses the calculation of the spatial location of the work vehicle relative to the at least one stationary identification feature is compensated by the control unit in terms of an incorrect angular position of the work vehicle, measured by an inertial measurement unit connected to the control unit via the data interface [see at least Stautmann, ¶ 0073-0074 (discusses the use of LIDAR, laser scanners to determine features including angular (yaw) position).].
Claim 8 Cancelled
Claim 9
Claim 9 is the system claim for Claim 1 and has similar limitations to claim 1, therefore claim 9 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim 10
Claim 10 has similar limitations to claim 2, therefore claim 10 is rejected with the same rationale
as claim 2.
Claim 11
Claim 11 has similar limitations to claim 3, therefore claim 11 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim 12
Claim 12 has similar limitations to claim 4, therefore claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 13
Claim 13 has similar limitations to claim 5, therefore claim 13 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 14
Claim 14 has similar limitations to claim 6, therefore claim 14 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 15
Claim 15 has similar limitations to claim 7, therefore claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim 16 Cancelled
Claim 19
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further discloses further including performing the compacting procedure via a pusher blade attached to the work vehicle [see at least Fig. 1, ¶ 0126].
Ingiberg more specifically teaches bunker silo and compacting silo material [see at least Ingiberg, Figs. 1 and 2; ¶ 0037-0038].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, further with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claim 20
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Stautmann further teaches wherein the detection device detects a plurality of optical identification markers, and wherein the current position of the work vehicle is set by data fusion of spatial locations of the work vehicle calculated relative to the plurality of optical identification markers [see at least Stautmann, Abstract (“spatial data”); ¶ 0002 (indicates spatial awareness); 0029 (indicates more on spatial awareness)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, further with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stautmann et al. [US20170364089, now Stautmann]; with Maloney [US 20200349362], with of Ingibergsson et al. [EP 3195719, now Ingiberg], further with Kunzig et al. [US20110010023, now Kunzig].
Claim 17
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 1.
Neither Stautmann, Maloney or Ingiberg specifically teach but Kunzig does teach wherein the at least one stationary identification feature is an optical identification marker in the form of a machine-readable code [see at least Kunzig, Fig. 1a – 1d; 2; ¶ 0087 (shows code symbols in use); 0172].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg, further with the use of codes for identification, especially QR codes, of Kunzig. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Claim 18
Stautmann, Maloney and Ingiberg disclose/teach the method of Claim 17.
Neither Stautmann, Maloney or Ingiberg specifically teach but Kunzig does teach wherein the machine-readable code is a QR code [see at least Kunzig, Fig. 1a – 1d; 2; ¶ 0087 (shows code symbols in use); 0172 (QR code)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the autonomous control of a feed mixing vehicle in a silo center of Stautmann, with the ability to determining positioning for localization and navigation of Maloney, with the more specific actions of compacting silo material of Ingiberg, further with the use of codes for identification, especially QR codes, of Kunzig. Providing a more efficient, effective and safer silo site.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952