35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are considered to be patent eligible under 101.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 10, 14-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benedetto et al. (US 20240299851 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Benedetto teaches a method comprising (See title, “Methods And Systems For Artificial Intelligence (AI)-Based Storyboard Generation”):
presenting a storyboard user interface (See Fig. 1A, ¶23, Fig. 1 labels the interface AI-Based Storyboard Generator), wherein the storyboard user interface includes a visual media timeline (See Fig. 1A. Fig. 1 illustrates a visual media time line from either the path starting from frame 1 image to the end path Frame N Description or the scrolling portion at the bottom which includes element 119, 121, 123A, 123B pulls ¶23-24 for further support of the figure and figure elements ) and a representation of a first frame located on the visual media timeline (See Fig. 1A element 109-1 Frame 1 Image ¶27);
receiving, by the storyboard user interface, an input prompt (See Fig. 1A element 151, ¶23) to be associated with the first frame (See Fig 1 A element 101, 151, 108, 109-1, ¶23-¶27. ¶27, “When the initial seed input is received through the seed input control 101 and the go control 107 is first activated by the user, the AI-based storyboard generator conveys the initial seed input as input to a first AI model (AI1) and executes the first AI model (AI1) to automatically generate a first frame image 109-1 based on the initial seed input, as indicated by arrow 108. The first frame image 109-1 and the initial seed input are stored together to define a first frame of the storyboard. It should be understood that while the first frame image 109-1 is based on the initial seed input, the first frame image 109-1[…]”), wherein the input prompt can include prompt text and visual media (See Fig. 1A, ¶23, “ FIG. 1A shows a user interface 100A for an AI-based storyboard generator set to operate in a free-run mode, in accordance with some embodiments. The user interface 100A includes a seed input control 101 through which a user is able to enter an initial seed input for the AI-based storyboard generation process. In some embodiments, the seed input control 101 includes a text entry field 151 that provides for specification of the initial seed input in a textual format. In some embodiments, the initial seed input is provided in an image format. In some embodiments, an image selection control 152 is provided to enable navigation to and selection of an image file to be used as the initial seed input.” The visual media is 152, the image selection control.); and
sending the input prompt to a visual media generative response engine to generate output visual media in response to the input prompt (See Fig. 1 101, 108, 109-1 […] -> 111-N and 128 Render. ¶23-¶35. The examiner notes the AI-Based Storyboard Generator is a visual media generative based upon response. As per ¶67, “ In some embodiments, the AI-based storyboard generator 717 includes a controller 722 that is configured to manage the provision and operation of the user interfaces 100A, 100B, 100C, 200, and 300, as well as direct the operation of the deep learning engine 725 to perform the methods disclosed herein.” Meaning the AI-based story board generator is carried out by an engine as cited in Fig. 1.)
Regarding claim 3, Benedetto teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the input prompt sent to the visual media generative response engine includes the first frame and prompt text that instructs to generate the output visual media from the first frame, and the output visual media responsive to the input prompt includes the first frame as part of the visual media responsive to the input prompt (See Fig. 1A and ¶23-35. Fig. 1A shows a text prompt 151 that instructs generation from one 108 to the frame 109-1. This frame is outputted from Render 128.).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 but doesn’t explicitly disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
Benedetto teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (See ¶80-81, ¶88).
Thus claim 11 is rejected under similar rationale as detailed above for claim 1.
Claim 13 recites similar limitation to that of claim 3 and thus is rejected under similar rationale above.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations to that of claim 1 but doesn’t explicitly disclose a system comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the system to:
Benedetto teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the system to (See ¶3 and ¶81):
Thus claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale as detailed above for claim 1.
Claim 19 recites similar limitation to that of claim 3 and thus is rejected under similar rationale above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benedetto et al. (US 20240299851 A1) in view of Santos et al. (US 12,513,374 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Benedetto teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a command to generate the output visual media by the visual media generative response engine, wherein the input prompt associated with the first frame is provided to the visual media generative response engine along (See claim 1 rejection above) but doesn’t explicitly disclose with a first timestamp indicating that the input prompt describes a desired output frame at the first timestamp that is based off the input prompt; and
receiving the output visual media having a frame corresponding to the input prompt at the first timestamp.
Santos teaches with a first timestamp indicating that the input prompt describes a desired output frame at the first timestamp that is based off the input prompt (See abstract, “The present document discloses a method to generate a database for synchronization of a text, a video and/or audio media, namely a computer-implemented method to generate a database for synchronization of a text, a video and/or audio media with a video stream to be generated using said database, comprising the steps of: receiving an input text; splitting the input text into text segments; clustering the text segments into at least one text group; labelling each text segment with a sequential timestamp; and, storing each text segment with the label on a data record wherein the text group comprises a time interval label which corresponds to the duration of at least a portion of a video and/or audio media. It is further disclosed a method for retrieving information from said database, a system, and a computer program thereof.”); and
receiving the output visual media having a frame corresponding to the input prompt at the first timestamp (See col. 3 lines 8-16, “In an embodiment, the input text is a screenplay. It is further disclosed, a computer-implemented method for retrieving information from said database, by a user selection on a video and/or audio media comprising the steps: selecting a frame from said video and/or audio media; identifying a timestamp of said frame; retrieving from said database the text group which comprises that timestamp; and, outputting the text group related with the selected frame.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Benedetto in view of Santos as doing so would synchronize and help organize all of the data, eliminate discrepancies and reducing the need for manual entry in an efficient way.
Claim 12 and 18 recites similar limitations to that claim 2 and thus is rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618