DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action in response to communications received on 1/31/2025 and 9/15/2025. Claims 16-20 were selected in response to a restriction requirement. Claims 16-20 are pending and are examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed 1/31/2025 are acknowledged.
Restriction
Applicant’s selection of group III comprising claims 16-20 without traverse is acknowledged. Accordingly, the restriction is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is rejected as indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires one or MORE of the list to meet the claim (because there is an “OR”) or if the claim requires more than one (say fuzzy matching and Levenshtein OR BERT – so two). Appropriate clarification or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 2019/0332572).
Regarding claim 16, Lerner discloses the limitations substantially as follows:
A computer-implemented method for asset identification and consolidation (para. [0064]: performing asset identification) in a network, the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system from a plurality of sources, data comprising a plurality of device names corresponding to each of a plurality of assets in the network (paras. [0044], [0094], [0106], [0122], [0125]: receiving information about assets and an asset inventory including asset reconciliation identifiers, MAC address, motherboard ID (i.e. device names of assets));
filtering, by the computing system, strings from the plurality of device names, wherein the strings correspond to a list of predetermined device name strings (paras. [0126], [0141], [0164]-[0166], [0162], [0168], [0176]: performing reconciliation by applying one more asset filters and filtering attributes and any of the fields from the asset data including strings identifying the asset such as MAC address, reconciliation identifier and other synthetic ID’s previously assigned (i.e. list of predetermined device name strings));
sanitizing, by the computing system, the filtered device names to determine the device name corresponding to each of the plurality of assets in the network (paras. [0053], [0125]-[0126], [0141], [0145]: performing asset reconciliation by determining if the normalized and filtered asset attributes and device identifiers/names correspond to an asset record and identifier of an asset previously stored);
determining, by the computing system, at least one repeated device name within the sanitized device names (paras. [0140], [0149]-[0150], [0152]-[0153], [0173], [0176]: determining at least one asset identifier and/or attribute identifier from the filtered & normalized asse and attribute identifiers matches with an identifier of a previously stored asset); and
merging, by the computing [[the]] system, the repeated device names in a list of device names corresponding to each of the plurality of assets in the network (paras. [0140], [0149]-[0150], [0152]-[0153], [0172], [0176], [0182]: merging the asset properties and ID’s for one or more matching assets into the reconciled form of an asset, where the asset properties are determined to refer to the same asset because they have matching asset properties which may be maintained or deleted (i.e. duplicates may be deleted or kept), and storing the reconciled assets in the asset inventory (i.e. merging the repeating or matching device names into one asset record or list to be stored)).
Lerner does not explicitly disclose merging the repeated device names in a list of device names corresponding to an asset, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention that Lerner teaches such functionality because Lerner discloses the reconciled form of an asset contains multiple ID’s (para. [0182]) and maintain or eliminate duplicates (para. [0149]) so that if one of the identifiers for the asset (such as the IP address in para. [0153]) is changed, the system can use the other identifying information to recognize that the update is for the same asset even after the identifier has changed in order to ensure that the asset information stays up-to-date and accurate.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 2019/0332572), as applied to claim 16, further in view of Rusu (US 20220198581 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Lerner teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Lerner discloses the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 16, wherein sanitizing the filtered device names comprises:
the filtered device names (paras. [0126], [0141], [0164]-[0166], [0162], [0168], [0176]: performing reconciliation by applying one more asset filters and filtering attributes and any of the fields from the asset data including strings identifying the asset such as MAC address, reconciliation identifier and other synthetic ID’s previously assigned (i.e. list of predetermined device name strings));
Lerner does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 17, however in the same field of endeavor Rusu teaches the limitations of claim 17 as follows:
fuzzy matching the device names; calculating a Levenshtein distance between the device names (paras. [0036], [0074], [0168], [0208]: fuzzy matching the substrings such as for the name of a device or entity, where the fuzzy matching is based on Levenshtein distance)
using clustering with term frequency-inverse document frequency and bidirectional encoder representations from transformers (BERT) embeddings (paras. [0078], [0115] using term frequency-inverse document frequency and Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers (BERT) language model).
