DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . It is responsive to the submission dated 01/31/2025. Claims 1-23 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 15 and 21 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 01/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 13-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a1) as being anticipated by Kyuri et al. (KR 20230130812 A).
Considering claim 1, Kyuri discloses an image display apparatus comprising a display (see abstract); and a signal processing device (e.g., controller 170) configured to process an input image signal and output an output image signal (e.g., Kyuri discloses the user input interface 150 may transmit a control signal input from a local key to the controller 170. The image signal image-processed by the controller 170 may be input to the display 180 and displayed as an image corresponding to the image signal. In addition, the image signal processed by the controller 170 may be input to an external output device through the external device interface 135. See paras. 50-51. In addition, the controller 170 may allow an image signal or an audio signal from an external device, which is input through the external device interface 135, to be output through the display 180. See para. 56), the signal processing device being configured to:
extract an image map and a color histogram of the input image signal, update the image map based on the color histogram (e.g., Kyuri discloses: The display device 100 according to an embodiment may include a controller 170 which performs tone mapping for adjusting the luminance of an input image. The controller 170 may generate a tone mapping curve for the entire region from the input image. The controller 170 may perform tone mapping on the input image using the generated tone mapping curve. The output image on which the tone mapping is performed in the controller 170 may be displayed on the display 180. See paras. 113-115, wherein the image controller 170, by generating a tone mapping curve from the input image for use of performing tone mapping for adjusting the luminance of an input image, it inherently extracts an image map and color histogram from the input image to update and perform image quality on said image. For examples, Kyuri further teaches: the tone mapping curve may be generated through high dynamic range (HDR.) processing on an input image. The controller 170 may receive metadata together when receiving an image. The input image may be an HDR image. The metadata may include information about an input image. See paras. 117-118. In addition, the controller 170 may calculate a histogram in the entire area of the input image. The histogram of the HDR. image may refer to distribution information of brightness values of each of pixels of the HDR. image. The controller 170 may calculate a luminance distribution histogram which is a distribution of signal levels (e.g., 0 to 1023) of each of the pixels of the HDR. image. The controller 170 may generate a dynamic tone mapping (DTM) curve based on histogram information on the input image. The DTM curve may mean a mapping curve in the RGB domain. In the RGB domain, mapping may be performed from an input image to an output image according to the generated DTM curve. See para. 119-120), and
perform image quality processing based on the updated image map (e.g., Kyuri discloses: The display device 100 according to an embodiment may perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to a luminance characteristic of an input image and improve a stereoscopic effect and discrimination power of an output image. See para. 124. As the contrast is further emphasized, the image quality of the displayed character may be improved, and the visibility of the character may be enhanced. Compared to the image 1001 shown in FIG. 10, in the image 1201 shown in FIG. 12, as the contrast of the pixels in the high grayscale area 1203 is further improved and the contrast of the pixels in the low grayscale area 1205 is further improved, the visibility of the character is further enhanced and the image quality is further improved like a movie. See para. 143).
As such, it is submitted that all the features of claim 1, as claimed, can be easily drawn from the Kyuri reference.
