Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/27/2026 has been received; Claims 1-6, 15, 16, 18, 20-23 are pending. Claim 4 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 15, 16, & 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crye (US 2006/0005292) in view of Neuron (US 2012/0311755).
Regarding Claim 1, Crye discloses a protective garment system (Figures 1-4 & 9), comprising: a garment base (26); and at a first protective element (142) comprising a body having a perimeter; and a second protective element (144) that is removably engageable with the garment base (Figures 1-4 & 9), wherein the first protective element and the second protective element comprises a discrete mechanical interlock (Figure 9, Para. 36) configured to couple the first protective element in a removable manner to the second element; wherein each of the discrete mechanical interlocks comprises a first interlock portion associated with the first protective element (152, Figure 9, Para. 36) and a second interlock portion associated with the second protective element (150, Figure 9, Para. 36) and wherein the first interlock portion is configured to engage the second interlock portion in response to movement in a radially outward direction relative to the perimeter of the first protective element (Figure 9). Crye does not disclose a plurality of mechanical interlock portions. However, Neuron discloses the use of multiple snaps (120, Para. 27) attached to a padding system (Figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of mechanical interlock fasteners, as taught by Neuron, to the system of Crye, as a substitution of one known fastening system for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Crye discloses the first protective element is a rigid cap (Para. 25).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Crye and Neuron disclose each of the plurality of discrete mechanical interlocks comprises a clip and a post or receptacle (Crye, Para. 36 & Neuron, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 5, Crye discloses the second protective element is a pad (44).
Regarding Claim 15, Crye discloses a protective garment system (Figures 1-4 & 9), comprising: a garment base (26); and a first protective element (142) comprising a discrete first mechanical interlock portion (Figure 9, Para. 36) configured to pass through a respective one of a plurality of discrete openings in the garment base at spaced-apart regions of the perimeter of the first protective element (Figures 1-4 & 9) and a second protective element (144) that is removably engageable with the garment base (Figures 1-4 & 9); wherein the second protective element comprises a discrete second mechanical interlock portion (Figure 9, Para. 36); wherein the first protective element is removably engageable with the second protective element such that the first protective element is secured relative to the garment base when the discrete first mechanical interlock portion are engaged with the discrete second mechanical interlock portion (Figure 9, Para. 36). Crye does not disclose a plurality of mechanical interlock portions. However, Neuron discloses the use of multiple snaps (120, Para. 27) attached to a padding system (Figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a plurality of mechanical interlock fasteners, as taught by Neuron, to the system of Crye, as a substitution of one known fastening system for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 16, Crye discloses the first protective element is a rigid cap (Para. 25 & 36).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Crye and Neuron disclose each of the plurality of the plurality of discrete first mechanical interlock portions comprises one or more hooks, or a clip (Neuron, 108 & 120, Para. 27) and each of the plurality of discrete second mechanical interlock portions comprises a post or receptacle (Neuron, 108 & 120, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 20, Crye discloses at least a portion of the first protective element is located external of the garment base (Figures 1-4) and at least a portion of the second protective element is located internal of the garment base (Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Crye and Neuron disclose the first interlock portion comprises a pair of hooks connected to and extending outward from a base that is connected to the first protective element (Neuron, 108 & 120, Para. 27)
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Crye and Neuron disclose each of the plurality of discrete first mechanical interlock portions comprises a clip or a post (Neuron, 108 & 120, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Crye and Neuron disclose each of the plurality of discrete second mechanical interlock portions comprises a clip or a receptacle (Neuron, 108 & 120, Para. 27).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crye (US 2006/0005292) in view of Neuron (US 2012/0311755) in further view of Hernandez (US 2012/0131729).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Crye and Neuron do not specifically disclose the first protective element and the second protective element are separated by a layer of the garment base. However, Hernandez discloses two protective elements separated by a layer of a garment base (Figures 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to includes a layer of garment base between two protective elements in order to be able to switch out and modify the various protective elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732