DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are not persuasive. The arguments are directed to the previous rejection based on Ohm alone or Ohm in view of Kim. The present rejection constitutes a new ground of rejection relying on Ohm in view of Kim and further in view of Thrush. Accordingly, the applicant's arguments regarding the prior rejection are not persuasive of error in the present rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0209268 A1) and further in view of Thrush et al. (US 2022/0089037 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ohm teaches “a vehicle fuel cell assembly for a vehicle.” [See Abstract; paras. 0007, 0052-0054; Fig. 1, items 100, 110, and 120; Ohm discloses a fuel cell vehicle (100) including a fuel cell (110) and a power distributor (120) disposed on the fuel cell. Ohm states that a fuel cell vehicle may include a fuel cell, a power distributor configured to receive power generated by the fuel cell and disposed on the fuel cell. Ohm further teaches that the fuel cell vehicle includes fuel cell (110), power distributor (120), voltage cable (130), cable bumper (140), and terminal block (150). Thus, Ohm expressly teaches the claimed vehicle fuel cell assembly]. Ohm further teaches “a fuel cell stack.” [See paras. 0055-0066; Figs. 1, 4, and 5; items 110, 112, and 150; Ohm teaches that fuel cell (110) includes cell stack (112), which comprises a plurality of stacked unit cells configured to generate electrical power. Ohm further teaches that electricity generated by cell stack (112) is transferred through terminal block (150) to power distributor (120). Accordingly, Ohm expressly teaches the claimed fuel cell stack]; “one single high voltage junction box attached to the fuel cell stack.” [See paras. 0054, 0079-0081, and 0150-0152; Figs. 1-4 and 14B; items 110, 112, 120, and 150; Ohm expressly identifies power distributor (120) as “a high-voltage junction box or a junction box” and teaches that power distributor (120) is disposed on fuel cell (110). Ohm further teaches that the entirety of power distributor (120) may be disposed on fuel cell (110), and that power distributor (120) is installed on fuel cell (110) so as to be electrically connected to terminal block (150). Accordingly, Ohm teaches a single high-voltage junction box physically installed on, and therefore attached to, the fuel cell stack]; “the high voltage junction box comprising connection interfaces for electrical connection to . . . the fuel cell stack.” [See paras. 0062-0072; Fig. 5; items 112, 120, 150, BTP, BTN, HTP, HTN, BP, BN, WP, and WN; Ohm teaches that electricity generated by cell stack (112) is transferred through positive and negative bus bars BP and BN to terminal block (150), and from terminal block (150) to power distributor (120). Ohm explains that terminal portions BTP, BTN, HTP, and HTN connect the bus bars and heater wires of fuel cell (110) to power distributor (120). Thus, Ohm expressly teaches connection interfaces for electrical connection between the high-voltage junction box and the fuel cell stack]. “connection interfaces for electrical connection to . . . a plurality of high voltage consumers of the vehicle.” [See paras. 0072, 0090-0096, and 0129-0130; Figs. 5, 6A-6C, and 11A-11B; items 120, 130, 132, 134, 136, and CT1-CT4; Ohm teaches that power distributor (120) receives power generated by fuel cell (110) and distributes the received power to peripheral high-voltage parts for driving fuel cell vehicle (100). Ohm further teaches a plurality of cable terminals CT1-CT4 connected to respective voltage cables 130-1 to 130-4, through which power generated by the fuel cell is supplied to vehicle loads. The voltage cables include lead wires (136) connecting the power distributor to the vehicle loads. Thus, Ohm expressly teaches connection interfaces for electrical connection to a plurality of high-voltage consumers of the vehicle].
However, Ohm does not expressly teach “connection interfaces for electrical connection to a high voltage vehicle interface.”
