DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOMITA US-20210138240-A1 in view of Otsuki US-20200411196-A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, TOMITA discloses a storage (¶177 a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory)); and at least one processor (¶177 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit)),
wherein the control unit is configured to control the vibrator (¶178 “Control section 103 can turn ON/OFF the external stimulus (for example, vibration) from external stimulation section 101 in accordance with a specific condition. ”),
wherein the storage is configured to store vibration mode data(¶260 “Storage section 105 stores the external stimulus condition. When the external stimulus is the vibratory stimulus, the external stimulus condition includes, for example, the vibration amplitude, the vibration frequency, the vibration pattern, and the vibration mode of external stimulation section 101. ”),
the vibration mode data indicating a plurality of vibration modes used for rehabilitation(¶262 “The term “vibration mode” represents one or more vibration patterns that are set in accordance with the purpose such as muscle training, rehabilitation, or pain relief”).
a plurality of body conditions variable indicating a body condition of a user (¶258 “Storage section 105 stores information regarding the user (hereinafter referred to as “user information”). The user information includes not only age information, gender information, and exercise history information of the user, but also body information regarding the height and the weight of the user, and the muscle mass, the muscle density, and the subcutaneous fat per body area of the user. The user information may include information regarding a pain level in the target area of user 2. The user information may further include information regarding an instruction of a healthcare professional.”),
a mode variable, the mode variable indicating a pattern of a vibration mode of the plurality of the vibration modes that represents a tactile/force sense output from the haptic device (¶330 “User 2 selects one of selection icons 4a10 to 4a13 corresponding to the favorite vibration mode or the vibration mode instructed by the healthcare professional. External apparatus 4 sends information regarding the vibration mode selected by user 2 to external stimulus application apparatus 10.” and ¶262 “The vibration mode may be constituted by a combination of a plurality of vibration patterns. When the vibration mode includes a plurality of vibration patterns, the vibration patterns are switched from one to another at proper timing.”),
and wherein the processor is configured to: obtain a plurality of the body condition variables of the user (Control section 103 (see FIG. 1) includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit), FIG. 10B shows a GUI for obtaining the body condition variable of the user),
select a specific mode from the plurality of the vibration modes, based on the mode variables model by using the plurality of the body condition variables of the user as input variables (FIG. 10A-D show selecting a specific mode from a plurality of options, using the user body conditions and being able to change the amount of vibration), and
drive the vibrator by using the specific mode selected in the mode selection processing (¶178 “Control section 103 can turn ON/OFF the external stimulus (for example, vibration) from external stimulation section 101 in accordance with a specific condition. More specifically, when the external stimulus is the vibratory stimulus, control section 103 vibrates external stimulation section 101 under a predetermined vibration condition when the detected value (physical quantity), which has been received from detection section 102, satisfies a predetermined condition.”).
TOMITA does not disclose expressly using machine learning to output the operation parameters based on the patient data.
Otsuki discloses using a machine learning model to process the physical conditions and output recommendations for the operation of the haptic device (¶71 “The rehabilitation data may include, for example, data indicating the training staff member 901 or indicating his/her years of experience, level of proficiency, etc., data indicating the symptom, the walking ability, the degree of recovery, etc.” and ¶108 machine learning rehabilitation, ¶184-186 machine learning outputting rehabilitation recommendations, being able to change the settings based on the recommendations, the recommendations can be set based on the amount of recovery.).
TOMITA and Otsuki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of rehabilitation devices and making efficient mode selection based on recovery.
At the time of the invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to adapt the machine learning capabilities of Otsuki and modify TOMITA to use machine learning recommendations on the usage of the rehabilitation device.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been there is a need to change the rehabilitation settings more efficiently (Otsuki discloses ¶7 “Therefore, even when the training is performed by one person, the appropriate settings are changed in accordance with the degree of recovery. It is possible, however, that the training staff member may not be able to change the settings effectively”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to combine TOMITA and Otsuki for the benefit of using machine learning in a rehabilitation device to effectively choose operation parameters based on the injury to obtain the invention as specified in the claims 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 2, TOMITA in view of Otsuki further discloses wherein one of the plurality of the body condition variables indicates whether the user has a physical disability (TOMITA in view of Otsuki discloses a data variable indicating the user has an injury (disability) TOMITA ¶337 “FIG. 11B illustrates an example of data stored in server-side storage section 11b when the patient having injured the anterior cruciate ligament of the right knee uses external stimulus application system 1 according to this embodiment.”).
Regarding claim 3, TOMITA in view of Otsuki further discloses wherein one of the plurality of the body condition variables indicates a degree of the physical disability of the user (TOMITA in view of Otsuki discloses a data variable indicating the degree of the user recovery of the injury (disability) ¶339 “For example, the doctor compares the recovery condition of the patient with statistical data (hereinafter referred to as a “comparative case”) regarding the number of days elapsed after the injury and the recovery status in the same case, and sets “−2” as the parameter when the recovery degree of the patient is significantly delayed from that in the comparative case. When the recovery degree of the patient is slightly delayed from that in the comparative case, the doctor sets “−1” as the parameter. When the recovery degree of the patient is the same as that in the comparative case, the doctor sets “0” as the parameter.”).
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 9, TOMITA in view of Otsuki further discloses wherein two or more of the plurality of the body condition variables relate to a plurality of predetermined physical disabilities, each of the variables indicating whether a user has a corresponding physical disability (TOMITA in view of Otsuki discloses a first and second information being used as part of the physical data as part of the injury (disability) analysis. TOMITA ¶149 “For example, the angle, the angular speed, the speed, the acceleration, the voltage, and so on that have been mentioned as examples of the first information during the motion can be each used as an index (such as a bending (angle) of the knee or a walking speed) when the effect of rehabilitation is measured. Moreover, when one knee is injured, the step length, the walking cycle, the acceleration, the extension angle, and so on are often different between left and right legs due to the injury. Therefore, detection section 102 may be attached to each of the left and right legs.” And ¶150 “ Detection section 102 may detect, as the second information, a bending or extending angle of a joint (namely, a full range of motion (FROM) of a joint), such as a knee joint, under control of control section 103 or in accordance with the operation by user 2.” ).
Regarding claim 5, TOMITA in view of Otsuki further discloses wherein two or more of the plurality of the body condition variables relate to the plurality of the predetermined physical disabilities, each of the variables indicating a degree of a corresponding physical disability of the user (TOMITA in view of Otsuki disclose a first and second information as an indicator of disability that could be used in the degree of recovery determination, FIG 11B and ¶338-339 disclose a doctor using the first and second information as part of the degree of recovery determination).
Regarding claims 6 and 10-13, TOMITA in view of Otsuki further discloses wherein the haptic device comprises a plurality of vibrators, and wherein the vibration modes relate to whether each of the plurality of the vibrators is vibrated and a vibration order of the vibrators (TOMITA in view of Otsuki disclose a plurality of vibrators and actuating them differently based on the muscle training, rehabilitation, or pain relief, TOMITA ¶262 “When the external stimulus is the vibratory stimulus, the vibration pattern is not limited to a vibration in which the frequency, the amplitude, the vibration time, and so on are not changed, and includes a vibration in which at least one of the frequency, the amplitude, and the vibration time is changed. The term “vibration mode” represents one or more vibration patterns that are set in accordance with the purpose such as muscle training, rehabilitation, or pain relief. The vibration mode may be constituted by a combination of a plurality of vibration patterns. When the vibration mode includes a plurality of vibration patterns, the vibration patterns are switched from one to another at proper timing.” ).
Conclusion
/C.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115