DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 has recites “wherein the high voltage vehicle interface is a high voltage vehicle interface.” Which is meaning less limitation, it doesn’t further limit claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by ohm Et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1).
Re Claim 1: Ohm teaches a vehicle fuel cell assembly for a vehicle, the vehicle fuel cell assembly (see 100 para 0002, 0053-0055) comprising a fuel cell stack (see 110, 112 para 0056-0057) a high voltage junction box (see 120 para 0054) that comprises connection interfaces for electrical connection to a high voltage vehicle interface (see 122, (130-1 to 130-4, connected to Ct1-CT4) figs. 5,6A-6C para 0091-0094, 0082-0083, 0152 HV harness/cable side leaving the junction box towards the rest of the vehicle), the fuel cell stack (see 150 BP/BN figs.2, 5 para 0062-0067, 0150-0152 electric connection of distributor to terminal block), and a plurality of high voltage consumers of the vehicle (see 0153; 130-1, 130-4, CT1-CT4 fig. 6Cpara 0072, 0090-0093-0096), wherein the high voltage junction box is arranged adjacent the fuel cell stack (see 120, 110fig.2 para 0003, 0079-0081; 120 disposed on the fuel cell 110 and para 0003 mention Upper end of the cell stack ).
Re Claim 5: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is a DC connection interface (see figs5 6A-6C para 0062, 0066, 002, 0094-0096).
Re Claim 8: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches comprising at least one fuse associated with at [east one connection interface, said fuse being positioned inside the high voltage junction box (see para 0054, 0073-0077, 0091-0096).
Re Claim 9: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage vehicle interface is a high voltage vehicle interface (see 122, (130-1 to 130-4, connected to Ct1-CT4) figs. 5,6A-6C para 0091-0094, 0082-0083, 0152 HV harness/cable side leaving the junction box towards the rest of the vehicle).
Re Claim 11: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises a connection interface for electrical connection to auxiliary consumers (see para 0072-0073, 0091-0096; loads/peripheral high voltage parts).
Re Claim 12: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage vehicle interface is located outside the high voltage junction box (see para 0082-0086, 0091-0096).
Re Claim 13: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box is arranged immediately adjacent the fuel cell stack (see 100, 110, 120 fig.2 para 0054, 0079-0081).
Re Claim 14: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm further teaches a vehicle comprising the vehicle fuel cell assembly of claim 1 (see 100, 110, 120 para 0054-0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ohm Et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view Kim et al (US 2022/0209268 A1).
Re Claim 2: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach wherein the high voltage junction box comprises a converter for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack.
In an analogous art Kim teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises a converter for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack (see para 0019-0022, 0027-0028, 0048-0053, 0056-0060, 0066-0069) system having fuel cell stack + HV converter + HV junction unit where the junction unit interfaces both the stack output and conv. Terminals and distributes converter output power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the integrated stack terminal + converter terminal high voltage junction unit architecture of Kim in the invention of Ohm to reduce external cabling/connection complexity and improve packaging/assembly/maintainability of the fuel cell HV distribution, thereby achieving a compact serviceable and predictable high current implantation.
Re Claim 3: Combination of Ohm and Kim teaches invention set forth above, Kim further teaches wherein the converter is adapted for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack to a voltage of the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface (see para 0048-0053, 0056-0059, 0067-0068).
Re Claim 4: Combination of Ohm and Kim teaches invention set forth above, Kim further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises one single converter for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack to a voltage of the connection interface for connection to the high voltage vehicle interface (see 200, para 0051-055, 0063-0068).
Re Claim 6: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach wherein the current transfer capability of the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is at least 250 amperes.
In an analogous art Kim teaches wherein he current transfer capability of the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is at least 250 amperes (see para 0009-0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the high current interface sizing/requirements of Kim in the invention of Ohm to specify and ensure HV vehicle interface connection supports desired high voltage thereby improving power delivery capacity and safety for high voltage vehicle loads.
Re Claim 10: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach wherein the high voltage consumers of the vehicle comprises comprise a fan, a coolant pump or a compressor.
In an analogous art Park teaches wherein the high voltage consumers of the vehicle comprises comprise a fan, a coolant pump or a compressor (see para 0026, 0052-0053, 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the specific HV consumer set of Kim in the invention of Ohm to expressly define representative high voltage consumers powered by the vehicles HV power distributor thereby achieving predictable vehicle power distribution of common fuel cell vehicle auxiliary loads.
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ohm Et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view Heieis et al. (US 2021/0039511 A1).
Re Claim 7: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is adapted for cables having a conductor area of at least 100 mm2.
In an analogous art Heieis teaches wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is adapted for cables having a conductor area of at least 100 mm2 (see para 0001-0004, 0016, 0026-0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the high current conductor cross section sizing of Heieis in the invention of Ohm to select an appropriately large HV cable size at the power distributor cable interface; thereby reducing resistive heating and improving safety and reliability.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ohm Et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view Avadutala et al. (US 2024/0294064 A1).
Re Claim 15: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach being a heavy-duty vehicle comprising a driver compartment, or cab, wherein the vehicle fuel cell assembly is positioned below the driver compartment.
In an analogous art Avadutala teaches being a heavy-duty vehicle comprising a driver compartment, or cab, wherein the vehicle fuel cell assembly is positioned below the driver compartment (see para 0024-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the heavy-duty cab overpacking/under cab placement of the fuel cell stack assembly of Avadutala in the invention of Ohm to achieve predictable heavy duty vehicle packaging and serviceability thereby improving integration with known commercial-vehicle layouts.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836