In an analogous art Kim teaches a high-voltage junction unit (300) having interfaces to both a fuel cell stack and the high-voltage electrical system of a fuel-cell vehicle. [See paras. 0019-0028 and 0048-0069; Figs. 1-10; items 100, 200, 300, 311, 312, 313, 320, 321, and 330; Kim teaches that high-voltage junction unit (300) transmits output power of fuel cell stack (100) to high-voltage converter (200) and receives boosted high-voltage power from converter (200). Kim further teaches a converter input terminal receiving recess (312) and converter output terminal receiving recess (313) formed in high-voltage junction unit (300), with converter output terminal portion (232) coupled to high-voltage bus bar (321) of second circuit portion (320). The boosted high-voltage power is then provided through the junction unit to a driving motor and other vehicle loads]. Accordingly, Kim teaches an interface from the high-voltage junction unit to the vehicle high-voltage power system, thereby teaching the claimed high-voltage vehicle interface under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power distributor of Ohm to incorporate the high-voltage junction interface arrangement taught by Kim in order to provide an integrated connection between the fuel cell stack and the vehicle high-voltage power system. Kim expressly teaches that such an arrangement reduces the number of connectors and cables, simplifies assembly, reduces weight and volume, improves layout and space utilization, and improves maintainability. The modification would have predictably provided those same benefits in Ohm’s stack-mounted high-voltage junction box.
The combination of Ohm and Kim does not expressly teach “a controller configured to control the vehicle fuel cell assembly.”
In an analogous art, Thrush teaches a power distribution unit comprising a controller integrated within the same housing as the power-distribution components. [See paras. 0005-0007, 0015-0019, 0026, and 0029-0036; Figs. 2-4; items 100, 102, 104, 106, 200, 240, 242, 244, 246, and 248; Thrush teaches that “the power distribution unit includes a controller received in the housing.” Thrush further teaches that controller (240) includes main contactor driver (242), pre-charge driver (244), and microcontroller (246), and controls power delivery through the power distribution unit by controlling main contactor (102), pre-charge assembly (104), and the sequence for electrically connecting the power source to the vehicle load. Thrush also teaches that controller (240) is housed in the same housing (106) as the main contactor and pre-charge assembly]; thereby eliminating a separate controller housing and reducing part count and assembly time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the high-voltage junction box of Ohm, as modified by Kim, to incorporate Thrush’s housing-integrated controller such that the controller controls the electrical switching and power-distribution operations of the vehicle fuel cell assembly, including selectively connecting the fuel-cell stack to the vehicle high-voltage system and vehicle loads. The modification would centralize power-distribution and associated control functions, eliminate a separate controller housing, reduce wiring and component count, simplify assembly, improve packaging efficiency, and yield the predictable benefits of an integrated power-distribution and control system.
Re Claim 2: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises a converter for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack (see para 0019-0022, 0027-0028, 0048-0053, 0056-0060, 0066-0069) system having fuel cell stack + HV converter + HV junction unit where the junction unit interfaces both the stack output and conv. Terminals and distributes converter output power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the integrated stack terminal + converter terminal high voltage junction unit architecture of Kim in the invention of Ohm to reduce external cabling/connection complexity and improve packaging/assembly/maintainability of the fuel cell HV distribution, thereby achieving a compact serviceable and predictable high current implantation.
Re Claim 3: Combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches wherein the converter is adapted for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack to a voltage of the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface (see para 0048-0053, 0056-0059, 0067-0068).
Re Claim 4: Combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises one single converter for conversion of a voltage of the fuel cell stack to a voltage of the connection interface for connection to the high voltage vehicle interface (see 200, para 0051-055, 0063-0068).
Reg Claim 5: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches "wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is a DC connection interface." [See (Abstract); paras. 0048-0053 and 0056-0069; Figs. 1-9, items 200, 231, 232, 300, 312, 313, 320, and 321; Kim teaches that high-voltage converter (200) converts first high-voltage power to second high-voltage power using a direct-current-to-direct-current (DC-to-DC) boosting method. Kim further teaches that the resulting high-voltage DC power is supplied through high-voltage junction unit (300), second circuit portion (320), and high-voltage bus bar (321) to the vehicle electrical system]. Accordingly, Kim teaches that the connection interface between high-voltage junction unit (300) and the vehicle high-voltage power system is a DC connection interface, as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the DC connection interface taught by Kim in the high-voltage junction box arrangement of Ohm, as modified by Kim and further in view of Thrush, in order to provide a known DC electrical interface for transmitting high-voltage power between the fuel cell assembly and the vehicle electrical system, thereby simplifying electrical integration, improving power distribution, and achieving predictable results.