As per claim 2, Kyuri discloses extract the image map of a first frame image of the input image signal and update the color histogram of a plurality of regions based on the image map of the first frame image and the color histogram of the plurality of regions of a frame image previous to the first frame image (e.g., The display device 100 according to an embodiment may perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to a luminance characteristic of an input image and improve a stereoscopic effect and discrimination power of an output image. See para. 124, wherein by performing real-time adaptive tone mapping on the input image, the Kyuri reference inherently extract image map of multiple image frames and update the color histogram for different regions of the image on a frame-by-frame basis. For example, Kyuri discloses the remote control device 200 may be provided with a shortcut button matched to correspond to at least one of [first mode], [second mode], [third mode], [fourth mode], or [automatic mode]. When the [automatic mode] selection is input from the user, the controller 170 may analyze the histogram of the input image in real time (S503). The controller 170 may analyze a histogram of continuously input images in real time. For example, the controller 170 may continuously analyze the histogram for each frame of the continuously input image in real time. See paras. 150-152);
update the image map of the first frame image based on the updated color histogram of the plurality of regions (e.g., The display apparatus 100 may display a menu screen for selecting the tone mapping mode. The display device 100 may display, for example, a menu screen 601 shown in FIG. 6 on the display 180. In the menu screen 601 of FIG. 6, [first mode], [second mode], [third mode], [fourth mode], and [automatic mode] are displayed as examples. For example, [the first mode] may be set to a standard mode. Here, the standard mode may mean a dynamic contrast curve in which the magnitude of the output luminance is set to be the same with respect to the magnitude of the input luminance. In other words, the standard mode may refer to a dynamic contrast curve in which the magnitude of the input luminance and the magnitude of the output luminance are 1:1. [0132] When the mode selection is not performed for a predetermined time from the user, the controller 170 may perform tone mapping on the input image according to [the first mode], and display the output image on which the tone mapping is performed on the display 180.[0133] When the [second mode] selection is input from the user, the controller 170 may perform tone mapping on the input image by applying the dynamic contrast curve set to match the [second mode]. For example, a dynamic contrast curve suitable for the genre of a First-person shooter (FPS) may be matched and set in the second mode. [0134] When an image of a genre such as a first-person viewpoint game (FPS) is input, as shown in FIG. 7, for example, an image 701 in which many pixels in a low grayscale area are distributed may be input and displayed. An image 701 illustrated in FIG. 7 may be an image tone-mapped and displayed by a dynamic contrast curve matched to the standard mode. As shown in FIG. 7, when an image 701 in which many pixels of the low grayscale area are distributed is displayed, the user may select [second mode]. [0135] When [the second mode] is selected by the user, the controller 170 may perform tone mapping on the image 701 having many pixels in the low grayscale area by applying the dynamic contrast curve 801 as shown in FIG. 8. [0136] Tone mapping in which brightness of a pixel in a low grayscale region is improved may be performed by the dynamic contrast curve 801 illustrated in FIG. 8. Tone mapping in which the brightness of the pixel in the high grayscale region is reduced may be performed by the dynamic contrast curve 801. See also paras. 149-155), and
perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map of the first frame image (e.g., Kyuri discloses: As the contrast is further emphasized, the image quality of the displayed character may be improved, and the visibility of the character may be enhanced. Compared to the image 1001 shown in FIG. 10, in the image 1201 shown in FIG. 12, as the contrast of the pixels in the high grayscale area 1203 is further improved and the contrast of the pixels in the low grayscale area 1205 is further improved, the visibility of the character is further enhanced and the image quality is further improved like a movie. See para. 143).
As per claim 4, Kyuri discloses extract the color histogram of a plurality of regions of the input image signal (see paras. 124 and 153-155), update the color histogram of the plurality of regions based on the image map and a region of interest among the plurality of regions, and update the image map based on the updated color histogram (see paras. 130-142, wherein the identified area based on the mode selection by the user corresponds with a region of interest based on the image map), and perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map (see para. 143).
As per claim 6, Kyuri discloses while updating the image map, the signal processing device is configured to increase a brightness of a first region among a plurality of regions in the updated image map as a level of color hue or saturation in the first region increases (e.g., Kyuri discloses: the controller 170 may compute a luminance distribution histogram, which is a distribution diagram for a signal level (e.g., 0 to 1023) of each of the pixels of the HDR image and generate a dynamic tone mapping (DTM) curve based on histogram information for the input HDR image. See paras. 119-120. The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may adaptively generate and apply dynamic contrast curves depending on the type of image or the brightness degree of image; and perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to luminance characteristics of an input image and improve stereoscopic sensation and discrimination power of an output image. See paras. 123-124. Specifically, Kyuri teaches the controller 170 may apply a dynamic contrast curve to perform tone mapping on the pixelated image 701 of the low-grayscale region, in which brightness of a pixel of the low-gradation region is enhanced. Tone mapping may be performed in which brightness of a pixel of a high gradation region is reduced by the dynamic contrast curve 801. See paras. 135-136).
