DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
The Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant has elected claims 12-17 in the reply filed 09/17/2026 for examination with traverse. The traversal is on the grounds that claim 1 differs from claim 12 by only the addition of a utility pole, cable means, and protective conduit. The Examiner does not find the arguments persuasive.
Claim 12 does not require the utility pole, cable means, or protective conduit positively recited in claim 1 and instead is drawn to a standalone barrier. The pole, cable, means, and conduit are recited only as the environment in which the barrier is adapted to be used. The barrier of claim 12 has utility apart from the claimed pole structure such as blocking access of any number of openings to animals. A non-exhaustive list of such openings includes open plumbing and sewer pipes, open-top fence posts, and well casing pipes to name a few.
The search strategy between these two inventions also diverges substantially as to impose an undue search burden. A search for the combination of claim 1 must focus on the arrangement of utility pole structures, including the routing of cables and mounting of protective conduits along the pole. Conversely, the subcombination of claim 12 focuses on a polymeric barrier used for numerous excluding animals in a variety of applications.
For these reasons, the Examiner maintains the restriction requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Rauckman (US Pat. 9,787,071 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Rauckman discloses a barrier for limiting entry of an animal into the interior of a protective conduit enclosing a portion of a cable means comprising at least one cable, said protective conduit extending along a utility pole and having an upper end opening through which said cable means extends (Abstract, lines 1-3: “A cover for covering at least a portion of electrical power distribution equipment, such as an open end of a conduit riser”), said barrier comprising a sheet of polymeric material (Col. 2, lines 25-28: “The cover 10 can be molded or otherwise constructed from a resilient, non-conductive material, such as a polymer or any other appropriate material”) having opposite side edges (Fig. 2, flanges 18, 20) with portions adjacent said side edges adapted to be secured to a utility pole on both sides of said protective conduit (Fig. 2, flanges 18, 20 comprise holes for fastening), and an intermediate portion extending from one to the other of said portions adjacent said side edges and adapted to extend around, and contact, a portion of said protective conduit adjacent said upper end opening thereof (Fig. 2, cylindrical body 12), said barrier having a plurality of separate, elongated, and resilient, finger-shaped parts extending from a portion of said sheet that connects said side edges (Fig. 2, fingers 24), said finger-shaped parts being adapted to be bent downward so that they extend through said upper end opening into the interior of said protective conduit (Col. 2, lines 40-42: “The members or fingers 24 are flexible and allow the opening 22 to increase in size to accommodate different diameter electric wires W”) to form a barrier for preventing entry of animals into said protective conduit (Col. 1, lines 35-48: “It is not uncommon for squirrels, birds or other pests to build nests and the like in the open end O of the conduit riser C. In the case of squirrels, the animals will hoard nuts and store them in the conduit riser C. If dense enough, these objects will block air flow and ventilation such that heat build-up within the conduit riser C can cause a fire, with resulting electric failure. Squirrels may damage the wires W and conduit riser C when they attempt to retrieve their stored nuts. It would be advantageous, therefore, to have a means for covering the open end O of the conduit riser C to prevent access by pests but still allow sufficient ventilation. It also would be advantageous to have such means that will fit on conduits having different diameters”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauckman (US Pat. 9,787,071 B1) in view of Mills (US Pat. 8,745,920).
Regarding claim 13, Rauckman discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Mills, said sheet of polymeric material comprises first and second layers (Col. 3, lines 21-24: “FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view of the apparatus in FIG. 2 showing the overlapping side edges tightened against the stake and showing the inner substantially smooth layer and the outer corrugated layer”), the first layer having an undulating cross-section with peaks of its undulations secured to said second layer (Fig. 3, outer ply 35 has a surface that undulates), the undulations of said first layer forming flutes that extend in the direction of elongation of said finger-shaped parts (Fig. 1, the undulates travel in the direction of the top opening parallel to the longitudinal axis of the device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the fluting of Mills as the flutes will allow for improved wrapping of the barrier around a device as well as a stiffening effect in the direction of the fingers of Rauckman.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauckman (US Pat. 9,787,071 B1) in view of Vecere (US Pat. 5,898,113).
Regarding claim 14, Rauckman discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Vecere, said sheet of polymeric material comprises an outer layer (Fig. 2, second flexible vinyl sheet 16) and at least one inner layer (Fig. 2, first polyvinyl fluoride sheet 14), said outer layer being composed of a material that protects said at least one inner layer from damage resulting from ultraviolet radiation (Col. 1, lines 48-50: “The PVF film is disposed outermost over the vinyl fabric for ultraviolet protection and easy cleanup”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the ultraviolet-resistant layer of Vecere as it is a barrier that will commonly be exposed to sunlight. Resistance to ultraviolet radiation will prolong the lifespan of the barrier.
