DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 19/042,804 filed 01/31/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 19/043,021 in view of Evans (US 2019/0273954).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application No. 19/042,804
Application No. 19/043,021
1. A computer-implemented method for generating a smart overlay in an interactive display, the method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method for generating smart triggers in an interactive display, the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions;
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions;
receiving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of user data comprising a plurality of user actions;
receiving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of user data comprising a plurality of user actions;
capturing, by the one or more processors, one or more real-time user interactions with the interactive display;
capturing, by the one or more processors, one or more real-time user interactions with the interactive display;
generating, by the one or more processors, a unique relevancy threshold using the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions, wherein the unique relevancy threshold is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data and the one or more real-time user interactions are received;
generating, by the one or more processors, a unique relevancy threshold using the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions, wherein the unique relevancy threshold is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data and the one or more real-time user interactions are received;
generating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, at least one unique smart overlay that has a relevancy that exceeds the unique relevancy threshold; and
generating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, at least one unique smart trigger that has a relevancy that exceeds the unique relevancy threshold; and
updating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay.
updating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, the interactive display with the at least one unique smart trigger.
However, the copending claims do not explicitly teach generating at least one unique smart overlay; and updating the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay.
In an analogous art, Evans, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches generating at least one unique smart overlay; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].) and updating the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay. (Fig. 3: The broadcast engine 164 provides the program content with the selected adjunct content to the viewer devices 106, [0017], [0037], [0044], [0045].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending claims by generating at least one unique smart overlay; and updating the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay, as taught by Evans, for the benefit of displaying relevant information to the user.
Claim 2 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the copending application in view of Evans [0013], [0034], [0049].
Claim 3 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 5 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 6 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the copending application in view of Evans [0013], [0034], [0049].
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 11 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 13 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 14 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the copending application in view of Evans [0013], [0034], [0049].
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 18 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 19 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 20 of the copending application in view of Evans.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans (US 2019/0273954).
Consider claim 1, Evans clearly teaches a computer-implemented method for generating a smart overlay in an interactive display, (Figs. 3-6, [0047]) the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 monitors real-time events occurring in a live event, [0032], [0033].)
receiving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of user data comprising a plurality of user actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes user information collected about the user such as preferences and historical activity, [0029], [0035], [0039].)
capturing, by the one or more processors, one or more real-time user interactions with the interactive display; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes real-time user engagement and actions, [0030], [0033], [0039].)
generating, by the one or more processors, a unique relevancy threshold using the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions, wherein the unique relevancy threshold is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data and the one or more real-time user interactions are received; (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
generating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, at least one unique smart overlay that has a relevancy that exceeds the unique relevancy threshold; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].) and
updating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay. (Fig. 3: The broadcast engine 164 provides the program content with the selected adjunct content to the viewer devices 106, [0017], [0037], [0044], [0045].)
Consider claim 2, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is an interactive interface overlaid on a live video stream on a user device. (Fig. 9: An interactive overlay 920 is inserted over program content 910, [0013], [0034], [0049].)
Consider claim 4, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is generated and/or updated based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions. (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions and selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
Consider claim 5, Evans clearly teaches the interactive display is displayed on a user mobile device. (Fig. 1: Viewer devices include mobile devices, [0017].)
Consider claim 6, Evans clearly teaches the plurality of real-time event actions include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action. (Real-time events include a goal, [0033], [0050].)
Consider claim 7, Evans clearly teaches one or more of the unique relevancy threshold, the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions is provided to one or more artificial intelligence models as input. (Analyzer 160 uses artificial intelligence to provide the adjunct content, [0049].)
Consider claim 8, Evans clearly teaches a system for generating a smart overlay in an interactive display, (Fig. 1) the system comprising:
a memory storing instructions and a processor operatively connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to perform operations ([0020], [0047]) including:
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 monitors real-time events occurring in a live event, [0032], [0033].)
receiving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of user data comprising a plurality of user actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes user information collected about the user such as preferences and historical activity, [0029], [0035], [0039].)
capturing, by the one or more processors, one or more real-time user interactions with the interactive display; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes real-time user engagement and actions, [0030], [0033], [0039].)
generating, by the one or more processors, a unique relevancy threshold using the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions, wherein the unique relevancy threshold is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data and the one or more real-time user interactions are received; (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
generating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, at least one unique smart overlay that has a relevancy that exceeds the unique relevancy threshold; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].) and
updating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay. (Fig. 3: The broadcast engine 164 provides the program content with the selected adjunct content to the viewer devices 106, [0017], [0037], [0044], [0045].)