As per claim 7, Kyuri discloses: in response to motion of an object in consecutive first and second frame images, the signal processing device is configured to: extract an image map of the second frame image, update the color histogram based on the image map of the second frame image, update the image map of the second frame image based on the updated color histogram (e.g., Kyuri discloses: Once a [automatic mode] selection is input from the user, the controller 170 may analyze the histogram of the input image in real time (S503). The controller 170 may analyze histograms of continuously input images in real time for each frame of the continuously input images, and generate an adaptive dynamic contrast (DC) curve based on the analyzed histogram information, and apply the generated DC curve to perform tone mapping on the input image. See paras. 150-153), and
perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map of the second frame image (e.g., The controller 170 may generate an adaptive DC curve in which luminance is adjusted based on histogram information analyzed for an input image…. When the histogram information about the input image is large for each image, the shape of the adaptive DC curve to be applied to the corresponding image may be variously changed in real time. See paras. 154-155).
As per claim 8, Kyuri discloses: an image analyzer configured to extract the image map of the input image signal and the color histogram of a plurality of regions of the input image signal (e.g., the controller 170 may receive metadata (including at least one of luminance information of a HDR image, maximum brightness information of each scene, and information for identifying the HDR image) together when receiving an image, and generate a tone mapping curve for an entire area from an input image. See paras. 117-119, wherein controller 170 serves as the image analyzer);
a map converter configured to update the image map based on the color histogram of the plurality of regions (e.g., The controller 170 may generate a dynamic tone mapping (DTM) curve based on histogram information for the input image. A DTM curve may mean a mapping curve in the RGB domain. In the RGB domain, mapping may be performed from an input image to an output image to fit the generated DTM curve. See para. 120, wherein controller 170 also operates as a map converter); and
an image processor configured to perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map (e.g., generating and applying the DTM curve and DC curve in the controller 170 in order to generate an output image suitable for the characteristics of the display 180 with respect to the input image. See para. 122. The display apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to luminance characteristics of an input image, and improve stereoscopic sensation and discrimination power of an output image. See para. 124).
As per claim 9, Kyuri discloses: the image analyzer is configured to extract coordinate information based on the input image signal, or extract the image map or coordinate information based on received metadata or a separate input image (e.g., the controller 170 may receive metadata (including at least one of luminance information of a HDR image, maximum brightness information of each scene, and information for identifying the HDR image) together when receiving an image, and generate a tone mapping curve for an entire area from an input image. See paras. 117-119. The controller 170 may generate a dynamic tone mapping (DTM) curve based on histogram information for the input image. A DTM curve may mean a mapping curve in the RGB domain. In the RGB domain, mapping may be performed from an input image to an output image to fit the generated DTM curve. See para. 120).
As per claim 13, Kyuri discloses: the map converter is configured to update each region of the plurality of regions based on distribution of image information of the plurality of regions or update the image map based on each updated region (e.g., Kyuri discloses: the controller 170 may compute a luminance distribution histogram, which is a distribution diagram for a signal level (e.g., 0 to 1023) of each of the pixels of the HDR image and generate a dynamic tone mapping (DTM) curve based on histogram information for the input HDR image. See paras. 119-120. The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may adaptively generate and apply dynamic contrast curves depending on the type of image or the brightness degree of image; and perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to luminance characteristics of an input image and improve stereoscopic sensation and discrimination power of an output image. See paras. 123-124. Specifically, Kyuri teaches the controller 170 may apply a dynamic contrast curve to perform tone mapping on the pixelated image 701 of the low-grayscale region, in which brightness of a pixel of the low-gradation region is enhanced. Tone mapping may be performed in which brightness of a pixel of a high gradation region is reduced by the dynamic contrast curve 801. See paras. 135-136).
As per claim 14, Kyuri discloses: the image processor is configured to adjust a sharpness or a contrast of a foreground region or a region of interest among the plurality of regions (e.g., Kyuri discloses: The display apparatus 100 according to an exemplary embodiment may adaptively generate and apply dynamic contrast curves depending on the type of image or the brightness degree of image; and perform adaptive tone mapping in real time according to luminance characteristics of an input image and improve stereoscopic sensation and discrimination power of an output image. See paras. 123-124. Specifically, Kyuri teaches the controller 170 may apply a dynamic contrast curve to perform tone mapping on the pixelated image 701 of the low-grayscale region, in which brightness of a pixel of the low-gradation region is enhanced. Tone mapping may be performed in which brightness of a pixel of a high gradation region is reduced by the dynamic contrast curve 801. See paras. 135-136).