Regarding claim 15, Rauckman discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Vecere, said sheet of polymeric material comprises an outer layer (Fig. 2, second flexible vinyl sheet 16) and at least one inner layer (Fig. 2, first polyvinyl fluoride sheet 14), said outer layer being composed of a film of polyvinyl fluoride that protects said at least one inner layer from damage resulting from ultraviolet radiation (Col. 1, lines 48-50: “The PVF film is disposed outermost over the vinyl fabric for ultraviolet protection and easy cleanup”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the ultraviolet-resistant layer of Vecere as it is a barrier that will commonly be exposed to sunlight. Resistance to ultraviolet radiation will prolong the lifespan of the barrier.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauckman (US Pat. 9,787,071 B1) in view of Boelter (US Pat. 4,286,006) and Vecere (US Pat. 5,898,113).
Regarding claim 16, Rauckman discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Boelter, said sheet of polymeric material comprises first, second, and third layers (Col. 4, lines 15-20: “Turning first to FIG. 1, there is shown a piece of corrugated material constructed in accordance with the present invention. Following the preferred procedure, a sheet of corrugated medium 12 is sandwiched between a sheet of first facing material 14 and a sheet of second, flexible facing material 16”), the first layer having an undulating cross-section with peaks of its undulations secured to said second layer (Fig. 3, in the curved configuration, the material 16 forms a sin wave pattern), the undulations of said first layer forming flutes on one side of said second layer that extend in the direction of elongation of said finger-shaped parts (The fluting would logically be in-line with the fingers of Rauckman as it would allow for curving around a mounting object), and said third layer being secured to a surface of said second layer opposite said one side thereof (Fig. 3, material 16 attaches to corrugated medium 12 which attaches to material 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the three layers of an undulating material as taught by Boelter as it would allow for better conformity to varying conduit sizes.
Furthermore, Rauckman fails to disclose as taught by Vecere, a layer being composed of a material that protects said second layer from damage resulting from ultraviolet radiation (Col. 1, lines 48-50: “The PVF film is disposed outermost over the vinyl fabric for ultraviolet protection and easy cleanup”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the ultraviolet-resistant layer of Vecere as it is a barrier that will commonly be exposed to sunlight. Resistance to ultraviolet radiation will prolong the lifespan of the barrier.
Regarding claim 17, Rauckman discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Boelter, said sheet of polymeric material comprises first, second, and third layers (Col. 4, lines 15-20: “Turning first to FIG. 1, there is shown a piece of corrugated material constructed in accordance with the present invention. Following the preferred procedure, a sheet of corrugated medium 12 is sandwiched between a sheet of first facing material 14 and a sheet of second, flexible facing material 16”), the first layer having an undulating cross-section with peaks of its undulations secured to said second layer (Fig. 3, in the curved configuration, the material 16 forms a sin wave pattern), the undulations of said first layer forming flutes on one side of said second layer that extend in the direction of elongation of said finger-shaped parts (The fluting would logically be in-line with the fingers of Rauckman as it would allow for curving around a mounting object), and said third layer being secured to a surface of said second layer opposite said one side thereof (Fig. 3, material 16 attaches to corrugated medium 12 which attaches to material 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the three layers of an undulating material as taught by Boelter as it would allow for better conformity to varying conduit sizes.
Furthermore, Rauckman fails to disclose as taught by Vecere, a layer being composed of polyvinyl fluoride (Col. 1, lines 48-50: “The PVF film is disposed outermost over the vinyl fabric for ultraviolet protection and easy cleanup”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier of Rauckman to comprise the ultraviolet-resistant layer of Vecere as it is a barrier that will commonly be exposed to sunlight. Resistance to ultraviolet radiation will prolong the lifespan of the barrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Each reference listed below teaches features that overlap substantially with the claimed invention.
Moore, US 9728949 B2¸ teaches an apparatus for preventing animal intrusion comprising fingers similar to that of the instant application.
Santos, US 9601910 B2, teaches a riser glove for shielding and/or sealing cables comprising flexible fingers.
Hiller, US 20160351305 A1, teaches a wildlife guard for an electrical insulator body with flexible fingers.
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642