DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 18-33 is/are pending in the application.
Claim(s) 18-33 is/are examined on the merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25, “the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has an mean particle diameter of greater than about 75µ” should read -- the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has [[a mean particle diameter of greater than about 75µ --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has an average particle size in the range of about 75µ to about 200µ” which is indefinite. There is not sufficient antecedent basis for “range of about 75µ to about 200µ” in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the relevant claim limitation has been examined below as if it read -- the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has an average particle size in [[a range of about 75µ to about 200µ --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Stahley (US PAT 5894967) in view of McPherson (US PGPUB 20160310542).
Regarding claim 18, Stahley discloses a device for dispensing dry powder (Abstract, Col. 4, lines 30-45; Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a squeeze pump bottle (a squeeze bottle powder dispenser 10: Col. 4, lines 30-45; Fig. 4) having a bottle body defining a bottle opening (see annotated Fig. 4 below) and an interior chamber (an interior chamber of container 12: Fig. 4);
a cap attached to the bottle and positioned over the bottle opening (a threaded closure 34: Col. 5, lines 10-23 and Fig. 4), the cap having a dispensing spout fluidly communicating with the bottle opening (a discharge end 14: Col. 4, lines 30-45 and Fig. 4), the dispensing spout defining a spout lumen (a cavity inside the cap 34 that comprises a chamber 44: Fig. 4) and a spout opening (an opening 38: Col. 5, lines 10-23; Fig. 4);
wherein amounts of the dry powder are ejectable as a powder spray out of the spout opening by a pumping inward deflection of at least one wall portion of the squeeze pump bottle that causes a gas pressure impulse to travel from the interior chamber of the squeeze pump bottle through the spout lumen and out the spout opening (Col. 4, lines 45-65 and Fig. 6).
Stahley does not disclose that the dry powder is a dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix material powder.
In an analogous art for being directed to solve the same problem, using dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix material to promote wound healing, McPherson discloses a method for preparing a dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix material powder (Abstract, ¶0021, and 0033). McPherson further discloses the use of the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix material powder dues to its advantageous properties, including resistance to infection, enhanced stability, and reduced immunogenicity (¶0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by selecting a dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix material powder as a dry powder received in the interior chamber of the squeeze pump bottle, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 19, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has an average particle size in a range of about 75µ to about 200µ.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has an average particle size about 210 microns or less (¶0044; thus, the taught average particle size range overlaps the claimed average particle size range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by selecting an average particle size of the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder in a range of about 75µ to about 200µ, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges overlap with ranges disclosed by the prior art (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 20, Stahley/McPherson does not disclose particles of the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder have an external distribution of exposed individualized fibers; however, since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure of the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder as claimed (see rejection of claim 18 above), the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP § 2112.01 (II)). Thus, the particles of the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder of Stahley/McPherson have an external distribution of exposed individualized fibers.
Regarding claim 21, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder is provided as a volume that occupies no more than about 50% of a volume of the interior chamber of the squeeze pump bottle; however, Stahley suggests to maintain a preferred air headspace of 20% or more of the bottle volume to help reduce conduit plugging during repeated dispensing (Col. 6, lines 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley/McPherson by having a volume that occupies no more than about 50% of a volume of the interior chamber of the squeeze pump bottle, in order to reduce conduit plugging during repeated dispensing, as suggested in Col. 6, lines 30-36 of Stahley.
Regarding claim 22, Stahley further discloses the spout lumen has a decreasing diameter in a direction extending away from the bottle opening when attached to the bottle (the chamber 44 has a decreasing diameter in a direction extending from the chamber 44 to a short slit 32: Col. 5, lines 1-9; Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 23, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has been sterilized with ethylene oxide.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has been sterilized with ethylene oxide (¶0023).
Thus, Stahley in view of McPherson discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has been sterilized with ethylene oxide.
Regarding claim 24, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder comprises growth factors, proteoglycans and glycosaminoglycans native to an animal source tissue for the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder comprises growth factors, proteoglycans and glycosaminoglycans native to an animal source tissue for the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder (¶0021 and 0042).
Thus, Stahley in view of McPherson discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder comprises growth factors, proteoglycans and glycosaminoglycans native to an animal source tissue for the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has a mean particle diameter of greater than about 75µ; or the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder has a mean particle diameter of greater than about 100µ.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has a particle size about 210 microns or less (¶0044) and suggests that the particle size could be optimized (¶0044).
Absent a showing of criticality of the claimed mean particle diameter, determining an optimal mean particle size through routine experimentation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by selecting a mean particle diameter of the dry, comminuted collagenous ECM powder greater than about 75µ or 100 µ, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A & B)).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Stahley does not disclose the dry, comminuted ECM powder has a particle mode of about 100µ or greater; and the dry, comminuted ECM powder has a particle mode in the range of about 100p to about 250µ.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has a particle size about 210 microns or less (¶0044) and suggests that the particle size could be optimized (¶0044).
Absent a showing of criticality of the claimed particle mode, determining an optimal particle mode through routine experimentation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by selecting a particle mode of the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder about 100µ or greater and a particle mode in the range of about 100µ to about 250µ, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A & B)).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, Stahley does not disclose at least 50% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder have a maximum diameter of greater than about 75µ; and at least 50% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder have a maximum diameter of greater than about 90µ.
McPherson further discloses at least 50% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder have a particle size about 210 microns or less (¶0044) and suggests that the particle size could be optimized (¶0044).
Absent a showing of criticality of the claimed maximum diameter of the particles, determining an optimal particle size through routine experimentation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by having at least 50% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder with a maximum diameter of greater than about 75µ and a maximum diameter of greater than about 90µ, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A & B)).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Stahley does not disclose less than 10% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder have a maximum diameter of less than about 10µ; or less than 10% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder have a maximum diameter of less than about 20µ.
McPherson further discloses the dry, comminuted collagenous extracellular matrix powder has a particle size about 210 microns or less (¶0044) and suggests that the particle size could be optimized (¶0044).
Absent a showing of criticality of the claimed maximum diameter of the particles, determining an optimal maximum diameter through routine experimentation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have further modified the device of Stahley in view of McPherson by having less than 10% by volume of the particles of the dry, comminuted ECM powder with a maximum diameter of less than about 10µ and a maximum diameter of less than about 20µ, in order to provide a material characterized by improved resistance to infection, increased stability, and reduced immunogenicity, as suggested in ¶0018 of McPherson and as it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (A & B)).
Regarding claim 33, Stahley in view of McPherson discloses a method for applying a collagenous extracellular matrix material to tissue of a patient, comprising: providing a device according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above).
In addition, since the device of Stahley in view of McPherson meets the structural limitations of the claimed device, it follows naturally that the structure suggested by Stahley in view of McPherson will perform the method steps as presented by Applicant.
Further, Stahley discloses a method step of inwardly deflecting the at least one wall portion of the squeeze pump bottle to cause a gas pressure impulse to travel from the interior chamber of the squeeze pump bottle, through the spout lumen, and out the spout opening, to thereby eject an amount of the dry collagenous ECM powder as a powder spray out of the spout opening and onto the tissue of the patient (Col. 4, lines 45-65 and Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martin (US PAT 4044836) discloses a dispenser for dry powders (Figs. 1-16 and accompanying texts).
Lovinger (US PGPUB 20120080457) discloses a delivery system for delivery of powders to targeted areas (Figs. 1-9 and accompanying texts).
/NHU Q. TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781