Re Claim 6: Combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches wherein he current transfer capability of the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is at least 250 amperes (see para 0009-0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the high current interface sizing/requirements of Kim in the invention of Ohm to specify and ensure HV vehicle interface connection supports desired high voltage thereby improving power delivery capacity and safety for high voltage vehicle loads.
Re Claim 8: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Ohm further teaches "comprising at least one fuse associated with at least one connection interface, said fuse being positioned inside the high voltage junction box." [See paras. 0073-0077 and 0091-0093; Figs. 5, 6A-6C; items 120, 122, 124, 126, 128, F1, and F2; Ohm teaches that power distributor (120), which functions as the claimed high-voltage junction box, includes housing (122) defining an accommodating space (124) in which first switching unit (126) and second switching unit (128) are disposed. Ohm further teaches that first switching unit (126) includes first fuse (F1) and second switching unit (128) includes second fuse (F2), both disposed within the housing of power distributor (120) and associated with the electrical connection interfaces of the power distributor]. Accordingly, Ohm expressly teaches at least one fuse associated with at least one connection interface, the fuse being positioned inside the high-voltage junction box.
Re Claim 10: Combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Kim further teaches wherein the high voltage consumers of the vehicle comprises comprise a fan, a coolant pump or a compressor (see para 0026, 0052-0053, 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the specific HV consumer set of Kim in the invention of Ohm to expressly define representative high voltage consumers powered by the vehicles HV power distributor thereby achieving predictable vehicle power distribution of common fuel cell vehicle auxiliary loads.
Re Claim 11: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box comprises a connection interface for electrical connection to auxiliary consumers (see para 0072-0073, 0091-0096; loads/peripheral high voltage parts).
Re Claim 12: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage vehicle interface is located outside the high voltage junction box (see para 0082-0086, 0091-0096).
Re Claim 13: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Ohm further teaches wherein the high voltage junction box is arranged immediately adjacent the fuel cell stack (see 100, 110, 120 fig.2 para 0054, 0079-0081).
Re Claim 14: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; Ohm further teaches a vehicle comprising the vehicle fuel cell assembly of claim 1 (see 100, 110, 120 para 0054-0056).
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0209268 A1) and further in view of Thrush et al. (US 2022/0089037 A1), further in view Heieis et al. (US 2021/0039511 A1).
Re Claim 7: combination of Ohm, Kim, and Thrush teaches the invention substantially as set forth above; combination expressly teach wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is adapted for cables having a conductor area of at least 100 mm2.
In an analogous art Heieis teaches wherein the connection interface for electrical connection to the high voltage vehicle interface is adapted for cables having a conductor area of at least 100 mm2 (see para 0001-0004, 0016, 0026-0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the high current conductor cross section sizing of Heieis in the invention of Ohm, Kim and Thrush and to select an appropriately large HV cable size at the power distributor cable interface; thereby reducing resistive heating and improving safety and reliability.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm et al. (US 2023/0182584 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0209268 A1) and further in view of Thrush et al. (US 2022/0089037 A1), further in view Avadutala et al. (US 2024/0294064 A1).
Re Claim 15: Ohm teaches invention set forth above, Ohm doesn’t expressly teach being a heavy-duty vehicle comprising a driver compartment, or cab, wherein the vehicle fuel cell assembly is positioned below the driver compartment.
In an analogous art Avadutala teaches being a heavy-duty vehicle comprising a driver compartment, or cab, wherein the vehicle fuel cell assembly is positioned below the driver compartment (see para 0024-0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention to use the heavy-duty cab overpacking/under cab placement of the fuel cell stack assembly of Avadutala in the invention of invention of Ohm, Kim and Thrush to achieve predictable heavy duty vehicle packaging and serviceability thereby improving integration with known commercial-vehicle layouts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836