DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13-17, 27, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuichi (JP 2012-193820) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yuichi discloses a system (see page 1, lines 13-16; FIGS. 24, 25) comprising: a payload (103); a source of pressurized gas (106); a plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (104) coupled to the payload (see FIGS. 24, 25), wherein each pneumatic vibration damping module of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules is fluidically coupled to the source of pressurized gas (see FIG. 25); and a one-way restrictor valve (140) fluidically coupled between the source of pressurized gas and the plurality of vibration damping modules (see FIG. 26).
Regarding claim 2, Yuichi discloses a tube (105) fluidically coupling the source of pressurized gas to the plurality of pneumatic vibration dampening modules (see FIG. 24).
Regarding claim 3, Yuichi discloses that at least two pneumatic vibration damping modules (104) of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules are fluidically coupled in parallel to the source of pressurized gas (see FIG. 25).
Regarding claim 4, Yuichi discloses that all pneumatic vibration damping modules of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules is fluidically coupled in parallel to the source of pressurized gas (see FIG. 25).
Regarding claim 5, Yuichi discloses that the source of pressurized gas comprises air (see page 11, lines 50-56).
Regarding claim 6, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to allow pressurized gas to flow towards the plurality of vibration damping modules (see page 12, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 7, Yuichi discloses that the payload comprises a substantially flat top surface (see FIG. 24).
Regarding claim 13, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to restrict flow of pressurized gas towards the source of pressurized gas (see page 12, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 14, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to increase an effective stiffness of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (see e.g. FIG. 25, the restrictor valve reduces the effective volume of the air springs, thereby increasing stiffness).
Regarding claim 15, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to increase an effective damping of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (see e.g. FIG. 25, the restrictor valve reduces the effective volume of the air springs, thereby increasing the damping coefficient).
Regarding claim 16, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to reduce pressure oscillations in the system after an external force is applied to the payload (see e.g. FIG. 25, the restrictor valve prevents pressure oscillations in the gas line).
Regarding claim 17, Yuichi discloses an assembly (see page 1, lines 13-16; FIGS. 24, 25) comprising: a plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (104), each pneumatic vibration damping module of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules configured to receive a pressurized gas (106) (see page 11, lines 44-48); a one-way restrictor valve (140); and a tube (105) fluidically coupling the one-way restrictor valve to the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (see FIG. 25).
Regarding claim 27, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to restrict flow of pressurized gas towards the source of pressurized gas (see page 12, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 28, Yuichi discloses that the one-way restrictor valve is configured to increase an effective stiffness of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules (see e.g. FIG. 25, the restrictor valve reduces the effective volume of the air springs, thereby increasing stiffness).
Regarding claim 31, Yuichi discloses a method of providing vibration isolation to a payload (103), the method comprising: providing the system of any one of claim 1 (see claim 1, above); and providing, from the source of pressurized gas, a flow of pressurized gas through the one-way restrictor valve and to the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules thereby isolating the payload from vibrations (see page 12, lines 7-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2012-193820), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Dai (US 6,123,312).
Regarding claim 8, Yuichi discloses that each pneumatic vibration damping modules of the plurality of pneumatic vibration damping modules comprises a first chamber.
Yuichi does not disclose a piston.
Dai teaches a plurality of pneumatic damping modules (see Abstract, FIGS. 3, 4) wherein each pneumatic vibration damping module comprises a piston (41) disposed on a first chamber (see FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to combine the piston of Dai with each of the pneumatic vibration damping modules of Yuichi to provide a means for securely connecting the payload to the vibration damping module (see e.g. Dai, col. 8, lines 19-20).
Regarding claim 9, Yuichi discloses a second chamber (104c) adjacent to the first chamber (104a) (see FIG. 25B), wherein the first chamber and second chamber are fluidically coupled via an orifice (see FIG. 25B).
Regarding claim 10, Yuichi does not disclose that the orifice comprises a valve.
Dai teaches a plurality of pneumatic damping modules (see Abstract, FIGS. 3, 4) wherein each pneumatic damping module comprises a first chamber (50) and a second chamber (49), wherein the first chamber and second chamber are connected via an orifice (54) comprising a valve (23) (see col. 5, line 60 to col. 6, line 9).
It would have been obvious to combine the valve of Dai with the pneumatic damping modules of Yuichi to provide a means for selectively controlling the damping characteristics of the pneumatic damping modules as needed.
Regarding claim 11, Yuichi discloses that the orifice comprises a capillary tube (see FIG. 25B).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2012-193820), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Koschwanez et al. (US 2007/0031819).
Regarding claim 12, Yuichi discloses that the payload comprises a tabletop (see FIGS. 3, 4).
Yuichi does not disclose an optofluidic instrument positioned on the tabletop.
Koschwanez teaches an optofluidic instrument (see ¶ 0187) positioned on the tabletop of a vibration isolation table (see ¶ 0187).
It would have been obvious to place the optofluidic instrument of Koschwanez on the vibration isolation table of Yuichi because Koschwanez teaches that the optofluidic device was intended to be placed on vibration isolation tables (see ¶ 0187) and further because Yuichi discloses that the table disclosed therein is capable of quickly suppressing large displacement vibrations (see Yuichi, page 2, lines 34-36).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
November 3, 2026