Rusu is combinable with Lerner because both are from the same field of endeavor of reconciling attributes or record information of assets/entities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Rusu’s method of comparing entity identifiers using fuzzy matching, Levenshtein, TF-IDF and BERT with the system of Lerner in order to enable the system to perform a more detailed comparison between asset/entity attributes and catch “inexact or similar matches” in situations where “exact replications” don’t appear (Rusu, para. [0168]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 2019/0332572), as applied to claim 16, further in view of Mikhail Tikhomirov et al., Using BERT and Augmentation in Named Entity Recognition for Cybersecurity Domain (June 17, 2020) (hereafter Mikhail).
Regarding claim 18, Lerner teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Lerner discloses the limitations of claim 18 as follows
The computer-implemented method of Claim 16, wherein sanitizing the filtered device names comprises identifying filtered device name (paras. [0126], [0141], [0164]-[0166], [0162], [0168], [0176]: performing reconciliation by applying one more asset filters and filtering attributes and any of the fields from the asset data including strings identifying the asset such as MAC address, reconciliation identifier and other synthetic ID’s previously assigned (i.e. list of predetermined device name strings))
Lerner does not explicitly teach, however in the same field of endeavor Mikhail teaches the remaining limitations of claim 18 as follows:
comprises identifying a token of the device name based on a calculated maximum entropy measurement of at least a subset of the device names (Sections 2 and 3: identifying a token of a device based upon performing maximum entropy for the device names for the training data).
Mikhail is combinable with Lerner because both are from the same field of endeavor of analyzing attributes of assets/entities to identify the assets/entities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Mikhail’s method of basing identifying on maximum entropy calculations with the system of Lerner in order to enable perform calculations of multiple overlapping and conflicting textual clues or attributes without making proven assumptions via maximum entropy calculations.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 2019/0332572), as applied to claim 16, further in view of Lochan Basyal & Mihir Sanghvi, Text Summarization Using Large Language Models: A Comparative Study of MPT-7b-instruct, Falcon-7b-instruct, and OpenAI Chat-GPT Models (Oct. 17, 2023) (hereafter Basyal).
Regarding claim 19, Lerner teaches the limitations of claim 16.
Lerner discloses the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 16, wherein sanitizing the filtered device names comprises providing the filtered device names (paras. [0126], [0141], [0164]-[0166], [0162], [0168], [0176]: performing reconciliation by applying one more asset filters and filtering attributes and any of the fields from the asset data including strings identifying the asset such as MAC address, reconciliation identifier and other synthetic ID’s previously assigned (i.e. list of predetermined device name strings))
Lerner does not explicitly the remaining limitations of claim 19, however Basyal teaches the limitations of claim 19 as follows:
in a prompt to a large language model (LLM) (pp 1-2: submitting large volumes of text to a Large Language Model such as Falcon-7B-Instruct)
Basyal is combinable with Lerner because both are from the same field of endeavor of improving automated computerized data management and information reduction, where unstructured or noisy text inputs are processed into standardized representations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Basyal’s of submitting large volumes of text containing attributes to a LLM such as Falcon-7B-Instruct with the system of Lerner in order to take advantage of Falcon-7B-Instruct’s improved abilities to adapt to diverse tasks, handle cross-vendor attribute variance and high-reasoning capabilities for missing or incomplete data.
Regarding claim 20, Lerner and Basyal teach the limitations of claim 16 and 19.
Basyal teaches the limitations of claim 20 as follows:
The computer-implemented method of Claim 19, wherein the LLM comprises Falcon-7b, Falcon-7b-instruct, OpenLllama, or XGen (pp 1-2: submitting large volumes of text to a Large Language Model such as Falcon-7B-Instruct).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 19 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Prior art considered but not relied upon includes:
1) Habibabadi (US 20250077528) disclosing a method for fast record recording by matching records using fuzzy recording, Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers (BERT) name entity recognition (NER) model, a ranking algorithm, such as Term Frequency-Inverse Document Frequency (TF-IDF) and similarity scores computed based on a distance metric, such as Levenshtein distance. (paras. [0014], [0017], [0035], [0040]).
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 16-20 are rejected.
/SHARON S LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438