DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “is no long in line” should most likely be “is no longer in line”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 20130126186 to Kallal.
Regarding claim 1, Kallal discloses a method for moving wellbore tubulars into or out of a wellhead, the method comprising, positioning a travelling slip assembly 140 in line with a center of the wellhead (figs. 1 and 11), feeding a tubular through the travelling slip assembly; applying a downforce or an upforce using the travelling slip assembly to push the tubular into or pull the tubular out of the wellhead; and retracting the travelling slip assembly so that it is no longer in line with the center of the wellhead when not in use (figs. 2 and 9; paragraphs 0038-0050).
Regarding claims 2-3, the method of claim 1 wherein the positioning or the retracting or both comprise/consist of lateral movement of the travelling slip assembly (comparison of fig. 1 to fig. 2 shows that the slip 140 has travelled laterally to the right of the center line).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1 further comprising installing a portable downforce system 100a comprising the travelling slip assembly to a mast 20 of a service rig before positioning the tubular in line with the center of the wellhead (figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 4 further comprising uninstalling the cables of the portable downforce system when not in use (paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1 wherein the wellhead is associated with a wellbore having a wellbore trajectory, having a string of wellbore tubulars therein, wherein a resistance force resisting movement of the string of wellbore tubulars is substantially equal to or exceeds the force of gravity urging movement of the string of tubulars into the wellbore (paragraph 0052).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallal in view of US 20160230522 to Daniel.
Kallal teaches the wellbore and wellhead from method claims 1 and 6 above, but it is not specifically taught that the wellbore trajectory comprises a shallow horizontal well, having a relatively shorter substantially vertical section and a relatively longer horizontal or deviated section, or that the wellhead is associated with a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) well.
Daniel teaches a wellbore and wellhead similar to that of Kallal, wherein it is further taught that the wellbore trajectory comprises a shallow horizontal well, having a relatively shorter substantially vertical section and a relatively longer horizontal or deviated section, and that the wellhead is associated with a steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD) well (fig. 7B and the beginning of paragraph 0063 referring to the prior art shallow well and steam injection). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a shallow horizontal well and SAGD as taught by Daniel as the wellbore and production method of Kallal. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because a shallow horizontal well and SAGD were well-known methods for wellbore construction and production as taught by Daniel.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallal in view of US 3960360 to Elliston.
Kallal teaches the wellhead from method claim 1, but it is not specifically taught that a pressure at the wellhead has been substantially equalized by a kill fluid such that the pressure is substantially reduced to or is substantially zero.
Elliston teaches a wellhead 110 similar to that of Kallal, wherein it is further taught that a pressure at the wellhead has been substantially equalized by a kill fluid such that the pressure is substantially reduced to or is substantially zero (col. 1, lines 27-35). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a kill fluid as taught by Elliston in the method of Kallal. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because a kill fluid is a well-known means for maintaining a sufficient column weight of fluid to resist the pressure from within the well which is tending to force the tubing out, as taught by Elliston.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on from 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHANE BOMAR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3674