Consider claim 9, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is an interactive interface overlaid on a live video stream on a user device. (Fig. 9: An interactive overlay 920 is inserted over program content 910, [0013], [0034], [0049].)
Consider claim 11, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is generated and/or updated based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions. (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions and selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
Consider claim 12, Evans clearly teaches the interactive display is displayed on a user mobile device. (Fig. 1: Viewer devices include mobile devices, [0017].)
Consider claim 13, Evans clearly teaches the plurality of real-time event actions include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action. (Real-time events include a goal, [0033], [0050].)
Consider claim 14, Evans clearly teaches one or more of the unique relevancy threshold, the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions is provided to one or more artificial intelligence models as input. (Analyzer 160 uses artificial intelligence to provide the adjunct content, [0049].)
Consider claim 15, Evans clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, perform a method for generating a smart overlay in an interactive display, ([0020], [0047]) the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 monitors real-time events occurring in a live event, [0032], [0033].)
receiving, by the one or more processors, a plurality of user data comprising a plurality of user actions; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes user information collected about the user such as preferences and historical activity, [0029], [0035], [0039].)
capturing, by the one or more processors, one or more real-time user interactions with the interactive display; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 analyzes real-time user engagement and actions, [0030], [0033], [0039].)
generating, by the one or more processors, a unique relevancy threshold using the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions, wherein the unique relevancy threshold is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data and the one or more real-time user interactions are received; (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
generating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, at least one unique smart overlay that has a relevancy that exceeds the unique relevancy threshold; (Fig. 3: Analyzer 160 selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].) and
updating, by the one or more processors and in real-time, the interactive display with the at least one unique smart overlay. (Fig. 3: The broadcast engine 164 provides the program content with the selected adjunct content to the viewer devices 106, [0017], [0037], [0044], [0045].)
Consider claim 16, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is an interactive interface overlaid on a live video stream on a user device. (Fig. 9: An interactive overlay 920 is inserted over program content 910, [0013], [0034], [0049].)
Consider claim 18, Evans clearly teaches the at least one unique smart overlay is generated and/or updated based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions. (Fig. 3: In response to a triggering event analyzer 160 adjusts selection criteria based on the real-time events, user information and real-time user engagement and actions and selects the adjunct content to be provided to the user with the program content based on the adjusted selection criteria, [0034], [0043], [0046].)
Consider claim 19, Evans clearly teaches the interactive display is displayed on a user mobile device. (Fig. 1: Viewer devices include mobile devices, [0017].)
Consider claim 20, Evans clearly teaches one or more of the unique relevancy threshold, the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, and the one or more real-time user interactions is provided to one or more artificial intelligence models as input. (Analyzer 160 uses artificial intelligence to provide the adjunct content, [0049].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 2019/0273954) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0368979), herein Zhang.
Consider claim 3, Evans clearly teaches the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions.
However, Evans does not explicitly teach a position of the at least one unique smart overlay within the interactive display is automatically determined based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions, and a camera angle of a live video stream.
In an analogous art, Zhang, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a position of the at least one unique smart overlay within the interactive display is automatically determined based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions, and a camera angle of a live video stream. (Fig. 6: A location in the video is determined based on features in the video frames and the overlay is positioned at this location, [0082]-[0090].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Evans by a position of the at least one unique smart overlay within the interactive display is automatically determined based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions, and a camera angle of a live video stream, as taught by Zhang, for the benefit of preventing the overlay from interfering with important portions of the video stream.
Consider claim 10, Evans combined with Zhang clearly teaches a position of the at least one unique smart overlay within the interactive display is automatically determined based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions, and a camera angle of a live video stream. (Fig. 6: A location in the video is determined based on features in the video frames and the overlay is positioned at this location, [0082]-[0090] Zhang.)
Consider claim 17, Evans combined with Zhang clearly teaches a position of the at least one unique smart overlay within the interactive display is automatically determined based on one or more of the plurality of real-time event actions, the plurality of user actions, the one or more real-time user interactions, and a camera angle of a live video stream. (Fig. 6: A location in the video is determined based on features in the video frames and the overlay is positioned at this location, [0082]-[0090] Zhang.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425