Regarding claim 15, Kyuri discloses an image display apparatus comprising a display (see abstract); and a signal processing device (e.g., controller 170) configured to process an input image signal and output an output image signal (e.g., Kyuri discloses the user input interface 150 may transmit a control signal input from a local key to the controller 170. The image signal image-processed by the controller 170 may be input to the display 180 and displayed as an image corresponding to the image signal. In addition, the image signal processed by the controller 170 may be input to an external output device through the external device interface 135. See paras. 50-51. In addition, the controller 170 may allow an image signal or an audio signal from an external device, which is input through the external device interface 135, to be output through the display 180. See para. 56), wherein:
in response to motion of an object in consecutive first and second frame images, the signal processing device is configured to: extract an image map of the second frame image, update the color histogram based on the image map of the second frame image, and update the image map of the second frame image based on the updated color histogram (e.g., Kyuri discloses: Once a [automatic mode] selection is input from the user, the controller 170 may analyze the histogram of the input image in real time (S503). The controller 170 may analyze histograms of continuously input images in real time for each frame of the continuously input images, and generate an adaptive dynamic contrast (DC) curve based on the analyzed histogram information, and apply the generated DC curve to perform tone mapping on the input image. See paras. 150-153), and
perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map of the second frame image (e.g., The controller 170 may generate an adaptive DC curve in which luminance is adjusted based on histogram information analyzed for an input image…. When the histogram information about the input image is large for each image, the shape of the adaptive DC curve to be applied to the corresponding image may be variously changed in real time. See paras. 154-155).
Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 14.
The invention of claims 21-22 recite features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 8. As the limitations of claims 1 and 8 were found anticipated by the teaching of Kyuri, it is readily apparent that the applied prior art performs the underlying elements. As such, the limitations of claims 21-22 are, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as set forth above for claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyuri et al. (KR 20230130812 A) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200211172).
Regarding claim 23, Kyuri fails to teach a demultiplexer configured to process an input stream and separate the input stream into image data and audio data, which is disclosed by Kim. See paras. 93-94 of Kim.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Kyuri to include a demultiplexer to process an input stream and separate the input stream into image data and audio data, in the same conventional manner as Kim, so that a signal for video or audio output can be generated and output. See para. 105 of Kim.
As per claim 10, considering that in Kyuri it is provided that the controller is able to perform tone mapping in image region where brightness of a pixel in a low grayscale region is improved by applying the generated dynamic contrast curve, and performing tone mapping in image region where the brightness of the pixel in the high grayscale region is reduced by applying generated dynamic contrast curve 801 and generate an output image (see paras. 135-137); the Kyuri reference obviously encompass a map converter configured to separate and process image information for a chromatic region and image information for an achromatic region, as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3, 5, and 11-12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because the prior art of record fail to teach the image display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device is configured to: extract the color histogram of a plurality of regions of the input image signal, update the color histogram of the plurality of regions based on the image map and a ratio of foreground and background regions among the plurality of regions, update the image map based on the updated color histogram of the plurality of regions, and perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map (as recited in claim 3); and perform color space-based conversion based on the image map, extract the color histogram of a plurality of regions based on the color space-based conversion,
update the image map based on the image map and a ratio of foreground and background regions among the plurality of regions and perform the image quality processing based on the updated image map (as recited in claim 5). In addition, the prior art of record fail to teach the image display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the map converter is configured to update the image map based on a cumulative histogram of image information of a valid region (as recited in claims 11 and 18); and update the image map based on a cumulative histogram of image information of an invalid region and a cumulative histogram of image information of a valid region (as recited in claim 12).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20240320791) discloses an image processing circuit, an image signal processor including the same, and an image processing method are disclosed. The image processing circuit may include a contents-aware circuit configured to receive histograms of a current image and a previous image, classify content for each pixel of the current image, and generate a shifting value representing a color shifting effect for each pixel of the current image, a color shifting circuit configured to generate an enhanced image by applying color shifting depending on the shifting value to each pixel of the current image, based on the shifting value, and a histogram generator configured to generate a histogram of the current image based on the classified content of the current image, wherein the generated histogram of the current image is used to generate a shifting value of a subsequent image.
/WESNER SAJOUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612
WS
07/29/2026